Betta splendens Fighting Fish Club! v3, Beauty in Ferocity!

fastreader
post Oct 2 2011, 10:50 PM

4,554 posts

is there a reliable way to tell whether the fish is a male or female?..i know for male, we can tell if they builds the bubble nest rite?..that is a dead giveaway for a male rite?..

what bout for female?..short tail?..
fastreader
post Oct 3 2011, 01:05 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 2 2011, 11:37 PM)
Thanks, byakuya8283 . Common colours but they all have their own characters  smile.gif

Fastreader, I read somewhere that some females make bubble nest too and only males have the extra gill membrane. But I'm a newbie not a breeder. So maybe there's a more accurate way of telling
so the beard thingy is a better indicator?..those 2 tat u have, are they both male?..am trying to judge using the breard..practice makes perfect.. tongue.gif
fastreader
post Oct 3 2011, 07:47 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 3 2011, 03:15 PM)
male no egg but sperm.. female got egg.. simple.. ><!!
are these 2 male fish?..
Source: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=45726188

This post has been edited by fastreader: Oct 3 2011, 07:48 PM
fastreader
post Oct 3 2011, 09:09 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 3 2011, 08:15 PM)
yup.. for female wont have so long tail
QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 3 2011, 09:01 PM)
Yes, they are, fastreader. This one also male, plakat type

alrite..thanx for the practice given in trying to identifying the sex.. smile.gif cheers!!
fastreader
post Oct 3 2011, 11:08 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 3 2011, 09:35 PM)
Found this online. Guess the beard thing isn't that accurate
Link:Betta Male Or Female
i tink i would try my luck with the egg spot, ventral fin and the beard...what other tips you sifus use to determine the sex?.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif
fastreader
post Oct 4 2011, 12:33 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 3 2011, 11:55 PM)
Post the pic of ur fish.. let us see see...
alrite..sure..in a few days time may be.. tongue.gif cos if use camera phone sure damn hard to see..kinda lazy to caru digicam and shoot and transfer to comp.. tongue.gif rclxms.gif
fastreader
post Oct 4 2011, 08:07 PM

4,554 posts

my betta is suddenly swimming sideway... cry.gif cry.gif

May i know what is the reason for it?...any way to deal with it?....i googled and it mentioned smth bout swim bladder issue..

so sorry for the camera phone quality.. cry.gif cry.gif pls help me~~

Added on October 4, 2011, 8:15 pmthe abdomen look kinda swollen also...is there a reason why?

This post has been edited by fastreader: Oct 4 2011, 08:15 PM
fastreader
post Oct 4 2011, 08:53 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 4 2011, 08:48 PM)
could be sbd or some dieses infection due to water issue, try change water and put some medication such as  nika general aid or yellow powder.
what is sbd?..is it due to water issue?..could salt help?
fastreader
post Oct 4 2011, 10:40 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 4 2011, 09:16 PM)
sbd = swim balder disease smile.gif
QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 4 2011, 09:49 PM)
How long you had your betta? Your picture look like mineral bottle, is that where you keep him?
swin bladder disease??? blink.gif blink.gif meaning no cure liao?.. cry.gif cry.gif Any how i can cure it?...or i shud perform euthanasia on it?..

@LittleBetta
Yeap..its the bottom body of the 1.5liter mineral water bottle..been keeping it there for a while dy...

As it pains me to do this, i tink i'm gonna give up on this Reddie cry.gif cry.gif Am going to feed him to my Red Ear Slider 2molo morning...now it is on its side FULLY..only swimming for a short while when i knock on the container...just now i put it with another betta, the other betta flare at it and it just lay on its sideway on the surface...not returning its flare at all...
when i got it, it is pretty aggressive.. cry.gif Guess its time for Reddie to be turtle food...
fastreader
post Oct 4 2011, 11:18 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 4 2011, 11:00 PM)
Aiyo so fast give up on him ar. Try conditioning and keeping his home clean and not feeding him for a couple of days. Stomach bloated maybe constipated leh
i tink i may just do that...i dun want it to suffer bah..imagine the other fish flaring at it and it din even respond.. cry.gif

but anyway, i tink i will starve it for maybe 2-3 days..hopefully this will do the trick.. blink.gif blink.gif

Added on October 4, 2011, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 4 2011, 11:09 PM)
lower the water level and add some salt.. dont feed for 2-3days.. see the fish scale got spike up or not? if got then throw it instead of feed to other fish.. few days later still the same then u can cull it..
noted sifus..will also lower the water level and add some salt..table salt ok kah?.. and of cuz, fast it for 2-3 days...

the scales so far still ok..no apparent skin diseases tat i can note of...no spike or cut whatever at the scale or fins...thank god..

hopefully after a few days there's good news.. blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by fastreader: Oct 4 2011, 11:21 PM
fastreader
post Oct 5 2011, 03:04 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(LittleBetta @ Oct 5 2011, 11:54 AM)
I'm not sifu but I know table salt and too much will make "ham yu" (salted fish). Just a note: table salt is not safe for any fish
i tried tat..and it seems to be getting a bit better..actually my intention is to get it to breed..looks like i better get another male to breed...

is it better to get those male that are already blowing bubble in the petshop already for breeding purpose?..because mine dun seem to be blowing bubbles at all..also because it is sick la..

