QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 5 2011, 11:26 PM)
alrite..thanx fo the advice..now hopefully can get it to blow bubbles soon.. Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!
Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!
Oct 6 2011, 09:38 AM
4,554 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
Oct 6 2011, 09:57 AM
171 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Liverpool,UK |
Oct 6 2011, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 6 2011, 09:57 AM) alrite...so far have not really condition the pair yet..so far i only put both jar next to each other..tink will place both in the same container with the female inside a smaller glass..hopefuly this will stimulate more action from the male.. Thanx edmund90 for all the great advice!!! This post has been edited by fastreader: Oct 6 2011, 11:34 AM |
Oct 6 2011, 05:09 PM
8 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 4 2011, 07:28 PM) Wow nice young red hm nicotine QUOTE(JeFf_90 @ Oct 4 2011, 07:54 PM) wad kind of betta u looking for ? im from wangsa maju oso and i have a spawn of reds and blues HMPK ready to let go in a few more weeks This post has been edited by daigoro1990: Oct 6 2011, 05:12 PM |
Oct 6 2011, 08:21 PM
1,338 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: kuala lumpur |
Oct 6 2011, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Oct 6 2011, 08:21 PM) seksyen 5 wangsa maju, carefour there QUOTE("fastreader") alrite...so far have not really condition the pair yet..so far i only put both jar next to each other..tink will place both in the same container with the female inside a smaller glass..hopefuly this will stimulate more action from the male.. biggrin.gif wad type of betta are the pairs? ur method corect liao , if see alot bubble d u can straight release. Wait 1-3 days and den use torchlight to see if theres any eggs |
Oct 6 2011, 11:39 PM
Oct 7 2011, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(daigoro1990 @ Oct 6 2011, 11:15 PM) QUOTE("fastreader") alrite...so far have not really condition the pair yet..so far i only put both jar next to each other..tink will place both in the same container with the female inside a smaller glass..hopefuly this will stimulate more action from the male.. biggrin.gif wad type of betta are the pairs? ur method corect liao , if see alot bubble d u can straight release. Wait 1-3 days and den use torchlight to see if theres any eggs |
Oct 7 2011, 11:10 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Pea Jay |
Betta pros/breeders, how do you know if a female is delta, veil tail or plakat? Is there any difference?
Oct 7 2011, 01:16 PM
Sifus!! Sijie!!!
Pls help to advise newbie of the breeding/spawning tank setup~~ CLOSE-UP Shot » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Overview Shot » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Some question that i need help with: Q1: Is the setup ok? Size comfortable enough for both fishes? Do I needa improve on anything else? Q2: Do i needa put the stryform cup in there? Some sources says tat i can replace tat with water lettuce (Source:Claiming tat i can put water lettuce)? which is better?.. Stryform cup? Q3: I will put the plastic plant in later when i release the female with the male. Is the timing correct? Q4: Is there anything that I forget? anything that i needa add? Or I just needa sit back and wait for the male to release bubblesss? Pls help to advise this newbie. |
Oct 7 2011, 01:56 PM
3,669 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ze deep blue ocean |
QUOTE (daigoro1990 @ Oct 6 2011, 05:09 PM) Wow nice young red hm nicotine rclxms.gif is tis from uncle wong line ? wad kind of betta u looking for ? im from wangsa maju oso and i have a spawn of reds and blues HMPK ready to let go in a few more weeks It's half unker wong line, I cross it with a rm 7 lfs super red skyhawk mutt sire . That's the only juvenile with 180 degree tail while the rest were either round tail, delta or fan tails lol breeding HM is not easy. But the satisfaction of seeing them growing is priceless la hhehehee tongue.gif btw your red hmpk from unker wong oso ar ? your blue betta is pure color or multi ? i'm looking for full mask royal blue or steel blue pairs. QUOTE (LittleBetta @ Oct 7 2011, 11:10 AM) Betta pros/breeders, how do you know if a female is delta, veil tail or plakat? Is there any difference? very good question, vt and pk female looks pretty much the same. except delta/hm where they had longer anal fins. Other sifus please correct me if i'm wrong QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 7 2011, 01:16 PM) Sifus!! Sijie!!! 