cute_boboi
post Aug 3 2008, 01:02 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Aug 3 2008, 12:39 AM)
wah you shop till paying RM7 parking maximum ooh
Sounds like the maybank fair isnt great
So would you encourage people to apply maybank cc on the spot?
Yes, but only
1) if they are going to use it inside the fair. After all, they still need to wait for the actual CC before can use outside.
2) You don't have any MBB CC. Otherwise, MBB won't give you instant 1 hr approval and ask you to swipe the existing MBB CC

Added on August 3, 2008, 12:45 am
Petronas card good huh? the petrol transactions can get points?
Only when you use the MBB Petronas Visa at Petronas stations, you will get 5x TP until 31 Dec 2008. You can get 5x TP if you purchase Syntium engine oil there also, which I did.
cute_boboi
post Aug 3 2008, 01:12 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

tinkerbel,

If you mean purchase e.g. LCD/Plasma TV with cash outside at Ah Seng Electrical Shops, etc. I'm sure they can give better discount/promo/free gifts.

But if for points comparison with other banks, you can take this example.
Sony booth will accept 8,500 TP for RM50. I believe it is better than my other Citibank card which requires in the range of 12,500 points for other RM50 voucher.

Well, I did not see anyone pulling out any CC other than MBB tongue.gif You can imagine it is like going to Amway meeting and yell you are with Cosway sweat.gif Everywhere you turn, you can see the word "Maybank" tongue.gif

Some items can only be purchased with cash.
Some item have options to exchange 100% TP, or TP + $, or pure $
Some items only TP, cannot cash.

cute_boboi
post Aug 3 2008, 01:14 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Aug 3 2008, 01:09 AM)
I have worked for 4 month but now I have post my salary slip to my brother for applying loan to invest in property. Suddenly, I saw MBB Treatsfair at midvalley. So if I want to apply for credit card, can I just use my offer letter ?
Standard is 3 months salary slip. Even though you post your salary slip to your brother, you should keep each month copy with you. Photostat another set to submit to bank.

Frankly, with just an offer letter, I think most banks will reject it.

cute_boboi
post Aug 3 2008, 01:39 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

tinkerbel,

I would advise not to purchase cash at MBB TP Fair, unless it is something you really want and can't find else where. That's the place to spend all the TP only.

I've already went to PC Fair on Fri tongue.gif Also did not find the thing I want, Sandisk 16GB micro-SDHC card which is not officially launched worldwide yet. Maybe have to wait Nov/Dec PC Fair sweat.gif But for those who use SD card, there is 32GB SDHC cards available at rm580-650 ohmy.gif

Nothing much there, as I don't have anything in my mind to purchase also, except the item I just mentioned.

cute_boboi
post Aug 3 2008, 05:00 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 3 2008, 01:45 AM)
@cute_boboi,
I'm a V new member with MBB CCs hence have not accumulated sufficient TPs.  In fact, I'm so new I haven't even received my 1st statement/bill from MBB tongue.gif

So the price off discounts/offers are really nothing much to shout about and can be easily obtained?
Yes, I would say you can get similiar discounts with cash/credit at shops outside for any products. Maybe they just throw in some cheap freebies like "onion bags", brolly, duck-beak-hat, etc. during the fair. My opinion of these CC fairs are for users to spend their TP. After all, it is not everyday you can convert the TP to RM/vouchers if you have something like e.g. bags/luggage choices from Samsonite, Delsey, Targus, etc. or any other stuff that you'll like.

Oh, they have a LASIK booth there as well and hair/scalp inspection. It's good if you always wanted to try it, but lazy to go for pre-inspection at their shops.

According to MBB, they estimate users to spend around 130 MILLION TP there blink.gif I don't even have 1% of it. sweat.gif Not even close.

QUOTE(muscaa @ Aug 3 2008, 09:06 AM)
How about using petronas cc to buy things other than petronas oil? Can we get points like 2x/5x? How much TP you need to redeem synthium engine oil?
Well, I don't buy stuff at petrol kiosk other than engine oil, which is confirmed 5x. I purchased it somewhere in Jun/Jul '08. OK, maybe I buy other stuff like mineral water, tin can nescafe and ice cream, but normally pay cash. So, other than Petronas products, I'm not sure. The stuff in kiosk are normally expensive. shakehead.gif

I did not check whether can redeem Syntium engine oil with TP. Anyone knows ?
cute_boboi
post Aug 4 2008, 09:16 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

tinkerbel,
yeah, I'm not travelling that frequent already (read: reduced TP cry.gif ), otherwise I will exchange for a medium size luggage. I already have a cabin and another very large hard-case trolley luggage bag already. Just missing the middle one.

