118 posts

if OZ.. OZ superlegera is lighter then ultralegera
mao2
post Jan 11 2009, 10:54 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(Aggronax @ Jan 10 2009, 12:25 PM)
erk.... so to ask, lighter weight usually how much weight?

Example,
if 17"?
17" usually weighting around 7 to 8 kilos.. and can be heavier..
but there are some 17" weighting 5 kilos only.. damn light.. smaller rim are usually lighter

QUOTE(WindDragon @ Jan 11 2009, 06:12 PM)
bros, i wan to change my stock Waja 15" rims to something lighter. Anyone got a good recommendation for lightweight 15" rims? my budget below RM1000... hehe
under 1k.. hmm.. lenso would be appropriate.. but my guess is all 15" are lighter than stock rims.. and cost around 1k..
u can go to shop ask.. but 1k u can buy taiwan also.. light and cheap..
mao2
post Jan 11 2009, 11:17 PM

118 posts

hoo.. is h20 is where at klang? batu belah area izzit?
mao2
post Jan 11 2009, 11:21 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(wackyflik @ Jan 10 2009, 07:28 PM)
Anyone knows what is the model of this rim? it is from enkei. i tried to search details about this rim especially its weight.
i think this is one is not original (correct me if i'm wrong).. maybe taiwan made..
maybe this is the real thing
http://www.enkei.co.jp/jp/products/wheels/...line/index.html hmm.gif

mao2
post Jan 11 2009, 11:28 PM

118 posts

http://forums.audiworld.com/tt/msgs/1667362.phtml
www.wheelweights.net
can check here for alot off wheel weight.. lbs to kg = lbs divide 2.2
but i think there's alot more latest model don't have here.. but quite helpfull

This post has been edited by mao2: Jan 11 2009, 11:29 PM
mao2
post Jan 11 2009, 11:30 PM

118 posts

huhuhu.. JRD, BSA not to forget titanracing.. these brand of wheel all heavy

Added on January 11, 2009, 11:31 pmyup they do.. FC wise, performance, handling.. if ur going that path.. get some light weight 17" wheels.. coz that way ur not burning a hole in ur pocket.. and ur car can go fast as usng stock wheels

This post has been edited by mao2: Jan 11 2009, 11:31 PM
mao2
post Jan 12 2009, 07:40 PM

118 posts

but i think 16" is much better than 17" for FC.. coz the bigger the rim the bigger the hole made in ur pocket.. many says that using 17" is for cosmetic purpose.. but i dont agree.. hehehe..
mao2
post Jan 13 2009, 10:28 AM

118 posts

if ur looking to find it in shops, klang will do, but heard puchong seems to gain the popularity nowadays.. there is also good shops at sunway.. why not just take a look, round2 abit.. sure u gonna find sumthing nice rim with good price..

its good to look in forum too.. but people tend to sell of their wheels much higher considering on how long they've use them.. once a used wheels the price will become 1/2.. but depend on izzit from japan or not.. japan wheels hard to get 1/2 price even used.. hehe.. my 2cent
mao2
post Jan 13 2009, 01:47 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(GoldenHawk @ Jan 13 2009, 01:15 PM)
As long as you don't decide to drive on your bare rims ( laugh.gif ), I don't think so smile.gif
Depends on how much damage you accumulate over time though. If you're fond of running through massive pot-holes, your rims will 'tell' you it's time to retire them laugh.gif
yup.. agreed.. also if ur using low profiled tyre and big holes.. and fond to go in pot-holes.. then the rims will hav a short life span.. but it'll tell u when the right time to change.. usually people change due to dents, crack that is beyond repair.. coz it will endanger ur life.. ehehehe
mao2
post Jan 15 2009, 07:26 PM

118 posts

klang area hav lots of shop... go there browse all the sop.. u'll find one with good price
mao2
post Jan 16 2009, 01:47 AM

118 posts

hmm.. sure got lots of tyre shop.. but display rims alot more than tyre.. hehe.. got i shop even got 4 floors and 2 off the floors filled with rims.. thats kedai papan.. there are shop all along Jalan Kapar.. and few good shops at Batu Belah..
mao2
post Jan 16 2009, 07:33 PM

118 posts

huhu.. kedai papan ar.. better not to expect much.. coz lately heard lots of complains from forumer saying the layanan is buruk nowadays.. they will not entertain u the way want.. and if u ask for discount easily say "don want ok lorh.. lots other people want buy.."
there maybe u can browse2 buying is another story.. try batu belah area.. H20 shop or jooi seng.. heard from alot forumer that they are better and give u good price either rims or tyre
mao2
post Jan 17 2009, 08:38 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(zilole9729 @ Jan 17 2009, 07:28 AM)
from seremban? then i invite u to our LYN Seremban gang..

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/836923

if u really want in seremban, i will recommend u 2 shops. 1 is in senawang. the biggest tyre shop in seremban. u know where? the dunlop tyre shop. the other one is in rahang. i think its michelin. if i am not mistaken, its on the right hand side of the road going into town, not Jalan Zaaba. the other one. i recommend u these shops cuz they have a lot of choice. others all very few. or i know another shop where i know the owner cuz i do my alignment thr all the time. pm me if u want la. maybe can try talk to the owner n get u a good price. but this shop is in lukut.

ppl say price is cheap in klang but for me its the same cuz when u go to the papan shop, they will quote the rims for a cheap price, then u must add this n that. in seremban n other places i checked, they quote u one price for everything u need from rims, tyres, wheel nut n all that la. but this is juz based on my experience.

