9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Home Theatre Blu ray players: Recommendations please, Blu ray players, which one ?

aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 03:25 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Aug 14 2008, 03:10 PM)
i can help to ship from us to malaysia..

whistling.gif
There's another lobang! Cannot just help lar, must add some cost. But again, no money, tak guna. cry.gif

RX, I also got the Amex card, even already registered and verified by ComGateway already. But I got no money to pay back the bank, then how to pay you want. I meant borrow, and return it to you like nothing happened. whistling.gif laugh.gif tongue.gif

aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 03:38 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Aug 14 2008, 03:33 PM)
just checked the weight of S350, its 10 pounds,

gonna cost RM280-300 just for the shipping charges from US to M'sia...

S350 354.14USD / RM1168.66 + free shipping within US + RM300 (US to M'sia) = RM1468.62

whistling.gif

customs 10%?

the only thing refrain me to go ahead is budget  biggrin.gif  so stick with PS3 for now. Alas, if got budget, definitely go to projector 1st.
Customs/tax is 10% + 15%.
aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 04:05 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 14 2008, 03:54 PM)
walaowei...never know such service exist. Thanks a lot dude notworthy.gif
I may not buy the 110V S350 but hell I have a lot of stuff I saw on Amazon US that I wanted to buy.

Now I need to apply for Maybank AMEX....or should I use my wife's one laugh.gif
Maybank AMEX consider charge card or credit card?
Credit card. nod.gif

Apply yourself lar. You know, at petrol stations, no reward points can be collected with VISA or Mastercard right? But with Amex you'll still get the points. Plus it's 2X points forever at any shops. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 14 2008, 09:25 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I have to focus on other component now. This S350 has to wait. Good luck Arremie! thumbup.gif
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 12:13 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2008, 11:48 AM)
Sometimes this dude is really weird hmm.gif  laugh.gif

Anyway...my Sony is not full HD so meaning whatever sent by BD will be downscale by the tv? It does support 1080p though.
You should be able to set 720p or 1080i on the S350, just like your Pioneer DV600 (I'm using DV400).

I also took sometime to understand RX, but now I know him so well!
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 12:20 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:02 PM)
aiyoh no need lar... 40 incher unless u sitting at 3 feet, u wont really notice the different btwn 720 and 1080 lar

rahter than upgrade, rather u get ur bd player and BDs
Yup, refer to this chart again:

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 15 2008, 12:15 PM)
blush.gif took some time meh...
i tot we think alike sad.gif
I meant understand the words in your post la, always unique one laugh.gif ... Of course we think alike. wub.gif

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 15 2008, 12:20 PM
aiman04
post Aug 15 2008, 12:24 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Yeah, and every time I took time to google it!

Well, when question arise, answer needs to come, sometimes better in charts.
aiman04
post Aug 17 2008, 08:24 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

With the right specs, I will only consider a standalone if it costs cheaper than RM2k.

And I can actually get the Sony BDP-S350 for lower than RM2k actually, the only thing stopping me now is my empty wallet. cry.gif
aiman04
post Aug 18 2008, 09:52 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Of course kena ketam.. But even after that it's still below RM2k. Check the previous page.

The price for the Sony BDP-S350 now is $346.50 only, calculate the shipping (by weight) at the ComGateway site, add the 10+15% taxes/fee. Still below RM2k. nod.gif
aiman04
post Aug 19 2008, 07:15 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Good luck callmevil !! rclxms.gif
aiman04
post Aug 20 2008, 07:18 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

I've posted it few pages back, quoted here:

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 14 2008, 02:08 PM)
Of course got lobang... Only money no got. cry.gif

If you have Maybank Amex card, you can use the service from ComGateway. They will provide a US address for you, and then they will ship it back to you. You only pay them the shipping cost, I believe the shipping to US address is free.

http://www.comgateway.com/COMGATEWAY/secur...Registration.do
aiman04
post Aug 20 2008, 06:40 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(yed @ Aug 20 2008, 01:30 PM)
that`s the point..i can get 2 BD`s extra..now all kena jimat...pocket sudah banyak lubang.. sad.gif
Up to you bro, the retail price is $399, now at $352 with free US shipping. That's already a good deal for the Americans, and even more for us when the cheapest BD player available is RM2999. If your budget is below RM1.5k, then it's just impossible I think.

