phonefreako
post May 20 2009, 05:24 PM

20 posts

anybody know how to root?
i tried many times.
but my version is stg rc8.
i have problems downgrading to rc7.
followed everything but then i get error 0028000 NOT ALLOWED.
anybody can help? does the shop in lowyat plaza provide downgrading services for android like for iphone?
phonefreako
post Jun 4 2009, 06:31 PM

20 posts

can somebody help me?
i'm willing to pay to whoever can get root access for my g1.
It's a continental version (comes from Australia if i'm not mistaken) -STG RC8-
I've tried downgrading it and followed every instruction on the web to no avail.
So if somebody is willing to help, please tell me, i really want to get root access.
Thanks!
phonefreako
post Jun 6 2009, 02:42 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 4 2009, 07:01 PM)
Have you tried the method here for Singtel (assuming Optus is under Singtel) ^^

Let us know the result ya!! wink.gif
Tried it bro...typed
cd /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1:*
in terminal emulator

i tried:

-> cd /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1:1
-> cd /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1:2
-> cd /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1:3
-> cd /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1:4

but all returned can't cd to /sys/class/mmc_host/mmc1:* rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

so i can't advanced to the next step. STUCK! Am i doing something wrong? did i miss something? sad.gif

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
phonefreako
post Jun 7 2009, 12:25 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 6 2009, 07:31 AM)
Heard that the Qmat method is quite sensitive to the brand of the SDcard.
Have you tried others SDcard?

And make sure the card is formatted to FAT32 hor.
--------------------------

ok, let try the manual way....

in you TE (terminal emulator)

type:

cd sys
cd class
cd mmc_host
ls (* this step is just to make sure your card has been registered to G1, after "ls" you should see some folders like mmc0 or mmc1)
cd mmc1
ls (* you will see some folders again, the last one should be mmc1:XXXX)
cd mmc1:xxxx
cd cid
cat cid (* write down the whole string)  icon_rolleyes.gif

Come back let us know the outcome ya!! ^^
Wowwwwww! Thank u! I can finally read my cid..but I still get the error when I try to downgrade.
I did exactly like the forum said but I still can't downgrade. Will try some more but atleast I'm making progress..thank u. Will update u a.s.a.p once I get home.

Added on June 7, 2009, 7:17 pmgrazy! THANK YOU SO MUCH! I have finally been able to downgrade and root my htc dream!
I have 1 more question though, how do i know whether i have the latest jf roms?

Under model number, mine says:

ANDROID DEV PHONE 1

is that ok? what do u have?

and what's the differenece between jf, hayakuro and so on?
sorry, a bit excited but very noob.

This post has been edited by phonefreako: Jun 7 2009, 07:17 PM
phonefreako
post Jun 10 2009, 12:52 PM

20 posts

Hey grazy, i want to thank u again for this little tutorial u gave me.

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 6 2009, 07:31 AM)
Heard that the Qmat method is quite sensitive to the brand of the SDcard.
Have you tried others SDcard?

And make sure the card is formatted to FAT32 hor.
--------------------------

ok, let try the manual way....

in you TE (terminal emulator)

type:

cd sys
cd class
cd mmc_host
ls (* this step is just to make sure your card has been registered to G1, after "ls" you should see some folders like mmc0 or mmc1)
cd mmc1
ls (* you will see some folders again, the last one should be mmc1:XXXX)
cd mmc1:xxxx
cd cid
cat cid (* write down the whole string)  icon_rolleyes.gif

Come back let us know the outcome ya!! ^^
I'm now able to try the different roms.
I tried JF's, The Dudes', Cyanogen, Google Ion, Ravange-Ramjet and currently on Hero 1.4 with apps2sd working! rclxm9.gif

Thank u again notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

phonefreako
post Jun 10 2009, 01:14 PM

20 posts

Haha...me excited noob! Kekke...almost bricked my g1 yesterday, luckily i found a way to flash it back!
Haha...yeah, i saw the superHERO beta1. But from what i read, it was super buggy.
Hero 1.6 is out but the download link doesn't work.
Hey, what's ur gtalk add?
can i add u?
phonefreako
post Jun 11 2009, 07:18 PM

20 posts

guys, have question for u.
i'm currently on hero, and after 2 days of testing it, i find it too slow for practical use. yes, it's visually eye catching but it also lags.
So i'm thinking of going back to the dudes rom.

Grazy, i noticed that u were testing his 1.3 right? How is it so far?

Anyway, my question is,
1. when i flashed HERO, i also ran the auto lucid script and hero speed up script. Will i have to use auto lucid again for the dudes rom?

2. what happens to my apps2sd? do i have to do it all over again or can i just flash the dudes and after that start downloading apps from the market and all the apps will be transferred to my ext2 automatically? if not, what should i do?

Thank u in advance guys!
phonefreako
post Jun 12 2009, 12:22 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 11 2009, 08:08 PM)
Ha..ha... guess our G1 is not ready for the current Hero rom yet! ^^0

Ok, for me the Dudes rom is fast and unique. The dev know what he is doing and there are plenty on his to-do list. So constant update make my Hybrido happy.

Practically, Dudes rom is supporting Unionfs system by default, it will detect the SDcard whether got ext2, if it has, it will mount on it and all your previous installed apps automatically be detected and reappeared in the rom. For future downloads also it will be installed to the SDcard.

