65 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Iphone 3g officially in Malaysia.... SOON?

clayclws
post Jul 20 2008, 05:50 PM

2,659 posts

QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Jul 20 2008, 05:29 PM)
Even if the contract rates gonna cost you an arm and a leg?
I'm hoping that they do what NZ does. As far as I know, I think Maxis will offer the iPhone as a purchase option when you sign up with their plan for a set amount of years, say maybe 3 instead of the usual 1 year. They may mark up the rate but contracts costing an arm and a leg is not going to happen.
frozzbyte
post Jul 20 2008, 06:01 PM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

But NZ sets no need to signup for any plan. U can just buy them outright like stringfellow did. And as my logic tells me, Maxis won't adapt to the NZ style coz this would not benefit them at all and we don't have any law that prohibit 'locked' phones. If Maxis DO intent to bring in iPhones here, they would probably do it after MNP kicks off. About the arm and leg thing, i'm just joking but there are telcos out there that charge exorbitant contract fees for the iPhone 3G like Rogers (i think) in Canada and Vodafone (?) in NZ (correct me if i'm wrong). We never know.

Right now we can just speculate and hope.
clayclws
post Jul 20 2008, 06:11 PM

2,659 posts

I'm HOPING that they do like NZ, selling the iPhone as is. Probably going to cost RM2500-3000 for the 16GB. HOWEVER, Maxis may also offer RM1500-2000 IF you sign up with their plan that is probably at a higher rate or longer bindable period of 3 years or so, without termination clause (allowed in Malaysia, not in the USA).

The contract thing has nothing to do with NZ. Just my sentences seemed to relate to each other without the HOWEVER word. Apologies.
Masamune
post Jul 20 2008, 06:33 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

LoL...i'm now under my dad's plan...he uses his postpaid line like RM500+ per month because of his business...Any plan maxis wanna offer for the iphone is not a problem for me at all...haha
stringfellow
post Jul 20 2008, 06:42 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That's nice. It's even a nicer feeling when you're earning it yourself. wink.gif
Esqandare
post Jul 20 2008, 06:47 PM

140 posts

hehehe...u do more "hargai" if u buy it ur self...

but Masamune is ok that is in category tumpang thread too... icon_idea.gif laugh.gif

hahaha i wish my bro can let me in his maxis plan too if the iphone come... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Esqandare: Jul 20 2008, 06:54 PM
clayclws
post Jul 20 2008, 06:48 PM

2,659 posts

For an average fresh grad, that's a month's salary. Gonna hurt a lot to lots of people.
Melfice
post Jul 21 2008, 12:21 AM

254 posts

ermm , took when im watching news .. maybe Maxis working on it .. =) hope itz not repost lol
kweng84
post Jul 21 2008, 12:23 AM

205 posts

That's awesome.. Maxis Boleh~!~!
stringfellow
post Jul 21 2008, 12:24 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Melfice @ Jul 21 2008, 12:21 AM)

ermm , took when im watching news .. maybe Maxis working on it .. =) hope itz not repost lol
A 2-days old repost. Dont blame yourself, things move fast around here, especially when things that Malaysians are pining their hopes on. icon_rolleyes.gif
Melfice
post Jul 21 2008, 12:27 AM

254 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Jul 21 2008, 12:24 AM)
A 2-days old repost. Dont blame yourself, things move fast around here, especially when things that Malaysians are pining their hopes on. icon_rolleyes.gif
LoL , shame on me sad.gif .. actually got that day but forget to post it tongue.gif ... hehe ~ pardon me smile.gif
Esqandare
post Jul 21 2008, 02:08 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(clayclws @ Jul 20 2008, 06:13 PM)
Alright...slip up. It is Airwolf's Stringfellow Hawke, if I'm not mistaken, again. So, if you are flying to Auckland, you would be helping people out with the purchase?
QUOTE(Melfice @ Jul 21 2008, 12:27 AM)
LoL , shame on me  sad.gif  .. actually got that day but forget to post it  tongue.gif  ... hehe ~ pardon me  smile.gif
glad to hear again... tongue.gif by the way....our dream maybe will come true... brows.gif
sc2
post Jul 21 2008, 02:31 AM

402 posts

QUOTE(Esqandare @ Jul 21 2008, 02:08 AM)
glad to hear again... tongue.gif  by the way....our dream maybe will come true... brows.gif
really hope that this is not a dream... cool2.gif

This post has been edited by sc2: Jul 21 2008, 02:31 AM
dannygoh
post Jul 21 2008, 09:15 AM

410 posts

and hope maxis have an upgrade path. early this year i bought a phone from maxis and sign up 2 years contract (Value 80). I dont want to wait for 2 years for getting iphone
Choongster
post Jul 21 2008, 09:22 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

QUOTE(dannygoh @ Jul 21 2008, 09:15 AM)
and hope maxis have an upgrade path. early this year i bought a phone from maxis and sign up 2 years contract (Value 80). I dont want to wait for 2 years for getting iphone
don't worry.. u don't have to wait 2 years for iphone because it probably won't reach here ..
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 21 2008, 09:59 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hard to say looking at hw Maxis has been "annoucing" their possible involvement..

Choongster
post Jul 21 2008, 10:11 AM

Banned From Lowyat.net
1,606 posts

the subsidy they have to pay Apple for the iphone is quite a huge sum. if you see those maxis plan deal with nokia/se phones.. maybe cheaper by couple of hundreds but if u r talking about iphone .. the subsidy is about 1.5K because they say they are looking to bring in iphone for less than RM1000 which i see quite impossible. if the deal is so good, this will kill off nokia/se users and in long term will hurt themself.
if they say bring it in for 1.5K with plan .. then look reasonable but less than RM1000 almost impossible

it's just my 2cents ... .. what do you think?
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 21 2008, 10:43 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

below 1000 is definitely kinda impossible..

well..if it is below 1000 den imagine the price of their call plans, data plans...
tayhaithian
post Jul 21 2008, 11:24 AM

460 posts

2k device and 50 monthly call plan . < I Guess ..>
d3vilzzzz
post Jul 21 2008, 11:50 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm...i guess frm pre paid..me must go post paid..haihz

65 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top