Actually, with the service, you can buy from any online retailers that ships to US addresses. Not necessarily Amazon only.
aiman04
post Aug 21 2008, 06:54 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 21 2008, 12:39 AM)
s350, msia = rm 3999
That's confirmed ar? I guess so. Their old obsolete S300 model is still selling at that price. doh.gif
aiman04
post Aug 21 2008, 02:26 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Check here:

http://www.comgateway.com/COMGATEWAY/com.c...mmon.FactOne.do
aiman04
post Aug 21 2008, 10:07 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Aug 21 2008, 09:53 PM)
Tell her, blu-ray is men's best friend.  tongue.gif
I second that! rclxms.gif

Seriously. I'm truly suffering now. sad.gif

Added on August 21, 2008, 10:18 pmSamsung BD-P2550 Shows Up at Best Buy

Source: Blu-ray.com

Apparently, Samsung has decided to sneak out their latest player, the BD-P2550, onto store shelves without the usual fanfare. It appears to be a variation on the previously announced BD-P2500, though its difficult to tell what, if any, the differences may be. Early reports on our forum indicate that it is a BonusView player that will receive a BD-Live update at a future date.

Other standout features include a HQV processor and 7.1 analog outs. Though early specs indicated support for decoding DTS-HD Master Audio, it appears that feature has been dropped from the final product. The player is available to ship today, from Best Buy, for $499.

Specifications:

http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=1692

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 21 2008, 10:18 PM
aiman04
post Aug 21 2008, 11:23 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

If you have the new gen AVR, you don't need a BD player with internal HD decodings and multi-channel analogue outs. All needed is HD audio bitstream via HDMI 1.3a. Then make sure reviews saying good PQ and fast startup/disc loading. nod.gif

BD-Live depends on your preference, to me not important, just online features. But no harm to have it of course, if the price is right.

My choice is still S350, posted the Samsung just as news, appropriate for this thread. biggrin.gif
aiman04
post Aug 22 2008, 11:08 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Arremie is close to get his S350 already! So jealous! blush.gif
aiman04
post Aug 24 2008, 08:58 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Not only I don't have the cash for the S350, my HM has not even approve for it. Well, she's still right, PS3 is the best BD player. At least for now. yawn.gif
aiman04
post Aug 24 2008, 09:25 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Aug 24 2008, 09:07 AM)
listen to that smart HM of urs smile.gif ps3 is the best.. trust me i bought 3.. HAHAHA kept1, sold 2.
I'm listening to her, for now! laugh.gif tongue.gif

Added on August 24, 2008, 9:28 amPioneer Unveils Ultimate Blu-ray Player

http://www.blu-ray.com/news/?id=1700

Pioneer has dropped their latest Blu-ray Disc player, and this one promises to be the one that will leave the PlayStation 3 in the dust. For $2200, you can pick up a Pioneer BDP-09FD, which they are promising is not only the best BD-Live Blu-ray Disc player on the market, but also the best DVD and CD player as well, meeting the single machine needs of home theater aficionados.

Besides having the ability to decode all high definition audio codecs, it also features a 16-bit video processor. The case is a combination of aluminum and steel with special vibration reducing feet. Pioneer recommends using the analog outs instead of HDMI for audio - each one has its own separate DAC - but they throw in two HDMI ports just in case you might need them.

Pioneer is also promising jitter-free CD playback and the best DVD upscaling available. So why would anyone spend this much money on a Blu-ray player? Simple. Its the best. And for those looking for the best of CD, DVD, and Blu-ray playback, this is the only option all in one case.

Specifications:

http://www.blu-ray.com/players/players.php?id=95&show=specs

This post has been edited by aiman04: Aug 24 2008, 09:28 AM
aiman04
post Aug 24 2008, 12:02 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Wow!! All gold-plated !! drool.gif

Callmevil, using the 7 channel analogue outs, all you need is a power amp. The sub out connect directly to the subwoofer.

If using AVR, connect them to your multi-channel analogue inputs. With this connection, your AVR only act as a power amp and channel them to the speakers, no more DAC as it's already been done by the player. And be sure to use best quality cables with gold-plated contacts. thumbup.gif

PS: My 80GB PS3 can play SACD, bought it for only RM1.8k. tongue.gif

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0401sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:12 PM