user posted imageuser posted image user posted imageuser posted image
user posted imageuser posted image

This post has been edited by kikurazz: Oct 14 2008, 02:02 PM
D-Tourist
post Oct 14 2008, 02:19 PM

95 posts

Some more photos tongue.gif

famous hokkaido melon also damn expensive at RM60-200 a fruit. Notice the top melon @ 3x the price looks exactly the same as the cheaper version and also same size, so i wonder wats the difference. Tried a ready-cut small slice of the cheaper variatn for 100yen, taste so so much better than our local hami melon. sweet, juicy & smell nice

for c0ok1e who is going to Hokkaido University, here r some pix:-

very nice parks @ Hokkaido Uni @ Sapporo

the campus buildings

Very unique packaging for a milk pudding (BOCCA) need a needle to open

The typical ramen vending machine to place ur order

the cramp but private cubicle for enjoyin the ramen u ordered

the ramen ordered with hard boiled egg, all for 750+100 yen

Tokyo Disneyland 25 Jubilation parade

The throne control panel that u need to familiarize for use when u r visiting Japan for the first time, hehehe

Snow skiing resort @ Yubari, Mount Racey (Hokkaido) minus the snow

This post has been edited by D-Tourist: Oct 14 2008, 10:10 PM
Mythras231
post Oct 14 2008, 05:03 PM

499 posts

O.O...Nice pictures...Had fun thr ? xD
matt85
post Oct 14 2008, 09:50 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(tanoshi @ Oct 14 2008, 02:20 PM)
a photos of CAR...
Only cars ??? Other pics like landmarks and gardens ? biggrin.gif
kytan
post Oct 14 2008, 10:47 PM

111 posts

Friends,

I'm planning to visit Japan with my wife during Chinese New Year. I'm considering whether to visit Japan myself or follow the tour package.

Personally I prefer to visit it myself because I don't like the rigidness of a tour guided holiday. But my only worry are the hotel prices. Any recommendations on where's a economical and safe place to stay in Tokyo?
matt85
post Oct 14 2008, 10:51 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(kytan @ Oct 14 2008, 11:47 PM)
Friends,

I'm planning to visit Japan with my wife during Chinese New Year. I'm considering whether to visit Japan myself or follow the tour package.

Personally I prefer to visit it myself because I don't like the rigidness of a tour guided holiday. But my only worry are the hotel prices. Any recommendations on where's a economical and safe place to stay in Tokyo?
Firedauz already posted somewhere in the forums; Sakura Hotel tongue.gif I plan to stay there as well, or maybe Tokyo International Hostel
kikurazz
post Oct 15 2008, 06:27 AM

kik.ur.azz
707 posts

I stay @ Shinjuku Sunroute Plaza
not dirt cheap, about 14000 YEN per nite, but you get urself a bloody wonderful hotel with that price
everything is absolute perfect about that hotel
firedauz
post Oct 15 2008, 10:10 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

GOOD MORNING, JAPAN! rclxm9.gif

QUOTE(kytan @ Oct 14 2008, 10:47 PM)
Friends,

Here you go, bro biggrin.gif --> http://www.sakura-hotel.co.jp/
kytan
post Oct 15 2008, 01:34 PM

111 posts

Thanks very much for all the feedback friends. Firedauz, is Sakura Hotel very convenient to go around tokyo? Is it expensive travelling by subway? Where is a cheap and good place to eat?
matt85
post Oct 15 2008, 09:36 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(kikurazz @ Oct 15 2008, 07:27 AM)
I stay @ Shinjuku Sunroute Plaza
not dirt cheap, about 14000 YEN per nite, but you get urself a bloody wonderful hotel with that price
everything is absolute perfect about that hotel
14k YEN is absolute no no for backpacker like me cry.gif
clemong_888
post Oct 15 2008, 10:03 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

would be japanese travelers, plan properly, the yen has just shot up like mad!
matt85
post Oct 15 2008, 11:01 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Oct 15 2008, 11:03 PM)
would be japanese travelers, plan properly, the yen has just shot up like mad!
The last time i checked, the exchange rate was RM 1 = 34 Yen.

Now how much ?
D-Tourist
post Oct 15 2008, 11:50 PM

95 posts

when did u last check...so high ? last mth 29 sep the rate i change was only RM3.27 for 100 yen which means RM1 = 30.6 yen...

now pbbank rate close to RM3.6 to 100yen which is RM1 =27.78

bout 10% appreciation in value

TStanoshi
post Oct 16 2008, 01:42 AM

347 posts

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Oct 16 2008, 12:50 AM)
when did u last check...so high ?   last mth 29 sep the rate i change was only RM3.27 for 100 yen which means RM1 = 30.6 yen...

