Travel Club LYN Japan V1, 日本へようこそ!

kytan
post Oct 14 2008, 10:47 PM

111 posts

Friends,

I'm planning to visit Japan with my wife during Chinese New Year. I'm considering whether to visit Japan myself or follow the tour package.

Personally I prefer to visit it myself because I don't like the rigidness of a tour guided holiday. But my only worry are the hotel prices. Any recommendations on where's a economical and safe place to stay in Tokyo?
kytan
post Oct 15 2008, 01:34 PM

111 posts

Thanks very much for all the feedback friends. Firedauz, is Sakura Hotel very convenient to go around tokyo? Is it expensive travelling by subway? Where is a cheap and good place to eat?
kytan
post Nov 18 2008, 11:15 AM

111 posts

I'm planning to stay in Hotel Vintage Shinjuku, located in Kabuki-Cho. I know its an entertainment/red-light district. Is it safe in general?
kytan
post Nov 29 2008, 06:29 PM

111 posts

Is it ok to apply for visa on my own rather than going thru the travel agents? Will it make a difference? Since I'm going on a free and easy trip. As for the bank book/statement, I'm using a joint account with my wife. Will that be a problem also?
kytan
post Dec 6 2008, 12:05 AM

111 posts

Wow Japanese Yen dam high these days!
kytan
post Dec 6 2008, 09:14 PM

111 posts

Got my visa yesterday! Japan here I come!
kytan
post Dec 7 2008, 06:34 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(Kampung2005 @ Dec 6 2008, 09:20 PM)
Was the process of getting is easy for you?  smile.gif
It was relatively painless. Just show them you have money to spend there and a stable job here.
kytan
post Dec 9 2008, 01:57 PM

111 posts

Hi all, just wanna ask if it snows in Tokyo? And what temperature should i be expecting end-January?
kytan
post Dec 12 2008, 11:50 AM

111 posts

Hi friends,

I will be staying in Hotel Vintage Shinjuku in Kabuki-Cho. Just wanna check if there's a nearer train/subway station apart from the JR Shinjuku station. The hotel looks pretty far from the shinjuku station when I check from google maps.

This post has been edited by kytan: Dec 12 2008, 11:50 AM
kytan
post Dec 12 2008, 04:59 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(matt85 @ Dec 12 2008, 04:19 PM)
Wow you are staying in kabuki-cho, of all places  laugh.gif  tongue.gif

Guys, any ideas where to stay in Asakusa ? Im thinking ryokan, but most choices i've seen are house/shop converted. Not really ancient Japanese ryokan. And i doubt they serve kaiseki-ryori.

Between Keisei Skyliner and NEX, which one is more accessible if i were to transit from Narita to Asakusa?

Too many questions asked; gomen kudasai all senpais here  blush.gif
Why not kabuki-cho? Happening what. Based on all feedbacks from the internet and lonyly planet guide, its safe la. Most of the 'happenings' there are off-limits to foreigners anyway.
kytan
post Dec 17 2008, 11:28 PM

111 posts

Bro, i budget around 17,000 yen a day for food enough ah for 2 person?
kytan
post Dec 18 2008, 08:58 AM

111 posts

QUOTE(PsyCHZZZ @ Dec 18 2008, 08:41 AM)
rclxms.gif It's Ninja Akasaka. Nice place smile.gif

Added on December 18, 2008, 8:42 am

I'm all for Malaysian food!!! Bila?  rclxm9.gif

Added on December 18, 2008, 8:48 am

More than enough.
With that budget - you should try out some more unique Japanese food like fugu, whale meat, horse sashimi biggrin.gif
If its 17,000 yen more than enough for food, can I add train tickets to travel around Tokyo in this budget?
kytan
post Jan 1 2009, 04:31 PM

111 posts

Dear friends-with-experience-in-tokyo,

I'm planning to go to gotemba from shinjuku by bus. Where can I take an express bus from shinjuku and how to buy tickets?
kytan
post Jan 2 2009, 09:35 AM

111 posts

Everyone say Akihabara is an electronics/camera mecca but how is the price like? Will it be cheaper than getting it here?

0.0508sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:48 AM