QUOTE(wwkkww @ Mar 17 2011, 05:51 PM)
thats a good bargain.. mana beli ?NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one
NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one
Mar 17 2011, 07:41 PM
2,516 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Uarla Umpur |
Mar 17 2011, 07:47 PM
61 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
HP lowyat plaza. Installing MS server 2k8 R2 now
Mar 27 2011, 01:26 PM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(abubin @ Feb 22 2011, 02:38 PM) what if the hdd did not spoil but your server spoil? With raid5 you cannot just plug the hdd into any system and get it running again. With raid1, just plug in the hdd into any external casing and can access data instantly. My risk calculation is, HDD are more easlly spoil and short live than a NAS. As long as I can get back another same NAS in the market and get back it run, that is minimum risk. I don't trust 100% backup on 1 NAS. I backup the important file at least in 2 NAS and 1 ext HDD which all in place in different location. So there is no problem for me with raid5.But with raid1, I cannot have more disk space. The max I can get is 4TB with 4hdd raid1 in a NAS. So to max out the HDD space (for bang of money too) with manage risk, I choose raid5. |
Mar 27 2011, 09:54 PM
292 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Just got myself a microserver, going to install server 2008r2 so how to setup the server so that my xbox360 can stream video or photo from it.
Added on March 28, 2011, 3:20 amDuring server 2008r2 installation, it can't detect any of my hard drive. Can some1 help? This post has been edited by lester: Mar 28 2011, 03:20 AM |
Mar 29 2011, 09:09 PM
33 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
hi all nas sifu here, i am current looking for 1tb nas with budget rm 400. can anyone suggest which one nas is good??
Apr 4 2011, 03:18 PM
1,577 posts Joined: May 2005 From: USJ |
topic dead di? hmm..
Ordered a hp microserver.. RM 8xx.. should arrive in a couple days.. Gonna try out FreeNAS, WHS2011 and Windows server 2008... see which one's better as a home media server. Added on April 4, 2011, 3:59 pmbtw, anyone wants to order the hp microserver? Getting it at RM 905... comes with optical mouse, keyboard and DVD-RW summore. This post has been edited by raist86: Apr 4 2011, 03:59 PM |
Apr 16 2011, 12:45 AM
450 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
if just buy the unit itself , i got pletty of mouse and keyboard lay on my cabinet... anyone know where can i buy this from ?
Apr 20 2011, 09:36 PM
The kb mouse and drive are included in package by HP. Can't remove them to reduce price.
Anyway, got my unit today with 4 2tb samsung hdd... set up with freeNAS running RAID 5. Funny thing is... file transfer from my pc to the NAS maxes out at around 60MB/s... is that normal? File transfer between one folder and another in the NAS maxes out at 17MB/s.. am i doing something wrong here? Using SMB protocol. Wanna try out iSCSI later to see if anything changes.. Btw, in the RAID 5 management section it still says my HomeServer Raid 5 array is under REBUILDING status... a peek in the information section shows that all 4 disks are around 32% synchronized and rising.. anyone willing to explain what this is? Will the speed improve once it's 100% synchronized? Added on April 21, 2011, 11:11 amTransfer speed now drops to 13MB/s for file transfer from pc to NAS... getting worse.. This post has been edited by raist86: Apr 21 2011, 11:11 AM |
Apr 21 2011, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(raist86 @ Apr 20 2011, 09:36 PM) The kb mouse and drive are included in package by HP. Can't remove them to reduce price. when u build a raid 5 array.. it needs time to "build"... the array aka virtual drive that combines all the disk to be presented as a "disk"...Anyway, got my unit today with 4 2tb samsung hdd... set up with freeNAS running RAID 5. Funny thing is... file transfer from my pc to the NAS maxes out at around 60MB/s... is that normal? File transfer between one folder and another in the NAS maxes out at 17MB/s.. am i doing something wrong here? Using SMB protocol. Wanna try out iSCSI later to see if anything changes.. Btw, in the RAID 5 management section it still says my HomeServer Raid 5 array is under REBUILDING status... a peek in the information section shows that all 4 disks are around 32% synchronized and rising.. anyone willing to explain what this is? Will the speed improve once it's 100% synchronized? Added on April 21, 2011, 11:11 amTransfer speed now drops to 13MB/s for file transfer from pc to NAS... getting worse.. until that finishes.. you will get crap performance... |
Apr 21 2011, 09:45 PM
Well... it's completed.. but performance range from 13 ~ 48 MB/s.. need a SSD to rule out bottlenecks...
