85 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Bottom

NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one

rioven
post Feb 8 2013, 12:00 AM

975 posts

Speak about gigabit switch..go to sri computer..n try to buy aztech ns815 gigabit switch (5 port)..will cost around RM25..not sure if still available..just bought few weeks ago.
ozak
post Feb 8 2013, 08:54 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(rioven @ Feb 8 2013, 12:00 AM)
Speak about gigabit switch..go to sri computer..n try to buy aztech ns815 gigabit switch (5 port)..will cost around RM25..not sure if still available..just bought few weeks ago.
Any good about this cheap aztech switch?

I don't have much faith on aztech stuff. I use their modem router and don't last long. Only belkin give me value for money.
rioven
post Feb 10 2013, 02:23 AM

975 posts

for me..im just a basic/light user..so probably its okay. i used to be owned aztech last time..most of it only survive about 1++ year only sweat.gif
locolyric
post Feb 10 2013, 04:49 PM

185 posts

anyone using Buffalo Terastation 5000 series?
sepah98
post Feb 11 2013, 03:52 AM

"don't let pinoy mid"-Albert Einstein
581 posts

can anybody tell me how to make a NAS using old rig.. it needs internet connection?? can give a link or tell me how to make it..
aneip
post Feb 11 2013, 06:50 AM

2,466 posts

QUOTE(sepah98 @ Feb 11 2013, 03:52 AM)
can anybody tell me how to make a NAS using old rig.. it needs internet connection?? can give a link or tell me how to make it..
Search freenas or openfiler. No Internet just a network.
CocoMonGo
post Feb 11 2013, 09:40 AM

Ooo Finally
551 posts

QUOTE(sepah98 @ Feb 11 2013, 03:52 AM)
google is your best friend. BTW, just to clarify you do not need internet connection but you need network to make a NAS work. brows.gif

As a side note, Lifehacker.com made a survey on the most recommended NAS solution back in Dec 2012. Results are:

DIY NAS - 56%
Off the shelf NAS (Syno/Qnap) - 44% (Simplified results)

Hit the link for more info. http://lifehacker.com/5969341/most-popular...ure-the-diy-nas

Lurker
post Feb 14 2013, 01:53 AM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

data on a non raid NAS unit can be read by other pc just by unplugging the unit out of the NAS and plug into any PC to transfer data right?
or is it all proprietary formats?
eric_tan
post Feb 15 2013, 03:08 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Feb 14 2013, 01:53 AM)
data on a non raid NAS unit can be read by other pc just by unplugging the unit out of the NAS and plug into any PC to transfer data right?
or is it all proprietary formats?
Normally it is some sort of Linux Format, which may include some EXT2, EXT3, EXT4, XFS or some other Linux type...

You'll probably need a Linux computer to read the file system... unless you can specify FAT or NTFS which is readable by Windows....

perfect10
post Feb 17 2013, 01:55 AM

416 posts

planning to get a synology 2 bay ones....but wondering can it work with just one hdd at the moment?? then later down the road buy another hdd to fill up the caddy?

example, now is fitted with 2TB x 1 hdd and then down the road maybe buy another 3TB x 1 hdd,, so will the synology works with 2TB + 3TB in the hdd drive? running raid 0??
krayden
post Feb 17 2013, 02:04 AM

578 posts

QUOTE(perfect10 @ Feb 17 2013, 01:55 AM)
planning to get a synology 2 bay ones....but wondering can it work with just one hdd at the moment?? then later down the road buy another hdd to fill up the caddy?
example,  now is fitted with 2TB x 1 hdd and then down the road maybe buy another 3TB x 1 hdd,, so will the synology works with  2TB + 3TB in the hdd drive? running raid 0??
Should be able to, 1 drive at a time.
2TB+3TB on raid 0 will only give you 2TB. Better go buy another 2TB.
eric_tan
post Feb 17 2013, 02:52 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(perfect10 @ Feb 17 2013, 01:55 AM)
example,  now is fitted with 2TB x 1 hdd and then down the road maybe buy another 3TB x 1 hdd,, so will the synology works with  2TB + 3TB in the hdd drive? running raid 0??
If you plan to run RAID 0 (stripe), you would need to have a minimum of 2 disks to begin with. Both would have to be the same size. If one is bigger than the other, it would just use the size of the smaller one.
(3+2 => 2+2 = 4GB effective space)

If you plan to put 1 disk in now, and 1 later, it would just be acting as 2 seperate disk in your Synology....

All RAID 0/1 have to have minimum 2 disks, and have to be formatted losing all the data when you setup as RAID 0/1

porkchop
post Feb 18 2013, 01:35 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

is it recommended to setup as Raid or just 2 seperate disk better? i dont plan to use it as backup, planning to use as full 2Tb + 2TB = 4TB of storage space...wat is recommended?
eric_tan
post Feb 18 2013, 08:37 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Feb 18 2013, 01:35 PM)
is it recommended to setup as Raid or just 2 seperate disk better? i dont plan to use it as backup, planning to use as full 2Tb + 2TB = 4TB of storage space...wat is recommended?
If speed important, then RAID 0 (suppose to be faster). But if ever, 1 of the 2 disk fail, you will LOSE data on both the disks...

For me, I would rather just set it up as 2 separate disks... just easier.... if 1 disk fail, then that disk fail.... and if plan to upgrade also easier, you can swap out and replace just one of the disk without losing any data (unlike RAID 0)

numbertwo
post Feb 18 2013, 08:40 PM

1,784 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Feb 18 2013, 01:35 PM)
For critical data, or files that keep your memories, I would go for RAID... If it is non-critical (ie. movies, songs, which u can download again) I would just ignore RAID and get the maximum storage out of that HDD...
perfect10
post Feb 18 2013, 11:28 PM

416 posts

just got a synology, is there anyway for windows or mac pc to access the synology folders via windows exporer?? seems like the way to access it is via internet exporer and play from there
ozak
post Feb 19 2013, 12:58 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(perfect10 @ Feb 18 2013, 11:28 PM)
just got a synology, is there anyway for windows or mac pc to access the synology folders via windows exporer?? seems like the way to access it is via internet exporer and play from there
Use the Synology assistance to map the network.
toytoybuysell
post Feb 21 2013, 08:22 PM

128 posts

got some Q&A here hoping some sifu can help
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2708846
jimmy_none
post Feb 25 2013, 05:21 PM

646 posts

may i know those review e.g. Synology DS212j said "DS212j consumes only 19.4W" means 19.4W in hour?
+Newbie+
post Mar 4 2013, 12:29 AM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone here using a Buffalo cloudstation cs-x 2tb?

I just bought one. It was working fine and I spent the whole day backing up my data. Then all of a sudden, the blue light started blinking and the drive has been offline ever since.

Anyone have any ideas how to troubleshoot this? It has no screens or buttons and I cannot access the drive over the network via apps and directly through windows either.

85 Pages « < 74 75 76 77 78 > » Top

0.0338sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:39 PM