Runnerz... #2

ccube
post Feb 20 2009, 10:56 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(marvinct @ Feb 20 2009, 10:23 PM)
would really like to run and get the medal and t-shirt in its inaugural year. but wonder if i would be ready by then. Only started running for 3 and half months. plus another 128 days issit enuf training? never even run a half marathon before.... doh.gif  advice???
4 mths is adequate to train and run a 21k race. how far can u run comfortably?
ccube
post Feb 21 2009, 01:19 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(marvinct @ Feb 21 2009, 11:07 AM)
furthest i've ran is 18km with a 5 imnute break in between.
i am thinking of doing the full marathon though.
then tats ez if u hv done 18k before. a quick guide to ur training tat u can follow

Month 1
- Daily 5k to 8k
- if not then at least 3x a week
- Sat/Sun is your LSD, increase it to 20k

Month 2
- Daily 5k to 8k
- Sat/Sun is your LSD
- 4 weekends : 20k, 25k, 20k, 25k

Month 3
- Daily 5k to 8k
- Sat/Sun is your LSD
- 4 weekends : 20k, 28k, 20k, 30k

Month 4
- Daily 5k to 8k
- Sat/Sun is your LSD
- 4 weekends : 25k, 30k, 20k, 10k
- last 2 weeks taper down

There is no speed training here, just looking at building up ur endurance and able to sustain higher mileage and running longer distance.

And if you need a trainer let me know, as i am selling Saucony.

Note: As mentioned by d3vilzzzz, you must be committed to the program

ccube
post Feb 22 2009, 04:50 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Feb 22 2009, 11:34 AM)
Commitment is the key hereĀ  thumbup.gif

and btw..

Hi all,

Jz back frm me KL City Run..

I clocked 58:50 inclusive of a near 2 minutes in the kandang doing nothing..
Managed to secure a medal blush.gif I was number 216(if i rmbr correctly)..

There was pressure all the way frm the start as only the first 300 get medals..
I didn't want to go home without 1..

My first ever 10k (i heard it was 11km+?) and I definitely felt I could hv done better..
There were no markers hence I didn't knw when to accelerate and whether or not my pace was correct sad.gif I do suppose if there were markers i would have knwn when to accelerate BUT there was also lack of training on my part as i perhaps could have powered on all the way..

I need to train more!!  tongue.gif
Nonethless I definitely enjoy the run and I will continue participating in the many more competitions ahead!

KL Towerthon next week! here i come!!
Now u feel the kancheong-ness in getting medal leh drool.gif and dont feel too bad abt the time as the distance is ard 10.8k (3 GPS kok with slight diff distance ie 10.91k, 10.86k, 10.87k) 58.50 for a 1st timer in a tough 10k route is nothing to be ashame of. try again in next race and you can only get better. anyway i think u be proud of it.

for me i was trying to do a consistent sub5 pace but couldnt sustain it. my fastest lap is Km7 and Km8 where my pace was 4.38k/min and 4.51k/min. Km10 and Km11 is also slight under 5min pace, the rest are just above. anyway am happy with my time of 55.07 (position 49 in Jr Veteran) since its the first 10k race and my speed is reasonable. Shud be able to sustain a faster pace over time.

Added on February 22, 2009, 4:54 pm
QUOTE(marvinct @ Feb 21 2009, 03:57 PM)
thanks for the tip
will try to keep up to it.

Added on February 21, 2009, 11:07 pmccube: how much are u selling the injinji socks and body glide products?

i already have trainers, but is considering to get foot insoles for better support. Think they are necessary?
Injinji socks - RM48
Glide (small) - RM26 (big) - RM33

IMHO, if your shoe have good cushioning you dont need a support insole unless you are using orthotics insole.

This post has been edited by ccube: Feb 22 2009, 04:54 PM
ccube
post Feb 22 2009, 11:12 PM

1,074 posts

[quote=marvinct,Feb 22 2009, 09:48 PM]

Added on February 22, 2009, 4:54 pm
Injinji socks - RM48
Glide (small) - RM26 (big) - RM33

IMHO, if your shoe have good cushioning you dont need a support insole unless you are using orthotics insole.