Also try to get Apps2sd ver.2 from maximus. It helps to see how much memory on your ext2. and the internal memory as well. Pretty handy.

I have no experience on Lucid script, but I don't think it is not necessary to run the script on Dudes rom.
*PS: Just follow the instruction on the first page of XDA Dudes thread. And you will be fine.  biggrin.gif
*PS2: Remember to do a wipe before applying new rom from different clans.
QUOTE(davidmak @ Jun 11 2009, 09:46 PM)
Yes, the hero ROM is pretty slow on the G1. But mainly because of its insufficient RAM (192MB vs 288MB). I guess through some optimizations, it'll eventually be practical enough for G1. Right now its Google ION all the way!
Thank u so much for the help guys!
i'm on my way to flash to dudes.

btw, grazy, i saw on the themes section on xda, that there's a really nice theme for the dudes rom. have u tried that? it's called ANDROID PLUS if i'm not mistaken. just wondering if u've ever tried it and 1 more thing how would u install a theme? sorry for my noobnesss! Haha! I'm learning everyday from u guys.
phonefreako
post Jun 21 2009, 07:52 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(terryfoo @ Jun 21 2009, 05:41 PM)
but have to buy application............. sad.gif
Hye, ive been using dis phone for quite some time now and i've never needed to buy any apps at all. so for those who are wondering, MOST of the apps are free.

u can also get some *ahem* ones if u know where to search. <--- BUT U DIDN'T HEAR THIS FROM ME.
phonefreako
post Jun 22 2009, 07:17 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(dartl @ Jun 22 2009, 06:39 AM)
Eh, can give hint aa, where to get patched apps?
add me at gtalk.
harrizs87@gmail.com
very sensitive, can't discuss here de... sweat.gif

Added on June 22, 2009, 7:35 am
QUOTE(xxx306 @ Jun 21 2009, 10:22 PM)
hmm. so which has d better application?  hmm.gif
I wouldn't want to sound like a know it all but think of it this way (my personal opinion):

ANDROID: Very new OS, going through a lot of development OPEN SOURCE (anything is possible), anybody can create a software.

IPHONE: Been here for quite sometime now (3++yrs???), apps controlled by apple.

So my conclusion (again PERSONALLY) if u like to experiment, tweak, hack, mod etc ur phone, go with the android, the possibilities are endless but if u are an end user, only install apps and use, then the iPhone would be more suitable as u may brick ur droid if u have no knowledge what so ever.
But don't get me wrong, the android also has a software market which like somebody already said in earlier posts contains more than 70% free software (not really sure). Compared to the iPhone though, i think the android's apps need just a lil bit more time to be as developed (PERSONAL opinion again).

Mind u, I have both the iPhone 3g and the HTC Dream, I'm not saying pizzas taste better than steaks. They are 2 different platforms, my best advice for those of u who are indecisive between the android platform or apple's OSX, go to a shop, and test both of em. Of course, u won't be able to test the custom firmwares like The Dudes, Ion and a whole lot more for the android which i think personally kicks the iphone's ass big time (keep in mind that i own both of em) but at least u'll have a slight experience with it.

Hope this helps. smile.gif

This post has been edited by phonefreako: Jun 22 2009, 07:35 AM
phonefreako
post Jun 24 2009, 07:20 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 23 2009, 01:05 PM)
Nope, once it is bricked.... its bricked. Can't CPR it anymore.

Yes, it will void the official warranty. But if you got your new droid in rooted status from your supplier (mostly AP) then it is different story lah! ^^

HTC Dream is good, just doesn't clear whether it can flash the latest SPL (HBOOT-1.33.2005) or not.... Any droid Dreamer can verify that?
Grazy, i confirm that HTC DREAM CAN flash to the latest SPL (HBOOT-1.33.2005) cos i'm using it right now! icon_rolleyes.gif
phonefreako
post Jun 24 2009, 08:58 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(grazy @ Jun 24 2009, 08:18 PM)
Great to know that... ^^} hmmm... maybe can consider to start back my pet project brows.gif
Pet project? What is it? VERY INTERESTED!

Added on June 24, 2009, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(terryfoo @ Jun 24 2009, 08:48 PM)
G1 and dream got video recording ?
G1 and DREAM are basically both the same phone. On ANDROID 1.0, no video recording, but available on CUPCAKE (1.5).

This post has been edited by phonefreako: Jun 24 2009, 09:01 PM
phonefreako
post Jun 25 2009, 12:56 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jun 25 2009, 12:42 AM)
Seriously, given the choice of G1 and Magic...which one would most of you go for?
May i have the contact of the person who is selling the G1 please... Please PM me.
G1, all the way...the hardware keyboard is a blessing!

phonefreako
post Jun 30 2009, 07:24 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(lost123 @ Jun 30 2009, 02:07 PM)
AHHHHH!!! tried many times, still cant partition my sd card.. and i dun wanna install ubuntu coz it will take up lots of space and i dun wanna install an additional OS.. this is killing me!!!
use a software called PARAGON PARTITION MANAGER. google for it.
gtalk with me at harrizs87@gmail.com if u need more help.
phonefreako
post Jul 1 2009, 02:37 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(naTTan @ Jul 1 2009, 01:55 AM)
added you but can't get you.

wanted to know where you get your *ahem stuff*

add me moosaicq@gmail.com
i invited u, but i didn't get any adds from u.

0.0395sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:47 PM