107 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Sport RIM Talk, Sport Rim + Tyers

WindDragon
post Jan 12 2009, 08:00 PM

54 posts

nowadays economy not so good so have to budget!

anyone can recommend a few places to look for used sport rims? i am starting to think i should get used sports rims since my car 4 years old already.
TSLeVis_Jeans
post Jan 12 2009, 08:13 PM

511 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Jan 12 2009, 02:35 PM)
Get all 4 wheels finish-balanced (on-wheel balancing).
Many shops in KL don't seem to have the on-wheel balancers, which is REALLY bad sad.gif Did it in my hometown (Malacca)

Make sure the shop you go into has an on-wheel balancer, or they would usually con you by jacking the front of your car, putting it into gear and running the wheels with their hand on the fender/lower-arm/etc.

A finish-balancer would look something like this...

Ya... this on wheel balancers hard to found at KL. Because they use "saving cost on wheel tactic" to check balancing.
They direct jack up your car (4 wheel). Then do the balancing with pressing fuel.
As below:

Speed can up to 100KMh+++ then use their hand to feel the balancing on steering(not on wheel). Tactic same as the On-wheel balancer.
I send to them and done the balancing before, result is very good. smile.gif
Price same like on-wheel balancing price sad.gif

This post has been edited by LeVis_Jeans: Jan 12 2009, 09:20 PM
mindtricks
post Jan 12 2009, 09:07 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(WindDragon @ Jan 12 2009, 08:00 PM)
nowadays economy not so good so have to budget!

anyone can recommend a few places to look for used sport rims? i am starting to think i should get used sports rims since my car 4 years old already.
Rawang?

Lurk on other automotive forums, theres always someone selling off their rims.
mao2
post Jan 13 2009, 10:28 AM

118 posts

if ur looking to find it in shops, klang will do, but heard puchong seems to gain the popularity nowadays.. there is also good shops at sunway.. why not just take a look, round2 abit.. sure u gonna find sumthing nice rim with good price..

its good to look in forum too.. but people tend to sell of their wheels much higher considering on how long they've use them.. once a used wheels the price will become 1/2.. but depend on izzit from japan or not.. japan wheels hard to get 1/2 price even used.. hehe.. my 2cent
SUSsoyaben86
post Jan 13 2009, 10:50 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

ya...actually i wanna ask something noob..is like all car parts will have wear and tear..and then time to change..for sport rim..do they have some time frame for the lifespan??maybe every 5 or 6 years those rim are consider as not safe to be use??anything like that apply to rim??
GoldenHawk
post Jan 13 2009, 01:15 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:50 AM)
ya...actually i wanna ask something noob..is like all car parts will have wear and tear..and then time to change..for sport rim..do they have some time frame for the lifespan??maybe every 5 or 6 years those rim are consider as not safe to be use??anything like that apply to rim??

As long as you don't decide to drive on your bare rims ( laugh.gif ), I don't think so smile.gif
Depends on how much damage you accumulate over time though. If you're fond of running through massive pot-holes, your rims will 'tell' you it's time to retire them laugh.gif
mao2
post Jan 13 2009, 01:47 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Jan 13 2009, 01:15 PM)
As long as you don't decide to drive on your bare rims ( laugh.gif ), I don't think so smile.gif
Depends on how much damage you accumulate over time though. If you're fond of running through massive pot-holes, your rims will 'tell' you it's time to retire them laugh.gif
yup.. agreed.. also if ur using low profiled tyre and big holes.. and fond to go in pot-holes.. then the rims will hav a short life span.. but it'll tell u when the right time to change.. usually people change due to dents, crack that is beyond repair.. coz it will endanger ur life.. ehehehe
SUSsoyaben86
post Jan 14 2009, 11:16 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

well..i've a fren told me that different material got different lifespan..like magnisum(dunno spelling) lifespan is always shorter then alloy rim..also in alloy rim..we got to see is forge rim or cast rim..so by all means..mostly all those rim at chopshop can say is already expired or almost expired..he also claim that if those ppl really know how to see rim..they can know when the rim is produce out..just like tire..

anyone comfirm this??
zilole9729
post Jan 14 2009, 12:46 PM

Validating
152 posts

about the materails used its true. alloy rims r good enuf but i believe there are better ones. cant remember what they use. n i dont know bout looking at rims n telling when were they produced.

whats the difference btw forge rims and cast rims?
WindDragon
post Jan 14 2009, 01:09 PM

