8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

GPS FAQ -All about GPS and Softwares~, Updated - Garmin & Malsing General Guide

stimix
post Oct 27 2009, 11:37 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

GPS signal quality i sthe same worldwide...there are more than 20++ functional NASA satelities now and on each earth rotation, th emost u can have are 1/2 of the satelites, another 1/2 for sure block by the other portion of the earth.

KL, as usual, will definitely blo0cked by lotsa highrises, so do if u're in any huge cities wth highrises. The best cities are those without highrises & u defitely get better signals.

Only 1 maps will do as ovberlaying 2 maps into 1 will coz failure to perform search. Normally those wth more than 2 maps untick either 1 of the detail maps
stimix
post Nov 6 2009, 10:49 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

N95 is older version chipset & the antenna is hidden too deep to get the best signal. So u really have to stand long outside hot sun, wityhout any blocking trees & building to get satelite fix..can be as long as 10min for 1st time, once got it, getting fix the nxt time ~3min. Otherwise, u need to activate your AGPS (need 3G/GPRS hor & not free)..that way faster.

QUOTE(Oly @ Nov 6 2009, 01:41 AM)
why my n95 cannot detect gps?..anyone please help me...

Added on November 6, 2009, 10:54 amGoto malfreemaps.com download page, download the latest maps (Evgery monday), install by following screen instruction, but do remember the folder u generate the "gmapsupp.img: file as screen instruction. Thereafter, just to to that folder, copy "gmapsupp.img" & paste to your Nuvi garmin folder...it will overide your old maps. So if u wanna keeps the old one, copy & paste the old gmapsupp out sopmewhere..
QUOTE(itdoesntmatter @ Nov 6 2009, 08:49 AM)
i once bought a Nuvi 205. I wanted to know how can i check and download the latest map into my garmin device? All i have here is the device and the car charger only. Please help me.
This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 6 2009, 10:54 AM
stimix
post Nov 6 2009, 08:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

What actually happen to Nokia S60 R5 in 5800 are few apparent bugs that till the end of Garmin MXT era yet to be fixed for eg...u kenot type ;'/?$@& keys otherwise system crashed & they have yet to resolve the browse maps function i.e whenever u drag the maps elsewhere also crash!!

Currently Garmin has stop developing garmin MXT thus no more bugs fixing for Garmin MXT in newer Nokia phone except older S60 R3 such as N78, N79, B82, N95 & more...meaning dun buy new version of symbian if u wannna stable Garmin MXT.

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Nov 6 2009, 06:01 PM)
does than mean other nokia phones like N78, N79 and E series have better GPS?
stimix
post Nov 8 2009, 03:05 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

N82 my brother wanlah....no complain from him so must be good liao....atleast Nokia phone although might not be good in track recording 7 also bugs in 5800, but can run GPS simulatneosly wth data loggers (Race chrono, Velox) & navigation (Garmin MXT)...winmo really period..kenot run together wan!! doh.gif
QUOTE(buntutman @ Nov 7 2009, 02:35 PM)
6220c is one of the best. 1 sec tracks look very decent for a cheap plasticky phone with xenon camera. N79 can go sau pei la. even my n79 also i vomit blood.
E66 another fei kei positioning like N79. and when i see stimix's 5800xm, fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu, its a phone i shall avoid my whole life.
n85 quite ok. comparable to 6220c's standard. and i think stimix used to have n82, didnt hear him complain much bout his 82's accuracy.
stimix
post Nov 14 2009, 09:24 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

That's the last Garmin MXT version b4 they discontinued Garmin MXT. But it is for Taiwan market & in mandarin..However u can change to english version by following simple steps posted in MFM by 76gpsguy.

Anyway this version has not solve the bugs in the touch screen version of S60 Release 5..esp Nokia 5800...I am using this version & yes the bugs stil there..
stimix
post Nov 16 2009, 09:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

U no sapork malfreemaps liao mad.gif ..me update every monday..

QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Nov 16 2009, 02:22 AM)
www.malfreemaps.com

update whenever you feel like it.
i usually update only when i'm travelling.
stimix
post Nov 16 2009, 07:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I u stay at 1 place & that place is block by roof, trees & highrises..u will not be getting even .15Min...GPS needs open skyvbiew-lah
stimix
post Nov 17 2009, 09:51 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Current nokia AGPS after N78 models & beginning from N79 hv a better AGPS chipset & also better anttenna placement thus it's fast if u acquired the last position of switch off & on at the same last location...Otherwise, it will still be slow...So after the 1st start, the data is still inside phone, thus acquisition is fast...U try that on N78, N95 or even E66 and tell me whether u can get inside your house...

Furthermore, just a small opening on the window will do on newer nokia phone..My 5800 also can acquire fast satelite inside the hoem..But theorically..GPS needs sky view!

Suprisingly fast acquisition using nokia does not translate to accurate tracklogs!

And just to confirm what Mr Wokayy said..yeah I'm tracker & not a mapper Meaning I tracked lotsa roads & been using HP6515, Asus535, N78, 5800 & also a short sting wth Omnia. & these contributions were sent to MSM/MFM for the mappers to map those roads & POI...

