anyone having aircond problems with the 2008 VTEC?
seems like not cold ler... if sit behind need to turn on full blast to feel a bit of air...
~LY.Net Honda City Enthusiast Club~ V5
Jun 9 2009, 11:25 AM
3,785 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Shah Alam |
anyone having aircond problems with the 2008 VTEC?
seems like not cold ler... if sit behind need to turn on full blast to feel a bit of air... |
Jun 9 2009, 12:03 PM
5,341 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 9 2009, 07:40 AM) well for me just flush if you experienced any jerking or if the gear change is not smooth or vibrates. Else no need lor.. Thanks. The major service you did cover what services? Can let me know as i didn't go to SC to service my car.i think major service is at 80k which you just passed. 100k should be normal service but i'll check around and update if not QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 9 2009, 11:25 AM) anyone having aircond problems with the 2008 VTEC? Aircond not cold? Have you adjusted the temp to the coolest one?seems like not cold ler... if sit behind need to turn on full blast to feel a bit of air... This post has been edited by raymond5105: Jun 9 2009, 12:04 PM |
Jun 9 2009, 12:21 PM
Jun 9 2009, 02:13 PM
739 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
soemtimes when i engage reverse gear, i feel the car vibrating, sometimes quite intensely like as though its gonna mati enjin like that O.O
do i haf to flush? )': |
Jun 10 2009, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 9 2009, 12:21 PM) already set to the coolest also, full blast alos like air not geng enough compared to my dad's 12 year old Wira... Maybe your compressor is lacking of gas pressure.Can go to SC there and check your gas level.QUOTE(julnoel @ Jun 9 2009, 02:13 PM) soemtimes when i engage reverse gear, i feel the car vibrating, sometimes quite intensely like as though its gonna mati enjin like that O.O Have no idea with it. Wait for neato4u to advise and see.do i haf to flush? )': |
Jun 10 2009, 03:12 PM
1,664 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
WTF happened?!! I was happily writing for half an hour to respond back to raymond and julnoel queries and all of a sudden all of my replied gone!
Haiyohhhhh waste my time onli.. now need to post back... Raymond, check this out : http://honda.com.my/customer-service/city.cfm#CityIDSI If you're driving a VTEC - then 100k going to be major service If IDSI, major is at 80k, 100k should be minor Parts listed below : - Engine Oil (depends, every 5 - 10k change lor) - Fuel filter (every 40k interval change) - Spark plugs (IDSI comes with 8, cost a bomb to change if required) - Oil filter - Air filter - Washer (when change CVTF i think, did mine outside, machanic said old washer still ok so use that one back - at SC they sure change one) - CVTF (some say change at 20k, some 40k interval. Up to you to decide - not that expensive either) - Labour charge which cost a bomb if done at SC Other than that, I think they will recalibrate ECU and EPS (done recalibration of ECU last time cost me about 100 bucks for that stupid thing only... I forgot what they changed to mine because I didn't keep the receipt.. maybe if someone else have can post here (i need it too.. hehe). - Julnoel.. reverse gear vibration / jerk is common issue for City. Some even changed their gearbox only to find out that the problem is still there (there goes your $$$). Change CVTF as I've experienced only help to keep vibration to minimum - to entirely eliminate I think you still need to go to SC where they will recalibrate your ECU together check your clutch *I think lor*. But if you have money change CVTF lor, doesn't hurt oso - treat like you give present for your car lor hehe. Some oso said the R jerk / vibrate caused by slow auto clutch engagement. It takes some time to adjust to properly engage reverse gear, so what i do is that i press brake, switch R, then wait few seconds until i feel it's ready, then let go and accel to reverse. Sometimes if i want to cepat2 one car will jerk reverse, then feel like orang tekan clutch (free gear) car rolling forward, then reverse back again.. not nice.. - kenji1903 - your 2008 version oso have air con problem? Dun compare to proton ! Proton have the coldest aircon ! I've been asking NYC_Aircond whether I can make the aircon colder, by adding another fan perhaps (some cars can add), but he say cannot for IDSI 2003 - but I'm still asking him to confirm whether can add or not. Maybe you should ask him and see if 2008 version can? Or if there's any other options that you could try (change radiator? cost a bomb..) I usually drive with my temp maxed out. Only like an hour or so then only really cold and i have to lower it down. Dunno why but Honda aircon so weak one.. I thought the new version had that fixed, but guess not This post has been edited by neato4u: Jun 10 2009, 03:38 PM |
