10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

The 3GB-not-4GB RAM problem

Xiaodu
post Dec 28 2008, 05:32 AM

116 posts

previously my vista ultimate just support 3gb for my 4GB installed but after i download the latest window updates then it's display 4GB already, i not sure is it fully run 4GB or not.

does anyone same case with my pc ?
astria
post Dec 28 2008, 09:40 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

ve u gone thru the thread???

as long as u re using Vista x86, or any other 32-bits OS, it will NEVER use 4GB...

Vista x86 SP1, however, will show the amount that sits in the computer, not the amount that Vista can use...

fire up task manager and u'll see it's not 4GB...
TechnoDude94
post Dec 28 2008, 11:06 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Xiaodu @ Dec 28 2008, 05:32 AM)
previously my vista ultimate just support 3gb for my 4GB installed but after i download the latest window updates then it's display 4GB already, i not sure is it fully run 4GB or not.

My answer is just a simple-one-liner. 4GB is displayed but only 3GB++ is utilized.
warversa
post Jan 6 2009, 01:38 PM

23 posts

overall, if we want to used up all the ram that we pay upgrade to vista 64bit, and loose some of 32bit app.

anywhere in the world there will be trade and balance , we cant have it all my fellow lyn'rs
Dem
post Jan 6 2009, 07:36 PM

169 posts

Guy...i'm figure out a problem when slotting 1gb RAM into my lappy. Existing RAM is 2gb. But when i'm slotting one more 1gb RAM, it show error on window during booting.

What exactly happen...any idea?? Last time i checked at crucial.com, it say that my lappy can go into 3gb ~ 3.5gb of RAM max.

Mine is Presario C767TU

p/s: i had post it in others thread too. But i'm still not satisfied with the answer. So decided to ask here. blush.gif

This post has been edited by Dem: Jan 6 2009, 07:51 PM
TechnoDude94
post Jan 8 2009, 10:57 AM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

QUOTE(Dem @ Jan 6 2009, 07:36 PM)
Guy...i'm figure out a problem when slotting 1gb RAM into my lappy. Existing RAM is 2gb. But when i'm slotting one more 1gb RAM, it show error on window during booting.

What exactly happen...any idea?? Last time i checked at crucial.com, it say that my lappy can go into 3gb ~ 3.5gb of RAM max.

Mine is Presario C767TU

p/s: i had post it in others thread too. But i'm still not satisfied with the answer. So decided to ask here.  blush.gif
Make sure that you match the correct specs of both sticks of RAM.
lynxs
post Feb 4 2009, 11:11 AM

Incognito
545 posts

Sorry to ask but does this problem also affect 2gb of ram. Mine has 4* 512MB of ram but it only detects 1.5gb. Always thought it was a Mobo problem, running vista 32 bit on and AMD athlon64 3200+ system
ldragon
post Feb 4 2009, 11:33 AM

1,026 posts

lynxs, the missing 512MB is allocated to the onboard VGA
lynxs
post Feb 4 2009, 12:16 PM

Incognito
545 posts

QUOTE(ldragon @ Feb 4 2009, 11:33 AM)
lynxs, the missing 512MB is allocated to the onboard VGA
really? but i have an abit AV8 mobo, which does not have an onboard vga.
zack_3004
post Feb 27 2009, 05:58 PM

patutlah aku tgk kat pc aku 3gb ram jer.. adoiyaii
MojA_VieW
post Mar 1 2009, 06:50 PM

▐ LivE IS GooD▐
965 posts

wanna change my vista to 64 bit at future. i love the other 1gb missing.
chanws8
post Mar 2 2009, 11:17 PM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

Haha..Juz changed my vista ultimate to 64bit...4GB shown...
MojA_VieW
post Mar 3 2009, 05:24 PM

▐ LivE IS GooD▐
965 posts

how do you feel? faster or same as before?
chanws8
post Mar 3 2009, 09:23 PM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

QUOTE(MojA_VieW @ Mar 3 2009, 05:24 PM)
how do you feel? faster or same as before?
It's same...Juz giving more memory...
MojA_VieW
post Mar 3 2009, 10:10 PM

▐ LivE IS GooD▐
965 posts

QUOTE(chanws8 @ Mar 3 2009, 09:23 PM)
It's same...Juz giving more memory...
i'll think twice for changing it.. brows.gif brows.gif
chanws8
post Mar 5 2009, 12:46 AM

ИΞШB!Ξ
2,165 posts

QUOTE(MojA_VieW @ Mar 3 2009, 10:10 PM)
i'll think twice for changing it.. brows.gif  brows.gif
Why? lazy to backup the important files before format? tongue.gif
Deani_77
post Mar 5 2009, 01:15 PM

Luaskan Kuasamu...
3,251 posts

Some people do upgrade because they want better performance. Since our ppl feel it was just the same as before... May be that upgrading can be skip for a while...
sniper69
post Mar 5 2009, 01:35 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

there's no harm done using XP x64 or Vista x64, ok... apart from getting the driver which is used to be quite hard -- but now, i think should'nt be a problem icon_idea.gif
Hoodlums
post Mar 9 2009, 02:19 AM

598 posts

QUOTE(Xiaodu @ Dec 28 2008, 05:32 AM)

Check your task manager @ Total Physical Memory, how much?

MojA_VieW
post Mar 9 2009, 11:15 AM

▐ LivE IS GooD▐
965 posts

QUOTE(chanws8 @ Mar 5 2009, 12:46 AM)
Why? lazy to backup the important files before format?  tongue.gif
that's one of the reason..the other is u said it not too much different..
just adding some memory.. cool2.gif

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:41 PM