16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Health Sugar Glider Diet & Nutrition 101, What do you feed your gliders and why

nezumitaro
post Sep 29 2008, 10:31 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

QUOTE([cipan?)
,Sep 29 2008, 08:10 PM]
thats the prob..
no one is around for 2 whole day..
no option dy..
everyone hari raya ing..
2 days without pple..not even neighbours..
how a??

Added on September 29, 2008, 8:12 pmthx nezu..
hope fully tonite..so that i can prepare for them..
so u mean no one feed them.. canot put fresh for days wor.. u will need dry staple food.. if u r not supplement them with calcium powder. don't feed too much mealworms.. 3 - 5 per day will do. very high in phouphrous...will pm u..

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Sep 29 2008, 08:32 PM)
Thanks Nezu, hope to hear from you soon. = )

Wah Cipan, like that also can ar? Can't get anyone to come over to help you feed them? The food will rot oh..
basically calcium n protein is very importand for them, try to use egg ask protein cos kibbles is abit high contain in phosphrous. then supplement with the suitable calcium don't simply get calcium from outside ok. if u do supplement them the right potion of calcium.. then u will no need to worries about wha fruits to feed. but still try to skip those hi oxalede fresh.cos it will bind their calcium.
electroyid
post Sep 30 2008, 01:29 AM

292 posts

wat will actualy hapen IF we give to much of calsium...??
JonYeap
post Sep 30 2008, 01:46 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Sep 30 2008, 01:29 AM)
wat will actualy hapen IF we give to much of calsium...??
too much of anything isnt a good thing also.
wat happens if human too much calcium.
empty_reg
post Sep 30 2008, 11:36 AM

249 posts

Electroyid: Too much calcium will cause kidney stone, residue calcium in other organs, and or joints and some other things similiar, I guess.. Correct me if I'm wrong.

Nezu thanks alot for the info.. I was wondering, many of you feed SG with yogurt as treats and calcium source.. Just wandering can they take cheese? Cheese are milk products that is process too right?

You say no raw honey, give normal processed honey.. But why? Isn't more nutrient contained in raw honey as to processed?
nezumitaro
post Sep 30 2008, 11:47 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Sep 30 2008, 11:36 AM)
Electroyid: Too much calcium will cause kidney stone, residue calcium in other organs, and or joints and some other things similiar, I guess..  Correct me if I'm wrong.

Nezu thanks alot for the info.. I was wondering, many of you feed SG with yogurt as treats and calcium source.. Just wandering can they take cheese? Cheese are milk products that is process too right?

You say no raw honey, give normal processed honey.. But why? Isn't more nutrient contained in raw honey as to processed?
yup u r right.. stone problem.

Cheese is salty abit but u can give very very tiny pcs say like 5mm X 5mm..

about the honey.. sorry i didn't really read in it. its something about digestion. u can google it. smile.gif also those BML n HPW diet stated no RAW honey smile.gif

go study then come back teach me lah.. today iam very lazy ..LOL...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by nezumitaro: Sep 30 2008, 11:48 AM
empty_reg
post Sep 30 2008, 12:45 PM

249 posts

How to teach you? You must be kidding.. You're like been keeping these gliders for so long... More over, production and distribution of smoothies requires lots of research ma.. Some more you have your own nutritionist..

I thought raw honey is better cause human take raw honey is better.. That's just my assumption.. Besides I take it when ever they are available... Haha..

But anywhere, google it.. Basically they say too much honey is not good. Cause they contained botulinum endospores . Too much of these stuff causes diarrhea (Especially joeys before 4 mth OOP).. These applies to some diet mix as well (HPW and BML mix - contain 1/2 cup honey <According to the article, 150ml is very high>) [I'm not an expert I found them at google].. This is because their digestive system isn't strong enough.. And no RAW honey because they contain more botulinum endospores than processed.. Further detail study I leave it to the expert to comment...

I found the resource Here and Here.
nezumitaro
post Sep 30 2008, 01:20 PM

4,711 posts

of cos u can teach me.. i am still learner smile.gif i cut down the postion of Honey in BML n HPW, and the more i concern is Ca: P which is a direct harmful thing to them. as for honey. its stated everyway no RAW honey. so i just keep in mind NO RAW HONEY tongue.gif cos as long as not RAW n don't feed much honey. they are safe in it.

i am more into calcium: ph and oxalade. smile.gif , oxalade also basically about calcium hehe..
empty_reg
post Sep 30 2008, 01:38 PM

249 posts

Ok ok.. Saw in the first post those vege and fruits with high oxalde.. Building a list of fruits that I can feed them.. Haha.. Thanks alot for your help..
lilmissmuppet
post Sep 30 2008, 04:49 PM

