130 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Bottom

All About Harddisk Thread V2, Discussion for Good Harddisk

jason18689
post Oct 15 2009, 12:42 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

QUOTE(bowerchung @ Oct 15 2009, 09:08 AM)
hi guys... rclxms.gif
i gotta question... sweat.gif

any1 knows how long is a harddisk lifespan...? hmm.gif
coz another of my rig got a hdd used up to 4years++ shocking.gif
and sometimes producing some crackiing sound sad.gif
Wow, i have been using my old Pentium 4 rig containing MAXTOR 40gb which i bought it on 2003...
Till now, everything is still okay....
And, it is still running goooooood nod.gif
Throught this period, i think i formatted my hdd for more than 25 times... laugh.gif
MAXTOR smile.gif

This post has been edited by jason18689: Oct 15 2009, 12:42 PM
simon82
post Oct 15 2009, 01:38 PM

567 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Oct 7 2009, 03:12 PM)
hi all, anyone here is using Samsung EcoGreen F2 HD154UI 1.5TB 32MB cache? How is the performance? May I know how to warranty Samsung hard disk? What is the warranty period of this drive? Thanks.

http://www.samsung.com/global/business/hdd...d=441&ppmi=1170
Bought this...... performance so so......
Not hot at all.. even after a few hours.........

not bad actually.....
Thinking of getting another 1....

bowerchung
post Oct 15 2009, 02:07 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(jason18689 @ Oct 15 2009, 12:42 PM)
Wow, i have been using my old Pentium 4 rig containing MAXTOR 40gb which i bought it on 2003...
Till now, everything is still okay....
And, it is still running goooooood nod.gif
Throught this period, i think i formatted my hdd for more than 25 times... laugh.gif
MAXTOR smile.gif
wow rclxms.gif
but i format more den 25times....
i oso forget how many times ady.... sweat.gif
jason18689
post Oct 15 2009, 02:48 PM

[xx Years @ LYN]
3,681 posts

haha!!
But, about your case, cracking sound occurs frequently?

squall3377
post Oct 15 2009, 11:47 PM

Y bother...
793 posts

SSD anyone?
they claim it's the best harddisk on the market now... o.O
murzark
post Oct 16 2009, 05:01 AM

305 posts

Well, SSD is the future.
but the price i still very high compared to conventional hdd.
fulim1410
post Oct 20 2009, 03:05 PM

Hi there,just want to ask. Recently my hdd acting weirdly. It is a not so old HDD, lifespan < 6 month (1TB WD Green). The problem is that it will random lockup and I need to remove the SATA cable and power up and the HDD will produce a spinning sound. Then power off and reinsert back the SATA cable and it will boot nicely into the windows. If I did not do the remove sata process it will just loading at the windows XP screen like forever. Any advice beside backup the data(currently slowly doing it)? It is driving me crazy all my data is in this HDD and I want to know what is happening.My old maxtor HD >3 years did not even have this kind of problem.
yangxi
post Oct 20 2009, 07:55 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

WD 1TB GP @RM275
0.275/gb

WD 1.5TB GreenPower now @RM399
0.266/gb. worth !!

plan to buy 2unit.

ham_revilo
post Oct 20 2009, 09:01 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(fulim1410 @ Oct 20 2009, 03:05 PM)
Hi there,just want to ask. Recently my hdd acting weirdly. It is a not so old HDD, lifespan < 6 month (1TB WD Green). The problem is that it will random lockup and I need to remove the SATA cable and power up and the HDD will produce a spinning sound. Then power off and reinsert back the SATA cable and it will boot nicely into the windows. If I did not do the remove sata process it will just loading at the windows XP screen like forever. Any advice beside backup the data(currently slowly doing it)? It is driving me crazy all my data is in this HDD and I want to know what is happening.My old maxtor HD >3 years did not even have this kind of problem.
it could probably be a faulty unit. try downloading hdd diagnostics software to test run it. but then still you need to backup your data just in case your hdd crash in the process smile.gif

engseng
post Oct 21 2009, 01:22 PM

1,981 posts

I hear that Intel makes the best SSDs now. But SSDs are still too expensive... If I wanted to buy one, I would like it to be at least 1Tb.
sirlordwanz
post Oct 21 2009, 03:53 PM

437 posts

i bought 640gb external disk maxtor basics. is it ok??
mitodna
post Oct 21 2009, 04:55 PM

14,039 posts

QUOTE(yangxi @ Oct 20 2009, 07:55 PM)
WD 1TB GP @RM275
0.275/gb
WD 1.5TB GreenPower  now @RM399
0.266/gb.  worth !!

plan to buy 2unit.
Samsung EcoGreen 1.5TB is like 340myr.
Loki[D.d.G]
post Oct 21 2009, 05:53 PM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

QUOTE(engseng @ Oct 21 2009, 01:22 PM)
I hear that Intel makes the best SSDs now. But SSDs are still too expensive... If I wanted to buy one, I would like it to be at least 1Tb.
That will likely be a few more years in the making, and will be another couple before they get affordable. Your best bet would be in 2015 or later. And by then if the conventional HDD is still around, they'll be having capacities of up till 10TB. More than most people use in an entire lifetime.

