Sugar Glider V8, Cute Pocket Pets!

-milo-
post Sep 10 2008, 11:38 PM

284 posts

hey thanks crazy mouse for the reply smile.gif

so i have a few more questions..do u guys normally put the gliders' cage in your room? any trouble with the odour and noise if u did put it in your room?

2nd question, i read that the flexarium is only a short term solution and could not be a permanent cage for the gliders, why? is it coz its still considered small for gliders? i actually tot the flexarium is very big..

3rd question, if u have more than 1 glider, when u wanna tkae them out in your bonding pouch, can you put two of them in one pouch? or one pouch for one glider only? or u just take one out and leave one at home?

also, is it possible to feed the glider with only fruits and slurps and yogurt and vege, but without the worms and insects?

thanks again all for relies smile.gif

This post has been edited by -milo-: Sep 10 2008, 11:48 PM
aurion
post Sep 10 2008, 11:46 PM

-=Sheer Driving Pleasure=-
777 posts

so i have a few more questions..do u guys normally put the gliders' cage in your room? any trouble with the odour and noise if u did put it in your room?
I keep mine in my room. Odour for male gliders are stronger, might be unbearable to some people. I've got 2 females and they do not smell. Noise wise, I guess I'm already used to it. They do bark at times, and when they run the Wodent Wheel, it will make some noise. Not loud though.

2nd question, i read that the flexarium is only a short term solution and could not be a permanent cage for the gliders, why? is it coz its still considered small for gliders? i actually tot the flexarium is very big..
Flexariums are made of nylon mesh, some gliders might chew through it.

also, is it possible to feed the glider with only fruits and slurps and yogurt and vege, but without the worms and insects?
Well it is best to feed woth worms and insects as it is a source of protein for gliders.
-milo-
post Sep 10 2008, 11:55 PM

284 posts

hey thanks aurion for the fast reply smile.gif

so is there any recommended cage for permanent use?

oh btw i do hope more ppl would reply to my questions as i would like to see diff opinions..thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by -milo-: Sep 10 2008, 11:56 PM
jcmf
post Sep 10 2008, 11:59 PM

661 posts

aurion
since u keep in ur room, does it emit odor? planning to keep a male in my room...
wat do u recommend?
Jamien
post Sep 11 2008, 12:09 AM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(-milo- @ Sep 10 2008, 11:38 PM)
hey thanks crazy mouse for the reply smile.gif

I put my glider in my living room so I don't answer from experience. But male gliders are the ones that produce a musky smell so unless yours is a male, putting the cage in your room won't be smelly. Frey's cage doesn't smell at all after 1 week.

Flexarium can be chewed through. So if your glider is a chewer, it'll just destroy your flexarium and escape. So it's better to get a metal cage lor. Escape proof and chew proof.

3rd question, if u have more than 1 glider, when u wanna take them out in your bonding pouch, can you put two of them in one pouch? or one pouch for one glider only? or u just take one out and leave one at home?
You can get a bigger pouch and put 2 of them in. It's fine. Just make sure the 2 gliders are properly introduced and will not fight with one another before you do so. You can also choose to bring one and leave one at home. But you should get 1 glider first, tame it, before getting another. Or it would just bond to each other and not you. Taming will be doubly hard. But if you tamed one first before getting the other, your newcomer suggie will follow your tame suggie's lead, making taming easier (right aurion biggrin.gif)

It's not a good idea... The best way to ensure an animal's health is to mimic the environment they used to live in the wild, including the diet. Sugar Gliders are natural insectivores besides eating fruit, gum, etc etc in the wild. So of course it is better to feed. No replacement beats the actual thing right? And mealies and crickets are a great source of protein. They love it.

This post has been edited by Jamien: Sep 11 2008, 12:11 AM
aurion
post Sep 11 2008, 12:11 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(jcmf @ Sep 10 2008, 11:59 PM)
aurion
since u keep in ur room, does it emit odor? planning to keep a male in my room...
wat do u recommend?
Both mine are females. As far as I've been keeping them, they seem to be near zero odour. Partially is that I have an air cleaner/purifier in my room. Only ocassionally got some kind of slight weird smell but it's not to the stage that is unbearable. Males on the other hand as I mentioned earlier, tend to emit a more strong odour from musking. This is also due to the extra scent glands that they have on their head and chest which females do not have. I can't really tell you how bad the males' odours are. I'll let the seniours recommend.
muchan86
post Sep 11 2008, 12:14 AM

1,523 posts

I have 1 female glider and I put her cage inside my room thou now she's free range in my room. As what others had said, male must is heavier than female but I did know some also put their male inside their room like emino or even Hun and they din really complain much bout it. Glider did bark sometimes and I find it not really noise but can wake me up in my sleep sweat.gif overall I have no complain at all by those noise.

2nd question, i read that the flexarium is only a short term solution and could not be a permanent cage for the gliders,
why? is it coz its still considered small for gliders? i actually tot the flexarium is very big..

refer to what aurion said, they might chew the mesh

3rd question, if u have more than 1 glider, when u wanna tkae them out in your bonding pouch, can you put two of them in one pouch? or one pouch for one glider only? or u just take one out and leave one at home?

