7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Studying in the UK V2

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 13 2009, 08:17 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 12 2009, 07:28 PM)
cheaper options include Emirates, Qatar airways, Royal Brunei Air and plenty more.

I usually go for SIA, due to better services.

Luggage allowance is usually 20kg.

Go register with Emiritate and become their 'blue' member for free. Then your luggage allowance is 30kg.

Alternatively, go to http://www.msl.travel/ and buy tickets from them and tell them you are a student and buy a student card from them (RM20)

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 13 2009, 01:04 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(cheesing @ Jun 13 2009, 12:49 PM)
Hey guys, wanna ask about the accommodations in University of Sheffield. The accommodations are The Student Villages, Taptop Hall and City and Centre Campus. Which is better? Please tell me.

Thanks...
I think you may have better answers here:
http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/forums
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 16 2009, 12:17 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Jun 16 2009, 12:13 PM)
About long johns..seriously I have not met anyone that wears them..
May be not in southern UK, but what about Aberdeen in Scotland?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 16 2009, 03:32 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(bonedragon @ Jun 16 2009, 12:13 PM)
About long johns..seriously I have not met anyone that wears them..
Come to think about it, do people go around shouting and telling others they are wearing one? blush.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 17 2009, 05:13 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 17 2009, 04:35 PM)
I just found out that the exhange rate in my hometown is very affordable compared to KL. £1 = RM 5.45 (selling price). How can I benefit from this? Is it advisable to bring big amount of cash personally?
Grab as much as you can. The exchange rate right now is 5.80 so you are making a killing at that rate.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 17 2009, 11:04 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 17 2009, 06:26 PM)
If possible I would like to change 10k pounds. LOL...

But how to carry the money from Sarawak to KL, then KL to UK?
Tell me where in Sarawak can you change at GBP1 = RM5.45

I will get my friend to buy as much as possible.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 23 2009, 07:25 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jun 18 2009, 06:41 PM)
do they? coz i'm pretty sure they dont. last time my wife tried that, she was told that although it's the same HSBC name, it's managed under different country's policies. so u cant actually transfer ur money from one account to another internationally as simple as u would like. it's the same process as transferring ur money from one bank in malaysia to another bank in the UK.

this policy might have changed, though.
Assuming your father is a HSBC Malaysia Premier account holder. Then:

1. He can set up a HSBC UK Premier account in the name of your father + you aka, a joint account. It's free.
2. He does not have to go to UK, the Malaysia HSBC will do everything for you both, even before you landed in UK.
3. He can transfer money in M'sia account to his UK account online and is free.
4. Being a joint UK account, he can access it online to see you didn't spend your money on night clubs etc.

Added on June 23, 2009, 7:27 am
QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 18 2009, 11:45 PM)
you can transfer money into any bank in uk. but your hsbc in malaysia wont be much related to the one in uk, if you open an account with hsbc uk, just like what azarimy mentioned above.
A lot of thing is indeed not related but their website are.

For example, on the very same page, you can see BOTH your UK and Malaysia account and can transfer money between anyone of them.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 23 2009, 07:27 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 23 2009, 10:26 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jun 23 2009, 07:44 AM)
well i would still suggest to have your own account. you wont learn until you have gone through the process yourself. and it is good to an account to yourself, for credit rating etc.
I don't think there is anything to stop you from opening another account solely in your name, is there?

But for a 1st timer to UK, it might be helpful to have that UK HSBC Premier account. It allows free transfer of money and you get to have UK credit card immediately. And with a UK credit card, as long as you spend more than GBP100 on it, be it part payment or full payment, the CC company is liable should there be any product dispute. Something that is not available to Debit Card or Malaysia CC.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 24 2009, 08:42 AM

12,696 posts

My suggestion:

1. Bring about GBP500 in cash for your everyday usage lasting about 2 or 3 weeks while waiting for account to open.
2. If your uni accept bank draft, buy a bank draft for the EXACT amount of fees that you needed to pay.
3. Buy another bank draft for your living expenses for next few months or for a year or whatever.

