All About Badminton Equipment v2, Racket, Shoes, Grip, String, Cocks

silrave
post Sep 19 2010, 01:30 AM

5,893 posts

QUOTE(melvin93 @ Sep 19 2010, 12:49 AM)
hmm guys, i feel like my BG85 27lbs is giving too much stress to my arms, should i lower the tension slightly  with same strings or should i get

a zymax62 , or bg66, with around 26 or 25lbs?
note : im looking for more power  thumbup.gif
wao so pro leh u
i jz use bg66 with 25lbs or 24 lbs forget XD
nemoexcel
post Sep 19 2010, 04:42 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 18 2010, 04:25 AM)
lol..wristband can prevent sprained/twisted wrist
wristband is too thick to be the supporting mechanism i think
trainer's tape or athletic tape can be used as support
but seems like putting some around the wrist is more like limiting the movement more than support
it's very hard to move. might be good for training laugh.gif

Added on September 18, 2010, 4:46 am

something i wanna share

i have some questions in my head regarding string tension
let's assume..same string, same racket, new shuttle of same type, similar swing and strength
assume that i can handle 28lbs with no problem
i can produce lightning smash with 28lbs if hit the sweetspot
but i feel that the sweetspot smash with 24lbs  has similar speed

well it doesn't trouble me but makes me wonder, which should be faster?
A higher stringed tension = more control, but LESS power in your smashes
lower tension = more power in smashes, but LESS control of your shuttle.. imagine a trampoline effect if you jump on it....

check this out bro >> http://badmintonracketguide.com/tag/badminton-string/

ziggy87
post Sep 19 2010, 05:08 AM

nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom
1,519 posts

QUOTE(silrave @ Sep 19 2010, 12:27 AM)
haha
got use a ?
i just buy a thing but use le feel not biasa
i mean i was laughing at the idea that wristband can prevent sprained wrist
i don't think it can

QUOTE(melvin93 @ Sep 19 2010, 12:49 AM)
hmm guys, i feel like my BG85 27lbs is giving too much stress to my arms, should i lower the tension slightly  with same strings or should i get

a zymax62 , or bg66, with around 26 or 25lbs?
note : im looking for more power  thumbup.gif
how's your accuracy?
if your accuracy is high (constantly hitting sweetspot), can try Zy62 @ 24lbs or lower
Zy62@24lbs is equivalent to BG66@26lbs

QUOTE(nemoexcel @ Sep 19 2010, 04:42 AM)
lower tension = more power in smashes, but LESS control of your shuttle.. imagine a trampoline effect if you jump on it....

thanks but i already knew that long ago
the problem is..i'm producing SAME power with both high and low tension
that's the part i don't understand why
melvin93
post Sep 19 2010, 07:33 AM

135 posts

hmm but its hard to get a zymax 62 in subang here tho, but theres another brand which also has 0.62

so should i settle for bg66 with 26lbs or zymax 62 with 24 or less?? i mean like if bg66 is equivalent, then i think i should just get the bg66... because its thicker so it should last longer right??

these are thinner than bg85, so i guess it will produce more power than the current bg85 with 27lbs?

i don't have the best accuracy around, so i think i will go for something more forgiving, already using edgesaber Z slayer laugh.gif

so it comes down to...

a)BG85 with 24lbs
b)BG66 with 25 lbs (more sling shot i guess, or should i get higher tension.. i have troubles after first round with bg85;27lbs)
c)zymax62 with 24lbs or lesser

which of these have the most power?? i can adapt to control so im just looking for the most power here sweat.gif

This post has been edited by melvin93: Sep 19 2010, 07:56 AM
lowstate
post Sep 19 2010, 10:37 AM

281 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 18 2010, 11:31 PM)
i believe u r talking about string. i'm currently using it now
yea it's string. durability and feeling compare to bg66?
Omage007
post Sep 19 2010, 10:46 AM

