QUOTE(rthj @ Jun 8 2009, 06:23 PM)
Answer to that is yes if it is manufactured in Israel. What normally happens is that the product is normally not so ....Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?
Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?
Jun 8 2009, 10:39 PM
3,858 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Jun 10 2009, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(moomoos @ Jun 10 2009, 11:02 PM) Sony, bought over Columbia Pictures, try google'ing and find out whether its true or not, that Sony did some special encoding on their Blue Rays Discs and only Sony BD players can decode for better presentation.... The Clock for jitter is true, but unless u r a true audiophile and u use ur system for 2 channel stereo u r unlikely to see a difference. Especially if u r using it thru an AV amp.same goes for pioneer LX series it needs the Pioneer BD players to maximise the stereo and suround capabilities pioneer brochure extract HDMI™ Precision Quartz Lock System (PQLS) Jitterless Transmission for Pioneer Blu-ray Disc Player (for Music CD) As for the Sony stuff, I find it hard to accept it. The BDA will not allow it since it has many other members in the association. Anyway, I have no proof of this so, it is just hearsay. |
Jun 13 2009, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(Barricade @ Jun 13 2009, 09:02 AM) The Digital to Analog conversion has to be done somewhere, in this case it is done in the player, thats all. If you use HDMI and bitstream then it would be done in your AVR but if you don't bitstream the conversion is done in the player but output in MPCM (still digital) to your AVR. The AVR would decode the digital info to analog outs to your speakers. The final product that you hear is analog sounds from your speaker anyway. Of course if you use the analog outs from the player, that in essence means that the decoding is done in the player. One thing to note would be bass management. Most players have a -10dB bass management for the subwoofer out when decoded in the player. Check this out and make sure that the correct bass management change is done at the AVR side. This is one area where HDMI might be more "fool" proof. Some people don't realise this when they do analog outs.This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jun 13 2009, 10:34 AM |
Jun 17 2009, 10:37 AM
To all considering imported BD players, you might want to consider the fast loading JVC XV-BP1. It's priced competively and close to the Panny BD60 and is regarded as a direct competitor. This is only for import folks though, since it does not appear in the JVC malaysia website. It is made in Indonesia so if it does reach our shores it shd be comparable to the Panny BD60 price range.
Jun 17 2009, 11:24 AM
Jun 17 2009, 03:28 PM
Jun 17 2009, 03:50 PM
Jun 17 2009, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jun 17 2009, 03:55 PM) One finely reviewed player Wow that's good news. It something new. Shd have mine by next week.![]() BDP-83 review N latest news is its region free Can u beat tis or wat? Tis is gonna be my next bdp liao Dirtrun |
Jun 17 2009, 09:20 PM
QUOTE(dirtrun @ Jun 17 2009, 04:20 PM) Yes.. dirtrun,Its Oppo's 1st bdp.. Thou' they arent new in de dvdp stage.. N it being region free player will push it to be an ultimate value for money decent player liao.. BTW tis isnt cheap, its jus tat its being compared to flagship pioneers n denons.. Cheers Dirtrun I meant it is new news to me that is region free. I guess the one I am getting is definately not region free. The ones being talked abt in Spore is that it is a hardware mod to make it region free. I definately will get the hardware mod. I got mine at USD499. Wonder how much the mod is? I'm familiar with Oppo and have seen their 983 in action in US. Its an impressive set. Very impressive. I believe the BD83 would be as well. Anyway, will check it out for myself this weekend. |
Jun 19 2009, 08:20 AM
QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 19 2009, 08:15 AM) So he finally got it to play cd I suspect the main reason most of the players don't do SACD and DVD Audio could be licensing rights.Any idea if the Dune plays DVD Audio? Any idea why the Panasonic DMP-BD60 DOES NOT play DVD audio? *Sigh* Does the Dune/BD60 play SACD? |
Jun 23 2009, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 23 2009, 02:00 PM) The packaging says "bluray" but yeah, won't be surprised if the actual content is DVD. They just market as "bluray" to trap the unsuspecting. I have actually compared the Blu Ray quality of the BD25 burned Blu Ray vs the actual on some of them that I have. The picture quality is different. It seems to be noisier than the original. I believe that for there is some compression going on even for titles that are BD25 to start with. Maybe burn speeds? I am not sure, but there is a difference. Audio as well. |
Jun 23 2009, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(rx330 @ Jun 23 2009, 05:44 PM) anfiel, im not sure abt compression Actually thats what I expected. I expected not to see any PQ differences but I was seeing quite a bit of differences. I compared U571 (BD25 original and "local") and also another title I forget. The difference was noticeable.but from wat i think, to reduce it to fit in 25gb, remove extras and certain audio shud do it |
Jun 23 2009, 09:17 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 23 2009, 08:19 PM) Not too sure. But the same with DVDs, I have seen clear differences between R1/R2 DVDs compared to our R3s and our local rips (RM10) stuff. Some are very good but some are downright ugly.Maybe it is a combination of the ripping and the mass burning or maybe even the BDRs quality. Anyway, they sell the BD25s at abt RM40+, at that price the originals are not too bad, especially if u manage to get them on a sale or used. |
Jun 26 2009, 11:15 PM
Received my Oppo BD-83 today. Its a beast. 5+kg, heavier than my standalone CD player.
