Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout

Chinchillas
post Oct 6 2008, 09:29 PM

Don't Forget To Eat Hay!
1,380 posts

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Oct 3 2008, 04:39 PM)
Erm, that would be Boo, she belongs to me. My bro took it from my friendster.. lolx.

Here are some photos of her.
[attachmentid=614534][attachmentid=614537]

And this is the guy Ham who hurt himself. The picture is not so clear, even with a proper camera. The description of the injury is fur intact, no bite marks, blue black mark, swollen, happens over night, hedgehog limping and/or draging his injured leg, restless during the day.
[attachmentid=614539][attachmentid=614540]
Very nice photos... drool.gif How old is your HG?
empty_reg
post Oct 6 2008, 10:29 PM

249 posts

Gaigene: Eggs are fine as protein source. But hedgehog crave for mealworms. drool.gif Can try cricket as well, but it will be difficult and cruel. Gotta break their hind legs for the hedgehogs.

K.s: You can give hedgehogs unseasoned chicken meat or turkey meat or hard boiled eggs as protein source. I give either chicken breast meat or hard boiled egg once every week. Only a small portion. Like 1/4 of their main meal.

Hamster food is not suitable for hedgehog. Most people won't recommend it. (I'm not sure, but I don't think the hedgehog will want to eat it as well, hedgehog are carnivores)Bad for their health. Beware of nuts too. Shouldn't feed them any nuts. Later stuck at their upper jaw, then they can't bite anymore.

Chinchillas: Thanks for the comment. You too have many cute chins. Too bad I can't keep any. No air cond. After botak. Haha. She is only 4 months old.

Many shops stopped selling RC food products. Most say too expensive, one vet told me many people complaint that pets getting liver problem on RC. Now mixing RC with Science Plan. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by empty_reg: Oct 6 2008, 10:37 PM
s0ts0tdandelii0n
post Oct 6 2008, 11:05 PM

Safe Trader
864 posts

saw sum1 sellin tis wub.gif
seem cute
empty_reg
post Oct 7 2008, 12:53 AM

249 posts

Yeap very cute, especially when roled up into a ball.. Haha.

Doctors: No hamsters or exotic pets for young kids
Just to share. Decided to post it here, cause someone ask if small kids play with it will harm them or not.

The poking part > Hedgehogs can be dangerous because their quills can penetrate skin and have been known to spread a bacteria germ that can cause fever, stomach pain and a rash, the report said.
Full info Here
muchan86
post Oct 7 2008, 02:01 AM

1,523 posts

^ its true that no exotic pets for young kids... not even a hamster if they cant take care of it or even know how to take care of them rather than just feed them alone smile.gif

bout the quills.. some may have same experienced the same with me as whenever I played with my pokimon, my hand tend to feel itchy cuz of his quill.. I'm not sure if it dangerous cuz I always wash my hand before n after playing with my pets using antiseptic washing soap and so far I had nothing serious happen cos of my pets smile.gif
junshern222
post Oct 7 2008, 02:34 AM

235 posts

anyone selling hedgehogs here?
empty_reg
post Oct 7 2008, 08:02 AM

249 posts

^ some are selling in garagesales.

Yeap, I used to feel itchy too when being poked by the quills. But not anymore, maybe immune already. Recently kena poke everytime, need to wrestle with him to feed medicine. *swt
s0ts0tdandelii0n
post Oct 7 2008, 10:19 AM

Safe Trader
864 posts

woot sound interesting drool.gif
tengkubasri
post Oct 8 2008, 03:17 AM

just bough a new hedgehog last day... yeah.. just 2 months old... but im still afraid to touch it, kekeke...
muchan86
post Oct 8 2008, 03:52 AM

1,523 posts

u mean just bought hedgie or this is not ur 1st hedgie?
well.. 2 months old is a good age to be separate from mom and also its a good age to be bond with new owner smile.gif

2 months old pokimon's quill is still a lil bit soft although they can still poke u thou laugh.gif but its good to handle them more to let them get used to ur handling n ur smell... if u still scare to touch it, prepare a cloths of urs for it to let it smell n get used to ur smell, so by the time u handle it. she/he knows its u

Happy exploring and welcome to the family smile.gif
tengkubasri
post Oct 8 2008, 01:21 PM

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Oct 8 2008, 03:52 AM)
u mean just bought hedgie or this is not ur 1st hedgie?
well.. 2 months old is a good age to be separate from mom and also its a good age to be bond with new owner smile.gif

2 months old pokimon's quill is still a lil bit soft although they can still poke u thou laugh.gif but its good to handle them more to let them get used to ur handling n ur smell... if u still scare to touch it, prepare a cloths of urs for it to let it smell n get used to ur smell, so by the time u handle it. she/he knows its u

Happy exploring and welcome to the family smile.gif
sory for double meaning... actually it's my first hedgie... thumbup.gif
just now, it bite my finger... sweat.gif sweat.gif normal thing or not??ekekekek... icon_question.gif Attached Image
Hiyuki
post Oct 8 2008, 01:40 PM

74 posts

tengkubasri: haha.. cutiee hedgie u got there. it's normal the hedgie will bite ur finger at first, coz it's still not familiar with u. Hedgie will always sniff sniff n bite bite new things it come across to, like a way to test out wat is harmful or harmless. XD

follow wat muchan said n i guess ur hedgie will no more bitey bitey. just need to put ur old t-shirt (or 1 u wanna sacrifice n wear it for few days) into ur hedgie cage. that shud work well enuf.

