thanks numbertwo
NETWORK ATTACHED STORAGE (NAS), old thread closed. please open a new one
Aug 2 2012, 12:14 PM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
thanks numbertwo
Aug 2 2012, 04:46 PM
24 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
hi im also looking for this NAS, any recommended 1tb nas?
Aug 2 2012, 09:40 PM
1,787 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: PJ lamansara... :D |
HDD compatibility on N40L , pretty helpful!
Aug 5 2012, 11:53 PM
17 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Hello, can somebody help me how to setup for sms notification on synology 212j?
Aug 15 2012, 12:12 AM
203 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: KL,PJ |
My 6yrs old seagate just die on me. need to get more backups.
Aug 17 2012, 03:38 PM
551 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
Guys for those with HP N40Ls... what temperatures readings are you all getting from your server? I am just curious if my filter I put on the door is too thick.
I am currently reading 42C (normally) to 52C (CPU intensive like scanning, etc) on the CPU. |
Aug 17 2012, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Aug 17 2012, 03:38 PM) Guys for those with HP N40Ls... what temperatures readings are you all getting from your server? I am just curious if my filter I put on the door is too thick. Mine ranging from 38'c to 40'c. I am currently reading 42C (normally) to 52C (CPU intensive like scanning, etc) on the CPU. 40'c is the one sitting in the Optical Bay... whereas the two 2TB Greens are getting 38'.. I put a filter too on the door, but mine isn't running anything intensive except a few background programs that are running 24x7 , average CPU% below 15%... |
Aug 18 2012, 02:51 PM
551 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Aug 17 2012, 03:45 PM) Mine ranging from 38'c to 40'c. What about your CPU temperature? 40'c is the one sitting in the Optical Bay... whereas the two 2TB Greens are getting 38'.. I put a filter too on the door, but mine isn't running anything intensive except a few background programs that are running 24x7 , average CPU% below 15%... My 3.5" HDD are running about 30-35C on idle but on long read/writes at 45+C. The 2.5" on the ODD is running a few degrees lower then the 3.5" |
Aug 18 2012, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Aug 18 2012, 02:51 PM) What about your CPU temperature? CPU is about 48'-50' while streaming HD movies plus couple of background programmes running as mentioned earlier...My 3.5" HDD are running about 30-35C on idle but on long read/writes at 45+C. The 2.5" on the ODD is running a few degrees lower then the 3.5" |
Aug 19 2012, 07:00 PM
6,139 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
syno *13 series is coming
x13 Series Model Architecture Processor RAM Notes DS213air 88f628x Marvell Kirkwood mv6282 1.6Ghz ARM processor DDR3 256MB DS213 88f628x Marvell Kirkwood mv6282 2.0Ghz ARM processor DDR3 512MB DS213+ QorIQ Freescale 1.067GHz Duo Core processor DDR3 512MB DS413j 88f628x Marvell Kirkwood mv6282 1.6Ghz ARM processor DDR3 512MB DS413 QorIQ Freescale 1.067GHz Duo Core processor DDR3 1GB RS10613xs+ Intel Xeon E3-1220v2 3.1GHz x86 processor DDR3 4GB (extensible to 8GB) Scalable to 106 drives with up to 8 RX1213sas (10+8x12 drives total) |
Aug 22 2012, 10:35 AM
1,157 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
Any1 using DS411?
