5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

Joshua_0718
post Nov 13 2008, 11:19 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(ilikehandphones @ Nov 13 2008, 08:33 PM)
bros...just wanna aask...a fellow malaysian working in singapore also....if my fren wanna send me some cash to help him buy stuff in sg...how can he send using maybank(fren) to posb(mine)?
Yes, he could. I forgotten the name for m2u. Tried bank in from maybank to posb before. wink.gif
Joshua_0718
post Nov 14 2008, 04:17 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

Sitex is coming. Anything interesting promotion to grab? drool.gif
Joshua_0718
post Nov 28 2008, 09:10 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Nov 27 2008, 09:35 PM)
i not so sure but bus from sg->kl on night of 23rd jan selling at freaking price of S$70. Asked at Golden Mile Complex 3 weeks back. it's alisan.
Yes, due to CNY, all mark up. That is for sure.

Last year my gf back to Penang during CNY, cost her around S$100-s$110
Normal price is S$50 only!

Added on November 28, 2008, 9:11 am
QUOTE(wu ming @ Nov 28 2008, 08:33 AM)
Muahaha, I am avoiding that place~! laugh.gif I have heard that it is very crowded from the previous year. hmm.gif
Hm, cheaper than Lowyat? shakehead.gif

Does anybody know where is a quiet place I can spend my time during the weekends? I noticed that the state library is quite a place to hang out if you are into books and free internet connection. brows.gif
LoL. If you guys want to buy hardware, can always PM me de. I working in IT line. wink.gif

Just in case you guys want to look for good deals, you guys can refer to this site

http://asia.cnet.com/sitex/08/

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Nov 28 2008, 09:31 AM
Joshua_0718
post Dec 1 2008, 03:24 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 1 2008, 01:59 PM)
I'm looking to go back to melaka. So now too late 2 get a bus ticket for the CNY holiday? So soon finish oledi? Anybody from melaka can recommend me which bux company to use since i havent gone back to my hometown.
Yes! Very fast 1. For Christmas ticket, the 1st day of sales ticket are almost finish. 2nd day straight habis
Joshua_0718
post Dec 10 2008, 09:40 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

Receive bad news from my boss....

I am the 1st person to enter into the room 1-by-1.
Economy recession hit my company already. Investor couldn't afford to pump in fund anymore. 90% will be retrench(but boss keeping me and my other colleague ONLY) and cost will be totally cut down, meaning operation will be home based already. IT IS THAT SERIOUS.

I am real sad now, I need to leave some of my colleague. We are small based company and we work very happily. Haiz. Life is tough especially recession
Joshua_0718
post Dec 10 2008, 10:45 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(J(o)y @ Dec 10 2008, 10:16 AM)
Seriously?? 90% retrench?? what can a company do with that remaining 10%, or what does the investor expect the 10% to do?? You better prepare as well.

By the way, can disclose ur company name? or at least what does your company do? what industry?
Look at my signature. We are IT service provider. IT industry

As I said, my company is very small. I guess I give the wrong figure, 67% is the exact amount of being retrenched

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Dec 10 2008, 10:45 AM
Joshua_0718
post Dec 10 2008, 12:26 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(lgs @ Dec 10 2008, 11:57 AM)
http://www.marix.com.sg/Career.aspx

Still wanna employ people woh... or forgot to update ?
Boss receive the news from investor 2 days ago... Boss pass the news to us today....

I guess no time(no mood) to update tongue.gif
Joshua_0718
post Dec 15 2008, 10:22 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 13 2008, 10:20 PM)
Izit? I have a colleague whos using the m1 and she says its only slow from 7pm-9pm. After that its ok. Izit 50gb data limit for singtel? I thought it was lower then that, and isnt singtel blocking torrents like tmnet?

I heard a rumour that next year all of the mobile broadband speeds will be upgraded. So if i sign up now, i wouldnt be able to enjoy the benefits of these faster speeds?
M1 real sux. The best time is only during office hour and after midnight. During night is the worst!

