Mercedes-Benz W124 still worth it?, Worth it as a first car for fresh grad?

phas3r
post Jul 10 2008, 11:00 PM

1,206 posts

W124 is produced from 1985 till 1995... for its age, it looks pretty modern. its one of the most reliable merc ever build and yes it is over engineered...for year 1994-95 it is given a facelift where ppl called masterpiece version.. although many older ones were converted to this MP
back in the 90s W124 didn't cost 300k, the price of them in 1995 is:
E200 = rm225k
E220 = RM245k
E280 = RM267k
but now the 2nd hand price are all around 40k..
some of uni mate drive it .. full tank rm200 for now..

W123 is also a tank... if u want something less common just drive an old continental cars la... all students now only drive myvi viva kancil saga, all common wan tongue.gif but maintainance la prob

This post has been edited by phas3r: Jul 10 2008, 11:01 PM
phas3r
post Nov 5 2008, 12:57 AM

1,206 posts

to those who are unsure how W124 looks like, its basically an E class, called 200/230/260/300E from 85-92 and called E220 etc 93-95

facelift 93-95/masterpiece

the nice coupe version
phas3r
post Nov 5 2008, 06:48 PM

1,206 posts

askar_lcy good to see many german fans out there, me still student, if got chance to change my car i definitely go for old german cars, their driving experience is diff than protons or jap cars i agree, in terms of maintainance just keep extra 15k in bank so that u dont feel the burden to maintain it.
so if say w124 cost 30k and then + 15k = 45k, thats still quite cheaper than myvi se and got prestige, comfort power and more rare etc

anyway if u said w140 it should be S not SL right ?
phas3r
post Sep 25 2010, 12:23 PM

1,206 posts

bmw e36 definitely much more sporty drive than 190e and w124. 328i is very good for spirited drives. only advantages for w124 is more rear space. e36 and 190e has terrible rear legroom
so you always bring family or friends at the back? are they tall? they appreciate comfort?
phas3r
post Mar 5 2011, 08:38 AM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 5 2011, 06:30 AM)
to me young guy 318i e36 looks better..... e36 look is timeless...  hard to believe it costs only 30-40k.
agree, 328i is even better. e36 are like 25-30k now.
phas3r
post Mar 5 2011, 03:57 PM

1,206 posts

QUOTE(arsenwagon @ Mar 5 2011, 09:54 AM)
but 328i i heard got more electronics ? 318i is like the most "mechanical" 1 among e36 rite?
i don't think there is much difference between 318 and 328 for e36, other than the engine.
two more cylinders = higher chances of a problem.

0.0201sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:06 PM