[/quote]
ran 10 rounds around lake garden. rclxm9.gif but it was real tough....legs still soring. and got small blisters around the small toe.

hehehe think i may need those injinji socks. how can i get get them from u?

[/quote]

Having blisters can caused by 1) the socks create too much friction and 2) your shoes is too tight
maybe can meet at Lake gdns on a Sat to get the injinji.

This post has been edited by ccube: Feb 22 2009, 11:19 PM
ccube
post Feb 28 2009, 01:42 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(shahwan86 @ Feb 28 2009, 01:29 PM)
are there any runners from setiawangsa, kl area???

Sometimes boring to jog alone.

Would love a challenge.
comeby lake gdns on a Sat morning. there are more runners here.
ccube
post Feb 28 2009, 02:02 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(QD_buyer @ Feb 28 2009, 01:51 PM)
where to find cheap and good spike shoes ?
Try Pertama Complex....although Saucony got spike shoe but i didnt bring into Malaysia.
ccube
post Mar 1 2009, 10:23 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Mar 1 2009, 03:15 PM)
--MY REPORT--

Another event under my belt; KL Towerthon 2009 laugh.gif

I had lotsa fun climbing up those dreaded steps..seriously nt as maddening as I thought it would be(ya rite) brows.gif
As usual met all the "sifus"; ccube, phoenix, Lionel, pm1, pm55...

Now..before you attempt this "run" you must knw 1 floor is actually 4 floors AND you hv to do, i think 27?

The start of the race was an uphill run, abt a km or so..i saw many "sprinters" as the starting gun sounded BUT as soon as they reach say the 4th floor or so..they were CRAWLING..
MORAL of the story? the real competition starts when you reach the first floor laugh.gif AND nt when the gun is shot..

I completed the run in 21minutes and 42seconds..could i hv gone faster?
Let me say this..nxt yr i m going to clock a max of 20mins..

The above is the nice part of the day..bad part? lost my shoes..
How? i placed me shoes on the top of the car before i made my way to KL tower needless to say i forget to put it IN the car.. the rest is history...

PS. @CCUBE, lake gardens at 6pm++ during weekdays anyday? Special price?? laugh.gif thanks
you are getting better by the days. drop me a PM or email. maybe wed or thurs.
ccube
post Mar 3 2009, 12:01 PM

1,074 posts

KL Towerthon 2009 report http://seecube.blogspot.com/2009/03/kl-towerrthon-2009.html
ccube
post Mar 3 2009, 10:58 PM

1,074 posts

triple02,

u can visit the following url and download the brochure at Runners Malaysia site. as for cushion shoe you can look at Saucony Triumph 5 (neutral cushion) or Saucony Hurricane 10 (cushion stability)

http://www.runnersmalaysia.com.my/ccubesportshub/index.htm

http://www.ccube-sports-hub.blogspot.com/
ccube
post Mar 5 2009, 05:40 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(triple02 @ Mar 5 2009, 12:31 PM)
oh no didnt get it in Qbay but rather at their distro in Komtar. got if off for RM 470 after 20% disc, Asics are known for their cushioning and stability hence their weight but its not too bad la its lighter from what i compared to the earlier Kayano series, unfortunately cant have the best of both of worlds sad.gif  i barely felt pain after i finished the 5k though you might wana compare for urself though the diff between this and the earlier series
too bad i cant have the chance to show you Triumph 5 or Hurricane 10, and let you test out the shoe. anyhow ASICS is a good shoe, just that some of their models are starting to become very bulky recently bcos they are trying to put too much technologies into one shoe
ccube
post Mar 5 2009, 11:16 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Mar 5 2009, 10:59 PM)
Harlo all,

Gt a pair of Progrid Hurricane 10 frm ccube laugh.gif
Needless to say real light and breathable..
I ESPECIALLY like the arch lock feature..but i m nt too sure if the jazz12 has more cushion or this one..
but this pair is really realli comfy..