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Dec 14 2008, 11:16 AM)
yo anyone know that is it ok or 'safe' to get those gadgets thing from Lucky Plaza ?

price there is nice, but the place give me a Pertama Complex feel lol.  biggrin.gif
If you want to buy camera, recommend you to get from MS Colour

QUOTE(MPIK @ Dec 14 2008, 02:35 PM)
If you wanna buy computer stuffs, don't buy at singapore, go back to KL and buy at lowyat instead (for those who are from KL)... it is about 25% more cheaper after conversion.
True

QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Dec 14 2008, 03:16 PM)
it depends on what stuff you wanna buy lah.
Leadtek 9600GT SGD141 (*2.38 = RM336), can you find cheaper than this in KL?

please don't jump into conclusion so fast. doh.gif  whistling.gif
Yeah, you are right. But most of the IT hardware are cheaper in Malaysia.
You guys could always PM me if you want to buy hardware in Singapore
Joshua_0718
post Dec 15 2008, 12:05 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ Dec 15 2008, 11:33 AM)
I have to agree with that. I surveyed the price of RAMs for my laptop over here and compared it to my hometown. I was shocked when the price of a value ram is much more expensive. shakehead.gif  So when I got back to my hometown. I got a branded RAM which has a higher clockspeed and it cost less! laugh.gif
It is not much more expensive.
In Singapore, the pricing is x2 of Malaysia in dollar
Example: Singapore S$70, Malaysia RM140

So, that's why it buying in Singapore will be expensive.

Let's take printer as example.

In Malaysia, RM229
In Singapore, S$125

After calculating the currency rate, you won't feel it is cheap.

Frankly speaking, I check the cost price I getting from distributor, it is more expensive compare with I getting from Malaysia retail. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Dec 15 2008, 12:06 PM
Joshua_0718
post Dec 17 2008, 09:59 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Dec 17 2008, 02:09 AM)
is it okay to download torrents in sg?
eg. downloading US tv series?
What say you? Of course no. Download at your own risk laugh.gif

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 17 2008, 01:18 PM)
i am now in sg.. dlding a lot of torrent.. 5 -8 movies a night...

neway.. trying to find a job here.. currently on holidays... staying at my relatives' place... i wonder whether those job where they say only for residence and singaporeans i can apply?

advice is highly appreciated
Why not? My current job is actually for Singaporean and SPR. Due to my knowledge and experience, I got the job.
Who cares? wink.gif

Just that out of 100, chances are 1%

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Dec 17 2008, 05:14 PM)
yea, i know rapidshare or megaupload will be way faster.. but where can we find TV series with those download links?
n btw, i was asking about the legal issue.. is it okay to torrent in this strict country?
50% 50% will get caught.

But if you are on dynamic IP, very hard to get caught.

If you are real unlucky, you will receive a warning letter for the 1st time.

Just becareful for downloading US torrent. Usually the officer are the seeder wink.gif

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 17 2008, 05:55 PM)
U guys can recommend me which mobile BB is good for stable speed for normal downloads and surfing? I heard m1 speed varies alot and singtel has a 50gb limit a month on downloads. How about starhub?

Coz i currently using my landlord starhub landline and its slower then my office 3mb line eventhough its a 8mb line, no the landlord doesnt hog the torrents and nor do i.
Starhub Mobile Broadband all the way!

M1? Don't go for it. Many of us quit from M1
Joshua_0718
post Dec 18 2008, 03:57 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Dec 18 2008, 01:58 AM)
by dynamic IP u mean? VPN?
i thought getting a warning letter meant lucky, at least u know u are warned then u can stop..
Nah, sometime not just warning letter. Sometime straight kena fined or bring u to court

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Dec 18 2008, 03:23 PM)
Has anyone notice the currency rate for sgd vs ringgit just break through 2.41 barrier..

Now 1 SGD = 2.4211 MYR

rclxms.gif
Ya! I noticed quite long time ade. Install the sidebar and the currency keep running drool.gif
Joshua_0718
post Dec 19 2008, 11:08 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Dec 19 2008, 09:58 AM)
go back msia change can get higher compred to change in sg
You sure on this?

QUOTE(raZorblAde @ Dec 19 2008, 10:46 AM)
to all ladies and gents ere

first of all, i am really sorry if this is a double post, triple post because i do not have the luxury of time to go through...will need your URGENT advice!

i have been offered thru a recruitment agency to work in Singapore for $2750...is that manageable in Singapore?

please offer me your breakdown of expenses (e.g., food, accommodation and etc)
Depends on how you spend actually. If you save and no entertainment, definitely it is more than enough.