1) no general size, but best is 12 inch in diameter or bigger, info from various forum mentioned the bigger the better, as smaller sized spawning tank produce more female then male. Pls help to advise newbie of the breeding/spawning tank setup~~ Q1: Is the setup ok? Size comfortable enough for both fishes? Do I needa improve on anything else? Q2: Do i needa put the stryform cup in there? Some sources says tat i can replace tat with water lettuce (Source:Claiming tat i can put water lettuce)? which is better?.. Stryform cup? Q3: I will put the plastic plant in later when i release the female with the male. Is the timing correct? Q4: Is there anything that I forget? anything that i needa add? Or I just needa sit back and wait for the male to release bubblesss? Pls help to advise this newbie. 2) styrofoam cup act as a protective area for the betta to build nest. Without one, he'll get fatigue fast for repairing the fragile nest and tending the fry as during spawning period betta tend to goes into fasting mood, they wont whack anything. they can fast for about a week so just put one in. 3) nothing beat cheap real aquatic plant, get some rm 1 or rm 2 plant. It might produce algea or infusoria needed by young fry. Water lettuce foul the water, better have another jar or tank to culture infusoria with water lettuce. 4) some ketapang leaves and few drop of nika general aid or methylene blue to prevent fungus. This post has been edited by nicotine: Oct 7 2011, 07:57 PM |
Oct 7 2011, 08:53 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Q1- the setup look ok to me. Q2- yes u need put a half-cut cup(dont forget to cut a square on top of the semi cup to easy u see got egg or not) q3- setup everything b4 release the female. so put watever u wanted to put in the tank b4 release the female q4- put a piece of ketapang leave(optional), take the female out 1st.. wait 1 day only put back like that(provided u had finished setup everything) *what nicotine said was right too except for smaller tank get more female and i usually dont put any medicine(u need med only when u sick only) but lil bit of aquarium salt. But i guess a pic explain everything so let me share my spawning tank setup ba ![]() |
Oct 7 2011, 10:39 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thank you thank you thank you!!! thank you for all ur wonderful tips...and yeap..will try to scout for some ketapang leave and live plant..and also cut a hole on the stryform cup so tat i can see whether got egg onot!!... Wow!!! wonderful tips there by the sifus!!! thank a alot for all that!! appreciate it tonnes!! |
Oct 8 2011, 09:01 PM
2 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: cheras kl |
Q1: Is the setup ok? Size comfortable enough for both fishes? Do I needa improve on anything else?
a: ok put black water and some water plant... Q2: Do i needa put the stryform cup in there? Some sources says tat i can replace tat with water lettuce (Source:Claiming tat i can put water lettuce)? which is better?.. Stryform cup? a: stryform cup better Q3: I will put the plastic plant in later when i release the female with the male. Is the timing correct? a: both can for me better put early Q4: Is there anything that I forget? anything that i needa add? Or I just needa sit back and wait for the male to release bubblesss? a: put some buble filter good for baby when hatch..clear water |
Oct 8 2011, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(byakuya8283 @ Oct 8 2011, 09:01 PM) Q1: Is the setup ok? Size comfortable enough for both fishes? Do I needa improve on anything else? alrite!!! noted..live plant it will be,..thanx yea.. a: ok put black water and some water plant... Q2: Do i needa put the stryform cup in there? Some sources says tat i can replace tat with water lettuce (Source:Claiming tat i can put water lettuce)? which is better?.. Stryform cup? a: stryform cup better Q3: I will put the plastic plant in later when i release the female with the male. Is the timing correct? a: both can for me better put early Q4: Is there anything that I forget? anything that i needa add? Or I just needa sit back and wait for the male to release bubblesss? a: put some buble filter good for baby when hatch..clear water |