Warn : 95%
3,009 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 18 2010, 04:25 AM)
something i wanna share

i have some questions in my head regarding string tension
let's assume..same string, same racket, new shuttle of same type, similar swing and strength
assume that i can handle 28lbs with no problem
i can produce lightning smash with 28lbs if hit the sweetspot
but i feel that the sweetspot smash with 24lbsĀ  has similar speed

well it doesn't trouble me but makes me wonder, which should be faster?
Could it be your arm/wrist/body power only manage to explode the full power of 24lbs string but not 28lbs?

let say LinDan use 24lbs smash is 200km/h, use 28lbs smash is 250km/h, he is strong enough to explode the full power of both string tension.
but you use 24lbs smash is 185km/h, use 28lbs smash is 190km/h, make you feel like both speed is around the same?? hmm.gif

So LinDan LCW they use 30lbs++ smash no power loh?? hmm.gif if use 10lbs can smash gau gau?? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Omage007: Sep 19 2010, 10:47 AM
melvin93
post Sep 19 2010, 12:39 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(Omage007 @ Sep 19 2010, 10:46 AM)
Could it be your arm/wrist/body power only manage to explode the full power of 24lbs string but not 28lbs?

let say LinDan use 24lbs smash is 200km/h, use 28lbs smash is 250km/h, he is strong enough to explode the full power of both string tension.
but you use 24lbs smash is 185km/h, use 28lbs smash is 190km/h, make you feel like both speed is around the same??  hmm.gif
So LinDan LCW they use 30lbs++ smash no power loh?? hmm.gif    if use 10lbs can smash gau gau??  biggrin.gif
haha, its more like, when its 30lbs, u need the force strong enough to make the 30lbs string repel to its best state (that means to make it like a sling shot)

the harder the tension = stronger power is correct, but someone weak like me can never use 30lbs to its full power but i will instead produce stronger force with 25lbs because im weak and the tension suits me enough, which is not too soft, not too hard, just right for the best repulsion and sling shot effect with my strength and swing speed.

alan kc
post Sep 19 2010, 02:14 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 19 2010, 05:08 AM)
i mean i was laughing at the idea that wristband can prevent sprained wrist
i don't think it can
how's your accuracy?
if your accuracy is high (constantly hitting sweetspot), can try Zy62 @ 24lbs or lower
Zy62@24lbs is equivalent to BG66@26lbs
thanks but i already knew that long ago
the problem is..i'm producing SAME power with both high and low tension
that's the part i don't understand why
Thats mean ur hand nt enough power to use d high tension..

Added on September 19, 2010, 2:24 pm

I dun agree,if u say like that,wat lbs u use 13lbs?y d national player strung 33lbs?evry string hav different thicknes and handle how many tension equal to how many string flex...if d string to flex,it cant produce full power..bt if d string tension too high it bcome too tight,and need to more hand power to hit it..for exp,bg66 is thin,if u strung it 30 lbs,u will feel so hard to hit it coz d string is over lbs until it dun hav flex d..jus like d rubber band.

Added on September 19, 2010, 2:33 pm

I dun agree,if u say like that,wat lbs u use 13lbs?y d national player strung 33lbs?evry string hav different thicknes and handle how many tension equal to how many string flex...if d string to flex,it cant produce full power..bt if d string tension too high it bcome too tight,and need to more hand power to hit it..for exp,bg66 is thin,if u strung it 30 lbs,u will feel so hard to hit it coz d string is over lbs until it dun hav flex d..jus like d rubber band.

