NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

thpace
post Aug 27 2011, 11:25 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

can any1 help me?

i manage to set mycloudnas on my ts-110 to resolve to my wan ip..

but i could not seem to resolve to my nas.. i already done port forward at port 8080 but to no avail.
Any kind souls willing to help me?
DarkNite
post Aug 28 2011, 08:17 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(wwkkww @ Aug 27 2011, 10:34 PM)
i still recommend the HP Microserver more than the QNAP/Synology NAS because its almost a perfect htpc + NAS for me.
It is cheaper, easy to swap HDD (not hotswap), gigabit NIC, etc... I just recently add another usb soundcard for it. The temperature is good (i use it 24/7 in my bedroom, cant feel any heat)

Im using 4x2TB WD green (no RAID) on it and cant hear any disk spinning noise. totally SILENT smile.gif
i tried the Hitachi drive and is more noisy than the wd green. i not recommend using the WD black because is too noisy when loading (hv it on my gaming desktop) and u need to have SATA 6G port. So better use those green/low rpm HDD

I tried these OS on it: FreeNAS (SLOW), Win Home Server 2011 (Nice UI), Windows 7/XP (cant find some of the driver), Win Server 2k8 R2 (currently using, almost perfect but lack of windows media center sad.gif)

thumbup.gif
Between Win Home Server 2011 & Win Server 2k8 R2, which you prefer and why?
CocoMonGo
post Aug 28 2011, 09:40 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Aug 23 2011, 10:51 AM)
you can use WD black for RAID servers. Black is designed to run 24/7. A little bit more expensive but more reliable as it comes with 5 years warranty.

BTW, you can read about my review of HP Proliant Microserver here.
http://www.miniservernation.com/2010/12/ex...nt-microserver/

Please do comment how is the review. Appreciate all the feedback. Thanks.
Nice feedback. But I think the transfer speed you quoted is on the low side. I remember some other forums quoted such speeds but after some tweaking they managed to get them to around 80+MBps
William_Yeo
post Aug 31 2011, 11:29 AM

1,524 posts

Hi ALL NAS Sifu :

I looking to get a NAS for the purposes :

1) RAID 1 - Mirroring
2) Able to Stream RMVB and MKV files
3) BT download remotely
4) Stream Music files over internet like ipad / iphone

Please advice, thanks laugh.gif
CocoMonGo
post Sep 2 2011, 10:15 PM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

Wheeee new HP Proliant have been announced

ProLiant MicroServer models powered by AMD Turion N40L

HP ProLiant N40L

Off the bat it doesnt look any different physically and spec wise. But now it looks like it is standard 2GB ECC. Other then that I is the newer processor AMD Turion™ II Model Neo N40L vs the N36L in the current model. Difference between the two processors is that N40L is 1.5GHz@15W TDP vs 1.3GHz@ 13W TDP in the N36L. Hopefully the Malaysian version will not ship with SBS 2011 Essentials pre-installed.

Hopes it comes by December
ruffstuff
post Sep 3 2011, 07:56 AM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Sep 2 2011, 10:15 PM)
Wheeee new HP Proliant have been announced

ProLiant MicroServer models powered by AMD Turion N40L

HP ProLiant N40L

Off the bat it doesnt look any different physically and spec wise. But now it looks like it is standard 2GB ECC. Other then that I is the newer processor AMD Turion™ II Model Neo N40L vs the N36L in the current model. Difference between the two processors is that N40L is 1.5GHz@15W TDP vs 1.3GHz@ 13W TDP in the N36L. Hopefully the Malaysian version will not ship with SBS 2011 Essentials pre-installed.

Hopes it comes by December
nice. internal upgrade only, but still the best and cheapest NAS ever.
eddmy1
post Sep 3 2011, 09:02 PM

29 posts

anyone running DSM 3.2 Beta already on their NAS?

Interested to know how well the direct downloads are working with premium accounts..

QUOTE(denhock @ Jul 18 2011, 12:00 PM)
bro.....

