39 Pages « < 35 36 37 38 39 >Bottom

Movies STAR TREK: Movies Discussion Thread, Next: ST3 for 50th Anniversary Year Film

defaultname365
post Dec 15 2015, 01:56 AM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

What the...

*Checks the trailer title*

shocking.gif

ray148
post Dec 15 2015, 04:48 AM

451 posts

Yeah...when Independance Day sequel trailer felt more epic scifi than new Star Trek trailer, you know something is wrong.

This post has been edited by ray148: Dec 15 2015, 04:49 AM
elm0001
post Dec 15 2015, 09:02 AM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
998 posts

based on trailer, movie will not look good
6so
post Dec 15 2015, 12:08 PM

135 posts

The music totally spoiled the trailer. Standard action-y star trek but still curious to see what Justin Lin brings to the table or just rehashing things you already seen one too many times.
Ichighost
post Dec 16 2015, 01:15 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 15 2015, 01:08 PM)
The music totally spoiled the trailer. Standard action-y star trek but still curious to see what Justin Lin brings to the table or just rehashing things you already seen one too many times.

6so
post Dec 16 2015, 01:39 PM

135 posts

hmm.gif Urmm...it still does not excuse the song is off-putting to be used in the context of the trailer.
Are you implying the title of the song is the plot of the movie or I'm incapable to realize the song from the first movie. brows.gif

This post has been edited by 6so: Dec 16 2015, 01:40 PM
MR_alien
post Dec 16 2015, 03:14 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

non related Q here
when i was booking for the tix..this is for MBO
i saw some of the timing is RM2 more expensive
thn i saw "actuator surcharge RM1" "auro surcharge"
anyone know what is this?..
ricstc
post Dec 16 2015, 03:20 PM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

I named my first son Riker James Tee Kirk (+surname) and he is my Number One
I named my daughter Seven Janeway (+surname) and she has a birthdate on 17 01
I have a car and it's number plate is NCC 1701 (yes really)

I'm just a regular Star Trek fan
Ichighost
post Dec 17 2015, 01:01 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(6so @ Dec 16 2015, 02:39 PM)
hmm.gif Urmm...it still does not excuse the song is off-putting to be used in the context of the trailer.
Are you implying the title of the song is the plot of the movie or I'm incapable to realize the song from the first movie.  brows.gif
i think it was used for a fun nostalgia part..this new series..it end with the way it started..something like that..

i believe that this movie will be a much more star trek like than the previous two..this is the first trailer..maybe just to bring more non star trek fans on board..

they will release another trailer in a few months..and that one will have a better tone and song compare to this one.
6so
post Dec 17 2015, 10:55 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Dec 17 2015, 02:01 AM)
i think it was used for a fun nostalgia part..this new series..it end with the way it started..something like that..

i believe that this movie will be a much more star trek like than the previous two..this is the first trailer..maybe just to bring more non star trek fans on board..

they will release another trailer in a few months..and that one will have a better tone and song compare to this one.
Why look backward when you can look forward. Don't get me wrong, I'm a fan of "the" Beastie Boys. If you want to use a kick-ass soundtrack so make it count. Sabotage serves a purpose to establish the reckless behavior of the new Kirk in the first movie. It's not an integral soundtrack song that encompasses the all new Star Trek movies like an Oscar nominated songs would. Using other Beastie Boys song or another song with the same messaging from that era at least will remind people the bad boy Kirk is back for the next adventure rather than hey do you remember the new Kirk that rocking to Sabotage from before. it's so conflicting with the messaging. biggrin.gif
There are many other songs that the cool kids listen to nowadays. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by 6so: Dec 17 2015, 11:13 AM
defaultname365
post Dec 20 2015, 12:13 PM

1,098 posts

Simon Pegg On New Star Trek Beyond Trailer: "I Didn't Love It"

http://www.heyuguys.com/simon-pegg-star-trek-beyond-trailer/

"I didn't love it, because I know there's a lot more to the film. There's a lot more story, and a lot more character stuff, and a lot more what I would call 'Star Trek stuff.'

