Household [Home Appliances] Washing Machine

SUSsupersound
post Aug 13 2014, 11:49 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(Cumin me @ Aug 13 2014, 11:35 AM)
Gosh....wash 4-6 times daily!!?? Either u r running a laundry business or have a fleet of armies in your household lol:-P. Domestic WM are designed to handle normal usage n not trash it like a heavy duty machine in a launderette hahaha.
We got 4 person in the villa, so we have to wash 4 times.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 13 2014, 01:00 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Aug 13 2014, 12:39 PM)
Wash 4 times daily really can't kill those machine motor or mounting or PCB control.

For normal household 1 day per one.
But then we have successfully done it on a kimchi brand.
SUSsupersound
post Aug 13 2014, 01:44 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Aug 13 2014, 01:26 PM)
Not really good idea, for over used..
But if rental apartment from onwer supply maybe is not an a issue, if for own one for 1 day per one can be more last longer..

I don't think panasonic can be do that
A WM bought is to use, now I understand why your WM does not vibrates after 2 years, because it is just for cosmetic purpose and to boast how "superior" it is compare to other Japanese brands.
Wash 4-6 times a day is not considered over used. My house when during new year time can wash up to 8 times and it still last me for 8 years.

QUOTE(Cumin me @ Aug 13 2014, 01:37 PM)
These 4 person are non-family members I assume?....otherwise can sort out n combine washing to save water n electricity....from d sound of it you guys are not very Eco-friendly huh, sorry just my opinion:)
A WM won't safe water at any 1 time, if you are talking of saving water, hand wash is the best for you. Want eco friendly? Don't use air cond as it generates CO, CO2 and other acid rain causing agents. Use detergent will polute the water
SUSsupersound
post Aug 24 2014, 08:49 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(brandonkl @ Aug 24 2014, 03:39 AM)
I am also planning to buy the WD-CD1006SM next week.

Question : There are times that my company may send me out of the country for up to 9 to 12 months in a year. What if a washer/dryer combo machine is unused for 9 to 12 mths? Would it spoil?
Then just a cheap top load and case close.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 16 2014, 03:13 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 16 2014, 09:18 AM)
My 7 years LG WF-T700 just died. Don't want to spout water anymore. Previously , always had imbalance problem. So,  I think its time to change a new one.

So now change to front loader, LG WD-PD8010WM. So far so good, now on its 3 bacth of washing.

My concern is, how do we know that we put the WM in correct horizontal. I put the new WM in the same exact place with the old one. I need to adjust one of its leg to make all four leg touch firmly on the floor. Is this correct?
You no need to worry on the placement of your WM, no matter how you do, after few years the door alignment will go also.
The door are quite heavy(for the door holder), unless you want to keep it closed after washing, then it may last longer.
And it is also depending how you use the WM, like in my place, we are using it daily and wash 3-4 times.
The WM starts to give high vibration and the door can't align properly sometimes. Still, it is not our property, spoil ask company to change.
I still prefer top loader because of this.
SUSsupersound
post Sep 16 2014, 03:14 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Sep 16 2014, 10:11 AM)
Yup, done all this.

Somehow, I wonder if there's a need to use spirit level tool to properly correct the horizontal level. Wish the WM has its own detector on its level.
Better use those water ruler to measure.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 1 2014, 07:03 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(red_devilz85 @ Sep 30 2014, 11:06 PM)
Anyone using samsung front load 7kg or 8kg? Any comment?
6.5KG can or not? If yes, then I can say don't take kimchi brands. We trash it for 2 years and now giving high vibration and it stuck once, just stopped at 35 minutes for no reason. Have to restart few times only can.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 1 2014, 07:32 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DeanWong118 @ Oct 1 2014, 07:30 PM)
Wat brand is reliable? I'm thinking of getting one.
Any brand from the country that whacked Pearl Harbor will do rclxms.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 1 2014, 07:46 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DeanWong118 @ Oct 1 2014, 07:40 PM)
Okay arigato gosaimas
I'm using Hitachi top loader now, working for 8 years.
Now it don't really able to spin heavy load due to alignment problem.
So I need to set such that it will wash and rinse but don't spin, some manual work needs to be done for this case.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 1 2014, 09:18 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DeanWong118 @ Oct 1 2014, 08:01 PM)
wat bout the side one?
Front loader?
Never bother to consider it, expensive and cannot be trash sweat.gif
We just trashed a 2 year old kimchi front loader. Nothing much we did, just everyday use 4 times.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 1 2014, 09:39 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(DeanWong118 @ Oct 1 2014, 09:26 PM)
Emm tot want to save some $$
Safe money? Let's see, a 12KG top loader with rm1200-1500 can get while front loader easily rm1500 and above.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 11:51 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Oct 2 2014, 10:03 AM)
That's not the entirety...
a. Machine cost
b. Water bill over 5 years (use machine rate annual consumption average over total 12 months bill )
c. Electricity over 5 years (use annual water consumption over total 12 months bill )
d. Spare parts replaced over 5 years
e. Labour for service call over 5 years