As for account opening.
1. If your parent is a HSBC Premier customer, get Malaysia HSBC to open a free UK Premier account for you while you are still in Malaysia.
2. Do it there yourself with any bank you choose.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 25 2009, 08:27 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(kenv09 @ Jun 24 2009, 10:42 AM)
okay! I head about traveller's cheque. What is it?
Correct me if I am wrong but I don't know of anybody still using these nowadays when going over to UK for studies.

I will just recap what I wrote and some addition:

My suggestion:

1. Bring about GBP500 in cash for your everyday usage lasting about 2 or 3 weeks while waiting for account to open.
2. If your uni accept bank draft, buy a bank draft for the EXACT amount of fees that you needed to pay.
3. Buy another bank draft for your living expenses for next few months or for a year or whatever.

As for account opening.
1. If your parent is a HSBC Premier customer, get Malaysia HSBC to open a free UK Premier account for you while you are still in Malaysia.
2. Do it there yourself with any bank you choose.

Malaysian ATM card. For the just-in-case-emergency need for money FAST.
Open a joint Malaysian bank account with your father. Then get a Malaysian ATM card. Make 100% sure it has either the PLUS or CIRRUS logo or else it is useless. Better still, get an Malaysian HSBC ATM card. Reasons being:
1. If you needed money IMMEDIATELY, bank draft takes about 2 weeks(include sending & clearance) and telex transfer takes 2 or 3 days, but with ATM, if your father in Malaysia deposited the money into the Malaysian bank, you can IMMEDIATELY withdraw that same money from any UK ATM machine a couple of minutes later. There is no faster way I know of in sending monies from home to UK.
2. With other bank, the charges is RM10 - RM12 per withdrawal.
3. Withdrawing from any UK HSBC ATM machine using M'sia HSBC ATM Card, the charges is only RM5 or free for Premier account holder.

Hope that helps.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 25 2009, 09:21 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 26 2009, 07:09 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Jun 26 2009, 05:19 AM)
ya, probably transferring money is the advantage. but i don't see u can't get any uk credit card from any uk bank? i did get a student UK credit card from natwest without any problem when i arrived uk as a student. in fact, they offered me the student credit card when i opened the step account.

besides, don't rely on credit card too much.. it's a hole without any end, u won't realize u spend too much until u get ur statement by the end of the month.
May I ask what's the credit limit?

Added on June 26, 2009, 7:10 am
QUOTE(liew_jls @ Jun 26 2009, 05:19 AM)
university accommodation? expensive mate!!
It depends. Most university accommodation is for 38 weeks but for those in the private, it is 52 weeks. So if you go back for the long 12 weeks summer holiday, with university accommodation, you don't have to pay for your room unlike the private. The amount we are talking for the summer room are very significant. For example, if your room is GBP70 a week, you will be paying 70 x 12 =GBP 840 for the empty room that you are not using.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jun 26 2009, 07:13 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 26 2009, 08:48 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 26 2009, 07:29 AM)
There are 4 of us in total. 2 studying in the Uni, but the other 2 are not, so I believe we can't be staying in the Uni's accommodation right? What if the accommodation is run by 3rd party companies?
You could check out this 3rd party student accommodation provider:
www.unite-students.com

For those moving into self catering and needed cooking utensils and bedding etc, check this out:
http://www.all-unied.com/acatalog/index.html

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 27 2009, 12:20 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lanun8 @ Jun 27 2009, 12:03 PM)
it is wise to get a great deal and phone here.. try this ---> http://www.carphonewarehouse.com
I couldn't work this out to be advantageous. Take for example, the free Nokia 5800
O2 Prepaid is GBP10. 150 mins talk + 300 texts.
Free phone contract is 18 months for GBP20 with 200 minutes & 200 texts

So you are basically paying GBP10 x 18 = GBP180 extra for the free phone. That's more or less the price of the phone itself.

And are these free phone from carrier locked? Meaning you can't use other network's SIM card?

