QUOTE(monoeye @ Sep 30 2011, 08:23 AM)
wangsa maju area dudeBetta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!
Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!
Oct 4 2011, 07:54 PM
61 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
Oct 4 2011, 08:07 PM
4,554 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
my betta is suddenly swimming sideway...
May i know what is the reason for it?...any way to deal with it?....i googled and it mentioned smth bout swim bladder issue.. ![]() so sorry for the camera phone quality.. Added on October 4, 2011, 8:15 pmthe abdomen look kinda swollen also...is there a reason why? This post has been edited by fastreader: Oct 4 2011, 08:15 PM |
Oct 4 2011, 08:48 PM
3,669 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: ze deep blue ocean |
could be sbd or some dieses infection due to water issue, try change water and put some medication such as nika general aid or yellow powder.
Oct 4 2011, 08:53 PM
Oct 4 2011, 09:16 PM
sbd = swim balder disease
Oct 4 2011, 09:49 PM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Pea Jay |
QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 4 2011, 08:07 PM) my betta is suddenly swimming sideway... How long you had your betta? Your picture look like mineral bottle, is that where you keep him? |
Oct 4 2011, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 4 2011, 09:16 PM) QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 4 2011, 09:49 PM) swin bladder disease??? @LittleBetta Yeap..its the bottom body of the 1.5liter mineral water bottle..been keeping it there for a while dy... As it pains me to do this, i tink i'm gonna give up on this Reddie when i got it, it is pretty aggressive.. |
Oct 4 2011, 11:00 PM
Aiyo so fast give up on him ar. Try conditioning and keeping his home clean and not feeding him for a couple of days. Stomach bloated maybe constipated leh
Oct 4 2011, 11:09 PM
171 posts Joined: Jan 2011 From: Liverpool,UK |
lower the water level and add some salt.. dont feed for 2-3days.. see the fish scale got spike up or not? if got then throw it instead of feed to other fish.. few days later still the same then u can cull it..
Oct 4 2011, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 4 2011, 11:00 PM) Aiyo so fast give up on him ar. Try conditioning and keeping his home clean and not feeding him for a couple of days. Stomach bloated maybe constipated leh i tink i may just do that...i dun want it to suffer bah..imagine the other fish flaring at it and it din even respond.. but anyway, i tink i will starve it for maybe 2-3 days..hopefully this will do the trick.. Added on October 4, 2011, 11:21 pm QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 4 2011, 11:09 PM) lower the water level and add some salt.. dont feed for 2-3days.. see the fish scale got spike up or not? if got then throw it instead of feed to other fish.. few days later still the same then u can cull it.. noted sifus..will also lower the water level and add some salt..table salt ok kah?.. and of cuz, fast it for 2-3 days...the scales so far still ok..no apparent skin diseases tat i can note of...no spike or cut whatever at the scale or fins...thank god.. hopefully after a few days there's good news.. This post has been edited by fastreader: Oct 4 2011, 11:21 PM |
Oct 5 2011, 11:54 AM
QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 4 2011, 11:18 PM) noted sifus..will also lower the water level and add some salt..table salt ok kah?.. and of cuz, fast it for 2-3 days... I'm not sifu but I know table salt and too much will make "ham yu" (salted fish). Just a note: table salt is not safe for any fishthe scales so far still ok..no apparent skin diseases tat i can note of...no spike or cut whatever at the scale or fins...thank god.. hopefully after a few days there's good news.. |
Oct 5 2011, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 5 2011, 11:54 AM) I'm not sifu but I know table salt and too much will make "ham yu" (salted fish). Just a note: table salt is not safe for any fish i tried tat..and it seems to be getting a bit better..actually my intention is to get it to breed..looks like i better get another male to breed...is it better to get those male that are already blowing bubble in the petshop already for breeding purpose?..because mine dun seem to be blowing bubbles at all..also because it is sick la.. what do ya' all say,sifus?..better to get those tat are already blowing bubbles?..so that they are more sexually ready to breed.. |
Oct 5 2011, 06:01 PM
rearing young fry is not an easy task. If you really want to breed betta then you should get yourself some good quality betta from an established line to start with... not a VT (veil tail)
This post has been edited by nicotine: Oct 5 2011, 06:01 PM |
Oct 5 2011, 06:38 PM
not recommended to buy betta from fish shop.. the background of the fish is unknown.. u might get something u dont wish to.