58 posts

hie, is there any food that contain cal naturally?
or, we have to add cal in it?
NewbieBetta
post Sep 30 2008, 06:09 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(lilmissmuppet @ Sep 30 2008, 04:49 PM)
From the few site posted by JTL on Cal:P,its obvious most of them have higher P over Cal.So we cant depend on the food itself to provide Cal.Therefore,we have calcium powder,multivitamin..bla..bla..bla..to add on their diet..
nezumitaro
post Oct 1 2008, 10:27 AM

4,711 posts

QUOTE(lilmissmuppet @ Sep 30 2008, 04:49 PM)
yes u ccan, if are very strict to their diet. and also do ur homework well tongue.gif

but some fruits n vege we not possible to get here also.. sometime i just canot help to give them a little bit of this n that fruits.. so to play it saft, add calcium supplement. again NEVER over dose calcium smile.gif
bonai
post Oct 1 2008, 10:51 AM

1,254 posts

I tell you ah, soon empty_reg will become a pro on glider diet too...

I see him doing loads of studies here...
-melber-
post Oct 1 2008, 01:45 PM

Lol.. Thank bonai, still got many to learn from veterans like you and nezu... I just want the best for my glider..

Keeping pets, diet and habitat most important ma.. but gliders need companion ship also so I believe this is not easy like keeping any other pets..

By the way, need advice from experts.. I know ppl don't normally do this..

I got lots and lots of this human Calcium tablets.. It says here on the box, each tablets contains 600mg calcium and 400iu Vitamin D-3.. So when I'm drinking this thingy, can I like give the gliders like a few drops? Every morning when I'm taking it, I'll give them some... (If can means I save money in calcium supplements lo. haha) This thing is called Cal-D-Vita.

What I'm concern with is the overdose only.. Any idea what's the normal calcium intake for SGs?
Cause some of you here may be in nutrient research for a long time already, so maybe some of you can enlighten me. Thanks alot and Happy Hari Raya to everyone. laugh.gif
electroyid
post Oct 1 2008, 04:34 PM

292 posts

thanks 4 da info...
=)
NewbieBetta
post Oct 1 2008, 08:13 PM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(-melber- @ Oct 1 2008, 01:45 PM)
Lol.. Thank bonai, still got many to learn from veterans like you and nezu... I just want the best for my glider..

Keeping pets, diet and habitat most important ma.. but gliders need companion ship also so I believe this is not easy like keeping any other pets..

I got lots and lots of this human Calcium tablets.. It says here on the box, each tablets contains 600mg calcium and 400iu Vitamin D-3.. So when I'm drinking this thingy, can I like give the gliders like a few drops? Every morning when I'm taking it, I'll give them some... (If can means I save money in calcium supplements lo. haha) This thing is called Cal-D-Vita.

What I'm concern with is the overdose only.. Any idea what's the normal calcium intake for SGs?
Cause some of you here may be in nutrient research for a long time already, so maybe some of you can enlighten me. Thanks alot and Happy Hari Raya to everyone.  laugh.gif
yeah..does human calcium supplements are the same as gliders? where >95% of the ingredient is calcium carbonate
iluv2zzz
post Oct 1 2008, 08:40 PM

Professional Pet Groomer
2,730 posts

post wrong side sorry.

This post has been edited by iluv2zzz: Oct 1 2008, 08:40 PM
sharil_routh
post Oct 1 2008, 08:56 PM

(~Penentangan adalah sia-sia~)
1,356 posts

QUOTE(-melber- @ Oct 1 2008, 01:45 PM)

Cause some of you here may be in nutrient research for a long time already, so maybe some of you can enlighten me. Thanks alot and Happy Hari Raya to everyone.  laugh.gif
wow u great..empty_reg.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by sharil_routh: Oct 1 2008, 08:56 PM
^MochI^
post Oct 2 2008, 01:19 AM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

very confused a.. rclxub.gif
NewbieBetta
post Oct 2 2008, 01:24 AM

The Sexy Man
3,706 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Oct 2 2008, 01:19 AM)
very confused a.. rclxub.gif
nothing to be confused about..just make sure phosphorus dont get higher than calcium & make sure not to overdose calcium..

conclusion, make it calcium : phosphorus ; 1.5:1 or 2:1

correct me if wrong thumbup.gif
^MochI^
post Oct 2 2008, 01:26 AM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

the wombaroo now i giv glitter twice a day, and let her drink as much as she wants. BUT the packet says add 50g of powder to make 200ml milk. I do not need so much. So i just estimate the powder and water.

Is there anything i need to be precaution of?

About the cheese, is it recommanded to feed a small small piece everyday?

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:28 amcalcium : P = 2:1 .

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:29 amwad u feed daily?

Added on October 2, 2008, 1:38 ami find that PML is the simplest to make. without the gm , ml all that makes me confusing.

THE PML any1 tired before? I got the wombaroo milk maybe i can try making it.. anyway the honey use processed 1 right?

This post has been edited by ^MochI^: Oct 2 2008, 01:38 AM

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0289sec    0.33    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:07 AM