For me, I am having good foor and entertainment for 2 days during the weekends, end of the month, I still can save s$1k
Joshua_0718
post Dec 30 2008, 11:06 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Dec 30 2008, 09:48 PM)
Now it a bit harder than 5 months ago. What do you want to work as?

Below is my company's salary structure for fresh grats:-
Business Executive - $2.2K - $2.3K
Accounts Executive - $2.5K
Admin Executive - $2.2K
IT Executive - $2.7K
Do your company have any vacancy now? laugh.gif
Joshua_0718
post Jan 9 2009, 12:38 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ Jan 9 2009, 11:25 AM)
hoongji
i've moved my place to jurong east...
no longer in bkt batok...
Bro, why?

Added on January 9, 2009, 12:39 pmGuys, I would like to apply for PR, but my company couldn't sponsor for my application. Slim chances?

What should I look at? I check at my application status, it is at orange light, 1 year working here only green light. Can I depends on my degree, s pass and my salary?

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Jan 9 2009, 12:39 PM
Joshua_0718
post Jan 10 2009, 11:19 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

Guys, I would like to apply for PR, but my company couldn't sponsor for my application. Slim chances?

What should I look at? I check at my application status, it is at orange light, 1 year working here only green light. Can I depends on my degree, s pass and my salary?

Joshua_0718
post Jan 12 2009, 03:14 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Jan 11 2009, 11:34 PM)
The e-appointment for PR seems to be full for this whole year...  sweat.gif  What can I do to get PR quick?
Seems to be full till all the way next year doh.gif

Anyway, I just tried my luck and found 1 slot on 23th March biggrin.gif
Saja get the slot 1st tongue.gif
Joshua_0718
post Jan 13 2009, 11:00 AM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Jan 12 2009, 09:06 PM)
To apply PR, is e-appointment a necessary? Can I just go over to the service center and apply for PR (without any prior booking)?
I am not sure! You might need to be to line up at ICA as early at 5 or 6! Then get a ticket number if possible. Someone tried it everyday for a month, although she got e-appointment.

If you want fast application, do that!
Joshua_0718
post Jan 14 2009, 12:34 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Jan 14 2009, 10:15 AM)
Now Really go so terrible? I apply December last last year. Reach ICA on Saturday morning 8am. Able to get my application done about 12pm. Maybe tat time they haven implement the e-appointment? But that time is holiday la.. Not much Student.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Details in SPF website:
http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/ser.../conversion.htm

*  Ang Mo Kio Driving Test Centre, level 3, co-located with the Singapore Safety Driving Centre ( http://www.ssdcl.com.sg/ ) at 3 Ang Mio Kio St 62 Industrial Park 3 Singapore 569139.
    * Bukit Batok Driving Test Centre, level 2, co-located with the Bukit Batok Driving Centre ( http://www.bbdc.sg ) at 815 Bukit Batok West Ave 5 Singapore 659085.
    * Kampong Ubi Test Centre, level 2, co-located with ComfortDelgro Driving Centre ( http://www.cdc.com.sg/users/homepage/index.asp ) at 205, Ubi Ave 4 Singapore 408805.
I am not sure. That's what I heard from my gf, her colleague did that way

Joshua_0718
post Jan 14 2009, 04:32 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Jan 14 2009, 12:39 PM)
anyone got change the new ezlink ? lol unlike in malaysia, when things newly come out people here all like kiasu n q up to change it.

in malaysia mostly dont even bother to change IC even say got fine.  biggrin.gif
I am shock to see the 1st day so many ppl line up, blocking the path entering the entrance... Come on, you guys got the time to line up and not working, we don't! doh.gif mad.gif
Joshua_0718
post Jan 15 2009, 02:38 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,912 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Jan 14 2009, 10:39 PM)
Not all line up to change, I had not have mine changed yet, for what? let the excitment pass over then change.  FYI, my anuty change last week with no one on the queue.... where she change, I don't know, but she told me, no fuss over it.
No fuss no fuss.. Just that I kinda pissed that day, rushing peak hour, they go and line up and block the way

Added on January 15, 2009, 2:39 pm
QUOTE(Scopio @ Jan 15 2009, 02:38 PM)
y need the sg tel number wor??
He might meant that chances are higher, as employer prefer to call your sg number straight away. They would assume you are in Singapore.

This post has been edited by Joshua_0718: Jan 15 2009, 02:39 PM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0515sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:01 PM