Quick tests, did not see too much a difference between the PS3 and the Oppo at quick check, slightly sharper images. Need to recalibrate and recheck. SACD sounds much better by sending a DSD to the Onkyo 876 compared to the Pioneer DV-600. CD comparisons need more time. DVD upscaling was better than both the PS3 and the Pioneer DV-600. Check Star Wars Phantom of Menace and Mission Impossible III. For the 1st time, watched my AVR light up with Dolby TrueHD... More to come, but in 1 week. Off for a business trip and will only be back next week. Enjoy. |
Jun 27 2009, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jun 26 2009, 11:15 PM) Received my Oppo BD-83 today. Its a beast. 5+kg, heavier than my standalone CD player. Update : Applied the Region Free Hack....works great...now Region B can be played. DVD is also region free!Quick tests, did not see too much a difference between the PS3 and the Oppo at quick check, slightly sharper images. Need to recalibrate and recheck. SACD sounds much better by sending a DSD to the Onkyo 876 compared to the Pioneer DV-600. CD comparisons need more time. DVD upscaling was better than both the PS3 and the Pioneer DV-600. Check Star Wars Phantom of Menace and Mission Impossible III. For the 1st time, watched my AVR light up with Dolby TrueHD... More to come, but in 1 week. Off for a business trip and will only be back next week. Enjoy. |
Jun 27 2009, 05:28 PM
Jun 27 2009, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(easternred @ Jun 27 2009, 05:30 PM) I was part of the early interest adopters and bought it direct from Oppo US in May. Sent over to a friends house in US since I was back in Malaysia. He has been using it for 1 month, and finally got in yesterday. It can be bought from Oppo US as is released officially in US today for USD499. They might ship to Malaysia. Also you can check with SLT Technologies in Spore as they are doing MO for SGD899 + SGD20 for the Spears and Munstil Calibration Disc.Added on June 27, 2009, 6:11 pm QUOTE(jchong @ Jun 27 2009, 06:09 PM) jchong,Prefer the hardware mod since using the firmware hack, I need to wait for someone over in the UK to mod each firmware that comes after this. For instance, Oppo just released a new firmware yesterday, if I update the firmware, my region free mod will not work. The hardware solution should not be susceptible to firmware updates. This post has been edited by anfieldude: Jun 27 2009, 06:11 PM |
Jun 27 2009, 08:30 PM
Jun 29 2009, 05:12 AM
QUOTE(arremie @ Jun 29 2009, 12:39 AM) its not the price bro....dont want to buy today only to know tomoro or a week later got new model already. that's what usually happen when they r clearing stock. I don't think Panasonic is releasing any more new Blu Ray players this year. I think this is to clear the stock that the retailers split sold the S10 and the BD60. |
Jun 30 2009, 11:20 PM
QUOTE(terranova @ Jun 30 2009, 01:07 PM) hi anfieldude. u know i've been following your oppo adventure like a stalker at Megan Fox's bedroom. great to hear it's finally arrived. too bad u had to go on a trip before exploring it fully. Terranova,anyway, oppo doesn't ship to malaysia (yet). luckily they're shipping to where i'm at. but shipping adds US$112 to the total cost. anyway, i'm really keen to get this now that the hardware hack is out and i know it really works. not being region-free was the main reason i opted out earlier on. pls keep us posted on the hardware hack from SLT. there's not much info on this, even at xtremeplace and slt's website is useless. cheers! Yeah, played around with it only for a while. More serious testing coming up this weekend when I am back home. I have seen the instructions for the hardware mod in avforums. It seems to be changing out a ribbon cable and hooking up a power cable. Looks simple enuf if I don't mess it up. Will keep you guys posted when I install it. 1st impressions were pretty good. Especially on being able to get it region free with a firmware hack. Check the calibration compared to the calibrated PS3. Looks like the Oppo turns up the brightness quite a bit. Will recalibrate this weekend. Grayscale is unaltered. Colours are spot on. The upscaling is pretty darn good. Need to check it out with a bigger screen though. Need to do some 2 channel listening to see the differences. |
| Change to: | 0.0534sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:56 AM |