10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The 3GB-not-4GB RAM problem

chanhin
post Aug 22 2008, 10:42 AM

1,615 posts

Today Graphic card already 1GB.... And for that kind of graphic card money spent, there is no reason not getting at least 4GB...

Thus my conclusion is rather simple; We gamers have no choice but to upgrade to 64 bit OS already.... cry.gif
astria
post Aug 22 2008, 07:23 PM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

actually currently for gaming, 2GB is still pretty ok, depending on the amount of background process u ve...

if u dun do proper housekeeping, 100GB also not enough...
amyhs99
post Aug 24 2008, 12:41 PM

3,807 posts

I'm running vista x64 on my lappy. So far no driver problem and unstable problem. Ya, i'm using 4gb rams.
gac
post Aug 29 2008, 05:52 PM

Music Soul
1,205 posts

simply, so it is nothing wrong to installed 4gb of ram right? there is no system complications at all right?

since it applies to all 32bits OS, using XP pro will not solve the issue unless a 64bit os right?

This post has been edited by gac: Aug 29 2008, 05:54 PM
astria
post Aug 29 2008, 06:11 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(gac @ Aug 29 2008, 05:52 PM)
simply, so it is nothing wrong to installed 4gb of ram right? there is no system complications at all right?

since it applies to all 32bits OS, using XP pro will not solve the issue unless a 64bit os right?
1) no problem, juz that u dun get to use all the RAM

2) yes, 64-bits is the only way to go...
lhongwuh
post Sep 10 2008, 11:15 PM

~stary stary nite~
1,991 posts

wat r the settings tat v nid to change after changing to vista 64 bit in order to fully utilise 4g of ram?
nid to change anythg in bios?
linkinstreet
post Sep 10 2008, 11:55 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

No, the OS itself supports it
chris99
post Sep 12 2008, 09:38 AM

My system currently is using 8GB of RAM brows.gif Because of this , I have to install Vista Ultimate x64 in order to utilize the 8GB memory laugh.gif

Windows Vista Edition 64-bit maximum memory support
Home Basic -> 8 GB
Home Premium -> 16 GB
Ultimate -> 128+ GB
Business -> 128+ GB
Enterprise -> 128+ GB

But with Vista 64bit system, you would have software compatibility issues & problems.... sweat.gif Some of the program/software cannot run "NORMALly" as usual, and some can cause system hang. Example like Winzip (doesn't have 64bit yet), only can encrypt & decrypt, others advance functions cannot be used... cry.gif
linkinstreet
post Sep 12 2008, 09:57 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

use winrar la. I found it miles better than winzip, not to mention better compression management
ad_ee
post Sep 12 2008, 04:38 PM

124 posts

winrar or 7zip - sometimes the files that detected corrupt by winrar still can be unrar by 7zip.. hehe
muhdhafiz
post Sep 12 2008, 05:07 PM

السلام شركات المؤسسة (PG0229187-X)
604 posts

Windows 32bit base u put 4GB 8GB or more GB rams will only detect 3.5 - 3.75GB
try 64bit base OS than u put 4GB 8GB will detect the amount u put/buy smile.gif
gac
post Sep 14 2008, 05:24 PM

Music Soul
1,205 posts

as for now 32bit OS is good enough... with 2gb ram. wait lah until later stage. i rather wait 2 years for MICROSOFT VIENNA to launch

for me gaming, entertainment etc is perfectly fine now

This post has been edited by gac: Sep 14 2008, 05:25 PM
dopodplaya
post Sep 14 2008, 05:48 PM

2,280 posts

QUOTE(gac @ Sep 14 2008, 05:24 PM)
as for now 32bit OS is good enough... with 2gb ram. wait lah until later stage. i rather wait 2 years for MICROSOFT VIENNA to launch

dude - here is two cents for you... project vienna is still elusive. Like project "Longhorn", it may also cancelled or the features might changed before the RTM release > it actually become Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008.

One more thing, Microsoft technologies are always similiar in their core. It will never changed. Same windows, same management consoles and same backward-compatible kernels. There is no point waiting coz Microsoft decision will be very predictable. Whatever outcome from project Vienna will be nearly the same as Vista and Server 2008.

Two of the worst factors are the licensing and activation method. They might get worse for users in future release of Windows operating systems. unless you are used to use pirated copies... sweat.gif
astria
post Sep 14 2008, 11:06 PM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(gac @ Sep 14 2008, 05:24 PM)

u mean Windows 7??? personally i dun really trust MS' date of 2010... juz look at Vista, it's suppose to be out in 2004... in the end 2007 with many functions stripped of...

64-bits is better than 32-bits... it runs faster, at least...
vvsky
post Sep 22 2008, 01:50 AM

user win2003 or win2008 will be ok~~ i did b4
BuLaNaR
post Oct 7 2008, 03:24 AM

penyair sepi
777 posts

hurm...is it regarding to unupgraded to sp1??
RoxyGal
post Oct 7 2008, 03:31 AM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

QUOTE(chris99 @ Sep 12 2008, 09:38 AM)
My system currently is using 8GB of RAM  brows.gif  Because of this , I have to install Vista Ultimate x64 in order to utilize the 8GB memory  laugh.gif 

Windows Vista Edition 64-bit maximum memory support
Home Basic  ->  8 GB
Home Premium  ->  16 GB
Ultimate  ->  128+ GB
Business  ->  128+ GB
Enterprise  ->  128+ GB

But with Vista 64bit system, you would have software compatibility issues & problems.... sweat.gif  Some of the program/software cannot run "NORMALly" as usual, and some can cause system hang. Example like Winzip (doesn't have 64bit yet), only can encrypt & decrypt, others advance functions cannot be used...  cry.gif
can i know where u get ur original ultimate vista 64 bit for cheap?
Velent
post Oct 10 2008, 12:57 AM

106 posts

my vista 32bit display 4GB of ram after upgrade to SP1...
astria
post Oct 10 2008, 01:16 AM

22,158 posts

sleep.gif|||

SP1 displays the amount of RAM that is sitting in the computer... not the amount that Vista can use...

open up Task Manager and u'll see it's not 4GB...
linkinstreet
post Oct 10 2008, 08:07 AM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

QUOTE(RoxyGal @ Oct 7 2008, 03:31 AM)
can i know where u get ur original ultimate vista 64 bit for cheap?

Do you need ultimate? Home Premium is already good enough for everyday hardcore usage

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0236sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:15 PM