65 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket-AM2&AM2+ Overclocking V10, ~overcooking ur proc here~

X.E.D
post Sep 28 2008, 06:30 PM

curmudgeonosorus emeritus
1,955 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 03:41 PM)
Why do you recommend tri-core? Quad should be better.
I dont think tri-core justify the money spent.

Because Quad can't OC that much.

And Phenom 9k over 3.2Ghz almost definitely needs water. The tri-cores don't.
ronaldjoe
post Sep 28 2008, 07:01 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 06:30 PM)

I feel that same too...
Sacrifice one core for higher clock and gain some advantage in single core application and better 24/7 stability. sweat.gif
Pros and cons...

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Sep 28 2008, 07:16 PM
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 07:42 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 28 2008, 04:36 PM)
Still running Biostar TF560 now sweat.gif
there's no ddr1066 for timing mode option in bios? blink.gif

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 06:30 PM)

B.E chips on SB750 board don't need WC... tongue.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 28 2008, 07:48 PM

1,955 posts

Only the lucky 9850s do that. 9950s can do it more consistently, but it's hot.

In a general case the 8750 gives you more breathing space while still delivering awesome GAMING experiences. Even if most games use 2 threads, the third is capable of handling Windows processes, so it is all good.
shawn-mode
post Sep 28 2008, 07:51 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 08:48 PM)
In a general case the 8750 gives you more breathing space while still delivering awesome GAMING experiences. Even if most games use 2 threads, the third is capable of handling Windows processes, so it is all good.
Are you using one?
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 07:59 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 07:48 PM)
no doubt bout d heat as 9850/9950 chips are 125w & 140w, while 8750 (which basically a 9750 w/ one core fused off) are 95w. smile.gif

but d problem w/ 8750 is d price, it costs as much as a 9650 (actually slightly higher). i would rather sacrifice some MHz for one extra core, this is d reason why i bought a 9550 b4 instead of gettin a toliman... wink.gif
X.E.D
post Sep 28 2008, 08:07 PM

1,955 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 07:51 PM)
Are you using one?
No, but I'm in the consideration for one, along with Deneb indecision.

If the Deneb signifies the era of easy 3.5-4Ghz OCing for AMD, straight grab.

@ah_khoo
Generally the 9550s are the worst Phenom bins, which probably means they aren't that consistent on OCing, *especially* when it comes to HTT OCing, which is bad on the 65nm Phenoms.

The Black Edition for the 8750 gives its worth. It should essentially guarantee you an easy 3Ghz X3 (don't kill me if it doesn't, but I'm fairly confident), which in most cases, should be faster than a 2.2Ghz X4. (Not when vs your 2.8Ghz OC though laugh.gif )
ah_khoo
post Sep 28 2008, 08:38 PM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(X.E.D @ Sep 28 2008, 08:07 PM)
No, but I'm in the consideration for one, along with Deneb indecision.

If the Deneb signifies the era of easy 3.5-4Ghz OCing for AMD, straight grab.

@ah_khoo
Generally the 9550s are the worst Phenom bins, which probably means they aren't that consistent on OCing, *especially* when it comes to HTT OCing, which is bad on the 65nm Phenoms.

The Black Edition for the 8750 gives its worth. It should essentially guarantee you an easy 3Ghz X3 (don't kill me if it doesn't, but I'm fairly confident), which in most cases, should be faster than a 2.2Ghz X4. (Not when vs your 2.8Ghz OC though  laugh.gif )
since 9550 doesn't come with unlocked multi so basically overclockin a 9550 mean overclockin d htt... smile.gif

when u can do nothing but to raise d htt, luck does play an important role. i've saw 9750 doin 3.5GHz which has d same steppin as my 9550 (ex to be exact), but d max htt i managed was 280 only... i can't blame it on luck (since i already had d same steppin like d god like 9750), so i got myself to blame (lousy oc skill). blush.gif

i believe d reason why amd clockers prefer agena (especially b.e chips) is becoz d price of tolimans not attractive enough. sad.gif
ameque
post Sep 28 2008, 08:46 PM

284 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Sep 28 2008, 08:38 PM)
since 9550 doesn't come with unlocked multi so basically overclockin a 9550 mean overclockin d htt...  smile.gif

when u can do nothing but to raise d htt, luck does play an important role. i've saw 9750 doin 3.5GHz which has d same steppin as my 9550 (ex to be exact), but d max htt i managed was 280 only... i can't blame it on luck (since i already had d same steppin like d god like 9750), so i got myself to blame (lousy oc skill).  blush.gif

i believe d reason why amd clockers prefer agena (especially b.e chips) is becoz d price of tolimans not attractive enough.  sad.gif
personally, i dunno y amd come out with tri core anyways.. pricing also not that tempting..

either get a dual core if budget, or quad core if u have the money.