I smashed my pb for my 2 x 5km+ lap around LG with this pair tongue.gif

Thanks ccube, I hope I didn't trouble you too much..
n besides would you recomend this pair again or another for me 2nd trainer?
The Hurricane 10 is definite better in terms of cushioning and stability vs Jazz 12. Even with so much cushioning and stability, the shoe still give a very light feeling and not bulky. You may want to try out the Triumph5 or Guide as the 2nd trainer, but both model are slightly narrower. Gotta try it out to get a feel. And maybe 3 to 6 months down the road, you can go for the Fastwitch3 as your race day shoe to give u that fast feeling.

This post has been edited by ccube: Mar 5 2009, 11:18 PM
ccube
post Mar 9 2009, 04:59 PM

1,074 posts

WWR 09 race report out
http://seecube.blogspot.com/2009/03/wild-wild-run-2009.html
ccube
post Mar 11 2009, 09:53 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(scoop7 @ Mar 11 2009, 09:46 AM)
i'm just wondering, do you bring water bottles for ur 10/20km trainings?

I bring a small bottle for my 10km run but it's a bit troublesome to hold a bottle.

anyone has use Nathan Speed 2?
ccube: any feedback?

BTW, anyone going to the Bidor run this April?
I personally dont carry any water bottles during trng as 1) I dont need to drink until i hit a 10k mark 2) our trng runs of 20k will hv a water stop at the 10k mark before continuing

you can use the Nathan Speed 2 or 4 if you seriously need to drink in between. Better than you holding onto a bottle which is very cumbersome and tiring. so far the feedback is quite good on the fuel belt.
ccube
post Mar 11 2009, 09:38 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(lionel87 @ Mar 11 2009, 08:10 PM)
Hey,

there is a running group in penang -> http://wwwarrior.multiply.com/

We know some of the runners from this group as they've ran with us in KL a few times before.
This group of warriors have very der fast runners too......
ccube
post Mar 14 2009, 09:46 PM

1,074 posts

i am in for SCKLM full marathon. Got discount on registration summore!!!
ccube
post Mar 15 2009, 02:58 PM

1,074 posts

http://www.penangmarathon.gov.my/portal/
ccube
post Mar 16 2009, 09:56 AM

1,074 posts

Base training for Sundown and SCKLM will commence this Sat. For those interested to join, be at Bukit Aman carpark, Lake Gdns at 5.55am. Run will start at 6am sharp. First couple of runs will be 20k and the distance will be increase gradually overtime.
ccube
post Mar 16 2009, 10:40 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(phoenix @ Mar 16 2009, 10:28 AM)
I have just called the KL Marathon hotline number to enquire on certain issues. Apparently, some only received 1 email after registration ( You should receive 2: Confirmation Race ID Slip and Credit Card Transaction). According to them, there was a glitch on their system. But as long we received the e-mail regarding our credit card process, we are registered. And we do not need to resend them back the authorisation letter as indicated on that e-mail. They will proceed to remove that message. You can obtain your confirmation race ID slip by going to the registration site and input your IC/Passport number. Please share this with your friends. Thanks.

KL Marathon hotline: 03-78433180
i dont even get an email after registration woh, how???

UPDATE: got the email liao, wnet into SPAM bucket!!! rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by ccube: Mar 16 2009, 10:51 AM
ccube
post Mar 17 2009, 09:59 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Mar 16 2009, 09:49 PM)
OMG... just try to get my confirmation race ID by go to registration side and input my IC  and the messsage saying i have im-complete transaction!

but i had received email confirmation for payment of credit card!!!

weekend when free will give them a call!!!  vmad.gif
vin ann, dont worry. the system is not updated yet for you to chk the race id bib. i got the same system msg as you. i called the KL Marathon office and they assure that once you rcv email confirmation on Credit Card payment then your registration is done. No need to send back authorization letter. Yday phoenix had oredi posted his findings on this. from now on, they will be email updates on the progress of the event. just watch out for the email from them.

so no need Kancheong. I know all of you are very stress bcos of this. its in good hands.

ccube
post Mar 17 2009, 10:39 AM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Mar 17 2009, 10:29 AM)
Not payment via credit card? u shud hv no worries then..

WOOT  drool.gif orange bhp run oso open for registration edi laugh.gif
http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_5SPhPxnUuo8/Sbjw...s1600-h/BHP.jpg

Registration can be done at various BHP Station (refer to entry form) on 28-29 Mar and 4-5 April 09.

18 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0504sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:50 PM