This post has been edited by alan kc: Sep 19 2010, 02:33 PM
ziggy87
post Sep 19 2010, 05:58 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(melvin93 @ Sep 19 2010, 07:33 AM)
hmm but its hard to get a zymax 62 in subang here tho, but theres another brand which also has 0.62

so should  i settle for bg66 with 26lbs or zymax 62 with 24 or less?? i mean like if bg66 is equivalent, then i think i should just get the bg66... because its thicker so it should last longer right??

these are thinner than bg85, so i guess it will produce more  power than the current bg85 with 27lbs?

i don't have the best accuracy around, so i think i will go for something more forgiving, already using edgesaber Z slayer  laugh.gif
so it comes down to...

a)BG85 with 24lbs
b)BG66 with 25 lbs (more sling shot i guess, or should i get higher tension.. i have troubles after first round with bg85;27lbs)
c)zymax62 with 24lbs or lesser

which of these have the most power?? i can adapt to control so im just looking for the most power here  sweat.gif
u mean lining 0.62? u can skip that
most reviews says that Zy62 beat it flat

QUOTE(Omage007 @ Sep 19 2010, 10:46 AM)

but you use 24lbs smash is 185km/h, use 28lbs smash is 190km/h, make you feel like both speed is around the same??  hmm.gif
make some sense

QUOTE(alan kc @ Sep 19 2010, 02:14 PM)
Thats mean ur hand nt enough power to use d high tension..
this is most probably the problem

nah..just something that i wonder
it's not really a good comparison though because i was comparing a 3u(24lbs) and a 4u(28lbs) racket
i can still live with it coz my shots are still reaching baseline and not always half court with the 28lbs
thank you all sifus!! notworthy.gif
alan kc
post Sep 19 2010, 06:55 PM

421 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 19 2010, 05:58 PM)
u mean lining 0.62? u can skip that
most reviews says that Zy62 beat it flat
make some sense
this is most probably the problem

nah..just something that i wonder
it's not really a good comparison though because i was comparing a 3u(24lbs) and a 4u(28lbs) racket
i can still live with it coz my shots are still reaching baseline and not always half court with the 28lbs
thank you all sifus!! notworthy.gif
Haha..high and low tension probaly will find smash speed..stroke nt so can feel d different.
SUSdoublezul
post Sep 19 2010, 10:15 PM

175 posts

what brand/model of towel grip is good?

between bg80 and bg66 string,which produce more power if use the same tension?
ziggy87
post Sep 19 2010, 11:01 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(alan kc @ Sep 19 2010, 06:55 PM)
Haha..high and low tension probaly will find smash speed..stroke nt so can feel d different.
yupe. i can place shots better with 28lbs
Fantasia
post Sep 20 2010, 12:19 AM

5,487 posts

QUOTE(lowstate @ Sep 19 2010, 10:37 AM)
yea it's string. durability and feeling compare to bg66?
i believe BG6 is more durable than BG66 while BG66 can produce more power.
i have read some of u giving info about string tension. for those who still dont understand, i will like u to caring out this simple experiment.
1. get a rubber band.
2. then u pull the rubber band til cresent shape. and record the X as well as the strength needed to pull it to Xcm
3. then move the pulled rubber band near ur skin and then release ur finger so that the rubber band will strike u. this illustrate low tension
4. use the same rubber band, now u stretch the rubber band longer to illutrate high tension. repeat 1 to 3.
5. now u compare which 1 is more pain as well as the strength require to pull the rubber band to Xcm
hopefully this help

This post has been edited by Fantasia: Sep 20 2010, 12:34 AM
ziggy87
post Sep 20 2010, 01:26 AM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 20 2010, 12:19 AM)
i believe BG6 is more durable than BG66 while BG66 can produce more power.
i have read some of u giving info about string tension. for those who still dont understand, i will like u to caring out this simple experiment.
1. get a rubber band.
2. then u pull the rubber band til cresent shape. and record the X as well as the strength needed to pull it to Xcm
3. then move the pulled rubber band near ur skin and then release ur finger so that the rubber band will strike u. this illustrate low tension
4. use the same rubber band, now u stretch the rubber band longer to illutrate high tension. repeat 1 to 3.
5. now u compare which 1 is more pain as well as the strength require to pull the rubber band to Xcm
hopefully this help
of course stretched longer is more painful when hit our hand
but..more painful means?