now pbbank rate close to RM3.6 to 100yen  which is RM1 =27.78

bout 10% appreciation in value
Live rates at 2008.10.15 17:39:22 UTC

100.00 JPY = 3.49236 MYR

Japan Yen Malaysia Ringgits
1 JPY = 0.0349236 MYR
1 MYR = 28.6340 JPY

icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 16, 2008, 1:47 am
QUOTE(kytan @ Oct 15 2008, 02:34 PM)
Thanks very much for all the feedback friends. Firedauz, is Sakura Hotel very convenient to go around tokyo?
Sakura among of popular Hostel, Hotel and Service Apartment in Tokyo.
Is it expensive travelling by subway?
Sometimes not all the subway can be reach some of the place that we wanna go..BUT its standard/common transportation in Tokyo, its very easy...just manage the destination to and fro with ( www.hyperdia.com)
Where is a cheap and good place to eat?
mmm..cheap? for me all is normal in Japan, good place? everywhere hehehe..but not for the Halal food!
cheers icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by tanoshi: Oct 16 2008, 01:47 AM
Mythras231
post Oct 16 2008, 06:12 PM

499 posts

Japan is fun ... Donno when can visit Tokyo again ... Its been 5 years @.@
D-Tourist
post Oct 16 2008, 06:26 PM

95 posts

Hahaha.. ... i just came back 2 weeks... and i am missing the Japan liao.. and its lovely titbits

firedauz
post Oct 16 2008, 08:47 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(kytan @ Oct 15 2008, 01:34 PM)
Thanks very much for all the feedback friends. Firedauz, is Sakura Hotel very convenient to go around tokyo? Is it expensive travelling by subway? Where is a cheap and good place to eat?
Most of what I would answer is similar like tanoshi's answer biggrin.gif

1. Yup, very convenient, because it is in central Tokyo itself.

2. If you compare using the Subway vs the JR Lines (which is the normal trains), then the answer is Yes, subway is expensive.
As suggested by tanoshi, try planning your destination using http://www.hyperdia.com/cgi-english/hyperWeb.cgi and http://www.jorudan.co.jp/english/norikae/ .

3. It depends on what you want to eat.
Fast-food restaurants are everywhere.
Convenient stores are even more (like every 500m, you can see another one).
Japanese food are aplenty.
I suggest you plan it all out first by doing more searches on the Net, including what you prefer to eat.
matt85
post Oct 16 2008, 10:21 PM

EDM fanatic
527 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Oct 16 2008, 09:47 PM)
Most of what I would answer is similar like tanoshi's answer biggrin.gif

1. Yup, very convenient, because it is in central Tokyo itself.

2. If you compare using the Subway vs the JR Lines (which is the normal trains), then the answer is Yes, subway is expensive.
As suggested by tanoshi, try planning your destination using http://www.hyperdia.com/cgi-english/hyperWeb.cgi and http://www.jorudan.co.jp/english/norikae/ .

3. It depends on what you want to eat.
Fast-food restaurants are everywhere.
Convenient stores are even more (like every 500m, you can see another one).
Japanese food are aplenty.
I suggest you plan it all out first by doing more searches on the Net, including what you prefer to eat.

Firedauz, is it possible to live on onigiri (breakfast), bento set (lunch) and fast-food ramen (dinner) for 5 days ? biggrin.gif How much would these 3 meals cost ?

This post has been edited by matt85: Oct 16 2008, 10:22 PM
D-Tourist
post Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM

95 posts

had a plain bowl of vending machine ordered ramen for 750yen + hard boil egg for 100 yen in LaQua ramen shop. So Firedauz, is that the normal price?

anyway... here are some pics

This is a ramen ordering machine... located in Tokyo, LaQua

This is the 750+100 yen ramen +egg = taste very good ...smile.gif

This is the cramp but strictly private cubicle to haf ur ramen. The waiter serves the ramen from under the red curtain.

And this one is the ramen menu of a shop in Ramen Street in Sapporo, Hokkaido

And this butter corn ramen cost 900 yen (taste very good also)
firedauz
post Oct 16 2008, 11:28 PM

876 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Oct 16 2008, 10:21 PM)
Firedauz, is it possible to live on onigiri (breakfast), bento set (lunch) and fast-food ramen (dinner) for 5 days ?  biggrin.gif How much would these 3 meals cost ?

Yes, I think you can if you are not a big eater.

Onigiri = 100 Yen - 110 Yen (buy from convenient store)
Bento = 500 Yen and above
Fast-food Ramen = 500 Yen and above

So if you find a good restaurant that sell cheap, tasty bento & ramen, should be good enough biggrin.gif

QUOTE(D-Tourist @ Oct 16 2008, 10:44 PM)
had a plain bowl of vending machine ordered ramen for 750yen + hard boil egg for 100 yen  in LaQua ramen shop. So Firedauz, is that the normal price?

Pretty much around the normal price biggrin.gif
Tasty pics there thumbup.gif

136 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:49 AM