Android Phone (G1)

grazy
post Mar 19 2009, 05:33 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 19 2009, 05:20 PM)
yup meebo so far so good lor...btw u know how to add ppl using meebo?
Still not available yet ^^;

lek_e30
post Mar 19 2009, 06:22 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

the usb docking still in my car, forget to bring out doh.gif doh.gif
zerokid
post Mar 19 2009, 06:28 PM

311 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 19 2009, 06:22 PM)
how much did u bought the usb docking?
grazy
post Mar 19 2009, 07:59 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Mar 19 2009, 06:22 PM)
Aiyoh! u want it bake it first izzit? tongue.gif

QUOTE(zerokid @ Mar 19 2009, 06:28 PM)
how much did u bought the usb docking?
Interested to get one?! Ask me...ask me...!! ^@^

davidmak
post Mar 19 2009, 09:13 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 19 2009, 07:59 PM)
Me also interested, but a bit pokai now. Hehehehe! Need to replace my HDD drives. Making noise liao. Sigh... doh.gif
davidmak
post Mar 20 2009, 08:54 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Guys!

I discovered a possible solution for our creaking G1s! laugh.gif

Last 2 days, I shared about using cellophane tape cut into a very mini size to cover the plastic stud that grinds our LCD display when flip closed. The cellophane tape acts dampens the grinding. However, the downside of that solution is non-permanent. The cellophane tape will eventually move and to a certain extend fall off.

What I discovered is that when this happen, the cellophane tape actually leave behind a small residue of its adhesive substance (glue). This residue actually coats that plastic stud and NO MORE CREAKS! tongue.gif

Well its not really a guarantee as it takes a few applications of cellophane tape to cause residue to form. I'll continue to monitor how this goes. hmm.gif
grazy
post Mar 20 2009, 09:05 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 20 2009, 08:54 AM)
Guys!

I discovered a possible solution for our creaking G1s!  laugh.gif

Last 2 days, I shared about using cellophane tape cut into a very mini size to cover the plastic stud that grinds our LCD display when flip closed. The cellophane tape acts dampens the grinding. However, the downside of that solution is non-permanent. The cellophane tape will eventually move and to a certain extend fall off.

What I discovered is that when this happen, the cellophane tape actually leave behind a small residue of its adhesive substance (glue). This residue actually coats that plastic stud and NO MORE CREAKS!  tongue.gif

Well its not really a guarantee as it takes a few applications of cellophane tape to cause residue to form. I'll continue to monitor how this goes.  hmm.gif
Ha..Ha...it sounds like that plastic stud need to be "re-oil" ^^;

Think currently the best way to get rid of the creaks is to apply a silicone skin on it.

-------------------------

Damn, even China is going to get the Magic in May!!

This post has been edited by grazy: Mar 20 2009, 09:07 AM
lek_e30
post Mar 20 2009, 09:26 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 19 2009, 07:59 PM)
hehe... make it more aromas

Added on March 20, 2009, 9:56 am
QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 09:05 AM)

Think currently the best way to get rid of the creaks is to apply a silicone skin on it.

Damn, even China is going to get the Magic in May!!
dopod G1?? doh.gif doh.gif no wifi, no 3G?? doh.gif doh.gif wat for

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Mar 20 2009, 09:56 AM
davidmak
post Mar 20 2009, 10:18 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 09:05 AM)

Yeah I read on forums that people apply teflon (not tapes but liquid substance) on the plastic stud. But the best way is to use damping materials lined between the body and LCD display. Problem is they need to be very thin otherwise they will create non-symmetry when the LCD is flipped to close position.

liquid_ooze
post Mar 20 2009, 12:46 PM

My name is Iman, and I'm Malaysian
1,385 posts

I'm back laugh.gif

Didn't have my Android for 2 days, and seriously I can't live without it..
grazy
post Mar 20 2009, 12:56 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 20 2009, 12:46 PM)
I'm back laugh.gif

Didn't have my Android for 2 days, and seriously I can't live without it..
Heh! why?? On vacation ke? laugh.gif
liquid_ooze
post Mar 20 2009, 01:13 PM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 12:56 PM)
Heh! why?? On vacation ke?  laugh.gif
Lend the droid to a friend for 2 days sweat.gif

P/S: Hope you won't mind me using your Android siggy notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by liquid_ooze: Mar 20 2009, 01:35 PM
grazy
post Mar 20 2009, 02:39 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 20 2009, 01:13 PM)
Lend the droid to a friend for 2 days sweat.gif

P/S: Hope you won't mind me using your Android siggy notworthy.gif
Not a problem at all ^^;

By the way, your Youtube loading issue settled?

--------------------------------

Ok, this is a good news to all non-rooted G1, now you may have USB tethering also. - just follow the instruction here PDAnet ^^;

Enjoy!!