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 30 2009, 08:10 AM

12,696 posts

You can always ask your family in Malaysia to send you parcel by post. Sea parcel cost RM120 for 20kg and it takes about 1 to 3 months to reach.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 30 2009, 09:17 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vincent_ng86 @ Jun 30 2009, 08:57 AM)
What is the recommended courier that handles sea parcel?
Post Office. But a word of warning...NEVER EXCEED 20-KG. Otherwise, it will cost big bucks.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 11 2009, 10:50 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 10 2009, 09:32 PM)
i advise to get a jab for tetanus vaccination though. as meningitis C vaccination, you can get it for free from your gp in uk.
Not so sure about your advise of getting the free meningitis jab.

I heard of a case whereby a new student contacted and die from meningitis within the 1st month of entering Uni. If money isn't a problem, I advise getting it here but mind you, it is an expensive jab.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 18 2009, 04:42 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(hanz08 @ Jul 18 2009, 03:32 PM)
buy it here! laptops in the UK are expensive.  smile.gif it doesn't matter what brand as long as u feel comfortable using it. but i recommend Asus as they have 2 years international warranty and build quality is good. hope that helps.
I would recommend Dell instead. Correct me if I am wrong but Dell have this "next business day" service and most IMPORTANTLY, they comes to you. Just imagine, you don't have to go across a big unfamiliar city to get to their service center.

Furthermore, they also carries International warranty. And warranty can be extended to 3 or 5 yrs, enough for your entire length of course study.

SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 19 2009, 08:46 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 18 2009, 06:18 PM)
Dell build quality is crap, in my opinion.

In UK, for services, they dont come to you, nor you go to them. All you can do is post them.
I didn't know that. In Malaysia, they have always come to you.

May I ask who pays for the posting cost in UK? If we pay, then that is a different story. But if Dell UK pays, who cares.

Added on July 19, 2009, 8:53 am
QUOTE(hanz08 @ Jul 18 2009, 08:49 PM)
true. furthermore u would have to pay for an extended warranty.  smile.gif
There is no free lunches in this world. All computer company had already priced the cost of warranty into the final price they sell you. Some company reveals the cost to you whereas some don't. No exception.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Jul 19 2009, 09:19 AM
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 19 2009, 03:05 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 19 2009, 01:19 PM)
you pay to deliver it to them.
If that is the case, then what is the meaning of "Next Business Day on-site support"?

http://www.dell.com/downloads/emea/service..._support_uk.pdf
According to this document, there is on-site and mail-in service in Europe. So if you purchase a Malaysian Dell and if the invoice states on-site, and since Malaysian purchased Dell is valid in UK, don't they have to come to you?

And no, I am not trying to be funny. I genuinely wanted to know about this issue.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jul 22 2009, 06:33 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Jul 20 2009, 07:23 PM)
there is definitely such service, but you will pay way extra for it. and no. extended service warranty in msia (where you get people to come over for servicing in msia) and next day on-site support in UK is different.

if you stay in UK, you will know how tricky service business is.

Added on July 20, 2009, 7:29 pmmy reason of not recommending dell,

1. crap build, wont last for more than 3 years.

2. laptop nowadays, are cheap and reliable. if it is broken in 1-2 years, consider yourself unlucky and get a new one then.

3. warranty specification vary largely bet. UK, Malaysia and so called international.

4. dell service could be top-notch in msia, but sorry not in UK. if you feel insecure for not having warranty on your laptop, buy your laptop from pcworld etc and also purchase their warranty at about 5pounds per month. if there is problem, you can anytime drop to their store for servicing. rest, manufacturing warranty, can be a tedious procedure over the phone and mailing.
I think almost every Malaysia Dell I looked at and certainly all Dell that I have ever bought in Malaysia comes with a Next Business Day service. And since it already comes with NBD and this warranty is valid for UK, I don't see why they wouldn't honor it.

And Malaysia Dell does come with extended warranty that you have to pay extra. I bought them for all my laptop. Can extend up to a maximum of 5 yrs.

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.2969sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:43 PM