what do ya' all say,sifus?..better to get those tat are already blowing bubbles?..so that they are more sexually ready to breed.. hmm.gif hmm.gif
fastreader
post Oct 5 2011, 07:33 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Oct 5 2011, 06:01 PM)
rearing young fry is not an easy task. If you really want to breed betta then you should get yourself some good quality betta from an established line to start with... not a VT (veil tail) biggrin.gif
QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 5 2011, 06:38 PM)
not recommended to buy betta from fish shop.. the background of the fish is unknown.. u might get something u dont wish to.
And dont compare lfs quality/price with home breeder quality/price.
You pay for what u get.
Another thing is, dont forget raising the fries need at least 3 months of effort, so better get some nice/normal betta instead of traditional plakat or veitail. Because the fries become adult, u wont b able to keep all.. so if the breed is not nice u might end up throwing most of it.. If from nice breed u can still sell them.. Thats my advice and when i started this hobby this is wat my SIfu-sifu told me also.
this is my first attempt at it..so was tinking to try it out easy first before going into canggih canggih breeding...anyway, what's the problem with veil tail?..too common?..or inferior breed?.. hmm.gif what about the normal plakat?..
fastreader
post Oct 5 2011, 08:18 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 5 2011, 07:46 PM)
nothing wrong with veiltail.. jus tat not so demanding and is only rm2 each at lfs.. so after u had spawn them,the fries go into adult has no value. and u wont b able to keep all veiltail by urself and no1 at outside wanted to buy it as well.. anyway, if u like veiltail then u can spawn it. jus depends on wat u like. because 3 months effort is not short and u need money to raise them as well..

nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif oic..noted sifus!!!! yeah..i was tinking to try my hand at it by going easy first b4 venturing into more advance breed..yeah..50++ fries if successful is really a chore to take care of..i tink i might end up giving it away to colleagues and frens and relatives in the end if the spawn is successful..

but anyway, I really appreciate ur advice..looks like i can scout for more interesting breed if my first attempt at breeding is successful and tat should i decide to pursue this hobby.. icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif
fastreader
post Oct 5 2011, 10:39 PM

4,554 posts

Good thing i din feed my male betta to my Red ear slider!! its now ok already..no more swimming/floating on its side at the surface of the tank,.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

one more question, how much and how often shud i feed betta?..once in 2 days?.. hmm.gif hmm.gif

because the mouth is pretty small, i usually crush the fish pellet into powder/smaller pieces before feeding to it...any problem with tat?.. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif notworthy.gif
fastreader
post Oct 6 2011, 09:38 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 5 2011, 11:26 PM)
twice a day.. each time 3-5 pellet.. go buy black pellet.. rm5-6 /100g
alrite..thanx fo the advice..now hopefully can get it to blow bubbles soon.. smile.gif
fastreader
post Oct 6 2011, 10:28 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(edmund90 @ Oct 6 2011, 09:57 AM)
try put ketapang leaf or show the male a female.. then the male will make bubble nest faster..
alrite...so far have not really condition the pair yet..so far i only put both jar next to each other..tink will place both in the same container with the female inside a smaller glass..hopefuly this will stimulate more action from the male.. biggrin.gif

Thanx edmund90 for all the great advice!!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by fastreader: Oct 6 2011, 11:34 AM
fastreader
post Oct 7 2011, 12:39 AM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(daigoro1990 @ Oct 6 2011, 11:15 PM)

QUOTE("fastreader")
alrite...so far have not really condition the pair yet..so far i only put both jar next to each other..tink will place both in the same container with the female inside a smaller glass..hopefuly this will stimulate more action from the male.. biggrin.gif

wad type of betta are the pairs? ur method corect liao , if see alot bubble d u can straight release. Wait 1-3 days and den use torchlight to see if theres any eggs biggrin.gif once got egg can remove the female
its veiltail type..for a beginner like me... tongue.gif alrite!!!!..looking forward to seeing bubbles soon from the male..and then baru let them go at it.. thanx for the advice yea!!!!
fastreader
post Oct 7 2011, 01:16 PM

4,554 posts

Sifus!! Sijie!!!

Pls help to advise newbie of the breeding/spawning tank setup~~

CLOSE-UP Shot

Overview Shot

Some question that i need help with:

Q1: Is the setup ok? Size comfortable enough for both fishes? Do I needa improve on anything else?

Q2: Do i needa put the stryform cup in there? Some sources says tat i can replace tat with water lettuce (Source:Claiming tat i can put water lettuce)? which is better?.. Stryform cup?

Q3: I will put the plastic plant in later when i release the female with the male. Is the timing correct?

Q4: Is there anything that I forget? anything that i needa add? Or I just needa sit back and wait for the male to release bubblesss? biggrin.gif rclxms.gif

Pls help to advise this newbie. icon_question.gif icon_question.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
fastreader
post Oct 7 2011, 10:39 PM

4,554 posts

notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Thank you thank you thank you!!! thank you for all ur wonderful tips...and yeap..will try to scout for some ketapang leave and live plant..and also cut a hole on the stryform cup so tat i can see whether got egg onot!!...

Wow!!! wonderful tips there by the sifus!!! thank a alot for all that!! appreciate it tonnes!! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
fastreader
post Oct 8 2011, 09:55 PM

4,554 posts

QUOTE(byakuya8283 @ Oct 8 2011, 09:01 PM)
Q1: Is the setup ok? Size comfortable enough for both fishes? Do I needa improve on anything else?
a: ok put black water and some water plant...

Q2: Do i needa put the stryform cup in there? Some sources says tat i can replace tat with water lettuce (Source:Claiming tat i can put water lettuce)? which is better?.. Stryform cup?
a: stryform cup better

Q3: I will put the plastic plant in later when i release the female with the male. Is the timing correct?
a: both can for me better put early

Q4: Is there anything that I forget? anything that i needa add? Or I just needa sit back and wait for the male to release bubblesss?   
a: put some buble filter good for baby when hatch..clear water
alrite!!! noted..live plant it will be,..thanx yea.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

0.0420sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:04 PM