This post has been edited by grazy: Mar 20 2009, 02:53 PM
liquid_ooze
post Mar 20 2009, 03:25 PM

1,385 posts

@grazy,

Nope it's still not settled yet. I can browse and play youtube videos for about a minute (usually less) then all of a sudden the dreaded message comes out sad.gif

What about you, can you stream youtube using 3G?
lek_e30
post Mar 20 2009, 05:10 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 02:39 PM)
Not a problem at all ^^;

Ok, this is a good news to all non-rooted G1, now you may have USB tethering also. - just follow the instruction here PDAnet ^^;

Enjoy!!
wow!!! that a good stuff to share!!!

QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 20 2009, 03:25 PM)
@grazy,

Nope it's still not settled yet. I can browse and play youtube videos for about a minute (usually less) then all of a sudden the dreaded message comes out sad.gif

What about you, can you stream youtube using 3G?
i have no problem with it.... but with my gps.. cry.gif cry.gif

Added on March 20, 2009, 5:25 pm
QUOTE(grazy @ Mar 20 2009, 02:39 PM)
Not a problem at all ^^;

Enjoy!!
why cant connect one??

already install wor...

anyway to check the installation is done??

Added on March 20, 2009, 5:44 pmok kao tim oledi!!!

but dunno works or not, nid to check with my pc back at home...

This post has been edited by lek_e30: Mar 20 2009, 05:44 PM
liquid_ooze
post Mar 20 2009, 10:02 PM

1,385 posts

@lek_e30,

Your GPS jumps around from one place to another randomly i suppose?

If it is, then yes I'm facing the same issue as well..

Any Celcom users here that wanna share their APN settings? I mean the complete list notworthy.gif
naTTan
post Mar 21 2009, 03:12 AM

1,138 posts

Guys thinking of rooting how do i go about it?

How about my current contacts and sms? and apps?

Do i have to do a wipe?
grazy
post Mar 21 2009, 08:10 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Mar 21 2009, 03:12 AM)
Guys thinking of rooting how do i go about it?

How about my current contacts and sms? and apps?

Do i have to do a wipe?
Oh!! Want to join the Darkside eh?! ^^;

It depends on what version you are going to root.
But let say if you are starting from Ori RC33 --> downgrade back to Ori RC29 --> root to JF1.41 RC33/ADP1.1/RC9, it will be advisable to do a complete wipe.
If from JF1.41 RC33 --> update to JF1.42 RC33, then a wipe is not necessary.
If from JF1.42 RC33 --> cross to JF1.43h ADP1.1 , wipe is a must (vise versa).

And you and get Astro to backup ur apps, and mybackup to backup ur SMS/MMS/contacts.

If want to find out more which version is suitable for u, check out JF site.

Hope it helps wink.gif

Added on March 21, 2009, 8:15 am
QUOTE(liquid_ooze @ Mar 20 2009, 10:02 PM)
@lek_e30,

Your GPS jumps around from one place to another randomly i suppose?

If it is, then yes I'm facing the same issue as well..

Any Celcom users here that wanna share their APN settings? I mean the complete list notworthy.gif
@Lek, have you try to reboot and test it under a bright sunny sky?? ^^ Today is a good day to test your GPS.
I can see u on Latitude, but couldn't know its from your cell tower or from your GPS.

Added on March 21, 2009, 9:36 amOk, this is another GOOD NEWS to non-rooted G1, there is a new app to help you gain root access in just 4 steps (eliminated those tedious command typing on terminal emulator) - Check this out ^^; Happy rooting.

PS* Be advised that there are risks to the rooting process. Making a mistake could cause the G1 to “brick” and become useless because of damaged firmware. The app’s creators state they accept no responsibility for damages caused by using this app. So make sure you drink Brands pati ayam before rooting your G1, k brows.gif

hmmm.... although the steps quite simple to follow, but it seems like the internet connection is needed in between the rooting process (to download the flash rom). This is risky as our G1 doesn't have default APN setting for local telco once wiped and also 3G downloading is prone to have bad flash due to inconsistent signal. ^^(

Guys, think twice before go on ah! Don't think Brands can help here.

This post has been edited by grazy: Mar 21 2009, 10:04 AM
davidmak
post Mar 21 2009, 10:02 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

Anyone has transferred apps to their microSD card? I found a batch file that will allow you to do it automatically without the hassle of inputting commands in the command shell. Its found in the xda-developers forum. But the downside of doing so is that your microSD is not hot swappable anymore I think.

I really hope the upcoming update will have this memory management included so we can format our microSD cards into Ext2/Fat32 formats and can install apps over it. Somehow I have a bad feeling that there's a reason why the G2/HTC Magic comes with 512MB internal storage.
grazy
post Mar 21 2009, 10:17 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 21 2009, 10:02 AM)
Anyone has transferred apps to their microSD card? I found a batch file that will allow you to do it automatically without the hassle of inputting commands in the command shell. Its found in the xda-developers forum. But the downside of doing so is that your microSD is not hot swappable anymore I think.

I really hope the upcoming update will have this memory management included so we can format our microSD cards into Ext2/Fat32 formats and can install apps over it. Somehow I have a bad feeling that there's a reason why the G2/HTC Magic comes with 512MB internal storage.
Heh! Your SD is Class 6?? ^^

81 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0507sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:14 PM