QUOTE(martinsee @ Oct 6 2008, 09:55 AM)
share your iphone 3G GPS usage, Sygic map-Voice turn-by-turn available!
Oct 6 2008, 10:37 AM
1,357 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Apple system is so propitiatory. There is no way to installed anything beside going through the itune.. I did not see got any 3rd party map at the moment even if u JB your iphone...Well, maybe i am wrong...
QUOTE(martinsee @ Oct 6 2008, 09:55 AM) |
Oct 6 2008, 10:41 AM
89 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(sugen @ Oct 6 2008, 10:37 AM) Apple system is so propitiatory. There is no way to installed anything beside going through the itune.. I did not see got any 3rd party map at the moment even if u JB your iphone...Well, maybe i am wrong... U are wrong.. U can use SSH to transfer file to your iphone folder.. Juz that i dont know which folder should i paste in this KL Map.. Hope any sifu mind to teach me.. Thanks you in advance! |
Oct 6 2008, 10:46 AM
Ok, that perhaps u already JB your iphone.. I also hope that the driving direction works on any 3rd party map.. Then, i will consider JB mine..
QUOTE(martinsee @ Oct 6 2008, 10:41 AM) |
Oct 6 2008, 02:32 PM
518 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Steps to use
1) Use cydia Dl the offline maps apps 2) Open SSH 3)Put Maptiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.maps.plist into /var/mobile/media/maps 4) open offline maps apps, select KL then press Copy ( to make cache in the original maps apps, then press link) 5) if all correct, it should display the map in Iphone Maps without using any online connection @Sugen Currently there is no route from google map for malaysia, therefore cannot create a route files, the offline apps is included the offline route only problem is google maps itself does not have malaysia route. If there have, maybe i can learn how to install offline routes. |
Oct 6 2008, 04:23 PM
Ok,so is just an offline maps.I m using data unlimited plan;by the way did u come across any 3rd party Co. that can provide route v map n iPhone?Untill this is working else I still find that d Gps iphone in Malaysia is not usefull
QUOTE(Shock @ Oct 6 2008, 02:32 PM) Steps to use 1) Use cydia Dl the offline maps apps 2) Open SSH 3)Put Maptiles.sqlitedb and com.apple.maps.plist into /var/mobile/media/maps 4) open offline maps apps, select KL then press Copy ( to make cache in the original maps apps, then press link) 5) if all correct, it should display the map in Iphone Maps without using any online connection @Sugen Currently there is no route from google map for malaysia, therefore cannot create a route files, the offline apps is included the offline route only problem is google maps itself does not have malaysia route. If there have, maybe i can learn how to install offline routes. |
Oct 6 2008, 07:33 PM
623 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
Its useful for me and compliments my Garmin Nuvi 200w as this one can use indoors and has very fast acquisition speed. Its good when you need a snap shot of the roads around you.
Oct 6 2008, 07:43 PM
sugen,
as i mentioned, the iphone is using google maps. only route can be make is using google maps route which no available to malaysia map YET. Other solution should be like a App called "Path tracker" where it can route the map but u need to do it manually b4 you left ur house/place. Such other program such nokia bro mentioned also |
Oct 6 2008, 09:42 PM
Wat I mean was since 3rd party developer is so advance now.Cant they developed a map that iPhone can works with instead of relying on google map.Many GPS device outside allow d device to download n I stall different map.Y none is for iPhone
QUOTE(Shock @ Oct 6 2008, 07:43 PM) sugen, as i mentioned, the iphone is using google maps. only route can be make is using google maps route which no available to malaysia map YET. Other solution should be like a App called "Path tracker" where it can route the map but u need to do it manually b4 you left ur house/place. Such other program such nokia bro mentioned also |
Oct 6 2008, 09:52 PM
1,903 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ipohmali |
@sugen there would be limitations definitely for the developers to develop something that huge up, additionally putting maps on to the phone requires huge databases which small time developers don't have the privilege to have
anyway my question would be, if we have offline maps downloaded and SSH-ed into our phone...let's say i'm using the 2G variant, can i just use the tower triangulation thing to pinpoint my location? |
Oct 6 2008, 11:18 PM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Oct 6 2008, 09:52 PM) anyway my question would be, if we have offline maps downloaded and SSH-ed into our phone...let's say i'm using the 2G variant, can i just use the tower triangulation thing to pinpoint my location? i'm wondering about that too, and on top of that, say if i'm travelling somewhere else, don't have roaming and using it in airplane mode, no wifi whatsoever. can the offline map use just with the intergrated gps? |
Oct 7 2008, 09:34 AM
I think Assisted GPS really need assist to determine the GPS location as the name itself imply.But u can stilluse it to gauge the plane crusng speed
QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 6 2008, 11:18 PM) |
Oct 7 2008, 02:21 PM
i try to answer the questions, but i cannot guarantee i am 100% correct.