I get 13+ MB/s when transferring large files like 4 ~ 8 GB ISOs.. |
Apr 22 2011, 12:04 AM
Apr 22 2011, 10:31 AM
1,865 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: XBOX Live |
QUOTE(raist86 @ Apr 20 2011, 09:36 PM) The kb mouse and drive are included in package by HP. Can't remove them to reduce price. SoftRaid on FreeNAS is very taxing on the CPU.. how much RAM have u installed on the NAS ? try using ZFS and configure a stripe + raidz0 configuration..Anyway, got my unit today with 4 2tb samsung hdd... set up with freeNAS running RAID 5. Funny thing is... file transfer from my pc to the NAS maxes out at around 60MB/s... is that normal? File transfer between one folder and another in the NAS maxes out at 17MB/s.. am i doing something wrong here? Using SMB protocol. Wanna try out iSCSI later to see if anything changes.. Btw, in the RAID 5 management section it still says my HomeServer Raid 5 array is under REBUILDING status... a peek in the information section shows that all 4 disks are around 32% synchronized and rising.. anyone willing to explain what this is? Will the speed improve once it's 100% synchronized? Added on April 21, 2011, 11:11 amTransfer speed now drops to 13MB/s for file transfer from pc to NAS... getting worse.. |
Apr 22 2011, 11:24 AM
CPU utilization is around 30~40% during file transfer. I have 5gb of ram installed on the box.
@.@ if i have to reconfigure the raid... i need to transfer all the data back and wipe the drive... prefer not to do that.. |
Apr 22 2011, 12:16 PM
11,058 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(calvin @ Apr 22 2011, 10:31 AM) How much better would that be?QUOTE(raist86 @ Apr 20 2011, 09:36 PM) I'm very surprised to see you doing RAID5 on this micro server since it isn't supported with the supplied controller.HP does sells a RAID card - 410A Raid controller with 512 MB memory and battery backed cache but the price! http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/servers...p410/index.html This post has been edited by DarkNite: Apr 22 2011, 12:51 PM |
Apr 22 2011, 12:47 PM
doing softraid with freeNAS.. everyone working fine... just wanna know what's the typical transfer speed for 4x2tb raid 5 drive..
Don't have a baseline to benchmark with so i don't know if my speed is typical or slow.. This post has been edited by raist86: Apr 22 2011, 12:47 PM |
Apr 22 2011, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(raist86 @ Apr 22 2011, 12:47 PM) doing softraid with freeNAS.. everyone working fine... just wanna know what's the typical transfer speed for 4x2tb raid 5 drive.. well raid5 actually depends on how fast ur cpu can calculate the xor required.. Don't have a baseline to benchmark with so i don't know if my speed is typical or slow.. maybe you can google for some benchmark results.. ? |
Apr 22 2011, 07:37 PM
779 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang Island |
QUOTE(raist86 @ Apr 4 2011, 03:18 PM) topic dead di? hmm.. where to buy?Ordered a hp microserver.. RM 8xx.. should arrive in a couple days.. Gonna try out FreeNAS, WHS2011 and Windows server 2008... see which one's better as a home media server. Added on April 4, 2011, 3:59 pmbtw, anyone wants to order the hp microserver? Getting it at RM 905... comes with optical mouse, keyboard and DVD-RW summore. |
Apr 22 2011, 10:41 PM
My configuration goes like this :-
6x 1TB WD Black configured in 3 disk pairs to form a ZFS RAID 50 .. to benchmark the I/O performance I ran the command below which writes a 10GB test file onto the array .. CODE m2-san:/mnt/ZFS-RAIDZ-0# [B]dd if=/dev/zero of=testfile bs=1024k count=10000[/B] 10000+0 records in 10000+0 records out 10485760000 bytes transferred in 53.665486 secs (195391131 bytes/sec) the transfer speed of 195391131 bytes/sec translates into 186MB/s or 1.4Gbits/s |
Apr 23 2011, 12:26 AM
speed is also related to the host drive to NAS drive rite?
ie, my desktop using 1 single 1TB F3 drive.. The transfer to NAS is also limited to the amount of data it can read from the 1TB drive.. My normal partition to partition transfer for the 1TB F3 is around 50MB/s.. so i guess the limitation is at my desktop harddisk side. |
Apr 23 2011, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(raist86 @ Apr 23 2011, 12:26 AM) speed is also related to the host drive to NAS drive rite? u should try a disk to disk transfer test instead of a partition to partition as that is taxing on the same HDD.. the F3's should achieve more than 50MB/s as I also use them on my desktopie, my desktop using 1 single 1TB F3 drive.. The transfer to NAS is also limited to the amount of data it can read from the 1TB drive.. My normal partition to partition transfer for the 1TB F3 is around 50MB/s.. so i guess the limitation is at my desktop harddisk side. |
| Change to: | 0.0343sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:59 PM |