Food Best place for steaks
Lord_Ashe
Oct 15 2008, 02:49 PM
Coliseum is okay. Maria's (Damansara Perdana) serves an alright steak - and they also have wagyu. I've heard good things about Angus in Pavilion, was disappointed with Maredo's. Took my dept there, all the steaks were bone dry. EEEEEECHk.
TSraist86
Oct 15 2008, 02:57 PM
Guess i'll be trying out Maredo. Thanks guys for the options. I'll be heading to the Jln Telawi branch as i'm sort of more familiar with the area. Can give me more precise address? landmarks perhaps?
ykj
Oct 15 2008, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(vkeong @ Oct 14 2008, 11:46 PM) QUOTE(jeremy0 @ Oct 15 2008, 12:18 AM) Coliseum is at Jalan TAR.....are the classic sizzling steaks still served there? That's right
zenquix
Oct 15 2008, 08:04 PM
I go to Monte's once in a while. There is one in BSC and another in Sunway Pyramid.
gstrapinuse
Oct 15 2008, 10:53 PM
The ship is nice...Near JAlan Bukit Bintang...recommended...
Putraskyline
Oct 16 2008, 12:40 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(raist86 @ Oct 15 2008, 02:57 PM) Guess i'll be trying out Maredo. Thanks guys for the options. I'll be heading to the Jln Telawi branch as i'm sort of more familiar with the area. Can give me more precise address? landmarks perhaps? Its located in Bangsar Village. You could see big signboard though
apple_ylc
Oct 16 2008, 01:58 AM
hehe ^^ i recommend tony roma:) is nice..better then chillis... the ship is normal
if like cheaper 1...restoran kaki,,near cheras oso okir...gei nice if stay nearby genting klang...d station 1 oso not bad...
hh_yeap
Oct 16 2008, 12:12 PM

tony rama...where is it ?? precise location with landmark perhaps ??
mandero..in bangsar village ah ?? where is it ?? is it near midvalley ??
Added on October 16, 2008, 12:14 pmand also pricing at maredo and also tony roma also pls..thank you..
This post has been edited by hh_yeap: Oct 16 2008, 12:14 PM
Putraskyline
Oct 16 2008, 12:19 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(hh_yeap @ Oct 16 2008, 12:12 PM) tony rama...where is it ?? precise location with landmark perhaps ?? mandero..in bangsar village ah ?? where is it ?? is it near midvalley ?? Added on October 16, 2008, 12:14 pmand also pricing at maredo and also tony roma also pls..thank you.. Aiyoo...Tony Roma's at Pavillion, The Garden and Cineleisure. About the pricing, maredo got vacuum or chilled beef. For two person 3 course meal for about Rm160 while Roma's about Rm100. My opinion, Tony Roma's suck since their beef are not fresh and normal only.
blinky
Oct 16 2008, 05:15 PM
Eagle's Nest in Damansara Perdana.
Nothing beats it. I've tried steaks in Prime (labeled as one of the best steaks in the world), yet I still think Eagle's Nest serves the best steaks. They literally melt in your mouth.
Plus, they are one of the very, very few places I know that serves fresh escargots instead of frozen ones.
Putraskyline
Oct 16 2008, 05:34 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(blinky @ Oct 16 2008, 05:15 PM) Eagle's Nest in Damansara Perdana. Nothing beats it. I've tried steaks in Prime (labeled as one of the best steaks in the world), yet I still think Eagle's Nest serves the best steaks. They literally melt in your mouth. Plus, they are one of the very, very few places I know that serves fresh escargots instead of frozen ones. Eagle nest also not too bad . But for me, I would say their Bernaise sauce in Americano steak interrupt the juicy/taste of the meat itself. Also, the location is a bit hard lah. Anyway this restaurant have same rating with maredo though. I would rate 8.5/10. Too bad I missed the escargot part. This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Oct 16 2008, 05:34 PM
b00n
Oct 17 2008, 01:41 AM
delusional
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Oct 16 2008, 12:19 PM) Aiyoo...Tony Roma's at Pavillion, The Garden and Cineleisure. About the pricing, maredo got vacuum or chilled beef. For two person 3 course meal for about Rm160 while Roma's about Rm100. My opinion, Tony Roma's suck since their beef are not fresh and normal only. But Tony Roma in Singapore is good....but yet to try the ones here.
Putraskyline
Oct 17 2008, 09:46 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(b00n @ Oct 17 2008, 01:41 AM) But Tony Roma in Singapore is good....but yet to try the ones here. Really? You should try it here and post your comment. I tried 2 times because 1st time is at PV. After the meal was so bad, I go complain into Tony Roma's worldwide website. Raymond (He said GM of Tony Roma's) calling me and asking a few question regarding my complain and I received 2 complimentary meal which I go to Tony Roma's The Garden. Unfortunately, the meals about the same. Nothing different. Their lamb is like what we buy from Giant( marinated) and bake into pan. Nothing exciting for the rack of lamb. During complimentary meal, I order their shrimp for appetizer, it taste good to me. Their dessert also excellent, no complain. This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Oct 17 2008, 09:48 AM
crittertoo
Nov 1 2008, 02:32 AM