worth getting? I was considering getting DS411 + 2*2tb WD red. This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 22 2012, 10:36 AM |
Aug 22 2012, 12:30 PM
64 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(yinchet @ Aug 22 2012, 10:35 AM) are you purchasing it from as a pre-owned product? if so, how much is the seller asking for?otherwise, if it's around the same price as DS412+, don't bother. also, why are you looking at already dated technology, go for the latest model. runs cooler, faster, USB 3.0 ports, dual gigabit LANs, replaceable fans and hot-swappable drives. if you're buying from a dealer selling the DS411 or DS411+, they're prolly getting rid of old stock. |
Aug 22 2012, 07:53 PM
Validating
6 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
Aug 22 2012, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(SweeJ @ Aug 22 2012, 12:30 PM) are you purchasing it from as a pre-owned product? if so, how much is the seller asking for? err are you sure ds412+ and 411 at the same price.otherwise, if it's around the same price as DS412+, don't bother. also, why are you looking at already dated technology, go for the latest model. runs cooler, faster, USB 3.0 ports, dual gigabit LANs, replaceable fans and hot-swappable drives. if you're buying from a dealer selling the DS411 or DS411+, they're prolly getting rid of old stock. c-zone were selling ds412+ @ RM2499 and 411 @ RM1999. perhaps you might give me some price quote from elsewhere, preferable shops in pj/LYP QUOTE(Solid88 @ Aug 22 2012, 07:53 PM) It dun view wd green as durable. i have seen many have trouble wit it.for WD red it specifically design for NAS. it might be better choice for NAS build. unless you have differ opinion. Yes I would add more HDD in future. |
Aug 22 2012, 09:39 PM
Validating
6 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
QUOTE(yinchet @ Aug 22 2012, 08:05 PM) It dun view wd green as durable. i have seen many have trouble wit it. I m using Samsung f3 on my ds409+. Temperature around 38-40c. Choose the lower rpm so it run cooler and last longer.for WD red it specifically design for NAS. it might be better choice for NAS build. unless you have differ opinion. Yes I would add more HDD in future. At that time wd black is for nas. While green is not reliable. but the wd black price double. But both running hot at 7200rpm. So Samsung is the best choice for price/performance ratio. |
Aug 22 2012, 09:44 PM
There are few factors that determine the temp of the HDD, we can't judge it based on one's reading.. e.g has been a rainy day here since noon, my HDD cools down to below 38'c on the usual usage.. And while I have 2 media players fetching 1080p movies it goes up a bit again... And reliability sometimes is pure luck, that's what I can draw after many years of using those HDDs.
Aug 22 2012, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(Solid88 @ Aug 22 2012, 09:39 PM) I m using Samsung f3 on my ds409+. Temperature around 38-40c. Choose the lower rpm so it run cooler and last longer. errm there is new product now.At that time wd black is for nas. While green is not reliable. but the wd black price double. But both running hot at 7200rpm. So Samsung is the best choice for price/performance ratio. WD red. for NAS. 2tb RM375 http://www.anandtech.com/show/6157/western...rth-the-premium This post has been edited by yinchet: Aug 22 2012, 09:53 PM |
Aug 22 2012, 10:10 PM
17,018 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(numbertwo @ Aug 22 2012, 09:44 PM) There are few factors that determine the temp of the HDD, we can't judge it based on one's reading.. e.g has been a rainy day here since noon, my HDD cools down to below 38'c on the usual usage.. And while I have 2 media players fetching 1080p movies it goes up a bit again... And reliability sometimes is pure luck, that's what I can draw after many years of using those HDDs. The temp I state is the average temp. Not raining day as most of the day is hot. Most of the time, the hdd is in idling stage for nas. It is not 1 reading. The nas have 4 hdd temp reading. The hdd nearer to the CPU is higher a bit. The data in my nas is important. Depend on luck is risky and cannot guarantee safety of my data in nas. I need some percentage sure. Don't forget every year, 2-3x open up and clean the dust. That can prolong the life of the hdd and the nas. Added on August 22, 2012, 10:15 pm QUOTE(yinchet @ Aug 22 2012, 09:47 PM) errm there is new product now. It cost rm340 for the f3 2tb at that time. Brought 5pcs. But 1pcs did developed some problem and I swap it out. but the problem 1 run good in my media player. WD red. for NAS. 2tb RM375 http://www.anandtech.com/show/6157/western...rth-the-premium This post has been edited by ozak: Aug 22 2012, 10:15 PM |
Aug 23 2012, 10:02 AM
64 posts Joined: Jul 2010 |
QUOTE(yinchet @ Aug 22 2012, 08:05 PM) err are you sure ds412+ and 411 at the same price. i did not at all say in my post that the DS412+ and DS411 were being sold at the same price. i merely advised the poster to get the DS412+ IF they were both sold at the same price, as a precaution to warn him for paying a premium for rid stock and older tech. c-zone were selling ds412+ @ RM2499 and 411 @ RM1999. perhaps you might give me some price quote from elsewhere, preferable shops in pj/LYP It dun view wd green as durable. i have seen many have trouble wit it. for WD red it specifically design for NAS. it might be better choice for NAS build. unless you have differ opinion. Yes I would add more HDD in future. i am well aware that c-zone and other mainstream B&M stores were selling the DS411 at a reduced price as the newer DS412+ is already being sold. |
Aug 23 2012, 03:35 PM
14,039 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
anyone here running FreeNAS or any ZFS based file servers? any tips on building affordable around 1000myr for 4 to 6 disks setup? thanks.
| Change to: | 0.0291sec
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:56 AM |