As for the SSD market, Intel's x25-m offers probably the best bang for buck factor. Though OCZ is starting to give them a run for their money.
yangxi
post Oct 21 2009, 06:43 PM

Violinist ^.^ 囧 囧
4,189 posts

Failure rate in France (2008/9 -2009/3)
http://edu.cnbeta.com/articles/96030.htm

三、硬盘

厂商:

- 希捷:2.89%
- 迈拓:2.79%
- 三星:2.25%
- 日立:0.92%
- 西数:0.89%

部分具体型号:

- 三星SpinPoint T 500GB:12.9%
- 迈拓DiamondMax 22 1TB:6.5%
- 希捷7200.11 500GB:5.2%
- 迈拓DiamondMax 22 500GB:4.8%
- 迈拓DiamondMax 22 750GB:3.9%
- 希捷7200.11 1TB:3.7%
- 希捷7200.11 750GB:3.6%
- 日立320GB IDE:3.2%

单就1TB容量型号而言:

- 迈拓DiamondMax 22:6.5%
- 希捷7200.11:3.7%
- 三星SpinPoint F1:2.9%
- 三星EcoGreen F1:1.6%
- 西数Caviar Green WD10EACS:0.9%
- 日立7K 1000.B:0.8%
- 西数Caviar Black:0%
- 西数Caviar Green WD10EADS:0%
ham_revilo
post Oct 21 2009, 08:19 PM

I
6,583 posts

haha....

i cant read chinese man doh.gif

but i suppose its about the failure rate of hdd? but i spotted maxtor and WD brand. some i dont know how to read and some like SpinPoint, i havent heard about it laugh.gif
mitodna
post Oct 21 2009, 09:06 PM

14,039 posts

SpinPoint is from Samsung

any EcoGreen F2 series?

This post has been edited by mitodna: Oct 21 2009, 09:11 PM
engseng
post Oct 23 2009, 01:17 PM

1,981 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Oct 21 2009, 05:53 PM)
That will likely be a few more years in the making, and will be another couple before they get affordable. Your best bet would be in 2015 or later. And by then if the conventional HDD is still around, they'll be having capacities of up till 10TB. More than most people use in an entire lifetime.

As for the SSD market, Intel's x25-m offers probably the best bang for buck factor. Though OCZ is starting to give them a run for their money.
The thing about SSD is it obeys Moore's Law... Every 6 months it's going to double in size as it's made with the same technology as the thumbdrives and SD cards. SSDs are going to go out-of-date quickly like this.

Oh, we do have 1Tb SSDs already by OCZ, it's the PCI-e version and it costs RM4,000!
ham_revilo
post Oct 23 2009, 06:52 PM

I
6,583 posts

imo, ssd are merely used for loading windows and maybe some heavy software application. i think its not a good idea to spend so much just for storage. to me, 160gb is more than enough for windows smile.gif
kInOzAwA
post Oct 23 2009, 07:13 PM

LYN Ninja
2,889 posts

QUOTE(ham_revilo @ Oct 23 2009, 06:52 PM)
imo, ssd are merely used for loading windows and maybe some heavy software application. i think its not a good idea to spend so much just for storage. to me, 160gb is more than enough for windows smile.gif
laugh.gif everybody got their opinion, for me even 1TB is still not enough for the windows... I'm more into the multimedia stuff and it really takes a lot of space besides i kept too many songs inside the hdd too... tongue.gif
ham_revilo
post Oct 23 2009, 08:38 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(kInOzAwA @ Oct 23 2009, 07:13 PM)
laugh.gif everybody got their opinion, for me even 1TB is still not enough for the windows... I'm more into the multimedia stuff and it really takes a lot of space besides i kept too many songs inside the hdd too...  tongue.gif
i think you got me wrong bro smile.gif

what i meant is 160gb ssd for windows. for storage and everything else all on normal hdd. i recommend WD green tongue.gif

130 Pages « < 68 69 70 71 72 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:38 AM