Android Phone (G1)

grazy
post Jun 21 2009, 09:46 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(dartl @ Jun 21 2009, 09:31 AM)
Stayed up till 2am to Cupcake my own phone. Lowyat Plaza was charging RM150 for this service.

Now my Android has MULTI TOUCH!!!

Original specs: Singtel set

I had to search the Internet for instructions so any other Android fans who want to Cupcake their own phone can contact me. I can show you where to get the instructions.
Welcome!! Welcome to the Darkness!! ^^)

Wow! RM150... that is a rip off. blink.gif Anyway cari makan saje laugh.gif

lek_e30
post Jun 21 2009, 12:54 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

own darkside for only RM150!!!

if u can handle it la whistling.gif whistling.gif
xxx306
post Jun 21 2009, 04:17 PM

Kylo Ren worshipper
635 posts

thinking of buying this phone. is it good? what is the best thing about this phone? should i get this or iphone? helpp
lek_e30
post Jun 21 2009, 05:11 PM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

Buy iphone for its look!!! Buy G1 for its usefulness!!!! whistling.gif whistling.gif
terryfoo
post Jun 21 2009, 05:41 PM

574 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Jun 21 2009, 05:11 PM)
Buy iphone for its look!!! Buy G1 for its usefulness!!!! whistling.gif whistling.gif
but have to buy application............. sad.gif
phonefreako
post Jun 21 2009, 07:52 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Jun 21 2009, 05:41 PM)
but have to buy application............. sad.gif
Hye, ive been using dis phone for quite some time now and i've never needed to buy any apps at all. so for those who are wondering, MOST of the apps are free.

u can also get some *ahem* ones if u know where to search. <--- BUT U DIDN'T HEAR THIS FROM ME.
xxx306
post Jun 21 2009, 10:22 PM

Kylo Ren worshipper
635 posts

QUOTE(phonefreako @ Jun 21 2009, 07:52 PM)
Hye, ive been using dis phone for quite some time now and i've never needed to buy any apps at all. so for those who are wondering, MOST of the apps are free.

u can also get some *ahem* ones if u know where to search. <--- BUT U DIDN'T HEAR THIS FROM ME.
hmm. so which has d better application? hmm.gif
MyWifeCar
post Jun 22 2009, 12:38 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

QUOTE(xxx306 @ Jun 21 2009, 10:22 PM)
hmm. so which has d better application?  hmm.gif
I guess it depends on your requirements???

I own a 838 pro, have so many applications that some i have never even used it since installed.

Actually got any kind soul want to end my misery with this 838 pro ah? I want Android too. tongue.gif
terryfoo
post Jun 22 2009, 12:54 AM

574 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jun 22 2009, 12:38 AM)
I guess it depends on your requirements???

I own a 838 pro, have so many applications that some i have never even used it since installed.

Actually got any kind soul want to end my misery with this 838 pro ah? I want Android too. tongue.gif
i own a 838pro too, but i never play it.... i quite interested in android.... tongue.gif
dartl
post Jun 22 2009, 06:39 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(phonefreako @ Jun 21 2009, 07:52 PM)

Eh, can give hint aa, where to get patched apps?
phonefreako
post Jun 22 2009, 07:17 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(dartl @ Jun 22 2009, 06:39 AM)
Eh, can give hint aa, where to get patched apps?
add me at gtalk.
harrizs87@gmail.com
very sensitive, can't discuss here de... sweat.gif

Added on June 22, 2009, 7:35 am
QUOTE(xxx306 @ Jun 21 2009, 10:22 PM)
hmm. so which has d better application?  hmm.gif
I wouldn't want to sound like a know it all but think of it this way (my personal opinion):

ANDROID: Very new OS, going through a lot of development OPEN SOURCE (anything is possible), anybody can create a software.

IPHONE: Been here for quite sometime now (3++yrs???), apps controlled by apple.

So my conclusion (again PERSONALLY) if u like to experiment, tweak, hack, mod etc ur phone, go with the android, the possibilities are endless but if u are an end user, only install apps and use, then the iPhone would be more suitable as u may brick ur droid if u have no knowledge what so ever.
But don't get me wrong, the android also has a software market which like somebody already said in earlier posts contains more than 70% free software (not really sure). Compared to the iPhone though, i think the android's apps need just a lil bit more time to be as developed (PERSONAL opinion again).

Mind u, I have both the iPhone 3g and the HTC Dream, I'm not saying pizzas taste better than steaks. They are 2 different platforms, my best advice for those of u who are indecisive between the android platform or apple's OSX, go to a shop, and test both of em. Of course, u won't be able to test the custom firmwares like The Dudes, Ion and a whole lot more for the android which i think personally kicks the iphone's ass big time (keep in mind that i own both of em) but at least u'll have a slight experience with it.

Hope this helps. smile.gif

This post has been edited by phonefreako: Jun 22 2009, 07:35 AM
Klemann C
post Jun 22 2009, 02:56 PM

481 posts

Juz wana ask G1 user here....
Can it be rooted on 1.5 CRB43 build???
Currently using T-Mobile G1 tongue.gif
grazy
post Jun 22 2009, 05:43 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(Klemann C @ Jun 22 2009, 02:56 PM)
Juz wana ask G1 user here....
Can it be rooted on 1.5 CRB43 build???
Currently using T-Mobile G1  tongue.gif
Should be ok, just need a downgrade before getting rooted. Pick some reading here.

As usual, make sure you know the risk of rooting your droid. cool2.gif
lost123
post Jun 22 2009, 09:23 PM

1,024 posts

finally got my G1!!! currently sync-ing it with my gmail.. the fone is awesome..
grazy
post Jun 22 2009, 10:46 PM

457 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Jun 22 2009, 09:23 PM)
finally got my G1!!! currently sync-ing it with my gmail.. the fone is awesome..
Bought it from the LYN Garage?? David? ^^}
lost123
post Jun 22 2009, 11:04 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 22 2009, 10:46 PM)
Bought it from the LYN Garage?? David? ^^}
haha yea.. i got it from david.. really nice guy.. and the fone is in excellent condition..
odin88
post Jun 23 2009, 02:25 AM

475 posts

price ? still got any left ?
Klemann C
post Jun 23 2009, 04:00 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 22 2009, 05:43 PM)
Should be ok, just need a downgrade before getting rooted. Pick some reading here.

As usual, make sure you know the risk of rooting your droid.  cool2.gif
yea, been thinkin twice whether shud root or not...
btw, i really like this phone compared to WM devices and iPhone...
in G1, u really can have something similiar to iphone feaure...yet iphone doesn't have keyboard brows.gif
lek_e30
post Jun 23 2009, 10:44 AM

Hao hao sit
2,388 posts

seems like android is growing in here!!!! good sign!!!

welcome everyone!!!
dartl
post Jun 23 2009, 11:14 AM

41 posts

I just got asked by a fellow Android user how to update their Singtel with Cupcake. Wah! This is my first time helping others. Feels damn good. Feels like a god. tongue.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

Added on June 23, 2009, 11:17 am
QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 22 2009, 05:43 PM)

As usual, make sure you know the risk of rooting your droid.  cool2.gif
Do you mean, we will void the warranty of the phone or brick it?

As far as I know, our HTC Dreams bought in M'sia has no warranty except from the shop right? whistling.gif

And if we do brick the phone, isn't there a way to flash hard-reset it? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by dartl: Jun 23 2009, 11:38 AM

81 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0270sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:01 PM