I am finding for cheap affordable NAS solution too.
Is D-Link DNS-313 no longer in production?
NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one
Nov 18 2009, 08:34 PM
3,988 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
I am finding for cheap affordable NAS solution too.
Is D-Link DNS-313 no longer in production? |
Nov 25 2009, 06:35 PM
163 posts Joined: Nov 2004 |
Any comment on Western digital sharespace 4TB?
Is NAS can configure as stand alone File server in a LAN environment? How about user authentication? About 70 users. How about RAID0 to RAID6? Just software configuration or all NAS can support it? |
Nov 26 2009, 01:48 PM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(qzplx @ Nov 17 2009, 12:01 AM) Hi, Get the synology or qnap. I just follow NAS Thread here and its nice... I've planned to buy NAS for home user. Basicaly I need NAS to connect to my iMac and PC both, and use for media streaming, and if possible the usb also can use as print server. Is there any recomendation which Nas Product is good both in performance and featured ? I saw this thread mostly use Synology, Qnap and Dlink. Right now I need 2TB disk and I just abit confused with WD MyBook World II and Dlink. Thanks. I m using synology for 2yrs. So far so good. A lot of function you can use. |
Nov 26 2009, 10:24 PM
137 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: SeriMaya Condo |
Nov 27 2009, 12:20 PM
3,988 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: KL |
Looking forward for Pc Fair promo for NAS.
Wanna get a simple one like D-Link DNS-313(but this is already obsolete model). |
Nov 28 2009, 10:20 AM
3,757 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: E A R T H |
QUOTE(qzplx @ Nov 17 2009, 12:01 AM) Hi, DLink DNS-313/323/343 is just an enclosure. The DNS323, price at RM469. Put a WD Green WD20EADS 2TB @ RM 710 = RM1,179.I just follow NAS Thread here and its nice... I've planned to buy NAS for home user. Basicaly I need NAS to connect to my iMac and PC both, and use for media streaming, and if possible the usb also can use as print server. Is there any recomendation which Nas Product is good both in performance and featured ? I saw this thread mostly use Synology, Qnap and Dlink. Right now I need 2TB disk and I just abit confused with WD MyBook World II and Dlink. Thanks. Put 2 x WD10EADS 1TB & raid-0 it to get the same capacity @ 2 x RM285 = RM570. Plus the enclosure you will be paying RM1,039. WD MyBook World II is fitted with the same WD20EADS 2TB harddisk and the retail price is RM1,290. My advise, if you do not know how to manage a custom build device it is better that you stick with the WD. Otherwise get a custom NAS which offers more functionality as below which WD might/might not be offering: 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet Port USB 2.0 Port for Print Server or UPS Monitoring Power IEEE 802.3 + IEEE 802.3ab EEE 802.3u + TCP/IP CIFS/SMB + DHCP Server/Client DDNS + NTP FTP + HTTP/HTTPS Jumbo Frame JBoD, RAID 0, RAID 1 E-mail alerts iTunes & FTP Server Built-in FTP server for file access from over the Internet UPnP Power management for conserving energy and extending hard drive life Real time backups with the included backup software Storage permissions for users and groups soft-modded UNIX operating system |
Nov 28 2009, 12:01 PM
2,027 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, MYS |
Nov 28 2009, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(yuhhaur @ Nov 28 2009, 11:20 AM) DLink DNS-313/323/343 is just an enclosure. The DNS323, price at RM469. Put a WD Green WD20EADS 2TB @ RM 710 = RM1,179. Wah, thanks for the very good exporsure... Actually I'm also kinda of techies... Custom build should be no problem on me since I need for the performance.Put 2 x WD10EADS 1TB & raid-0 it to get the same capacity @ 2 x RM285 = RM570. Plus the enclosure you will be paying RM1,039. WD MyBook World II is fitted with the same WD20EADS 2TB harddisk and the retail price is RM1,290. My advise, if you do not know how to manage a custom build device it is better that you stick with the WD. Otherwise get a custom NAS which offers more functionality as below which WD might/might not be offering: 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet Port USB 2.0 Port for Print Server or UPS Monitoring Power IEEE 802.3 + IEEE 802.3ab EEE 802.3u + TCP/IP CIFS/SMB + DHCP Server/Client DDNS + NTP FTP + HTTP/HTTPS Jumbo Frame JBoD, RAID 0, RAID 1 E-mail alerts iTunes & FTP Server Built-in FTP server for file access from over the Internet UPnP Power management for conserving energy and extending hard drive life Real time backups with the included backup software Storage permissions for users and groups soft-modded UNIX operating system Maybe anyone know, from hardware build which one is using more advance tech ? |
Nov 28 2009, 01:26 PM
QUOTE(outdoorxplorer @ Nov 28 2009, 12:01 PM) It not really that expensive. You can get the cheaper model with 1 HDD. That is not much effect on speed or whatever if you are home user and mostly only one user. Actually it save in long run. Don't just look at the initial price. For those who heavy BT and RS, this is the best NAS. Stable, no problem and good update firmware. For two yrs, I even can't finish explore the function. (lazy also Like you guys think, I did brought cheap china NAS to try. Yeah, it cheap but sucks like hell. |
Nov 28 2009, 01:47 PM
So.. If the question came to Synology or D-link, what should be more good ?
Nov 28 2009, 04:26 PM
Nov 28 2009, 04:40 PM
195 posts Joined: May 2009 |
so this nas thing..is it good for 24/7 dloding from RS and MU..most important is power usage compared to atom pc..