Oct 10 2011, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 7 2011, 01:56 PM) It's half unker wong line, I cross it with a rm 7 lfs super red skyhawk mutt sire . That's the only juvenile with 180 degree tail while the rest were either round tail, delta or fan tails lol breeding HM is not easy. But the satisfaction of seeing them growing is priceless la hhehehee tongue.gif icic , din noe outcross to rm7 can produce tis kind of nice fish hahaha.. anyway good job btw your red hmpk from unker wong oso ar ? your blue betta is pure color or multi ? i'm looking for full mask royal blue or steel blue pairs. my reds from uncle wong gg long time adi haha.. now they are stocks from another breeder tat stays in klang haha. will post some pics here soon my blues are pure solid colors with thick masking; about 20 steel blue male and 6 royal blue male, some d masking even start to cover the eye d lol. Let me know if u r interested, im letting them go at pairs for a cheap price coz wanna clear space for my upcoming spawns QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 6 2011, 11:39 PM) aiya whr got sifu , i still newbie ma alot more to learn hahhah QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 7 2011, 01:16 PM) Sifus!! Sijie!!! sorry late reply, hope they spawned already lol anyway to answer ur questionsQ1: Is the setup ok? Size comfortable enough for both fishes? Do I needa improve on anything else? Q2: Do i needa put the stryform cup in there? Some sources says tat i can replace tat with water lettuce (Source:Claiming tat i can put water lettuce)? which is better?.. Stryform cup? Q3: I will put the plastic plant in later when i release the female with the male. Is the timing correct? Q4: Is there anything that I forget? anything that i needa add? Or I just needa sit back and wait for the male to release bubblesss? Pls help to advise this newbie. Q1: yup looks fine, but remember to add some plants or hiding place for the female.. also some rm1.50 plants for the production of infusoria for fries.. or u can manually feed them with egg yolk till day 3 and start with mw or bbs Q2: for me i prefer styro cups with holes cup at the top ( similair to edmund's setup) , coz the cup u can stick it at one end so tat it doesnt move about. water lettuce oso fine actually just tat they can move around when wind blow Q3: better use live 1 haha, shud b fine as long as the female has a place to hide in Q4: salt (prevent velvet), ketapang extract/black water extract (reduce stress for the dad and fries) This post has been edited by daigoro1990: Oct 10 2011, 12:04 PM |
Oct 10 2011, 02:01 PM
QUOTE(daigoro1990 @ Oct 10 2011, 11:56 AM) sorry late reply, hope they spawned already lol anyway to answer ur questions oic..thanx sifus for the advice!!! Q1: yup looks fine, but remember to add some plants or hiding place for the female.. also some rm1.50 plants for the production of infusoria for fries.. or u can manually feed them with egg yolk till day 3 and start with mw or bbs Q2: for me i prefer styro cups with holes cup at the top ( similair to edmund's setup) , coz the cup u can stick it at one end so tat it doesnt move about. water lettuce oso fine actually just tat they can move around when wind blow Q3: better use live 1 haha, shud b fine as long as the female has a place to hide in Q4: salt (prevent velvet), ketapang extract/black water extract (reduce stress for the dad and fries) so far, the male has not blow any bubblenest yet..kinda fed up with it dy.. so far since getting both from the lfs, i haven't really fed them with any live food..just some fish pellet which they seem to spit out more often than swallowing it.. will try again in a week time..if still nothing then i guess the pair gotten is an old pair.. |
Oct 11 2011, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 7 2011, 01:16 PM) Sifus!! Sijie!!! The mineral bottle pattern will cause distortion, try using a smooth surface container. An adult happy and healthy betta will make bubblenest. The water condition, environment, care and feed will also effect the quality of the fryPls help to advise newbie of the breeding/spawning tank setup~~ CLOSE-UP Shot » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Overview Shot » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Oct 13 2011, 10:04 AM
Oct 15 2011, 01:38 PM
Need some advice. My betta's fin has some tears after flaring yesterday. It didn't show any rotting before this. Will it repair itself or do I have to add some fin rot med?
| Change to: | 0.0308sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:11 PM |