The bonding pouch KP made can up to 2 glider if not mistake. She also offer to those who wan to larger the pouch to make it a lil bit bigger. But I do know both Reanne n Hun they carried both of their glider with 1 pouch. If both ur glider are comfortable with each other u can carry both of them with 1 pouch but if they not u might have to carry them separately

worms n insects are good for their diet. Why u dun wan to feed them worm? At first I was thinking the same as u cuz I dun really like insects and I was planning to fed her only fruits, slurp n maybe some veggie. But then, I found the most of the glider likes to eat worms and its really good for their health and diet. If u scare of the worms use chopstick or pincher to fed them smile.gif

This post has been edited by muchan86: Sep 11 2008, 12:17 AM
aurion
post Sep 11 2008, 12:16 AM

777 posts

Well I use the standard size bonding pouch and it can fit both mine in it comfortably. Occassionally I'll separate them into two pouches. As Jamien mentioned, you can opt to take one out and leave the other home, but I usually take both out. smile.gif

Jamien: Yup. According to Hun, a tame and older glider can help in the trusting progress. And from what I am going through, yes, Judy does help Meegy to be less timid now.
Reanne
post Sep 11 2008, 12:17 AM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

The standard bonding pouches are large enough for 2 gliders, unless they're unbelievably obese, then that'll have to be one in one pouch. tongue.gif

I have restarted my cricket baking project! Wahahahaa.... Who want samples? biggrin.gif
muchan86
post Sep 11 2008, 12:18 AM

1,523 posts

Hope my girl will really bond to me well so if I decided to take another girl she will teach the new girl to behave like ur Judy biggrin.gif

Added on September 11, 2008, 12:19 amReanne : u restarted the baking project already??? how its looks like huh? I wan to take some sample but I just dun really like crickets T.T worms are goods nowadays as I hand fed her so I dun really scared of them anymore tongue.gif

This post has been edited by muchan86: Sep 11 2008, 12:19 AM
aurion
post Sep 11 2008, 12:20 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 11 2008, 12:14 AM)
I have 1 female glider and I put her cage inside my room thou now she's free range in my room. As what others had said, male must is heavier than female but I did know some also put their male inside their room like aurion and they din really complain much bout it.
Correction muchan, I have both females.
Reanne
post Sep 11 2008, 12:21 AM

Elite is only a tag. So don't PM me to delete ur post.
2,903 posts

The baked crickets are hard, crispy and smell like roasted nuts.

This post has been edited by Reanne: Sep 11 2008, 12:21 AM
aurion
post Sep 11 2008, 12:22 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Sep 11 2008, 12:17 AM)
The standard bonding pouches are large enough for 2 gliders, unless they're unbelievably obese, then that'll have to be one in one pouch. tongue.gif

I have restarted my cricket baking project! Wahahahaa.... Who want samples? biggrin.gif
ME!!!
Sophiera
post Sep 11 2008, 12:23 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

QUOTE(Reanne @ Sep 11 2008, 12:21 AM)
The baked crickets are hard, crispy and smell like roasted nuts.
Um...do they taste like roasted nuts too? I've heard a lot of strange-food testimonies saying that crikets are delicous shocking.gif
muchan86
post Sep 11 2008, 12:24 AM

1,523 posts

lol I corrected it to emino xD sorry for the mistake biggrin.gif

Reanne : I scared to see the bake cricket itself tongue.gif If I'm free to go Fluff n u're there too bring some to let me see... muahauahuaha
aurion
post Sep 11 2008, 12:25 AM

777 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 11 2008, 12:18 AM)
Hope my girl will really bond to me well so if I decided to take another girl she will teach the new girl to behave like ur Judy biggrin.gif
From what I gather, Dakota gets along with you very well. Haha.. are you going to the NZX gathering if it is on? I let you play with Judy hahaha. Well tame and older gliders tend to help in training the younger ones.. Meegy used not to climb onto my hand at all. Once she sees Judy climb on, she started to climb on whenever I put my hand in. What ever I do with Judy, Meegy will be observing.

Emino's one doesn't smell cos Teddy's been neutered.

This post has been edited by aurion: Sep 11 2008, 12:26 AM
muchan86
post Sep 11 2008, 12:26 AM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Sep 11 2008, 12:23 AM)
Um...do they taste like roasted nuts too? I've heard a lot of strange-food testimonies saying that crikets are delicous  shocking.gif
should be ;D I watched National Geographic before and they have 1 school or college if not mistaken which specialist in insect and they had tried to bake worms, crickets n some other insects to eat n they all said it taste nice shocking.gif
When I see them cook I'm already half pengsan rclxub.gif
Jamien
post Sep 11 2008, 12:26 AM

2,647 posts

reanne i wan sample. baked crickets! is it human consumable? tongue.gif
aurion
post Sep 11 2008, 12:28 AM

777 posts

OFF TOPIC a while in response to Jamien's question. I would say it's human consumable cos people in Thailand do eat bugs including scorpions, grasshoppers etc.
muchan86
post Sep 11 2008, 12:29 AM

1,523 posts

QUOTE(aurion @ Sep 11 2008, 12:25 AM)
From what I gather, Dakota gets along with you very well. Haha.. are you going to the NZX gathering if it is on? I let you play with Judy hahaha. Well tame and older gliders tend to help in training the younger ones.. Meegy used not to climb onto my hand at all. Once she sees Judy climb on, she started to climb on whenever I put my hand in. What ever I do with Judy, Meegy will be observing.
Yep... if the gathering is on I will go to Fluff to join the gathering of course!! Now have Dakota ed.. so wont be so jealous like last time.. tongue.gif

Dakota is doin find and she's definitely gain more weight as I can see.. became a lil bit bigger blush.gif but I still dunno if she's bonded with me yet or not. Cuz I had only bring her out to meet Jamien and she always jumps back to me but only once. Never let her touch by my friend n din really bring her to other place than my room. So I need to bring it out to meet more ppl to see if she's bond with me or not biggrin.gif

121 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0272sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:50 PM