"I found it to be surprising. I found it to be the marketing people sort of saying, 'Everybody come and see this film, it's full of action and fun,' when there's a lot more to it than that. You know, they've got to bring a big audience in, they've got to bang a drum. To the Star Trek fans out there, I'd say, hang in there, be patient."
HangPC2
post Dec 21 2015, 08:12 PM

408 posts

J.J. Abrams reveals that he wanted an AKB48 idol in the cast for Star Trek

Casey Baseel

The famed Hollywood director was ready to set his phaser to “ idol. ”

With his involvement as a director and producer for both the Star Wars and Star Trek movie franchises, J.J. Abrams already his fingers in some very big pies. But if he’d had his every wish, Abrams would have not only been the envy of sci-fi fanboys, but idol otaku as well.

To promote Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Abrams recently appeared on Japanese talk show Mezamashi TV. It’s sort of a media tradition in Japan to ask visiting foreign celebrities if they have any interest in Japanese traditional or pop culture, and the interviewer, perhaps armed with inside information, asked the Star Wars director if he liked Japanese idol singers.

While he may not be buying idol CDs in bulk and lining up for hand shake events, it turns out that Abrams has indeed been to an idol unit concert. As a matter of fact, he went to a performance by the biggest idol unit: AKB48.

Several years ago, while working on the Star Trek reboot that would be released in 2009, Abrams was taken by a Japanese acquaintance to see AKB48 perform live at the group’s theater in Akihabara, Tokyo’s otaku mecca. He said the performance was amazing, and that he was so impressed by the idols’ stage presence that he found himself wanting to add one of the energetic idols to Star Trek’s cast.

A Japanese Enterprise crew member wouldn’t have been unprecedented, as series regular Hikaru Sulu has a Japanese given name and was played for three decades by Japanese-American actor George Takei.

Alas, the collaboration never came to be, for reasons unspecified. Still, given the fact that Abrams now holds the reigns to two movie franchises set in racially diverse worlds, we can still hope for a J.J./AKB team-up in the future.

Sources : http://jin115.com/archives/52111382.html

http://en.rocketnews24.com

Ron5
post Dec 21 2015, 11:52 PM

Well, I don't know what you guys are all on about, but the trailer seems quite cool, looking forward to the movie.

defaultname365
post May 21 2016, 12:27 PM

1,098 posts

Way, way better trailer than the first!

Lol at the last bit about his seat... biggrin.gif
defaultname365
post Jun 20 2016, 10:24 AM

1,098 posts

'Star Trek' actor Anton Yelchin dies in freak car accident, he was 27

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/06/19/entertai...yelchin-killed/

Life is fragile... cry.gif RIP

Yelchin stepped out of his car in the driveway of his Studio City home at around 1:10 a.m. PT when the car slid backwards and pinned him against a brick pillar and a security fence, causing trauma that led to his death, said Jennifer Houser with the Los Angeles Police Department.

Mov_freak
post Jun 20 2016, 02:30 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Jun 20 2016, 10:24 AM)
'Star Trek' actor Anton Yelchin dies in freak car accident, he was 27

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/06/19/entertai...yelchin-killed/

Life is fragile...  cry.gif  RIP
Really Sad...

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Remembering him from Heart Of Atlantis (2001)....

Also closes any hope of Odd Thomas 2...

Rest In Peace Anton...

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 20 2016, 02:49 PM
AnimeSinceForever
post Jun 20 2016, 03:10 PM

1,060 posts

^ Will his character die in the upcoming movie, to reflect reality?
Chrono-Trigger
post Jun 20 2016, 05:19 PM

BY SELF ONE IS DEFILED AND PURIFIED
4,305 posts

rip
buymyiphone
post Jun 29 2016, 01:27 PM

Anyone else as excited as I am? thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CfyCpiwL5tY
buymyiphone
post Jul 1 2016, 04:16 PM