my liquid cooling kit damn celaka lol...leak at radiator!! oh tidak!! (thats what you get for something free?
Air Cooling Discussion Thread V3, Database, FAQ, Guides and Discussion!
Mar 2 2009, 01:01 AM
1,649 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
weird...my lapped arctic was like sweet 30-35 idle with c1e....anyways..go check your load temps...should be much lower...maybe HDT behave like that....my hostelmates...one HDT 1283 and 1 CCF...both idle a little scary but loads decently at 65C with 4.0ghz on e8400
my liquid cooling kit damn celaka lol...leak at radiator!! oh tidak!! (thats what you get for something free? |
Mar 2 2009, 01:46 AM
meh...i can just use some PTFE tape to patch it up (leaking at the bolt there...noticed a missing rubber ring) ...if it still didnt work
i think i'll just sell it off and go back to my sweet ol' arctic cooling freezer7pro XD [hassle free!!] |
Mar 2 2009, 04:28 PM
eventho air-cooling is hassle free....
BUT! you still need to check it out sometimes...like dust..that will sometimes trap the fan or block the airflow into your Heatsink..... so arct my friend...do check it out..maybe that caused the prob...and its advisable to change the thermal paste too...maybe yours already all dried up *anyways..the white colour plumbing tape works XD...doing another round of leak test .....woohoo* |
Mar 3 2009, 01:51 PM
hmm.....aint that sunbeam CCF is the best now?....and there's TITAN FENRIR recently that just defeated sunbeam CCF (i refered to frostytech)
Mar 3 2009, 10:58 PM
well...i think thats the weakness of HDT based heatpipes as the contact area is not that evenly spread as compared to TRUE.
so if we use a quadcore ...prolly not all the heatpipes were in contact with the core...thus bad temperature reading....unlike TRUE where it actually covers the entire surface of the processor however no doubt the CCF did perform better on a dual core besides i also notice that HDT type heatsinks tent to idle at rather high temps as well (maybe due to the behavior of the heatpipes) as compared to my arctic freezer7 **nyways..if not because of my leaking pump...i would have gone watercooling already... |
Mar 4 2009, 10:08 PM
haha speaking of lapping ><.....my liquid kit (bigwater SE) actually had the same temps with freezer7pro lapped....sigh...i switched back to air...wanna sell this liquid kit
Mar 4 2009, 11:55 PM
wow..your e8400 = oem?.....
if it is then i know why you dare to do it XD btw you use dry or wet method? go use sabun with wet method ah? |
Mar 5 2009, 01:20 AM
lowyat should have them....else you can try searching in forums...i remember seeing some when i was searching for 40mm fans........
anyways..if youre planning on a 80mm one....you can get the vizo high CFM one which is quite windy and noisy as well (get a fan controller with it) *oh yea...and i remember a shop in lowyat specialized in server stuff (a small shop in a corner)...they had an array of delta fans ,but they're rather pricey This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 5 2009, 01:22 AM |
Mar 6 2009, 05:32 AM
mmmmm...temps are not bad..at par with my neighbor's Xigmatek S1283 at the same clocks...NICE ONE!
Mar 7 2009, 05:53 AM
maybe thats because the TRUE is a little heavy for the springs....however regarding tightening...better not overdo it coz it will damage your mobo (that happened to me once XD)
Mar 9 2009, 07:45 PM
that depends tho...like the 'H' backplate...it tends to bend the mobo if you tightened too much....was testing out the bigwater SE...wondering why my PC cant turn on..untill i notice the mobo was bent....i loosen the thing and miraculously it booted (gigabyte mobo damn tough sia...i actually spilled some coolant on my mobo when refilling...luckily still working XD) liquid cooling scared the crap out of me ...went back to air XD
Mar 11 2009, 12:06 AM
heh...nice info you got there....tho for now..the easy way out is using springs....and beside..speaking of 'H' plates...i somewhat got a modding idea...why not we try to clam the CCF down with it on a LGA1366? if we can fabricate one (use uni's engine lab
Mar 12 2009, 11:51 PM
have anyone here used a AC freezer extreme? anyways..i cant really give any results yet ><...the DFI mobo is being stubborn as it refuse to boot ...all it did was just light up and show '88' at the bios status....
Mar 13 2009, 03:35 PM
not P45 infact its the X48...
and yea..very very disappointing ...sigh still cant find the root of its not booting issue gonna let the shop settle if my final attempt(test each part individually) still fails...tho i am suspecting that the board i had is has a faulty bios |
Mar 14 2009, 02:44 AM
haha..ive tried everything possible...i got a few CPUs ..rams...GPU at my disposal..
however to no avail..it still couldnt boot...therefore..im telling my friend to RMA the board and see... since its brand new...mixed bios setting error shouldnt appear....sibeh tao tiah |
Mar 14 2009, 11:14 PM
cool..what did you do to get it on? mine is still dead over here..haha..dunno bout the 1 to 1 exchange with the shop yet..should be done by now
well...for my case...im too used to phoenix-award's XD...i dislike the Ami bios..that leads to my hatred on asus actually (i'm weird eh?) wonder if i can flash my gigabyte's bios to genie....but i think im dreaming....lol..well MIT tweak is good enough.. This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 14 2009, 11:17 PM |
Mar 15 2009, 01:57 AM
got your PM...really appreciate it
hopefully it will work after the 1:1 exchange...im still waiting for the news from my friend..anyways..it should work after this..else (it might be a curse) Added on March 15, 2009, 11:50 amcame back with a smile!!! the board is finally working after warranty!! well post the results soon hehehehehhehe This post has been edited by Bonchi: Mar 15 2009, 11:51 AM |
Mar 17 2009, 07:09 PM
i wonder...is xeon X3220 compatible with P45 (gigabyte) plus DDR2 RAM?
and is the freezer 7 pro sufficient or not to handle the xeon at around 3.4ghz? wanna make some clarification first before buying it...coz its the same price as the retail Q6600 now.. |
Mar 18 2009, 07:58 PM
its good its good...better than replacing HSF lol
with a price much lesser than RM10 for this performance...it sure is worth the effort...tho i dont have the guts to lap my proc..but ive done my HSF |
Mar 19 2009, 12:51 AM
oh yea..u've used 6 diff grits to lap....usually i use 800>1200 then straight to 2000 (3 is cheaper but takes longer to achieve mirror finish)
QUOTE(geroro @ Mar 18 2009, 09:23 PM) mind if i ask, if on pc 24/7 straight is it ok for the cooler? i mean the led turn on the whole time doesnt effect anything? shouldnt be a prob lol...even if the LED burn...the fan will still work |
| Change to: | 0.0497sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:35 PM |