Jun 10 2009, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 10 2009, 03:12 PM) WTF happened?!! I was happily writing for half an hour to respond back to raymond and julnoel queries and all of a sudden all of my replied gone! Hi neato4u, appreciate the effort in replying my questions.Well,i guess next service at 103k i will going to change my spark plugs, engine oil(properly going to flush the engine) and CVTF. Got my NGK G-Power(8 pieces),oil filter, engine oil(Magnetc) and air filter changed previously by myself. Have you change the fuel filter before? I haven't changed it yet until now. I guess every City is jerking when on 2nd gear during slow speed as sometimes i met this after made a U-Turn and speed up. Haiyohhhhh waste my time onli.. now need to post back... Raymond, check this out : http://honda.com.my/customer-service/city.cfm#CityIDSI If you're driving a VTEC - then 100k going to be major service If IDSI, major is at 80k, 100k should be minor Parts listed below : - Engine Oil (depends, every 5 - 10k change lor) - Fuel filter (every 40k interval change) - Spark plugs (IDSI comes with 8, cost a bomb to change if required) - Oil filter - Air filter - Washer (when change CVTF i think, did mine outside, machanic said old washer still ok so use that one back - at SC they sure change one) - CVTF (some say change at 20k, some 40k interval. Up to you to decide - not that expensive either) - Labour charge which cost a bomb if done at SC Other than that, I think they will recalibrate ECU and EPS (done recalibration of ECU last time cost me about 100 bucks for that stupid thing only... I forgot what they changed to mine because I didn't keep the receipt.. maybe if someone else have can post here (i need it too.. hehe). - Julnoel.. reverse gear vibration / jerk is common issue for City. Some even changed their gearbox only to find out that the problem is still there (there goes your $$$). Change CVTF as I've experienced only help to keep vibration to minimum - to entirely eliminate I think you still need to go to SC where they will recalibrate your ECU together check your clutch *I think lor*. But if you have money change CVTF lor, doesn't hurt oso - treat like you give present for your car lor hehe. Some oso said the R jerk / vibrate caused by slow auto clutch engagement. It takes some time to adjust to properly engage reverse gear, so what i do is that i press brake, switch R, then wait few seconds until i feel it's ready, then let go and accel to reverse. Sometimes if i want to cepat2 one car will jerk reverse, then feel like orang tekan clutch (free gear) car rolling forward, then reverse back again.. not nice.. - kenji1903 - your 2008 version oso have air con problem? I guess it's Honda City lor.. Dun compare to proton ! Proton have the coldest aircon ! I've been asking NYC_Aircond whether I can make the aircon colder, by adding another fan perhaps (some cars can add), but he say cannot for IDSI 2003 - but I'm still asking him to confirm whether can add or not. Maybe you should ask him and see if 2008 version can? Or if there's any other options that you could try (change radiator? cost a bomb..) I usually drive with my temp maxed out. Only like an hour or so then only really cold and i have to lower it down. Dunno why but Honda aircon so weak one.. I thought the new version had that fixed, but guess not On the air-cond,i'm very satisfy with it as it serves me well. I switch the temp at the middle and it's cooler after awhile driving. I think Honda air-cond is not so bad. |
Jun 10 2009, 05:50 PM
198 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Penang Island |
tomorrow i am going for 90k service....will post the expenses once i receive the bill (if i still alive after seeing the bill).....
anyway...my 85k service cost me RM659.40....including changing gearbox oil and rear break pad.....basically their labour charge will kill your pocket.... |
Jun 10 2009, 05:53 PM
739 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
ok terima kasih abang neato4u. kamu sangat baik.
Jun 10 2009, 05:59 PM
QUOTE(techassist @ Jun 10 2009, 05:50 PM) tomorrow i am going for 90k service....will post the expenses once i receive the bill (if i still alive after seeing the bill)..... RM659.40 is over killing man. Go outside to do the same service is very much cheaper.anyway...my 85k service cost me RM659.40....including changing gearbox oil and rear break pad.....basically their labour charge will kill your pocket.... |
Jun 10 2009, 06:11 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 10 2009, 05:59 PM) yeah i know...but if you do your services outside...you will lose your 3 yr or 100k km warrenty....so...am just 2 more services away from that...once i clock 100k km in my machine...then..bye bye...sc |
Jun 10 2009, 06:37 PM
Jun 10 2009, 06:56 PM
Jun 10 2009, 07:57 PM
2 years already going to reach 90k ...
Jun 10 2009, 08:14 PM
yeah...my ride run like a mad cow....all over pen.malaysia....sales line mah...
