Intel Q9xxx and Xeon 33x0 Family, Show the rest what Intel Quadies can do!
TSCyclone87
Aug 22 2008, 10:09 PM, updated 18y ago
I found it weird when i fail to find overclocking thread on this yorkfield series , therefore i open this thread after 5minutes of searching. Let dedicated this thread to Intel Quadies 45nm ( Codename : Yorkfield ) . Here the complete Yorkfield family list QUOTE Yorkfield Family
Yorkfield 6mb L2 Cache # Core 2 Quad Q9300 2.50Ghz (FSB 1333) # Core 2 Quad Q9400 2.66ghz (FSB 1333)
Yorkfield 12mb L2 Cache # Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66ghz (FSB 1333) # Core 2 Quad Q9550 2.83ghz (FSB 1333) # Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.00ghz (FSB 1333)
Yorkfield XE 12mb L2 Cache # Core 2 Quad QX9650 3.00ghz (FSB 1333) # Core 2 Quad QX9770 3.20ghz (FSB 1600)
Xeon Yorkfield # Xeon 3320 2.50Ghz 6mb L2 Cache # Xeon 3350 2.67Ghz 12mb L2 Cache # Xeon 3360 2.83Ghz 12mb L2 Cache C2Q 45nm users, come in and show me you break 4.0ghz barrier with your quad . I cant even break 3.5ghz properly with my X3320. Going to try harder later by pump up the vcore. This post has been edited by Cyclone87: Aug 23 2008, 09:35 AM
kucingfight
Aug 22 2008, 10:13 PM
Technically, it's tough to get over 450fsb on quads. Even to stablised it on 440fsb is not easy
TSCyclone87
Aug 22 2008, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Aug 22 2008, 10:13 PM) Technically, it's tough to get over 450fsb on quads. Even to stablised it on 440fsb is not easy Yea i was kinda disappointed because i was aiming for 4.0ghz just like my E7200. But stuck at 444FSB at the moment.
toughnut
Aug 22 2008, 10:41 PM
LOL! 7.5x on X3320 is PITA to OC till 4Ghz. or should i say impossible. it's FSB wall of that proc, around 440 - 470.
i just tested my X3320 today, FSB wall at 450. still priming at 1.225V vCore (idle: 1.216; load: 1.200)
toughnut
Aug 22 2008, 11:02 PM
i will smile to death if i have a QX haha
if target 4ghz, get a quad with multiplier 9x and above
tech_frix
Aug 23 2008, 07:50 AM
waaa....really need this thread!!! any X3320 user??? post up somtng lor....
TSCyclone87
Aug 23 2008, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(tech_frix @ Aug 23 2008, 07:50 AM) waaa....really need this thread!!! any X3320 user??? post up somtng lor....  Later i bump voltage on my X3320 all to max and see whether can break 450fsb wall or not.
fesick
Aug 23 2008, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Aug 23 2008, 09:00 AM) Later i bump voltage on my X3320 all to max and see whether can break 450fsb wall or not.  nah -pWs- ady up to that range
toughnut
Aug 23 2008, 11:48 AM
i meant X3320 FSB wall is 440-460. 450 is specifically for my proc. at least below 1.218V load. will try 2.5V later
kmarc
Aug 23 2008, 11:55 AM
The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 23 2008, 11:48 AM) i meant X3320 FSB wall is 440-460. 450 is specifically for my proc. at least below 1.218V load. will try 2.5V later Finally got your 45nm proc! Cool! What mobo are you using? My P35-DS3 seems to be incompatible with it, had to return it
toughnut
Aug 23 2008, 12:15 PM
hehe, tested the proc throughly but seem like it hitting FSB wall VERY fast.
450 at 1.2375V Bios (idle: 1.232; load: 1.216). fully stable after priming few hours, few loops of 3DM06
Using P35-DS3P v1.0 with F11 bios. new bios support 45nm cpu. and i noticed that the precision for vCore, vMem, etc has been increased. very precise compare to earlier bios. loadline calibration also available O_o
-pWs-
Aug 23 2008, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(fesick @ Aug 23 2008, 09:47 AM) nah -pWs- ady up to that range   That result was taken w my DFI P35. Will try oc more using DFI P45 T2RS. -pWs-
kmarc
Aug 23 2008, 12:38 PM
The future is here - Cryptocurrencies!
QUOTE(toughnut @ Aug 23 2008, 12:15 PM) hehe, tested the proc throughly but seem like it hitting FSB wall VERY fast. 450 at 1.2375V Bios (idle: 1.232; load: 1.216). fully stable after priming few hours, few loops of 3DM06 Using P35-DS3P v1.0 with F11 bios. new bios support 45nm cpu. and i noticed that the precision for vCore, vMem, etc has been increased. very precise compare to earlier bios. loadline calibration also available O_o Wow! Nice..... too bad my P35-DS3 couldn't run it well  I was running at 3.26Ghz at 1.175v Bios!!! Stable in prime95 for 6hours but not stable when folding... Had to return the proc to seller......
dro
Aug 23 2008, 02:47 PM
noob Q's i see very low vcores (compared to dual & c2d) is that the actuall Vcore required? even for benching? wats the temps on this quaddies? ============================= saw -pWs- 's screenies 60++ oso This post has been edited by dro: Aug 23 2008, 02:58 PM
TSCyclone87
Aug 23 2008, 06:55 PM
Damn it seem like going to 460FSB is not possible for me even i pump to 1.5v. But there is a guy at garage sales with the same X3320 doing 480FSB at only 1.3v .
-pWs-
Aug 23 2008, 07:16 PM
Try to pump some VTT. -pWs-
OC4/3
Aug 23 2008, 07:36 PM
QUOTE(Cyclone87 @ Aug 23 2008, 06:55 PM) Damn it seem like going to 460FSB is not possible for me even i pump to 1.5v. But there is a guy at garage sales with the same X3320 doing 480FSB at only 1.3v . VTT and GTL Ref is the key  Never really try to clock a quad through
tech_frix
Aug 23 2008, 10:07 PM
QUOTE(OC4/3 @ Aug 23 2008, 07:36 PM) VTT and GTL Ref is the key  Never really try to clock a quad through  enlighten me with ur knowledge....