Hedgehog Corner V5, My New Hideout
NiKKi3010
Jul 23 2008, 09:20 PM

Hello guys, you know yesterday I went to the Carrefour at Subang and upstairs they had a pet section where they had hamster, guinea pigs and also a hedgehog on display. I was so sad yet frustrated to discover that the poor little albino hedgehog was having very bad mite problems. It kept scratching and scratching and scratching itself until there was blood. And a very large area near its rear was bald as all the quills there had dropped. I felt so sad for it. And it's like no one is taking of it. So I took down the email that was displayed there and sent them an email. Sigh. I hope they do something about it.  I feel so sad for the hedgie.
XaVieRGizmo
Jul 23 2008, 09:20 PM

lol at repost, see above ^^
This post has been edited by XaVieRGizmo: Jul 23 2008, 09:20 PM
omisa
Jul 24 2008, 04:21 PM
hi. it almost 2 weeks already. from my research, all the info says its ok to change the bedding after 2weeks. btw, the smell is 'nice'. is it ok? does this mean i can touch the babies? or should i use cloth to handle them?
thahirah
Jul 24 2008, 05:37 PM

mmmm im panning to get my little bro a hedgehog where can i get them for a good price eh?
omisa
Jul 24 2008, 09:06 PM
u can always check at the garage sale. btw, how old is ur lil bro? does he has the knowledge to keep one? if u are not sure, u can check the 1st page of this thread.
vinvin2z
Jul 25 2008, 12:38 AM

normally ppl will get their first hedgie from shop or breeder though, therefore, a hedgie length around 1 dollar note is it possible to be separate from their mum? @_@
eugenetj
Jul 25 2008, 12:49 AM
The size of the hoglet may vary.. Why? Because it also depends on how many litter that the mother gave birth to..
If a litter of 2, the baby may be bigger sized compared to a litter of lets say 5..
By right the time to separate them is 8 weeks.. That time the hoglet should be eating on its own already..
This is also to avoid inbreed as they mature quite fast..
bonai
Jul 25 2008, 01:27 AM
Haven't been to this thread for quite a while.. Anyway, hedgie still rocks!! QUOTE(thahirah @ Jul 24 2008, 05:37 PM) mmmm im panning to get my little bro a hedgehog where can i get them for a good price eh? buying live stocks (pets) as a present or for someone else to keep is never a good idea.. unless the person is aware of it.. and yes, prepared and willing to commit!!
vinvin2z
Jul 25 2008, 03:09 AM