Jun 10 2009, 09:01 PM
Jun 11 2009, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 10 2009, 03:12 PM) kenji1903 - your 2008 version oso have air con problem? i think there might be something wrong with the blower... my dad changed his wira blower, now even stronger aircond...Dun compare to proton ! Proton have the coldest aircon ! I've been asking NYC_Aircond whether I can make the aircon colder, by adding another fan perhaps (some cars can add), but he say cannot for IDSI 2003 - but I'm still asking him to confirm whether can add or not. Maybe you should ask him and see if 2008 version can? Or if there's any other options that you could try (change radiator? cost a bomb..) I usually drive with my temp maxed out. Only like an hour or so then only really cold and i have to lower it down. Dunno why but Honda aircon so weak one.. I thought the new version had that fixed, but guess not where is NYC_Aircond? sitting in front is ok, but when i have passengers then they'll say behind no aircond... the 2009 City's aircond is not bad |
Jun 11 2009, 04:48 PM
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 10 2009, 09:01 PM) of course....city fc unbeatable.....Added on June 11, 2009, 4:50 pmand i just went for a 90k service and it costs me RM 226.65..including tax.....better off this time compare to RM 659.40 for 85k service.... This post has been edited by techassist: Jun 11 2009, 04:50 PM |
Jun 12 2009, 09:08 AM
Adding more 5k need a few more hundred buck in servicing?
Jun 12 2009, 10:15 AM
1,664 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Ipoh |
QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 10 2009, 04:46 PM) Hi neato4u, appreciate the effort in replying my questions.Well,i guess next service at 103k i will going to change my spark plugs, engine oil(properly going to flush the engine) and CVTF. Got my NGK G-Power(8 pieces),oil filter, engine oil(Magnetc) and air filter changed previously by myself. Have you change the fuel filter before? I haven't changed it yet until now. I guess every City is jerking when on 2nd gear during slow speed as sometimes i met this after made a U-Turn and speed up. No problem raymond, i like to share On the air-cond,i'm very satisfy with it as it serves me well. I switch the temp at the middle and it's cooler after awhile driving. I think Honda air-cond is not so bad. I drove my friend IDSI and I can say yes, most city have jerking when climbing hill or when 2nd gear (although i do not know if there is actually a gear on city) - just a little lor, but can still feel it's not that smooth. Unless you drive slow then it's super smooth with no feel of gear change at all. QUOTE(techassist @ Jun 10 2009, 05:50 PM) tomorrow i am going for 90k service....will post the expenses once i receive the bill (if i still alive after seeing the bill)..... If it's your last service, who cares about warranty anymore unless you know for yourself your car got some damage or issues and you need to use that warranty. SC very expensive worrrr anyway...my 85k service cost me RM659.40....including changing gearbox oil and rear break pad.....basically their labour charge will kill your pocket.... QUOTE(julnoel @ Jun 10 2009, 05:53 PM) Thanks dear, no worries, everyone here is sangat baik oso QUOTE(kenji1903 @ Jun 11 2009, 07:44 AM) i think there might be something wrong with the blower... my dad changed his wira blower, now even stronger aircond... NYC_aircon thread is here : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=113&t=477354where is NYC_Aircond? sitting in front is ok, but when i have passengers then they'll say behind no aircond... the 2009 City's aircond is not bad Maybe can post an enquiry on his thread, i see he is very helpful and experienced. QUOTE(raymond5105 @ Jun 12 2009, 09:08 AM) Exactly! - Anyway guys, as some knows I have this steering stuck problem (steering bite). So yesterday I went to the SC and see if they can do some 'freeplay' on my steering. The machanics at a local workshop says they can't adjust because City uses EPS so it's motorized and does not use a screw to adjust. The fella at SC yesterday actually do it by adjusting a SCREW near the steering rack FYI - I didn't get freeplay. The fella told me that to achieve freeplay, they need to lighten the steering (increase power - or set the screw to minimum), so it is possible but I didn't do it because if you did, every hole that you bump, you will hear like this 'absorber kong' sound 'ktak ktak' which is very loud. So i asked him to make the steering heavier by adjusting the screw to 3/4 (original was 2/4), feel heavy a bit but still tak puas hati like that.. so I ask him to increase or in other word decrease the power again. So he ended up putting the screw to the max (4/4) and when I drive, wah very heavy steering like driving a lorry I still am testing the steering. I think the issue still there but so far have not felt it yet. And I got it done at Global Amity for RM30 bucks (tighten / loosen screw only.. if I know it earlier I would have adjusted it myself, save that 30 bucks to buy pizza hahaha Anyway I'll post later to update if that adjustment has resolved my steering stuck issue This post has been edited by neato4u: Jun 12 2009, 10:21 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0201sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:51 AM |