This is total cost of ownership over 5 years. Then 10 years if it lasts that long.
Yup, you are right on this. Comparing my Hitachi 10KG top loader that worked for 8 years with repair cost need rm300(bought rm1000), each month using 30 units(30*0.218 = rm6.54 of electric) and water about 5m3, that's rm2.50 of water bill.
rm1300+rm627.84+rm240=rm2167.84 for 8 years.
A 10KG front loader 8 years back need about rm3000-4000, not yet calculate utilities bill cost.
The math tells me that a top loader total cost are cheaper thumbup.gif
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 11:58 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 2 2014, 11:55 AM)
so the best is top loader + japanese brand? hmm.gif
For me and my family, yes.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 01:15 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Oct 2 2014, 01:00 PM)
front loader 12kg around 2-3k.... dont think able to get around 1500
I only look for basic type and those small electric shops.
If you are looking WM that having fancy functions, then sure it cost rm2000-3000.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 01:28 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Oct 2 2014, 01:27 PM)
btw , sharp top load 7.3kg for RM599 only ... at lazada and senheng online store ... icon_idea.gif
7.3kg are odd size, can't suit family usage.
For family usage, 10kg is a good start.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 2 2014, 01:33 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(steventan85 @ Oct 2 2014, 01:30 PM)
10kg around 1200-1400 ?

still not sure which model to get for my new condo ...LOL laugh.gif
Simple, want it to last long, the most simple type(but make sure you can select water volume).
More fancier the WM, more expensive to repair, and usually the circuit board will fail faster.
Best is survey from the chain stores then buy in those small shops as you can bargain. Setback is cash terms and can't do installments(have to charge 5% extra).
SUSsupersound
post Oct 5 2014, 06:31 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(OneMoreDay @ Oct 5 2014, 05:36 PM)
I don't know about Electrolux specifically. But front loaders are gentler on clothes and use less water.

"While a top-loading machine requires enough water to cover all the clothes in its drum, a front-loading washer needs only a third of that amount because its drum is set horizontally in the machine. As the drum turns, it uses gravity to drop the clothes back into the water. And while a top-loading machine will empty the soapy water and refill for a rinse agitation cycle, a front-loading machine just sprays clean water on the load as the drum continues to turn, saving gallons. Since there's no agitator in a front-loading machine, there's a lot more room for dirty clothes - and larger loads means fewer loads. " Read more: here.

I'm cleaning my ancient top loader right now.  smile.gif
This is quite a general view and quite bias.
Just spend some time to check both of the top loader and front loader for the specs. To get 1l less of water usage, you need to pay extra rm1000.
So getting a front loader to "safe" water won't stand. Not to mention when the rubber seal fails, you get flash flood nearby.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 5 2014, 09:34 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(OneMoreDay @ Oct 5 2014, 09:29 PM)
Saving on water isn't necessarily about saving water costs. If you think the RM1000 extra isn't worth the resource efficiency, then it's up to you not to spend that extra bit of cash.

As for the rubber seal breaking, that'll be a bridge that I'll cross if and when I do get a front loader.
1l won't really matters, as savings from other places are more obvious.
Using any type of WM won't safe water in the first place, hand wash yes.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 5 2014, 09:47 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(OneMoreDay @ Oct 5 2014, 09:41 PM)
I would call hand washing energy inefficient but resource efficient. Because it's physically taxing even though it saves you water. There's no time and energy to hand wash these days anyway. One step up from handwashing in terms of water efficiency is the front loader. But, having said that, there are more and more top loaders with "eco" functions for water savings so I might check those out.
Nope, front loader never and forever will not be 1 step above hand washing.
And front loader waste more energy also, as for 10 year run you need to send it for service. Considering the manual work required. Squad down also very bad for health.
SUSsupersound
post Oct 5 2014, 09:53 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(OneMoreDay @ Oct 5 2014, 09:50 PM)
Agree to disagree. There are of raising front loaders. Front loaders are clearly not your thing. Again, it's a personal choice.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Using 1 right now and it has more problem than my old top loader.

23 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0249sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 04:00 PM