QUOTE(eugenetj @ Jul 25 2008, 12:49 AM) The size of the hoglet may vary.. Why? Because it also depends on how many litter that the mother gave birth to.. If a litter of 2, the baby may be bigger sized compared to a litter of lets say 5.. By right the time to separate them is 8 weeks.. That time the hoglet should be eating on its own already.. This is also to avoid inbreed as they mature quite fast.. o? okie =D just curious though . thx for da information ^^
silverquest_87
Jul 27 2008, 12:01 AM
hi guys. i'm newbie. I'm interested to buy a Sugar Glider last time, but since i have some problems that kept me from not getting one (don't have place)(but still want to buy one after finish study). after i read about hedgehog at this thread, I think it's really suits me and i'm ready to give commitment. the fact that the foods for them is easily to get makes me want to buy one. tame and cute for sure lah.haha
i have some questions bout the hedgehog to ask to you guys.
1) Hedgehog is diurnal. So, it should be no problem if they were exposed to the fluorescent light rite?like sugar glider cannot exposed them directly to light. so, i need to be sure bout that.
2) i'm not really getting about the cage setup. From what i understand, you guys bought toyogo box to keep hedgie inside. Is there dedicated cage for them that can i get?
Thanx in advance!
This post has been edited by silverquest_87: Jul 27 2008, 12:09 AM
mamata
Jul 27 2008, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(silverquest_87 @ Jul 27 2008, 12:01 AM) 1) Hedgehog is diurnal. So, it should be no problem if they were exposed to the fluorescent light rite?like sugar glider cannot exposed them directly to light. so, i need to be sure bout that. 2) i'm not really getting about the cage setup. From what i understand, you guys bought toyogo box to keep hedgie inside. Is there dedicated cage for them that can i get? Thanx in advance! 1)They ran to thier hideout as soon as u tun on the light 2) 2 type cheap and economic such as toyogo box , or expansive one such as zoo zone hope it helps
silverquest_87
Jul 27 2008, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(mamata @ Jul 27 2008, 12:10 AM) 1)They ran to thier hideout as soon as u tun on the light 2) 2 type cheap and economic such as toyogo box , or expansive one such as zoo zone hope it helps 1) about the toyogo box. is it the "lutsinar" one or just ordinary one? 2) where can i get zoo zone? <--OMG..Sure does it really expensive.just see it in petshack website.haha. Thanx mamata! This post has been edited by silverquest_87: Jul 27 2008, 12:45 AM
omisa
Jul 27 2008, 12:43 AM
get the see through one. at least the hedgie would know bout its surrounding a bit. the setup should be sumthing like this.  *taken from hedgehog central* bout the zoo zone, u can fine it at the pet shop. try to check pet shack. i believe they got this type of cage.
silverquest_87
Jul 27 2008, 12:51 AM
QUOTE(omisa @ Jul 27 2008, 12:43 AM) get the see through one. at least the hedgie would know bout its surrounding a bit. the setup should be sumthing like this.  *taken from hedgehog central* bout the zoo zone, u can fine it at the pet shop. try to check pet shack. i believe they got this type of cage. wow!sure the cage setup looks very simple. bout the zoo zone. surely expensive lor. just see it in petshack website. just a question.from the picture, they use clothe yah to put at the cage bottom?how bout the bedding?
omisa
Jul 27 2008, 01:01 AM
i believe that is what we called 'fleece'.
a type of liner that is acceptable to use as a bedding for hedgehog. its a substitute for normal wood shaving. also, highly recommended coz not messy, easy to clean, free from mite and can easily spot blood in case of emergency.
This post has been edited by omisa: Jul 27 2008, 01:01 AM
silverquest_87
Jul 27 2008, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(omisa @ Jul 27 2008, 01:01 AM) i believe that is what we called 'fleece'. a type of liner that is acceptable to use as a bedding for hedgehog. its a substitute for normal wood shaving. also, highly recommended coz not messy, easy to clean, free from mite and can easily spot blood in case of emergency. oh i see. so, by using fleece, we don't need to use wood shaving anymore lah? is it the fleece is easy to get?or need to buy at petshop? i bet need to change it in regular basis rite?
omisa
Jul 27 2008, 01:25 AM
of course not. hermph. that's a good question. i, myself find it hard to find. maybe i wasn't looking at the right fleece. as fleece is a type of fabric, u can check at ur fabric stores. well, usually people will make 2,3 set of fleece liner. when 1 get dirty, clean the poo 1st. then throw in the washing machine or u can hand wash it. u see, this is when the extra set is important.
silverquest_87
Jul 27 2008, 01:29 AM
QUOTE(omisa @ Jul 27 2008, 01:25 AM) of course not. hermph. that's a good question. i, myself find it hard to find. maybe i wasn't looking at the right fleece. as fleece is a type of fabric, u can check at ur fabric stores. well, usually people will make 2,3 set of fleece liner. when 1 get dirty, clean the poo 1st. then throw in the washing machine or u can hand wash it. u see, this is when the extra set is important. thanx omisa for the info. looks like fleece is easi to handle rather than the wood shavings. sleepy already.thanx a lot! really appreciate it! nite malaysia!LOL,
mamata
Jul 27 2008, 01:59 AM
by some fleece user ,their opinion about it may very some may support ,some may not because feece sometimes kinda hard to clean ask bonai her's one of the fleece user
abesabraham
Jul 27 2008, 12:41 PM
I have a question. Hedgies do they usually poop at one similar spot? Or it varies everytime? And how do you clean the poop? If you're using a fleece that is.