Food Fine Dining Recommendations, Romantic, Birthday & special occassions
Putraskyline
Mar 2 2010, 05:05 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 2 2010, 03:50 PM) For me fine dining is more lik you paying for the decor, the professional chef & sometime imported chef & etc. You sometime pay for the environment & romantic setting etc rather than the food quality (Well certain restaurants for sure nice-lah) but still..the pricing.....That's not to the average M'sian income earner reach liao... Sometime the skill need to prepare the dish are important. One plate = 3 bite but take hefty time to prepare.
Putraskyline
Mar 3 2010, 12:32 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(ivern @ Mar 3 2010, 12:28 AM) Hi all, I am planning to celebrate my gf's bday 2 weeks from now.. Is there any recommendation for western dinner for 2 person? Hopefully less than RM1000 la.. I am planning to propose to her that night.. TQTQ Wow.....hefty budget  Head on 5 course romantic French at Lafite.
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 09:53 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(zaurus @ Mar 4 2010, 03:30 AM) lots of good suggestions here ..  wanna share my experience at Favola @ Le Meridien KL recently .. having their specialty truffle dinner menu, 3 course meal about rm125++ per person, which is not eligible for Starwood discount this place doesn't live to average expectation .. the food and atmosphere is so-so while staff friendliness is ok but not attentiveness enough .. almost ended up paying other people's wine tab ..  too kind to call it as fine dining here .. the only plus perhaps is for wine lovers since LM sharing the Wine Bank with Hilt  my vote goes for Villa Danieli for the best, quiet romantic Italian cuisine or go for Prego for a livelier atmosphere ...  Ohh great you are sharing Favola experience here. This is new restaurant replace Nafourah right?
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 10:16 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2010, 10:04 AM) Nope. Closed already. I got email a few month before.
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 02:38 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(zaurus @ Mar 4 2010, 11:24 AM) yup, Al Nafourah is no more .. they should keep the place and add value to it .. the setting is perfect d, Favola seems like half-heartedly done .. the private tent which gives quite a privacy now no more d .. Favola's pizza is a bit ordinary and the toppings is not so generous .. prefer Prego's wood fire though i don't like it at first coz it looks slightly overburn and taste weird .. i think this one is a new website listing dining outlets under Starwood brand, with their latest promotion : http://www.eatdrinkandmore.com/  I'm waiting St Regis to open in MY on 2014. Hope Starwood can include Regis dining outlet entitle to use Starwood Privilege Guest. Its loooooong way to go. In term of Pizza, I like California Pizza Kitchen more than Prego. Never tried Favola, so I dunno how it taste. This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Mar 4 2010, 02:39 PM
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 02:49 PM
Non-Regular
@goldies
You are too late to bye bye la. I like Nafourah ambience and atmosphere but I dunno why they have to replace it. Now no more hotel with middle east cuisine outlet. All Italian and French.
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 02:52 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2010, 02:51 PM) as they say - better late than never.  i also no chance to re-visit leh. as you said, the ambiance and atmosphere is nice. Now go for Prime before they closed the shop.
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 03:05 PM
Non-Regular
Just upload image from phone for Med@Marche Renaissance Hotel. Food : 9/10 Service : 9/10 Ambience : 9/10 Price : Expensive » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Fine ingredient : Truffle, Caviar Dine for 2 pax near RM400. Thanks to Renaissance card for 50% discount. This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Mar 4 2010, 03:06 PM
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 03:55 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 4 2010, 03:37 PM) wow i want eat the lamb and the last pic, look like scallops!  Yeah...lamb are superb. That one is scallops. 3 piece Rm58
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 04:20 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 4 2010, 04:01 PM) Anywhere I can get those big scallop like seen on top chef i think is call Bay Scallop most restoran scalop so small... That one are big scallop. I never eat scallop that big before. If they can give full plate, of course heaven.
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 04:23 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 4 2010, 04:22 PM) dayyumm i gotta go marche la!!! order 3 plate of that scallop settle. and a coke. Haha...Its enough. 3 plates of scallop + Coke + assorted bread and dip (free) + ice lime crush (free).
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 04:28 PM
Non-Regular
Basket of assorted bread.
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 04:30 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 4 2010, 04:28 PM) pity la marche no more mediteranean. but expense man.... that day i went Olio@melaka, didnt book so no table  Fine Italian is the main but chef said sometime they are having Mediterranean theme for a week. He said Italian are more demand than Mediterranean.
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 05:41 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 4 2010, 04:33 PM) are those lamb cutlets? whats the sauce? the cubes are tenderloin or what cut? Crusted lamb rack in truffle sauce. The other one is wagyu beef cutlet in viande juice. Added on March 4, 2010, 5:42 pmQUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 4 2010, 04:36 PM) interesting, but i find when Malaysian say they like Italian food, they're often referring to pizza alone. that also Domino's or P.Huts.  maybe in some cases, add spaghetti. LOL. Yup agree too. Italian = Pizza. Other than Pizza are not Italian This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Mar 4 2010, 05:42 PM
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 07:58 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 4 2010, 06:27 PM) 200 per person is before or after 50% discount? Food looks nice  Its before discount. After discount, if I'm not mistaken was RM212 Added on March 4, 2010, 7:59 pmQUOTE(the_apeman @ Mar 4 2010, 07:04 PM) Wagyu Rump at Ultimo Fine Dining Where is it? This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Mar 4 2010, 07:59 PM
Putraskyline
Mar 4 2010, 11:43 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(thefryingfox @ Mar 4 2010, 08:03 PM) i tried tamarind springs...it was realyl really good...to me is fine dining...... Yerp....Tamarind Spring are fine dining. I love this restaurant + cool ambience but feedback from other forumer are not that great. I wonder why?
Putraskyline
Mar 5 2010, 02:34 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(SyedBrix @ Mar 5 2010, 01:22 PM) i eat at marche for free. lifetime thing. Wow. Med at Marche or Marche The Curve?
Putraskyline
Mar 20 2010, 04:29 PM
Non-Regular
@vey99
Overall satisfaction?
Putraskyline
Mar 30 2010, 09:58 AM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(andy @ Mar 30 2010, 12:35 AM) The a la carte menu at Ciao is not that good anyway. Up to date the most authentic Italian I've had is still Prego in Westin KL. Sage is fusion fine dining not Italian, and the bill is well over RM300 per pax if you want a lavish dinner. Why you say so?
Putraskyline
Apr 2 2010, 05:10 PM
Non-Regular
QUOTE(stimix @ Apr 2 2010, 04:34 PM) Hmnnn Are you ghey? ---your BF??  LOL....what kind of question