seeing reviews at xs n rebel, quad core on the sb750 boards are already hitting over 3.2... which means now those quads can already oc high.
shawn-mode
post Sep 28 2008, 08:56 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Sep 28 2008, 09:38 PM)
since 9550 doesn't come with unlocked multi so basically overclockin a 9550 mean overclockin d htt...  smile.gif

when u can do nothing but to raise d htt, luck does play an important role. i've saw 9750 doin 3.5GHz which has d same steppin as my 9550 (ex to be exact), but d max htt i managed was 280 only... i can't blame it on luck (since i already had d same steppin like d god like 9750), so i got myself to blame (lousy oc skill).  blush.gif

i believe d reason why amd clockers prefer agena (especially b.e chips) is becoz d price of tolimans not attractive enough.  sad.gif
Agreed totally. I am buying a 9950 since I am not happy with my brother E8400.
Prefer quad core for better investment.
TSxixo_12
post Sep 28 2008, 09:01 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 08:56 PM)
Agreed totally. I am buying a 9950 since I am not happy with my brother E8400.
Prefer quad core for better investment.
wah.. not satisfied with intel even can clock higher laugh.gif
shawn-mode
post Sep 28 2008, 09:15 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 10:01 PM)
wah.. not satisfied with intel even can clock higher laugh.gif
He went 4Ghz barrier but in real life it cant satisfy the N280 card.
TSxixo_12
post Sep 28 2008, 09:25 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 09:15 PM)
He went 4Ghz barrier but in real life it cant satisfy the N280 card.
n280? sweat.gif i dunno what that.. laugh.gif
so bro got solution alredi??
bmw owner?? no wonder hardware in progress superb drool.gif wub.gif
-pWs-
post Sep 28 2008, 09:39 PM

8,545 posts

Should be Nvidia GTX 280. smile.gif
Why dun go for Intel Quad then. brows.gif

-pWs-
TSxixo_12
post Sep 28 2008, 09:42 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 28 2008, 09:39 PM)

-pWs-
shh.. vmad.gif not every1 giler folding like u.. whistling.gif shakehead.gif drool.gif laugh.gif
no wonder i dunno what he mean laugh.gif
shawn-mode
post Sep 28 2008, 09:48 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 10:25 PM)
n280? sweat.gif  i dunno what that.. laugh.gif
so bro got solution alredi??
bmw owner?? no wonder hardware in progress superb drool.gif  wub.gif
GTX 280 mate. Naa, just a normal 325i SE.
I think he needs a quad core as well.
He just bought a car and wedding coming soon.
So he temporarily taxed out at the moment. Heehee.

BMW owner is more poor than normal people most of the time.
RM50 fuel consumption on a daily basis is a killer, luckily AB give me 3 years free maintenance.

I'm planning for 4850 or 4870 1GB GS for crisis and hope can get some easy clock bump from the BE.
Intel parts are a bit overpriced for premium boards and would prefer getting a mid range board, latest quad core
and crossfire ready radeons in case I need quick gpu upgrade.

Wont be planning such high OC and I more towards gaming and torrent as I use my notebook for work and browsing.
3.3Ghz clock for quad core should be sufficient for me. I need something that is stable for 24/7 abuse.

Added on September 28, 2008, 9:52 pm
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 28 2008, 10:39 PM)

-pWs-
Should balance out the competition. My notebook already using Intel.
Lets give AMD some chance eh? Later if AMD dies we wont have this healthy competition.
I was a Barton user before, so I hope the Phenom BE could impress me.

This post has been edited by shawn-mode: Sep 28 2008, 09:52 PM
TSxixo_12
post Sep 28 2008, 09:54 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

then DFI FTW!
shawn-mode
post Sep 28 2008, 09:56 PM

152 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 10:54 PM)
then DFI FTW!
Which model is nice? I'm looking for 550 budget for board. Not more than that.
-pWs-
post Sep 28 2008, 09:59 PM

8,545 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 09:42 PM)
shh.. vmad.gif  not every1 giler folding like u.. whistling.gif  shakehead.gif  drool.gif  laugh.gif
no wonder i dunno what he mean laugh.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(shawn-mode @ Sep 28 2008, 09:48 PM)
Should balance out the competition. My notebook already using Intel.
Lets give AMD some chance eh? Later if AMD dies we wont have this healthy competition.
I was a Barton user before, so I hope the Phenom BE could impress me.
Ermm..to be frank bro, current Phenom not up to expectation. smile.gif

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Sep 28 2008, 09:54 PM)
then DFI FTW!
DFI FTW rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

-pWs-
TSxixo_12
post Sep 28 2008, 09:59 PM

i!Retired!i
7,318 posts

the cooler on the board look sexy wub.gif
550? then i have not to recomend any dfi board laugh.gif
maybe can get with sb600 onli