or another idea(last choice)...if u can tahan the bite, put ur hand for the hedgie to bite until it is satisfied biting. (hold still ur hand n dun fling or hurt the hedgie yeah). that's another painful way to bond with ur hedgie... <-- thats wat i did la... coz the 1st method failed for my wild hedgie.

empty_reg
post Oct 8 2008, 02:44 PM

249 posts

Erm, hedgehogs tend to lick first before biting. So if you're scare of the biting, you can offer it your fist or put your finger high enough. it'll be able lick and smell, but its mouth won't be able to bite. They can't stand like hamster or other rodents.
livingmonolith
post Oct 8 2008, 03:45 PM

821 posts

mine still occasionally bite my fingers when i bring them out of the cage. but they usually self-annoint after that, so i guess they're just getting back the familiar smell of the owners. my hedgehogs usually will lick and bite after shower, not just my finger but the pieces of cloth, my own clothes, my foot even, so it's pretty normal, don't worry.
muchan86
post Oct 8 2008, 03:54 PM

1,523 posts

tengkubasri: haha.. cutiee hedgie u got there. it's normal the hedgie will bite ur finger at first, coz it's still not familiar with u. Hedgie will always sniff sniff n bite bite new things it come across to, like a way to test out wat is harmful or harmless. XD

mine still occasionally bite my fingers when i bring them out of the cage. but they usually self-annoint after that, so i guess they're just getting back the familiar smell of the owners. my hedgehogs usually will lick and bite after shower, not just my finger but the pieces of cloth, my own clothes, my foot even, so it's pretty normal, don't worry.

Mine till now never bite me even once tongue.gif
Since the 1st day I got him also he din bite me biggrin.gif
What can I suggest already written earlier... give him at least 2 days for him to know ur smell n settle him self with his new home... he bite u maybe cuz he scared of the new environment and he thinks u mean dangerous to him thats y he bite to protect him self smile.gif
tengkubasri
post Oct 8 2008, 06:06 PM

QUOTE(Hiyuki @ Oct 8 2008, 01:40 PM)

follow wat muchan said n i guess ur hedgie will no more bitey bitey. just need to put ur old t-shirt (or 1 u wanna sacrifice n wear it for few days) into ur hedgie cage. that shud work well enuf.

or another idea(last choice)...if u can tahan the bite, put ur hand for the hedgie to bite until it is satisfied biting. (hold still ur hand n dun fling or hurt the hedgie yeah). that's another painful way to bond with ur hedgie... <-- thats wat i did la... coz the 1st method failed for my wild hedgie.
it try to lick my finger first, a few second after that it start biting my finger... im just afraid if it can caused infection or not... i think it maybe caused by it smell food at my finger hmm.gif
maybe it afraid of me too... tongue.gif
the bite can make my finger or not?if i let hedgie to bite continously?? hmm.gif

my frenz suggest me to put my boxer... rclxub.gif

QUOTE(empty_reg @ Oct 8 2008, 02:44 PM)
Erm, hedgehogs tend to lick first before biting. So if you're scare of the biting, you can offer it your fist or put your finger high enough. it'll be able lick and smell, but its mouth won't be able to bite. They can't stand like hamster or other rodents.
i try this skill to... it can lick only, cant bite...hehehe... but mine hedgie too active last nite, trying to get out from it's new home... cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Oct 8 2008, 03:54 PM)
Mine till now never bite me even once tongue.gif
Since the 1st day I got him also he din bite me biggrin.gif
What can I suggest already written earlier... give him at least 2 days for him to know ur smell n settle him self with his new home... he bite u maybe cuz he scared of the new environment and he thinks u mean dangerous to him thats y he bite to protect him self smile.gif
waaaa, nice hedgie, never bite it's owner... love that...

tq guys 4 all da information... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
u all rocksss.... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by tengkubasri: Oct 8 2008, 06:07 PM
babymoli
post Oct 8 2008, 08:33 PM

nendo addict
1,845 posts

Try not handling your pokimon when you have touch or hold something that is very strong smell such as shampoo, lotion etc. They will tend to nip when your hand has strong smell.
mamata
post Oct 9 2008, 12:46 AM

better get laid early then regret later on
699 posts

btw never handfeeed them with mealies
better put it with their food to prevent them from biting u all
empty_reg
post Oct 9 2008, 06:17 AM

249 posts

^
Sometimes depends on how smart the pokimon is. One of mine will miss the worm and chomp down at my fingers the other is smart enough and never miss till date.
-.-"
Tim_88DN
post Oct 9 2008, 02:14 PM

99 posts

I juz happen to drop by this thread.I kinda like the hedgies from the first moment i lay my eyes on the pics....I juz want to ask some questions if you'll don't mind answering:

1. Is rearing hedgies very costly as I wanted to economise on certain things....if i want to rear them, what are the essentials needed for rearing them...

2. who are the sellers of hedgies that i can refer to in KL and Sabah?

3. are they compatible with staying together with other animals since i have dogs in the house? Is there a way to make those hedgies feel comfortable with their extended siblings aka dogs or other pets?

4. can recommend any breeds of hedgies that are good or are they limited?

I think that's all for now....plz PM me the answers.....if those questions are already being asked, then i apologize and ask if they can be answered.

Thanks and hope for swift replies. biggrin.gif

127 Pages « < 36 37 38 39 40 > » Top

0.0275sec    1.11    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:32 PM