No more malaysia steak restaurant for me. I know having some other ppl to cook for you is nice....for me, I get the beef myself (chilled grained feed or wahyu of course) eg Prime Rib (they call it OB Rib), or a sirloin at 4.5 kgs that feeds about 6 big eaters.....medium rare for me...internal temp of 55 celcius. Some ppl say is abt 63 but at that temp...the steak really taste like sand paper...... ruth chris steak's are nice....
kicksense
Nov 1 2008, 06:28 AM

QUOTE(crittertoo @ Nov 1 2008, 02:32 AM) No more malaysia steak restaurant for me. I know having some other ppl to cook for you is nice....for me, I get the beef myself (chilled grained feed or wahyu of course) eg Prime Rib (they call it OB Rib), or a sirloin at 4.5 kgs that feeds about 6 big eaters.....medium rare for me...internal temp of 55 celcius. Some ppl say is abt 63 but at that temp...the steak really taste like sand paper...... ruth chris steak's are nice....  agree wif u. Cook ur steak by urself. Taste? Great.(follow the receipe la) BTW, VS steak house didnt get HALAL sijil yet. So to Muslim like me its limited our choices of steak restaurant.. I heard steak house around Kampung Baru quite good n price oo good..Halal summore..
ellimist
Nov 1 2008, 02:20 PM
Seconding the Prime suggestion on previous page. Definately makes alot of other places look pretty darn normal =p
TSraist86
Nov 2 2008, 05:35 PM
Tried Maredo on friday for my bday. Good food. Reasonably priced too. 2 person dinner came up to about RM 180 bucks. Went to the Bangsar branch.
We did order quite alot of stuff. I mean, 1 bruchetta, 2 tapas, 1 steak, 1 cod fish, 1 tiramisu and 2 drinks. Haha gluttony to the max.
The squid rings are pretty good while the eggplant tapas were over-powered by the thick slice of pepperoni. The waiter forgot to serve us the bread and sauce for the tapas though, had to ask for it.
I had their rib-eye steak and it's basically the way i wanted it. Medium rare with nothing fancy on it. Just dip their chimichurri sauce is enough. My gf had the cod fish which is awesome with the sun dried tomato sauce.
Highly recommended to go, just park at Bangsar village there and walk up to Maredo. Don't give those stupid thugs a chance to earn money by parking at the parking lot.
helencheese
Nov 3 2008, 08:56 AM
 sharing sharing 1. TonyRoma's (Midvalley)  sandwich  Rosemarry Chicken 2. Coliseum Cafe most popular is sizziling steak
painter
Nov 3 2008, 04:44 PM
Not much of a steakhouse in Malaysia to choose....Tony Roma is famous for it pork ribs around the world(sorry to the Muslim bro)...but in Malaysia they change the menu....but if go Singapore...must go and try the Morton's steakhouse in The Oriental hotel...excellent....
shelynssl
Nov 4 2008, 02:05 PM

QUOTE(apple_ylc @ Oct 16 2008, 01:58 AM) hehe ^^ i recommend tony roma:) is nice..better then chillis... the ship is normal if like cheaper 1...restoran kaki,,near cheras oso okir...gei nice if stay nearby genting klang...d station 1 oso not bad... I thought Tony Roma sucks. I have been there once, ordered code fish and rosemary chicken, sucks... and I never want to go back there anymore. Or maybe I chose the wrong things. Or maybe their steak is good.. I don't know. My Travel & Living