Underhill,
For CC application, you can use photostat/printed (downloaded) CC application form. Then can fax it in also. Super-blur copy tongue.gif

muscaa,
Confirmed Petronas voucher can buy Syntium engine oil at Petronas station. I have tried it previously. But not sure on other kiosk goodies like Mamee, Cornetto ice cream, mineral water, etc. tongue.gif

Added on August 4, 2008, 9:34 amUpdate: Just checked my MBB online banking.

Pumped Petronas on 2nd Aug (transaction date). Posted on 3rd Aug. Still 5x TP thumbup.gif

Forgot to mention I also paid PDRM summons at MBB TP Fair, got 1x TP points only. Can PDRM pay by CC anywhere ? sad.gif I think I got some DBKL summons too. cry.gif JPJ, I think clear, otherwise cannot renew road tax sweat.gif

For those who follow this thread closely, recently I mention MBB rejected my permanent increase for CL. It was rejected mad.gif Just now I saw they give me another 5k CL increase hmm.gif Cakap tak serupa bikin... doh.gif Means total this year I got 10k CL increase tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 4 2008, 09:34 AM
cute_boboi
post Aug 4 2008, 04:42 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

muscaa,
good ah, i'm waiting for my petronas card to reach, hope can pump and get lot of TP drool.gif
Since I got the MBB Petronas card, I have pumped around RM890 which translate to 4450 TP thumbup.gif

PDRM summons can pay online with cc but their discount was over already (ended 31 July)
Could you get summon discount at MBB TP Fair?
DBKL summons can ask for discount at DBKL building Jln Raja Laut
My parking summon RM70 down to RM50 only. sad.gif i.e. discount RM20
Don't want to pay DBKL first. KIV tongue.gif

wah you got so much of credit limit, RM15k??
shh... more. sweat.gif

I noticed that a lot of banks do increase your CL after a year or 2, so far i know citibank, HL, Alliance etc like to do that. But very scary lah with too much of credit blink.gif
Citibank never increase mine before. MBB also. All have to manual request for increase. sad.gif

but i heard that traffic police JPJ and local councils are all linked already cry.gif
Is it ? My parking summon was >1-2 years ago, still can renew my road tax tongue.gif I know insurance cover note and JPJ is linked already. DBKL summon is this year, so wait it to ripe first. sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 5 2008, 03:11 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I did a backward calculation based on Oanda.com history forex rate. Both SGD and HKD to MYR for MBB Amex Credit Card is at 2% (+/- less than 0.1%)

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2008, 10:26 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Aug 6 2008, 11:33 PM)
HSBC Platinum requirement is RM 150k per annum and CitiBank is RM 100k per annum . i think now two highest requirement of plat card is Maybank and HSBC .

Other bank now has already decreased their eligibility to around 80k since year 2007. So basically now plat card is not that hard to obtain as in 90's .

I believe that AMEX Plat Charge Card is the card who really show you're loaded , as application are by invitation , too bad we dont have centurion here .. maybe malaysian not that loaded compare to other country
MBB Plat is 120k p.a.

QUOTE(andrekua @ Aug 7 2008, 12:23 AM)
Not safe lar...
When using Citibank card to purchase online only need card number, expiry date and the 3 pin on the back of the card.
Not sure if Citibank having a deal with AirAsia which resulted in less hassling verification but I think at least need to verify IC like HSBC lor.
Recently I used Citibank CC to purchase online (USD1.00 only tongue.gif ) Very straight forward. Just enter CC number, expiry date and last 3 digit. No call, no problem. hmm.gif

QUOTE(he-sham @ Aug 7 2008, 10:00 AM)
why i every time i enter citibank website at credit card section it will display restricted page???

Your company firewall blocks/restrict access to certain websites. whistling.gif Becareful, you may be logged/track/audited. sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2008, 05:28 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Update for CIMB Fair @KL Convention Centre:

Summary: Dissapointed. doh.gif

It is a home furnishing shopping fair as advertised, where most of the items needs to purchase with cash. e.g. Sharp 108" Plasma TV at RM388,888. sweat.gif Yes, you read right.