54 posts

those alloy used to make rims take hundreds of years to degrade la. if got no physical damage to it (dents and cracks), the rims can use for years and still perform like new.
ah liew
post Jan 14 2009, 10:16 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

before we think of the lifespan of the rim, i believe we "itchy butt" & change rim already laugh.gif

beside bengkok rim i don't think there is an expiry unless if u consider the rim is out of trend as expiry lar... tongue.gif

xcrue
post Jan 14 2009, 10:25 PM

xcrue
2,150 posts

SUSsoyaben86
post Jan 15 2009, 10:43 AM

blekkkkkkk...
2,886 posts

QUOTE(zilole9729 @ Jan 14 2009, 12:46 PM)
about the materails used its true. alloy rims r good enuf but i believe there are better ones. cant remember what they use. n i dont know bout looking at rims n telling when were they produced.

whats the difference btw forge rims and cast rims?
umm..i can't really remember is forge or cast rims..the different is the process of them make the rim..some are compress by those machine when the alloy is still soft..and if the machine doesn't really apply much pressure on the compressor..then that rim will become not that strong..cause the molekul(dunno spelling) of air is still much more inside..not enought solid..

Added on January 15, 2009, 10:45 am
QUOTE(WindDragon @ Jan 14 2009, 01:09 PM)
those alloy used to make rims take hundreds of years to degrade la. if got no physical damage to it (dents and cracks), the rims can use for years and still perform like new.
not really true..cause if ppl that really knows how to see a rim..they will rather get those newer make model..to degrade an alloy rim is damn long..but do drgrade the performace of that alloy rim maybe takes a few days..depend how the driver drive the car..

This post has been edited by soyaben86: Jan 15 2009, 10:45 AM
3AngLeCake
post Jan 15 2009, 12:03 PM

43 posts

hi all,

New car user here.. icon_question.gif
i juz planning to buy 14" white rim for my viva..
can anyone help me by suggesting the best brand, price and location to buy..

i prefer around shah alam, pj, klang and seremban..and it will be helpful if any of u know where can get the best price.

TQ! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
mao2
post Jan 15 2009, 07:26 PM

118 posts

klang area hav lots of shop... go there browse all the sop.. u'll find one with good price
point blanc
post Jan 15 2009, 10:09 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(mao2 @ Jan 15 2009, 08:26 PM)
klang area hav lots of shop... go there browse all the sop.. u'll find one with good price
i always hear my colleagues/forum/friends... mentioned that klang
have a lot of rim shops but where exactly? do they have really big shops
with rims on display? or it's just another tyre shop?
i'm really confuse and lost. all i can confirm is that rawang town do
have tyre shops with a display!
can i know which road in klang the mentioned shops are?

thanks,

regards,
Point blanc
mao2
post Jan 16 2009, 01:47 AM

118 posts

hmm.. sure got lots of tyre shop.. but display rims alot more than tyre.. hehe.. got i shop even got 4 floors and 2 off the floors filled with rims.. thats kedai papan.. there are shop all along Jalan Kapar.. and few good shops at Batu Belah..
zilole9729
post Jan 16 2009, 11:49 AM

Validating
152 posts

QUOTE(3AngLeCake @ Jan 15 2009, 12:03 PM)
hi all,

New car user here.. icon_question.gif 
i juz planning to buy 14" white rim for my viva..
can anyone help me by suggesting the best brand, price and location to buy..

i prefer around shah alam, pj, klang and seremban..and it will be helpful if any of u know where can get the best price.

TQ!  rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif   rclxms.gif
lol..y seremban? i from seremban oso, i alwiz go to klang to look for rims. dont waste ur time here.

Added on January 16, 2009, 11:51 amcan someone here explain what is offset n how it helps to avoid the tires knock when u use larger rims?

This post has been edited by zilole9729: Jan 16 2009, 11:51 AM
3AngLeCake
post Jan 16 2009, 03:48 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(zilole9729 @ Jan 16 2009, 11:49 AM)
lol..y seremban? i from seremban oso, i alwiz go to klang to look for rims. dont waste ur time here.

Added on January 16, 2009, 11:51 amcan someone here explain what is offset n how it helps to avoid the tires knock when u use larger rims?
coz my hometown in seremban,

i asking juz in case any1 from here know where can get a good price in seremban that all ma... tongue.gif

btw thanks guys i'm looking forward to go to dat kedai papan one! rclxms.gif
mao2
post Jan 16 2009, 07:33 PM

118 posts

huhu.. kedai papan ar.. better not to expect much.. coz lately heard lots of complains from forumer saying the layanan is buruk nowadays.. they will not entertain u the way want.. and if u ask for discount easily say "don want ok lorh.. lots other people want buy.."
there maybe u can browse2 buying is another story.. try batu belah area.. H20 shop or jooi seng.. heard from alot forumer that they are better and give u good price either rims or tyre

107 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:12 PM