And dont compare lfs quality/price with home breeder quality/price. You pay for what u get. Another thing is, dont forget raising the fries need at least 3 months of effort, so better get some nice/normal betta instead of traditional plakat or veitail. Because the fries become adult, u wont b able to keep all.. so if the breed is not nice u might end up throwing most of it.. If from nice breed u can still sell them.. Thats my advice and when i started this hobby this is wat my SIfu-sifu told me also. |
Oct 5 2011, 07:29 PM
1,338 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: kuala lumpur |
Got 1 question, where do you all buy your fishies from?
Oct 5 2011, 07:33 PM
QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 5 2011, 06:01 PM) rearing young fry is not an easy task. If you really want to breed betta then you should get yourself some good quality betta from an established line to start with... not a VT (veil tail) QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 5 2011, 06:38 PM) not recommended to buy betta from fish shop.. the background of the fish is unknown.. u might get something u dont wish to. this is my first attempt at it..so was tinking to try it out easy first before going into canggih canggih breeding...anyway, what's the problem with veil tail?..too common?..or inferior breed?.. And dont compare lfs quality/price with home breeder quality/price. You pay for what u get. Another thing is, dont forget raising the fries need at least 3 months of effort, so better get some nice/normal betta instead of traditional plakat or veitail. Because the fries become adult, u wont b able to keep all.. so if the breed is not nice u might end up throwing most of it.. If from nice breed u can still sell them.. Thats my advice and when i started this hobby this is wat my SIfu-sifu told me also. |
Oct 5 2011, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 5 2011, 07:33 PM) this is my first attempt at it..so was tinking to try it out easy first before going into canggih canggih breeding...anyway, what's the problem with veil tail?..too common?..or inferior breed?.. nothing wrong with veiltail.. jus tat not so demanding and is only rm2 each at lfs.. so after u had spawn them,the fries go into adult has no value. and u wont b able to keep all veiltail by urself and no1 at outside wanted to buy it as well.. anyway, if u like veiltail then u can spawn it. jus depends on wat u like. because 3 months effort is not short and u need money to raise them as well..Added on October 5, 2011, 7:52 pm QUOTE(weirdo88 @ Oct 5 2011, 07:29 PM) i buy from home breederThis post has been edited by edmund90: Oct 5 2011, 07:52 PM |
Oct 5 2011, 08:18 PM
QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 5 2011, 07:46 PM) nothing wrong with veiltail.. jus tat not so demanding and is only rm2 each at lfs.. so after u had spawn them,the fries go into adult has no value. and u wont b able to keep all veiltail by urself and no1 at outside wanted to buy it as well.. anyway, if u like veiltail then u can spawn it. jus depends on wat u like. because 3 months effort is not short and u need money to raise them as well.. but anyway, I really appreciate ur advice..looks like i can scout for more interesting breed if my first attempt at breeding is successful and tat should i decide to pursue this hobby.. |
Oct 5 2011, 10:39 PM
Good thing i din feed my male betta to my Red ear slider!! its now ok already..no more swimming/floating on its side at the surface of the tank,..
one more question, how much and how often shud i feed betta?..once in 2 days?.. because the mouth is pretty small, i usually crush the fish pellet into powder/smaller pieces before feeding to it...any problem with tat?.. |
Oct 5 2011, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(fastreader @ Oct 5 2011, 10:39 PM) Good thing i din feed my male betta to my Red ear slider!! its now ok already..no more swimming/floating on its side at the surface of the tank,.. twice a day.. each time 3-5 pellet.. go buy black pellet.. rm5-6 /100gone more question, how much and how often shud i feed betta?..once in 2 days?.. because the mouth is pretty small, i usually crush the fish pellet into powder/smaller pieces before feeding to it...any problem with tat?.. |
| Change to: | 0.0331sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:06 PM |