If you want to do iron grill, door/window, outdoor water filter, electronics (Panasonic, Sharp, LG, Samsung, etc.), curtains/blinds, buy new house/shop, then it is the right place to shop. I did not see they put the points to redeem big big. Mostly small small only.

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2008, 07:34 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(muscaa @ Aug 7 2008, 06:04 PM)
look like the exhibition is almost same like the home decoration fair in midvalley recently
If wanna apply DA/CIMB cc can get it on the spot?

RM388,888 for a TV is almost like a house price! Anyway I saw Panasonic 108' Plasma TV selling at around RM100,000 at 1 Utama, cheaper a bit lah
ah... yes, you are right. It's like the deco fair @MV.

Forgot to update, there are CIMB & DA staff/agents, but just a few fellows located in the middle between Hall 1 & 5. Not aggressive. If compare to MBB TP Fair agents, I would rate just 20% of the people quantity and aggressiveness in approaching me. Similiar on the spot approval to purchase things INSIDE the CIMB fair only.

Well, initially I thought is RM38,888 , then I count got five '8'. Then I thought 388,888 points, which is consider very cheap ! Then read again, got 'RM' in front. sweat.gif Anyway, they place two promoter girls in front of it. rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Aug 7 2008, 06:59 PM)
CIMB bank fair...

SUX!!!
Just went there... expect to apply for a Platinum Cards..
but all i see is that all the agents are chatting among themselves... none of them actually go and approach customers... walaoeh.. this type of service oso can ah..

I can't believe they can give me good service lor...

by the way, I just receive my MBB petronas visa that i applied during last TP fair @ midvalley... their speed is unexpected fast...

they gave my quite high limit **k ... but too bad it's a gold card.. so i called back and tell them that i'm not interested with gold, since all the banks has given me platinums... I will cancel the card if they dun upgrade it..

they promise me to revise my application and might give me a Plat.. their service improved! bravo! Maybank!

ps: their telephonist actually speaks English!!!!
yes, chatting only. I thought want to apply to upgrade my DA to plat or maybe apply CIMB, but only one person approach me. doh.gif Not aggressive at all. In the end, I didn't apply.

adoi... MBB speaks engRish since long time ago tongue.gif When you fill up to apply MBB Pet-plat, did you tick Plat ? Otherwise, I think they default to Gold. I tick plat, I got plat smile.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 8 2008, 10:33 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 7 2008, 10:05 PM)
For those who went for the CIMB Fair, are the prices of the home deco stuff considerably cheap or basically it's just a 'don't bother wasting time to go' kinda fair?
I think like MBB fair, if you plan to purchase with cash, you can get similiar or better deals outside. However, take note they are offering discounts for CIMB card holders, but how much cheaper it is, I did not really compare in detail, as I don't have anything to buy and I don't have full day to walk there.

QUOTE(aayyeennaa @ Aug 7 2008, 10:49 PM)
hi! I would like to ask i'm non-malaysian working here (Expat) i wonder is it really hard to get a malaysian credit card even though I have bank account in malaysia? i dont like to bring too much money shopping  biggrin.gif  since i'm using public transport. one of which i'm lacking of is "malaysian citizen" or "income tax return" I'm working tax free
I think non-malaysian should be able to get, but since you don't have income tax return or any proof of income, I don't think bank will give you one. The other way is to deposit 100k-300k and get complimentary CC.

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Aug 7 2008, 11:42 PM)
any1 can login into their Citibank Internet banking??

im still can not login...
Just tried login Citibank. No problem. Now paying bills sweat.gif

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Aug 7 2008, 11:54 PM)
aiya.need to tick one ah.. so stupiak one ah... who the hell want gold card larr.. shakehead.gif
now need to call and complain... wasting  my phone charges.. mad.gif
CIMB really sux... all the agents just chatting to each another, just like having a picnic. NOT EVEN ONE approach me to ask me to sign up for CC..

aiyo... they really need to learn from MBB lar..  shakehead.gif
Phone bill claim company la tongue.gif
Wow, I'm better. One approach me. A youngster (around 20-25 years old) left within <10 sec. Not sales trained or maybe just a part-time college fellow doh.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 8 2008, 11:02 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

TeraPox,

LOL. I think maybe the reason is no competition, only CIMB there. I remember during PC Fair Apr'08 at KLCC, there are many banks offering CC at a corner (Hall 1?). All of the staff/agents are very aggresive and approach every tom, d*** and harry. Same weekday lunch time, not weekend.

