Food Fine Dining Recommendations, Romantic, Birthday & special occassions

deodorant
post Nov 11 2010, 04:18 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

Anyway i celebrated my sister birthday at Laundry Curve

in what universe does Laundry even come close to the definition of 'fine dining??'
deodorant
post Nov 20 2010, 01:14 AM

5,691 posts

^
would your gf dance or not if there's nobody else dancing?

the only place i've been to which has a dance floor is Qba in westin. But even then it's latin music (which is OK for me cos I do salsa). All other places it's strict dinner only ...

... mmm ... Villa Danieli in Sheraton KL also has a live band, but if memory serves correctly it isn't really danceable music either.
deodorant
post Nov 27 2010, 02:02 PM

5,691 posts

speaking of starwood privilege card, the discount apparently not valid in Mauritius - went to both Le Meridien and Sheraton four points and both places they gave me strange looks like they'd never seen the card before sad.gif
deodorant
post Nov 29 2010, 02:30 PM

5,691 posts

Oh, there's a list of participating hotels? Didn't know that, thought it was ALL starwood hotels, haha.
deodorant
post Dec 2 2010, 09:02 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(zaurus @ Dec 2 2010, 05:32 PM)
lately the service levels is deteriorating ... except that of Villa Danieli

too bad villa danieli food is crap, lol.

prego i've found that the starter bread is damn inconsistent, gotten cold bread few times already, but no complaints on the rest of the food which is actually damn cheap after starwood privilege.
deodorant
post Dec 15 2010, 06:02 PM

5,691 posts

@azr can't expect fine dining for two people for under rm100 lah bro.
@gashgan dude read the rest of the thread, there's already tons of recommendations
@prometric i've never been to lafite, but from what i've read it seems like even normal days will cost you rm600/couple. what more christmas eve dinner.
@ckuang euro deli is nowhere near fine dining. it's more like 'bistro' kind of shop. the damansara kim one even has a huge fridge with meats in the restaurant (like supermarket), lol. blogpost here if you interested.
deodorant
post Dec 22 2010, 02:23 PM

5,691 posts

eh, how come no dates on the flyer. only valid for today?
deodorant
post Dec 25 2010, 11:42 PM

5,691 posts

Guys,

Asking here instead of opening a new thread. Mum's b'day is on Monday. She wants to eat lobster, and I have no idea where to bring her cos I'm more of a read meat guy. Any ideas where to go that is decently good and won't break the bank (it's gonna be my entire family, 5 adults 2 kids, and I want to keep the cost down to rm500 or so).
deodorant
post Jan 11 2011, 04:15 PM

5,691 posts

valentine's will be expensive lor, cos all the restaurants will mark up their prices kau kau for speciall valentine's day set sad.gif

and then you say, you can't travel far. but you don't tell us where you live. so how to recommend somewhere nearby? hehe.
deodorant
post Jan 12 2011, 01:08 PM

5,691 posts

depends on your budget lor. i guess cafe cafe kl, jalan maharajalela (near bukit bintang area). nice and romantic, and food also quite good. if not on valentine's day, ~rm300 for 2 ppl without wine.
deodorant
post Jan 21 2011, 06:46 PM

5,691 posts

cave closed down a while ago. food sucked anyway.

anyway where are you guys going for valentine's? i'm opposed to the sheer daylight robbery associated with the huge mark up in roses, food prices, and etc. but unfortunately my girl doesn't share the same view sad.gif

maybe i'll cook instead. much cheaper and get additional brownie points as long as the food is decent. hehe.

haha. anyway starwood privilege got free wine/champagne and 20% off (instead of 50%) on their valentine's menus if any of you interested. No idea how much the menus cost though.

http://privilege.starwoodhotels.com/Valentines.aspx

Dine at Prime Restaurant, Favola Italian Restaurant & Latest Recipe and receive a glass of selected wine for yourself and your partner. Standard Starwood Privilege dining discount do not apply.

Starwood Privilege members enjoy 20% discount on food bill only. 

