post Feb 2 2009, 06:32 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

7200.12 memory cache is base on how big is the HDD
250gb = 8mb cache
500gb = 16mb cache
750gb = 32mb cache
1000gb = 32mb cache

that's what i saw on some certain website info.
but i was hoping to see higher memory cache like... 1000gb for 64mb cache WTF LOL. just joking xD
fariz
post Feb 2 2009, 06:47 AM

Tan Sri F
16,825 posts

QUOTE(Cyclonechuah @ Feb 2 2009, 06:32 AM)
7200.12 memory cache is base on how big is the HDD
250gb = 8mb cache
500gb = 16mb cache
750gb = 32mb cache
1000gb = 32mb cache

that's what i saw on some certain website info.
but i was hoping to see higher memory cache like... 1000gb for 64mb cache WTF LOL. just joking xD
http://forums.techarp.com/general-hardware...-cache-hdd.html
Cyclonechuah
post Feb 2 2009, 11:40 AM

(  ̄ c ̄)=c |。◕‿‿◕。|
1,726 posts

QUOTE(fariz @ Feb 2 2009, 06:47 AM)
oh, thanks alot for the link, but i was just mentioning about 7200.12 barracuda, 750gb and 1000gb has 32mb cache.
mitodna
post Feb 2 2009, 11:45 AM

14,039 posts

7200.12 average write speed improved, but in turn of CPU utilization? http://en.expreview.com/2009/01/07/review-...rd-drive.html/3

This post has been edited by mitodna: Feb 2 2009, 11:48 AM
uhlaw
post Feb 2 2009, 03:48 PM

-[L]aw -
2,896 posts

Does harddisk even get overheated? Especially notebook harddisk as people use their laptop for Bittorrent sweat.gif
Togepy
post Feb 2 2009, 04:15 PM

224 posts

between seagate freeagent go and WD passport essential, what you guys recommend more??
in term of reliability and speed smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
xelnamikaze
post Feb 2 2009, 10:42 PM

i ♥ to workout
1,892 posts

QUOTE(Togepy @ Feb 2 2009, 05:15 PM)
between seagate freeagent go and WD passport essential, what you guys recommend more??
in term of reliability and speed  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
both are good actually .. it really depends on your preference .. which of the design u like most .. cool2.gif
tech_frix
post Feb 3 2009, 08:53 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

QUOTE(Togepy @ Feb 2 2009, 04:15 PM)
in term of reliability and speed  smile.gif  smile.gif  smile.gif
i like maxtor one touch 4 mini..
bought 4 of them...fast and cool...
bluesky87
post Feb 3 2009, 01:56 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Feb 3 2009, 08:53 AM)
i like maxtor one touch 4 mini..
bought 4 of them...fast and cool...
Are you sure bro? I am using one now, 150gb. IMO I don't think it's fast. It perform more or less like a thumb drive speed only. I am very pissed with the original built in software as it is formatted as NTFS and only recognize by PC. When I plug in iMac, I am require to use the .dmg installer which I did and upon installing, everything seems fine but in MAC only! It's undetectable again when I switch back to PC! vmad.gif

The solution is to manually format it in MAC using the MAC disk utility making sure that it's formatted as FAT then only I can plug and play on both PC and MAC shakehead.gif
tech_frix
post Feb 3 2009, 05:29 PM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

it work flawlessly with me...
no hassle or anythg...
just plug and play...
mine is 250GB...
hazairi
post Feb 4 2009, 04:11 AM

2,694 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Feb 3 2009, 05:29 PM)
it work flawlessly with me...
no hassle or anythg...
just plug and play...
mine is 250GB...
How's the transfer rate? Is it fast?
tech_frix
post Feb 4 2009, 08:33 AM

Boo Yah!
5,656 posts

for me it was blazing...
i transfer a lot of vids and pics...and iso file oso and no hassle...
now edy pack...will burn it and use it all over again...
and i noticed that my maxtor did not get infected by any viruses wor..
reign226
post Feb 4 2009, 10:39 AM

804 posts

why don't u just get the ntfs-3g kext for iMac to enable native read/write to NTFS partitions? OSX86 comes with that out of the box, lol.

My gf has a Freeagent GO. The design is really awesome. Hers is white with a bright white pulsing LED. Looks gorgeous.

The WD Essential looks much less appealing, and squarish. Not sure if they have updated the design or not.

Added on February 4, 2009, 10:40 amwhy don't u just get the ntfs-3g kext for iMac to enable native read/write to NTFS partitions? OSX86 comes with that out of the box, lol.

My gf has a Freeagent GO. The design is really awesome. Hers is white with a bright white pulsing LED. Looks gorgeous.

The WD Essential looks much less appealing, and squarish. Not sure if they have updated the design or not.

This post has been edited by reign226: Feb 4 2009, 10:40 AM
super macgyver
post Feb 4 2009, 11:39 AM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(reign226 @ Feb 4 2009, 10:39 AM)
why don't u just get the ntfs-3g kext for iMac to enable native read/write to NTFS partitions? OSX86 comes with that out of the box, lol.

Added on February 4, 2009, 10:40 amwhy don't u just get the ntfs-3g kext for iMac to enable native read/write to NTFS partitions? OSX86 comes with that out of the box, lol.

Where to get ntfs-3g kext?
nelienuxe_sara
post Feb 4 2009, 07:59 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

QUOTE(tech_frix @ Oct 6 2008, 10:13 AM)
thanks boss...
so compare to WD or Samsung, Seagate stills rock??
sorry for my noobness..
nope... recently seagate have prob with the new hdd
die without any early warning... even 1 day use can die oso
limhongwoon
post Feb 4 2009, 08:02 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Feb 4 2009, 08:59 PM)
nope... recently seagate have prob with the new hdd
die without any early warning... even 1 day use can die oso
but nid to see u lucky or not lol
nelienuxe_sara
post Feb 4 2009, 09:19 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

bout 30% that been sell return back... c u lucky o not
limhongwoon
post Feb 4 2009, 09:22 PM

Intel Certified - COre I7
2,892 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Feb 4 2009, 10:19 PM)
bout 30% that been sell return back... c u lucky o not
but got 70% of ppl is lucky
super macgyver
post Feb 4 2009, 11:29 PM

★~13k Spam Club~★
19,322 posts

QUOTE(limhongwoon @ Feb 4 2009, 09:22 PM)
but got 70% of ppl is lucky
Wit that kind of result, seagate surely lose to wd ler. sweat.gif
KenjiTSK
post Feb 5 2009, 12:17 AM

41 posts

heard from my colleague tat samsung uses economical materials to produce their hdd, while seagate n wd uses good quality ones...so it is advisable to get seagate n wd hdd if possible...is this true?

130 Pages « < 34 35 36 37 38 > » Top

0.0276sec    1.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:36 AM