Although I don't really like those aggressive approach, but I think that's the way to do face-to-face sales to stranger, but just in a proper manner.

cute_boboi
post Aug 9 2008, 02:27 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

vin_ann,

Are you trying to create the first login thing in Citibank ?

Shinichi,

Those who work in bank can get special rate loan, free annual fee CC (no need spend RM2 to call up the banks tongue.gif ), and higher grade. e.g. can get gold card even though qualify for classic card only.

cute_boboi
post Aug 21 2008, 05:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Got an SMS from HSBC they will courier the CC to me. If don't receive within 1 week, bla bla bla. Please ignore if <something> method of card collection.

sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 25 2008, 11:30 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Aug 23 2008, 04:01 PM)
I have problem in applying cc... my annual income is above 70k and provided full documents like epf, ea, form b, tax receipt, salary slips and all to HSBC but rejected... what's wrong do u think?
My application was rejected last year also. blink.gif Actually I was rejected twice in the span of 1 year. BTW, my monthly salary goes into HSBC.

Recently, HSBC telemarketers called me (5 yrs waiver), and I submit again. Last week received the visa gold card with 29k CL sweat.gif 2nd highest CL after MBB, but is good for emergency purpose.

cute_boboi
post Aug 28 2008, 11:22 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Anyone heard of MBB MSOS ?

Goto maybank2u website
-> Online Cards (Left bar)
-> Scroll down Maybankard's Secure Online Shopping
-> Register Now (right bar)

I think it is something security check for online shopping using MBB Visa & Mastercard only. Need to register for each card, if you want to use all for online shopping. Or just register one card if you always use that card.

hmm.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 29 2008, 10:40 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Previously, around 2x-3x basic salary. After that, CL increase is based on spending, payment, etc.

cute_boboi
post Sep 9 2008, 12:30 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Sep 8 2008, 06:10 PM)
Where to read benefits for Flex card compared to normal one? I google maybank2u but the info is so little.
No benefits. Same as any other CC. Free for life *

* Previously must swipe minimum RM300. Now changed to 2x swipe per month to waive RM3.95/mth fees.

cute_boboi
post Sep 10 2008, 04:12 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(mensa @ Sep 10 2008, 02:25 PM)
i prefer citibank as i travel alot and no need to inform the bank where the country i will visit. hassle free. I also have maybank visa..will terminate it after finishing my installment plan.
I used MBB CC overseas, never inform them, no problem at all. Banks/restaurants never doubt or ask me before. But it is advisable to inform bank to prevent fraud overseas charges, etc.

But I do agree all banks Customer Service sucks.
MBB = Malaysia Boleh
SCB = Refer my horror story here
Citibank = Always sell out my data to tele-marketeers
HSBC = Recently just got the CC, immediately the next day, tele-marketeers call to ask for home loan
doh.gif

My opinion is as long as it is local ppl serving you for classic/gold, you'll get the same type of service. Maybe platinum/preferred/higher up will have better service (I hope!)

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Sep 10 2008, 03:05 PM)
Me also just terminated my Maybank card. The service is so bad, its totally unbelievable. They are the equavalent of Drama Minggu Ini over at RTM once upon a time. If the market becomes more open with the encroachment of globalisation, their days are most definitely numbered.

Added on September 10, 2008, 3:06 pm

Thks for the link but they the best?? That's the biggest joke, ever ......  lol

Added on September 10, 2008, 3:13 pm
Just like Maybank to have a Me Too product. Kind of like Monkey see, monkey do ;-)
FYI, Flex is one of the 2nd cards (if not 3rd/4th) to offer free for life*** without the need to call up the bank to ask/beg for waiver every year. This is followed by Citibank Choice, and the rest of the story. There is no best card, it always change depending on your lifestyle and offer/promotion given. So, who's the monkey here?

Actually, DA is the first to offer free for life without condition whistling.gif

*** but must swipe 2x / mth

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0546sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:29 PM