Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout
silverquest_87
Aug 1 2008, 12:39 AM
hey.thanx for sharing. i just started digging info in old hedgehog thread and just realise how hedgie can be fussy on their foods. right now just worried bout their food lah. for now, just knowing the good brand for hedgie(orijen, Royal Canin or maybe Acana). i wonder how long can a 2.5kg pack last? if 2.5kg can last for a month (RM50-RM60), then it would be gud lah.(just ngam ngam lah with my pocket money)
omisa
Aug 1 2008, 12:47 AM
i think 2.5 will be ngam for 1month. (mebi extra kot) hehehe.
haiya, where the others r? lets hear their opinion.
bonai
Aug 1 2008, 12:49 AM
feed hedgies like 1 table spoon or a bit more per day only.. 2.5kg can last quite long..
omisa
Aug 1 2008, 01:14 AM
hehehe. thanx for the info bro bonai.  silverquest, now u can kire-kire the food budget.
livingmonolith
Aug 1 2008, 01:47 AM
personally i'm mixing three types of RC catfood, babycat 34, kitten 34 and fit 32. i got the large pack of babycat 34 since both my hedgehogs take this one without hesitation, my S&P hedgehog usually throws all the fit 32 out of his bowl although occasionally he finishes up everything. the other one eats anything i put into the bowl.
even the 400g pack will be able to last for more than a month, based on my experience, but like bonai, i feed them once a day, approximately 1.5 tablespoon (mixture of all three types of catfood) everytime.
and feeding them mealworms twice a week, about 5-6 per time.
hope it helps.
babymoli
Aug 1 2008, 10:52 AM
Lolx... 2.5kg is way too much for a pokimon. 400g pack already can last me for a month for my pokimon. In fact, if you do not have more pokimons to feed, the kibbles will not be fresh if you keep it too long after open.Just get 400g pack already can.
silverquest_87
Aug 1 2008, 12:06 PM
hey guys! really appreciate your help!i have no idea the food consumption for a hedgehog before. if a 400g pack would last for one month. then it should be great for me. no need to worry bout their food anymore lah.
may i know. Are all RC products are available with 400g packs?i'm thinking of mixing RC with Orijen. if both RC & Orijen do have 400g(small pack), then it should be really great!
Thanks guys!
omisa
Aug 1 2008, 12:23 PM
i guess so. 400 grams pack kinda standard packaging lor. those brands should have. but do check with ur pet store. just in case.
silverquest_87
Aug 1 2008, 12:27 PM
hey omisa.if 400g is standard packaging, it should be a great news la to me.haha.
where do you always get the hedgie food? Is it available at Pets Wonderland at Mid Valley?
omisa
Aug 1 2008, 12:43 PM
since im currently in Cyberjaya, the nearest shop that i knew is in Sri Kembangan. just a normal pet shop. by that,i believe Pets Wonderland should have it.
babymoli
Aug 1 2008, 12:54 PM
We can't get 400g packaging for Orijen here. Smallest pack will be the 2.5kg for Orijen. As for RC, you should have no problem on locating it in most of the petshop.
omisa
Aug 1 2008, 01:03 PM
ooo i see. tot orijen same as RC. never try orijen b4. hehe. but thanx for sharing the info.
livingmonolith
Aug 1 2008, 02:31 PM
i think you'll need to go around to search for 400g RC packs. i went to more than half a dozen shops but couldn't find any RC34 (babycat & kitten) last month, not sure if it's because the stock hasn't arrived or what. took me 2 weeks of searching before i finally bought the 2.5kg pack, had to since i was running out of catfood then. if you happen to buy the 2.5kg pack (like me), make sure it's properly sealed to keep it fresh. my hedgehogs won't eat the kibbles after it's left out for one night, smart fellas...
silverquest_87
Aug 1 2008, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Aug 1 2008, 02:31 PM) i think you'll need to go around to search for 400g RC packs. i went to more than half a dozen shops but couldn't find any RC34 (babycat & kitten) last month, not sure if it's because the stock hasn't arrived or what. took me 2 weeks of searching before i finally bought the 2.5kg pack, had to since i was running out of catfood then. if you happen to buy the 2.5kg pack (like me), make sure it's properly sealed to keep it fresh. my hedgehogs won't eat the kibbles after it's left out for one night, smart fellas...  so RC34 is for babycat & kitten?or is it sold separately(RC34 babycat & RC34 kitten), which one is recommended for hedgie? Rc34 kitten rite? sorry lah for asking stupid question since i've no one else to ask except for friends at LYN here.
babymoli
Aug 1 2008, 03:03 PM
Both also can. Just that RC36 babycat is higher in fat compare to RC34 kitten. I started with babycat for my pokimon and later on intro RC34 kitten for him. But best if you can start with 2 different brands and mix it. Cause most pokimons stick to RC once they have tasted it. This post has been edited by babymoli: Aug 1 2008, 03:04 PM
silverquest_87
Aug 1 2008, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(babymoli @ Aug 1 2008, 03:03 PM) Both also can. Just that RC36 babycat is higher in fat compare to RC34 kitten. I started with babycat for my pokimon and later on intro RC34 kitten for him. But best if you can start with 2 different brands and mix it. Cause most pokimons stick to RC once they have tasted it.  thanks for the clarification. about the foods. that's what i'm planning to do.mixing 2 different brand. so the 1st brand is RC34 kitten. any suggestion for other brand?i'm try to look for the brand that sell small pack(e.g 400g).then easy to mix the food lowh. since orijen only get 2.5kg for the smallest pack, not suitable lah for me. coz only want to have a hedgie only. This post has been edited by silverquest_87: Aug 1 2008, 03:17 PM
livingmonolith
Aug 1 2008, 06:15 PM
personally i think 32 fit is more suitable for hedgehogs because of the lower fat content, but while one of mine eats anything i put in the bowl, the other one usually rather not eat if i feed 32 fit only, which is why i'm mixing up a few RCs now. but as long as they're doing their part and running in the wheels everynight i guess it's alright. perhaps it's because i fed it with the smaller kibbles (34 kitten & babycat) since young, the hedgehog doesn't enjoy the bigger kibbles of 32 fit.
omisa
Aug 1 2008, 06:33 PM
RC 32 fit. how much is the fat content in it? i tot all RC are quiet low in term of fat. currently using RC 36. protein is 36% and fat is 18%. if 32 is lower, might wanna change lor.
babymoli
Aug 1 2008, 08:13 PM
Actually the lowest should be the RC27 but the kibbles are quite big in size. For those owners who try to help their pokimons to keep fit, RC27 is good for it as the fat content is low. IIANM, the higher the number for RC, protein % is high and the fat % is high too.
silverquest_87
Aug 1 2008, 08:20 PM
is it RC27 suitable for all ages of hedgies?