For reservations, call 603 2263 7434, e-mail: dining.lmkl@lemeridien.com, visit: lemeridien.com/kualalumpurdining 

Dine at Prego or Qba and receive a glass of GH Mumm Champagne for yourself and your partner. Standard Starwood Privilege dining discount do not apply.

Exclusive 20% discount on food & beverage from the Valentines set menu for Starwood Privilege members at Prego & Qba. 

For reservations, please call +60 3 2773 8338 or email westindining@westin.com

didn't bother quoting sheraton imperial cos only restaurant with valentine's offer is Essence, which is shiet.

[edit] prego valentine's menus! the downstairs-seating grill one is 188/pax, and the upstairs romeo-and-juliet one is a whopping 640/couple, lol ... D: ...

This post has been edited by deodorant: Jan 21 2011, 07:04 PM

Attached File(s)
Attached File  Prego___Valentine_BBQ_Menu_gf_only.pdf ( 46.86k ) Number of downloads: 15
Attached File  Romeo_Juliet_Menu.doc ( 46k ) Number of downloads: 23
deodorant
post Jan 21 2011, 08:15 PM

5,691 posts

^
aiyo want to promote blog also disguise a bit mah. exact same post in the steaks thread without even changing any words tongue.gif

(not to mention your blogpost doesn't have any steak also, so ... what's it doing in the steak thread, haha).

anyway i love j&r's full works for breakfast, but I'd hardly agree with it being classifed as a 'fine dining' place.

c'mon guys ... valentine's how? i was lucky enough to be out-of-town last year cos of CNY so I can skip paying exorbitant prices for mediocre food, but this year not so lucky ... and gf already reminding me 3 weeks in advance that we skipped last year's celebration sad.gif

(i didn't do anything or buy anything for her last year loooool)
deodorant
post Jan 29 2011, 07:35 PM

5,691 posts

@juschin yeah i went to lobsterman, was pretty good and very value for money too.

QUOTE(hibiki0104 @ Jan 29 2011, 07:22 PM)
buffet dinner ... nice romantic dinner?

buffet and romantic don't go together.

best buffets in town food-wise are probably latest recipe (le meridien kl) or lemon garden (shang kl). both slightly above your budget, 110++. but even then, buffets are neither 'fine dining' nor 'romantic.'

best buffet ambience-wise is probably the one on KL tower cos you got rotating view of KL. but food so-so only.
deodorant
post Feb 11 2011, 09:34 PM

5,691 posts

^
live band doesn't mean fine dining, lol.
deodorant
post Feb 12 2011, 12:32 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Feb 12 2011, 12:08 AM)
Always some smart ppl will only assume it's for fine dining only

well the title of the thread is "fine dining recommendations."

what to do lah, there's no way for us to know your post was merged into this topic mah biggrin.gif
deodorant
post Feb 16 2011, 11:57 PM

5,691 posts

^ how many people? Prime at Le Meridien has an awesome private room that overlooks the kitchen via those one-way-mirror/window things. I think can seat 8 or 10 or something like that.
deodorant
post Feb 18 2011, 11:53 AM

5,691 posts

oh oh favola (also le meridien kl) also has private dining area. full blogpost here but otherwise here's just a quick shot of the private room

deodorant
post Apr 4 2011, 10:31 PM

5,691 posts

Eh what is this doing in Food Market?
deodorant
post Apr 9 2011, 01:29 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(booklover @ Apr 9 2011, 12:02 AM)
Had a great dinner at Villa Danieli the other day. They now have a new Italian chef.

I'd gone to VD twice last year and though the food was a bit crappy. Gotta go again before my SP card expires to try new chef's food biggrin.gif
deodorant
post Apr 9 2011, 11:29 AM

5,691 posts

limoncello? hehe. coincidence i was at westin last night too smile.gif but at eest trying out their new non-halal menu. also booked via eatdrinkandmore but no free drink sad.gif

Added on April 9, 2011, 11:30 amlimoncello? hehe. coincidence i was at westin last night too smile.gif but at eest trying out their new non-halal menu. also booked via eatdrinkandmore but no free drink sad.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Apr 9 2011, 11:30 AM

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:17 AM