Added on January 17, 2009, 7:28 ami was asking on offset. what is it?
Yup agree.. kedai papan nowadays having bad reputation.. the tell u good price of the rims.. but when u hav decided to fix to ur car then while doing their job.. they tell u need these.. need that.. bolt oso need change.. these so called hidden charges is their point to bigger the hole in ur pocket.. in klang there is a shop like this also.. its kazuto garage..

here all u need to know about ur wheels/rims:

Name Of Wheel Parts
Wheel Size
Offset
The offset indicates the distance from the center of the rim to the attaching disk part (unit:m/m). As seen in the attached drawing, the offset is indicated by "+" when the fitting surface extends beyond the central line of the rim and "-" when it is falls within. Caution is required to prevent the tire from coming into contact with the fender of the vehicle or the brake caliper if the offsets are very different.

PCD
The number of bolts used to install a wheel varies from 4 to 6 depending on the vehicle model (except for some vehicle type), thus the wheel to be installed should also possess the same number of hub bolt holes. P.C.D. stands for pitch circle diameter, and indicates the diameter of the circle in mm connecting the center of each hub bolt. Since the P.C.D. also varies according to the vehicle model, make sure a suitable one is selected.

Clearance
Fender clearance indicates the marginal space between the tire and the fender or body of the vehicle. Inner clearance indicates the distance between the tire and wheel and the body part which is positioned closest to the tire and wheel. Dimensions for both right and left clearance should be measured on a level surface, and the smaller value is then considered as the inner clearance.

Tyre Size
1-Tire width (mm or inch)
2-Aspect ratio
3-Radial construction
4-Rim diameter
5-Load index
6-Speed symbol
7-Tire outer diameter (inch)
8-Ply rating

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Safety Standard

Japan Light Alloy Wheel (JWL) Standard for Passenger Cars. The Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, and Transport requires that aluminum wheels for passenger cars (with 3, 5, and 7-number plates) sold in Japan bear the JWL mark. The JWL mark can be displayed on wheels that have passed the standard through a self-certification system.

Similarly, the ministry requires aluminum wheels for trucks and buses (with 1 and 4-number plates) to bear the JWL-T mark. Even if a vehicle is classified as a passenger car (with 3, 5, or 7-number plates), if it comes with LT tires as standard equipment due to its GVW (gross vehicle weight), it must use aluminum wheels bearing the JWL-T mark.

A third-party entity called the Vehicle Inspection Association verifies whether a product meets the requirements prescribed by the JWL or JWL-T standard. This association permits a product to bear a VIA mark if it passes rigorous quality and strength verification tests conducted in accordance with the JWL or JWL-T standard.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

mao2
post Jan 18 2009, 08:32 PM

118 posts

hehe.. no problem.. lots off other info like these out there.. try google for it.. sure u can find
mao2
post Jan 18 2009, 09:10 PM

118 posts

by using 17".. ur car will gain extra height due to the stock spring setting that design for comfort and good handling with stock wheels.. if ur planning to change 17" without lowering ur car.. u might have abit handling problem.. unless ur not the kind like to drive fast in corners.. anout tyre.. what car are u using? coz usually choosing the rite series of tyre to fit arch gap between ur rims and ur car body.. 17" usually 45 series for comfort and safty of ur rims.. but 40 series also can.. but u have to be careful onda road coz pot holes sure gonna make ur rims suffer from dents and worst cracks..
mao2
post Jan 19 2009, 09:55 PM

118 posts

i'm not sure.. maybe hav and maybe not.. coz those safety standard sometimes even wheel makers from other country also sent to japan to verify and inspect so that they also get certification of VIA and JWL.. but i'm guessing famous wheel brands from euro like OZ maybe hav their own standards also..
mao2
post Jan 19 2009, 11:49 PM

118 posts

huhuhu.. good stuff.. but usually the hardness of a rims is equal to its weight.. the harder and tougher the rims the heavier they get.. thats when VIA tells u how many weight/rim it can carry.. so i think local made are rims are heavy due to its hardness to withstand our roads (lots of potholes & uneven surface).. but people said local BHL have few of light weight rims..
mao2
post Jan 20 2009, 02:02 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 20 2009, 12:30 AM)
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

are u serious???????????
i take it u've never heard of JRD???
n i take it uve never experienced Jap rims???

shakehead.gif
rim weight has NOTHING to do with rim strength watsoever. its the metal used and the forging/casting process that gives it its weight and strength.
yeah.. i know JRD.. i've experience Jap rims, even Italian or German.. yes there ar many method on making a rim.. either forged, semi-forged, casting, those type using 2 piece, 3 piece, even 4 piece.. yes my experience is not that wide.. still learning also can make mistake.. but its not wrong if i we're to say certain hardness have their own weight.. i should put 'correct me if i'm wrong' next time..
anyway thanx for correcting me.. hehe no hard feelings.. icon_rolleyes.gif
mao2
post Jan 21 2009, 08:22 PM

118 posts

mayb some good tyre shop would have.. or maybe half-cut
mao2
post Jan 21 2009, 08:41 PM

118 posts

fender-roll or take out the mud-guard