from what i see, it's the opposite (no offense fantasia bro blush.gif)
u pull the rubber band a little bit which illustrate the string movement when the shuttle hits
higher tension will have smaller X while lower tension will have bigger X

it's like jumping on bed(low tension) and floor(high tension)
bed will allow higher jump (means more power)

that's the theory that i understand

btw, good effot to explain the 'trampoline effect' bro fantasia rclxms.gif
sorry if it is not what u're trying to explain blush.gif

This post has been edited by ziggy87: Sep 20 2010, 01:29 AM
melvin93
post Sep 20 2010, 06:49 AM

135 posts

rclxub.gif

more force + higher tension + higher stretch = faster shuttle

less force + lower tension + lower stretch = fast shuttle

less force + higher tension + low stretch = slower shuttle

more force + lower tension + low stretch = moderate speed

low stretch as in strings too thin, cant stretch much

This post has been edited by melvin93: Sep 20 2010, 07:15 AM
devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 09:40 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 20 2010, 01:26 AM)
but..more painful means?

u pull the rubber band a little bit which illustrate the string movement when the shuttle hits

he did mentioned to pull the rubber band X cm same for experiment 1 & 2. This make the X cm is the constant figure.
When you stretch the rubber band longer a bit, you will need more strength to pull the rubber band to X cm.

Stretching the rubber band = tension
Pulling the rubber band = strength / hitting force
In short, the higher tension of your racket the more force you need to make stronger hitting power than using low tension string.

I just give a guess on what he mean.
melvin93
post Sep 20 2010, 09:54 AM

135 posts

yes so you need a tension suitable for your playing style including the force comfortable used by you when u smash or hit or wtv
devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 10:37 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(melvin93 @ Sep 20 2010, 09:54 AM)
yes so you need a tension suitable for your playing style including the force comfortable used by you when u smash or hit or wtv
guess so... you can also train more on ur wrist power in order to produce more strength power.
Besides, some minor minor aspect like flex or stiff and weight do influence.
sometimes when use different tension with same type of racket the strength and speed is same in our eye, but it can't be same right.
How can we judge 180kmph and 200kmph with our own eye? if u say 60kmph and 200kmph is easy cos the different is huge.
If you are comfortable and can perform well with the racket that you are using, then it will be a good racket with good string tension for you.

Currently, I'm using Victor BS10 & Spira 21. It much more stiff and heavy than the racket i used to use last time, therefore it affect my smashing power a bit but front core play is still the same or even better. Even someone always tell me to reduce the string tension (currently using 27 for BS10 & 25 for spira 21), but i'm kinda of stuborn type. LOL. Trying to use more wrist power force now. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by devince83: Sep 20 2010, 10:43 AM
Fantasia
post Sep 20 2010, 10:55 AM

5,487 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Sep 20 2010, 01:26 AM)
but..more painful means?

sifu devince83 got it right ^^
QUOTE(devince83 @ Sep 20 2010, 09:40 AM)
he did mentioned to pull the rubber band X cm same for experiment 1 & 2. This make the X cm is the constant figure.
When you stretch the rubber band longer a bit, you will need more strength to pull the rubber band to X cm.

Stretching the rubber band = tension
Pulling the rubber band = strength / hitting force
In short, the higher tension of your racket the more force you need to make stronger hitting power than using low tension string.

I just give a guess on what he mean.
yes, u r correct notworthy.gif and the pain comparison is to understand the power produced. more pain=more power produced
devince83
post Sep 20 2010, 10:59 AM

p@ndaguin
1,230 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 20 2010, 10:55 AM)
sifu devince83 got it right ^^

yes, u r correct  notworthy.gif  and the pain comparison is to understand the power produced. more pain=more power produced
i'm not sifu.. i just testify according to your experiment only....
No matter how much i understand, I can't produce strong powerful smash. Besides, i'm not smasher type..
lol

125 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0404sec    0.83    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:48 PM