Mercedes-Benz W124 still worth it?, Worth it as a first car for fresh grad?

razr_sped
post Nov 19 2010, 08:50 AM

393 posts

i do agree with askar_lcy
ntg beats german made cars
m driving an coupe e30...de FC is ya, abit high at times
around 220 per tank on my meter...but thats on miles
plus i whck de car hard...like 80-100mph everytime i drive

when ppl say go vacation, for me everytime i start my car thats vacation
ya..i do have my fare share of money pouring session with the car
to major overhaul for engine seal replacement, but at sametime i itchy back go bore the block for even bigger cc..
but dont ever convert to jap heart, it might be easier on wallet for maintaince, but it kills de feel..u might as well go supra (2jz) / gtr (rb26)
not different on maintaince/tax
W_A_F_D_I
post Nov 23 2010, 09:31 AM

21 posts

It true, very matured car technology. still prefer W124 20 years old over Perdana around 10 years old. Stability, handling and feeling a solid
willielow
post Jan 4 2011, 03:02 PM

25 posts

Hi im driving a E200 masterpiece. I have problem with the gearbox. In the D Drive, when it auto change the gear, it like jumping the gear. do any of you having the same problem....
Any sifu here can advice what are the thing need to change?It got the sound "Jek" when changing the gear.

When driving highway, it worked fine... run smoothly.
Hope some sifu here can help.
prempenang
post Mar 2 2011, 11:01 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(willielow @ Jan 4 2011, 03:02 PM)
Hi im driving a E200 masterpiece. I have problem with the gearbox. In the D Drive, when it auto change the gear, it like jumping the gear. do any of you having the same problem....
Any sifu here can advice what are the thing need to change?It got the sound  "Jek" when changing the gear.

When driving highway, it worked fine... run smoothly.
Hope some sifu here can help.
i think you got conned
there is no e200 masterpiece
only e220 or e280

even that, many are converted and cannot be categoried as masterpiece
chuakz
post Mar 2 2011, 11:14 PM

1,192 posts

i'm surprised by so many negative comments on the W124s reliability...my dad had one many years ago...E280 or 300...i forgot...was very very reliable and safe..once we were on the highway and one of the rear tyres burst...the only thing we noted was an odd sound...car still cruising smoothly....its as many people said...over engineered at that time...and its by far one of the cheaper mercs to own maintenance-wise, hence the reason why its so loved by taxi drivers here in malacca
prempenang
post Mar 4 2011, 11:15 PM

138 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Mar 2 2011, 11:14 PM)
i'm surprised by so many negative comments on the W124s reliability...my dad had one many years ago...E280 or 300...i forgot...was very very reliable and safe..once we were on the highway and one of the rear tyres burst...the only thing we noted was an odd sound...car still cruising smoothly....its as many people said...over engineered at that time...and its by far one of the cheaper mercs to own maintenance-wise, hence the reason why its so loved by taxi drivers here in malacca
this car is even better than getting the vios or forteh
skylinelover
post Mar 5 2011, 12:49 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

haha german old technology > perdana/vios/city/forte any day laugh.gif rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Mar 5 2011, 12:50 AM
arsenwagon
post Mar 5 2011, 06:30 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

to me young guy 318i e36 looks better..... e36 look is timeless... hard to believe it costs only 30-40k.
phas3r
post Mar 5 2011, 08:38 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 5 2011, 06:30 AM)
to me young guy 318i e36 looks better..... e36 look is timeless...  hard to believe it costs only 30-40k.
agree, 328i is even better. e36 are like 25-30k now.
arsenwagon
post Mar 5 2011, 09:54 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

but 328i i heard got more electronics ? 318i is like the most "mechanical" 1 among e36 rite?
phas3r
post Mar 5 2011, 03:57 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 5 2011, 09:54 AM)
but 328i i heard got more electronics ? 318i is like the most "mechanical" 1 among e36 rite?
i don't think there is much difference between 318 and 328 for e36, other than the engine.
two more cylinders = higher chances of a problem.

im.abin
post Jul 26 2011, 11:14 AM

w124 +1jz vvti any1?

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0191sec    1.05    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:21 PM