Nov 28 2009, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(ojay @ Nov 28 2009, 04:40 PM) so this nas thing..is it good for 24/7 dloding from RS and MU..most important is power usage compared to atom pc.. I running it without off for 2yrs. It consume only 23w compare your pc 300w. How much your atom pc consume? Yes, it come with dl RS and MU. But not for free DL. Password and user require. I m free DL. So never try this function before. BT, no problem. |
Nov 28 2009, 07:19 PM
i still dun have atom pc...but seriously considering it for downloading machine and also as media storage..and i thought NAS might be other alternative..
As for RS and MU..i'm also a free user..but i'm using some software to arrange all the downloads to be completely auto..dont mind the waiting too..so i need low power 24/7 downloading machine. also wondering if the OS compatible with windows application. This post has been edited by ojay: Nov 28 2009, 09:41 PM |
Nov 28 2009, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 28 2009, 05:47 PM) I running it without off for 2yrs. It consume only 23w compare your pc 300w. How much your atom pc consume? Hi Mr. Ozak, thanks for ur recommendations...Yes, it come with dl RS and MU. But not for free DL. Password and user require. I m free DL. So never try this function before. BT, no problem. I think I've planned to buy it on PC fair next month... Btw, I need 2 bay Disc for this, how much is the current price right now ? or is there any reseller or distributor to sell this product in Malaysia ? Which store has a good price for this ?? Thanks again |
Nov 28 2009, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(ojay @ Nov 28 2009, 07:19 PM) i still dun have atom pc...but seriously considering it for downloading machine and also as media storage..and i thought NAS might be other alternative.. In long run, it cost you alot to use atom pc to DL for 24/7.RS I use my laptop to dl 24/7 before. I will think NAS first before consider pc. As for RS and MU..i'm also a free user..but i'm using some software to arrange all the downloads to be completely auto..dont mind the waiting too..so i need low power 24/7 downloading machine. also wondering if the OS compatible with windows application. RS and MU free user cannot use this NAS. Cause it require user and password to DL. I m too using third party software to DL as free user. But on my laptop. It using linux if not mistaken. But totaly compactible. The best thing is I can access this NAS anywhere in the world to manage DL and take file. Even can host my website on it and host email acc. (I m noob on this Added on November 28, 2009, 10:56 pm QUOTE(qzplx @ Nov 28 2009, 08:19 PM) Hi Mr. Ozak, thanks for ur recommendations... I m not sure for the two bay price. But quite expensive if not mistaken. The price is pretty std. All can get it at LY. Pls ask denhock for further info. Search back few pages. I m just happy user only. I think I've planned to buy it on PC fair next month... Btw, I need 2 bay Disc for this, how much is the current price right now ? or is there any reseller or distributor to sell this product in Malaysia ? Which store has a good price for this ?? Thanks again For your info, you can get the price from the LY.net front page. This post has been edited by ozak: Nov 28 2009, 10:56 PM |
Nov 29 2009, 12:02 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Nov 28 2009, 11:48 PM) In long run, it cost you alot to use atom pc to DL for 24/7.RS I use my laptop to dl 24/7 before. I will think NAS first before consider pc. haha..seriously i'm a noob too when it comes to this server thing...i do want to have that kind of setup-awesomeness-..but pity since i can't automated my download on NAS as a free user..not really interested paying premium yet on RS/MU..i really don't mind waiting but i really mind the bills though...decision, decision.. RS and MU free user cannot use this NAS. Cause it require user and password to DL. I m too using third party software to DL as free user. But on my laptop. It using linux if not mistaken. But totaly compactible. The best thing is I can access this NAS anywhere in the world to manage DL and take file. Even can host my website on it and host email acc. (I m noob on this |
Nov 29 2009, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(ojay @ Nov 29 2009, 12:02 AM) haha..seriously i'm a noob too when it comes to this server thing...i do want to have that kind of setup-awesomeness-..but pity since i can't automated my download on NAS as a free user..not really interested paying premium yet on RS/MU..i really don't mind waiting but i really mind the bills though...decision, decision.. Better go for pc. Since RS/MU is your main. Well, for the bill, only long run will see the result. My main DL is still BT. NAS is suitable for me. I don't like to see my laptop running 24/7. |
Nov 29 2009, 12:21 AM
54 posts Joined: Jul 2009 From: Pearl of the Borneo |
Seems like a hot topic here. I'm interested with this thingy. Anyone can explain to me pls? Coz my connection is super slow.. I dunno why. It's 1Mb but my downloads max can go till 30+kb only.. So this thingy sounds interesting to boost my download speed.
Appreciate you guys effort if willing to explain to me. I'm a noob in computer thingy. Thanks in advanced~ |
Nov 29 2009, 12:53 AM
QUOTE(babylis @ Nov 29 2009, 12:21 AM) Seems like a hot topic here. I'm interested with this thingy. Anyone can explain to me pls? Coz my connection is super slow.. I dunno why. It's 1Mb but my downloads max can go till 30+kb only.. So this thingy sounds interesting to boost my download speed. Forget it my friend. save your money and upgrade the bandwidth.Appreciate you guys effort if willing to explain to me. I'm a noob in computer thingy. Thanks in advanced~ This NAS won't boost your speed. It only help you to BT, RS easlly 24/7. And many others function if you interest. I did try this NAS on TMnut. The speed suck. Not the NAS problem. It is TMNUT. Now running on maxis BB. Full speed running wihout throttle. |
| Change to: | 0.0324sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:25 AM |