1) yes, you can pinpoint yourself with gps with offline maps, I tried go from wangsa maju here to pj, and i dun lose a single cent from my credit. 2) According to my experience and reading, somehow gps in iphone is using AGPS to work, with another word say, it uses tower to pinpoint location therefore the 3G or Edge must be enabled. So, when at plane, u cannnot pinpoint ur location i think. After all,when you in airplane are not suppose to send any signal out, it might disturb the plane functions ( you can try ask string bro about this, i not really sure myself) You can use GPS as well without the 3g network but, it only work at open air (at house failed, double tinted car failed). that y i mention using A-GPS is better when you in the car. This post has been edited by Shock: Oct 8 2008, 12:47 PM |
Oct 7 2008, 02:28 PM
3,242 posts Joined: Apr 2008 From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: From: |
QUOTE(Shock @ Oct 7 2008, 02:21 PM) i try to answer the questions, but i cannot guarantee i am 100% correct. thanks for the great info, it's indeed a good news that gps still can be used with offline map!1) yes, you can pinpoint yourself with gps with offline maps, I tried go from wangsa maju here to pj, and i dun lose a single cent from my credit. 2) According to my experience and reading, somehow gps in iphone is using AGPS to work, with another word say, it uses tower to pinpoint location therefore the 3G or Edge must be enabled. So, when at plane, u cannnot pinpoint ur location i think. After all,when you in airplane are not suppose to send any signal out, it might disturb the plane functions ( you can try ask string bro about this, i not really sure myself) regarding the airplane mode, just for example if my sim got no roaming or i simply dun want to use my sim card when i'm on vacation and travelling, not neccessary on the plane. but if it doesn't work totally offline (just rely on gps itself) wouldn't it a little useless? time for some reading off google... |
Oct 7 2008, 06:45 PM
971 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Perth, Australia |
im using it in australia,kinda nice coz the streets names,addresses are all up to date.
Oct 8 2008, 02:19 AM
2,729 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: Gotham City |
![]() if in spore or any other official i3g selling country...u wun hv any prob getting da route info... all pray we get official i3g in MY, at least for this |
Oct 8 2008, 06:44 AM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
I don't know about U people but 8 out of 10x I've opened the GPS application, I don't get the BLUE dot!
Perhaps it's because I'm on Wi-fi signal? |
Oct 8 2008, 11:15 AM
5,786 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: VIC - The Place To Be |
@ tinkerbel
you have to be out in the open. triangulating your location via gps does not need any sort of wifi/network coverage. |
Oct 8 2008, 12:00 PM
88 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
anybody know about M-Map for iphone,they said available in appstore,but i can't find it
Oct 8 2008, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(little ice @ Oct 7 2008, 02:28 PM) thanks for the great info, it's indeed a good news that gps still can be used with offline map! You can try take off your sim card and see gps work anot, i modify my post earlier, because i always in car or somewhere where gps signal is hard to receive that y i use Agps, if you in open air, GPS can use even with everything is turned off (using bosspref)regarding the airplane mode, just for example if my sim got no roaming or i simply dun want to use my sim card when i'm on vacation and travelling, not neccessary on the plane. but if it doesn't work totally offline (just rely on gps itself) wouldn't it a little useless? time for some reading off google... |
Oct 8 2008, 01:27 PM
| Change to: | 0.0288sec