Well from all the re-played tracklogs the best & accurate tracklogs were actually from the SirfII chipset in Asus535 but acquiring satelite on this phone sucks!! Sometime 5 min & in KL>10Min!! but my tracklogs loved by MSM/MFM mappers....after swicthing over to N78 & even 5800. I can feel the diff in the speed of satelite acquisition esp 5800..super fast...But the tracklogs sxxks!!

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 17 2009, 09:07 PM
stimix
post Nov 19 2009, 05:15 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha..I seldom at MSM liao.....but I kenot forget my root mah...so hv to mention abit MSM although seldom there liao...
stimix
post Nov 20 2009, 08:06 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

wei who are u in MFM...macam kenal saja hmm.gif biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Mr.Wokayyy @ Nov 20 2009, 01:01 PM)
i know about kota damansara's new 1 way system. i havent begun to do it yet. even BU sony road closure oso i havent ask sunny to disconnect the road.

and yea unker nyem, the one i dulan the most is msm's stupid map id. free is free la still wan map id. $#@$#!@#!@#!.
stimix
post Nov 21 2009, 05:09 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

that's nokia s60 v5 bug liao. Worst still... Garmin stop gmxt liao! No future fix anymore
stimix
post Nov 21 2009, 10:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

So far only the touch screen S60 V5 having this bug..meaning N97, & future X6 probably facing the same problem
BTW, forgotten to tell you, if u try to browse maps ...it will hang too if u drag to fast & zoom to in & fast...

Those using older S60 V3 & even N86 excape these bugs

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 22 2009, 07:48 AM
stimix
post Nov 22 2009, 07:48 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wel I just agak-agak only bcos N97 is also touch screen & S60 R5..I personally hv not tested this phone yet...To do address search, instead of typing '/", just try PJU 5 or PJU5 can dy...thereafter just scroll to the correct address..That's the only way to escape the GMXT bugs....Screen heang kei during browsing...haizzz no solution... sad.gif
QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Nov 22 2009, 06:39 AM)
Maybe I should get a N86 then
stimix say N97 also cannot escape this bug how ah? actually there is a workaround for the / thing but just that the other day I type in PJU 5/3 the GPS cannot find this location sigh..... in the end i used the point of interest 7-11 and it shows PJU 5/3 doh.gif
stimix
post Nov 22 2009, 01:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Well I tested the V5.06 Taiwanese version as well...Still hang kei lah...

@Aspire, try to zoom-in fast-fast or drag fast-fast b4 the "drawing" thigy disaapear..sure hang kei wan biggrin.gif

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Nov 22 2009, 12:19 PM)
mikeeee asked me to upgrade to garmin taiwanese version .60 he said there is less hanging in this version and i follow his advise, now really less hang, try it.
stimix
post Nov 22 2009, 01:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

hmmm currently on V5.05 leh..still hang,,unless u using lite version of MFM?

I just showed the problem to everyone at y'day MFM Melaka GG...So most of them goyang kepala liao...including one of the nastier MFM moderator & joker....He tell me to throw away this machine liao..haizzz
stimix
post Nov 23 2009, 12:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Aspire tried liao using the lite version. No hang kei..so performance should be good..
stimix
post Nov 23 2009, 05:48 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Geee..same comment as wat the nasty MFm mod told me..no respect ppl wan
stimix
post Nov 24 2009, 08:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha I hv been doing this as my past time hobby for years..sure you can. You can either using the following software to record your tracks...

1) Garmin MXt
2) Race Chrono http://www.racechrono.com/download/
3) Velox http://www.veloxgps.de/
4) Nokia sport trackers &
5) more

The 1st 3 are my best companion..& no 1, is the usual navigation software (U need to buy the license)

Here's the sample of my past mountain bike tracklogs showing the router, Avg speed & also altitude recorded via race chrono & re-payed using Garminmapsource:

Here's mine using Velox & uploaded to their website:

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Nov 24 2009, 08:02 PM)
Hi. I have never used a GPS and got some questions and seeking some answers. Thanks in advance.

Assuming I went for some jungle trekking and carry a GPS phone like the Nokia E52. After returning back to my office, is there a way for it to show where I have been in the jungle? And superimpose it on a map? The route I have taken. The place that I have stopped (and a way to make remark that I stopped at that place for some particular reason)?
stimix
post Nov 24 2009, 11:08 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Which free version u're refering too? Race Chrono or Velox or Nokia maps (The software & maps are free but not the navigation side)
stimix
post Nov 25 2009, 09:15 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Minor correction. The nokia maps, if u pre-download selective maps via Nokia Map loaders, The maps is also free..However charges still apply to buy the navigation module..current pricing reduced liao..~RM32/mth nia..previously ~RM40.

I hv downloaded Taiwan maps..so probably using this Nokia maps in Taipei liao...& probably buyiong the navigation module at euro5 ++ hmm.gif
Garmin MXT NT maps for Taiwan cacat..all in Chinese..me banana doh.gif

QUOTE(buntutman @ Nov 24 2009, 11:45 PM)
so hence u need a software to run it the gps.
1 - nokia maps - not free, montly charges to navigate you and data charges when it navigates u.

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0457sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:44 PM