Sport RIM Talk, Sport Rim + Tyers

GoldenHawk
post Jan 12 2009, 02:35 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(apeq @ Jan 12 2009, 12:08 AM)
hello guys..
i m currently using 17inch lenso ls2 rims with falken 522 205/40/17..
the problems now my wheel keep on shaking when speeding above 80kmh..
i've done so many times normal balancing and once with manual on wheel balancing (didnt use any machine) and my problem keep on happen..
so now i m searching a really2 good tyre shop that can done a nice job on wheel balancing in ampang/setapak/wgsa maju area..
any ideas from sifu2?
really need help now..

Get all 4 wheels finish-balanced (on-wheel balancing).
Many shops in KL don't seem to have the on-wheel balancers, which is REALLY bad sad.gif Did it in my hometown (Malacca)

Make sure the shop you go into has an on-wheel balancer, or they would usually con you by jacking the front of your car, putting it into gear and running the wheels with their hand on the fender/lower-arm/etc.

A finish-balancer would look something like this...

This post has been edited by GoldenHawk: Jan 12 2009, 02:36 PM
GoldenHawk
post Jan 13 2009, 01:15 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(soyaben86 @ Jan 13 2009, 10:50 AM)
ya...actually i wanna ask something noob..is like all car parts will have wear and tear..and then time to change..for sport rim..do they have some time frame for the lifespan??maybe every 5 or 6 years those rim are consider as not safe to be use??anything like that apply to rim??

As long as you don't decide to drive on your bare rims ( laugh.gif ), I don't think so smile.gif
Depends on how much damage you accumulate over time though. If you're fond of running through massive pot-holes, your rims will 'tell' you it's time to retire them laugh.gif
GoldenHawk
post Apr 3 2013, 10:30 AM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Apr 2 2013, 07:24 PM)
hi guys, just change my car rim recently then after few days found out one of the rim is leaking the air..

anyhow sent back and they fixed it, the workshop worker also not sure how they fix the rim as they sent back to another shop..

normally does this kind of rim leak after fixed does it still reliable to be use?
I'd recommend getting another set from the guy. Repairs usually mean reshaping the rim back to it's original shape and you might loose a bit of durability.
GoldenHawk
post Apr 3 2013, 04:22 PM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(Leon|| @ Apr 3 2013, 03:34 PM)
hmm, getting another set from the shop they will get me to adding money..
I'll try to discuss with them and see how..

usually the rims durability should able to last for century right? by reshaping as you mentioned does affect a lot?
That's a bit of a grey-area. Theoretically, it should make almost no difference but the fact you rims have been whacked back to shape might effect the lifespan a little. A century would be still possible, discounting driving style and accidents smile.gif
GoldenHawk
post Apr 15 2013, 10:58 AM

The Forgotten
1,017 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Apr 14 2013, 11:20 PM)
In that case.. when looking at a rim or set of rims how do we find out if the rim has been reshaped ?
That's though, especially if the touch-up work is very good. Unless you have the specs of the original rim & walk around with a caliper, you might have trouble spotting them off the shelf. Reshaped rims usually have some metal skimmed off so the dimensions will vary slightly. Other than that, you'll have to scrutinize it for tell-tale signs of rework.

0.0203sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:39 AM