DSM 3.2 coming soon:

new feature:

for Download station :

support 16+ File hosting site:

Free:
Rapidshare ,megaupload,depositfiles,4sharedcom,shareonline,Dbankcom,Youtube,Todou,

Premium:
Rapidshare,megaipload,bitsahre,depositfiles,filefactory,fileserve,filesonic,freskshare,hotfile,netloadin,oron,uploaded.to,eash-share,badongo

added:
Directory Server-
LDAP Authentication Service Provide

and more to come
MEngineer
post Sep 6 2011, 09:19 PM

...Look at my stars...
888 posts

Hi I am planing to get either Synology DS 110j or QNAP TS110. Has anybody tried streaming normal or HD video's remotely ? (For example my laptop in my friends house accessing via web to my NAS to watch video without the need of downloading it locally.
jinaun
post Sep 7 2011, 10:38 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

DSM 3.2 just released yesterday night
thankyou
post Sep 7 2011, 11:02 AM

1,941 posts

Does anyone knows where can I get WHS 2011 genuine license? newegg selling at cheap price but it doesn't ship to malaysia...
jinaun
post Sep 7 2011, 11:22 AM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Sep 7 2011, 11:02 AM)
Does anyone knows where can I get WHS 2011 genuine license? newegg selling at cheap price but it doesn't ship to malaysia...
i think maybank amex has a service.. which newegg can deliver to an american address... then amex? or maybank? will ship it to malaysia

not sure such services still available or not

This post has been edited by jinaun: Sep 7 2011, 11:26 AM
thankyou
post Sep 7 2011, 10:37 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Sep 7 2011, 11:22 AM)
i think maybank amex has a service.. which newegg can deliver to an american address... then amex? or maybank? will ship it to malaysia

not sure such services still available or not
will it incur extra shipping fee? assuming it drops through an US address? Its something like forwarder right?
knight
post Sep 8 2011, 10:35 AM

The Truth is Out There..
1,842 posts

Any of you using D-Link DNS 323?? Can a normal HDD perform Raid function?

I'm want to search for a basic type of NAS enables me to make use of my old harddisk and also to perform torrent downloading. Any to recommend?
iZuDeeN
post Sep 16 2011, 09:00 PM

3,466 posts

get DNS 320 its newer and cheaper ~RM260 vs RM300+ for the 323
WhatMan
post Sep 17 2011, 04:59 PM

1,623 posts

Anyone got Buffalo NAS?

I'm having problem with NASNavigator2 where it is not able to detect my NAS. However, turning off the firewall, it detects with no problem.

I'm using Avira, and I have allow NavigatorNAS.exe privilege but still cannot view the drive after hitting the refresh button.

qwerty79
post Sep 17 2011, 09:20 PM

1,907 posts

QUOTE(iZuDeeN @ Sep 16 2011, 09:00 PM)
get DNS 320 its newer and cheaper ~RM260 vs RM300+ for the 323
Hi, just want to know, can I use DNS-320 to download from http or ftp? Currently looking for cheap 2-bay NAS (below RM300) for my muvie storage. Reading from the internet, I found out that NAS also can do torrent downloading, but how about ftp/http download? I mean download from internet to the NAS.

Thank you.
47ronin
post Sep 19 2011, 01:22 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Sep 17 2011, 09:20 PM)
Hi, just want to know, can I use DNS-320 to download from http or ftp? Currently looking for cheap 2-bay NAS (below RM300) for my muvie storage. Reading from the internet, I found out that NAS also can do torrent downloading, but how about ftp/http download? I mean download from internet to the NAS.

Thank you.
yes u can pcless download. read this thread frm page 1 to 44 for full morning, now i have basic idea on nas & which system to go.

thanks sifoo.
kelvyn
post Sep 22 2011, 05:22 PM

3,173 posts

QUOTE(abubin @ Aug 23 2011, 11:51 AM)
you can use WD black for RAID servers. Black is designed to run 24/7. A little bit more expensive but more reliable as it comes with 5 years warranty.

BTW, you can read about my review of HP Proliant Microserver here.
http://www.miniservernation.com/2010/12/ex...nt-microserver/

Please do comment how is the review. Appreciate all the feedback. Thanks.
Nice and detail review bro. Mind sharing how much is the HP microserver?
Did the DVD writer come package with it or can we opt not to get that?
daveiam
post Sep 23 2011, 02:56 PM

17 posts

check out NAS Review i find it useful for finding and comparing NAS. We know there's lots of them these days lol
buzzle25
post Sep 23 2011, 05:36 PM

114 posts

Hi Guys,
Need advise on this.
This is for my home use.
1. Plan to use it for storage of files for playback via media player to LCD TV. Streaming HD files.
2. Connection (NAS to Media player) will be via Cat 6 LAN cable. Upstairs & downstairs.
3. Use this as file storage
4. Prefer to have 4 X 2TB HD.
5. Able to be connected via desktop and notebook via wireless. Using Win7.
6. Transferring of files from desktop to NAS.

Which type of NAS to get? Value for money. icon_question.gif

85 Pages « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » Top

0.0261sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 01:22 AM