125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

Subwoofer Discussion Thread, A thread for things that go BOOOOMMM!!!

callmevil
post Dec 3 2008, 07:16 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Dec 2 2008, 10:43 PM)
You're freakin' hardcore man rclxms.gif
Spent US3k already on your portable setup?
Never heard a LISA before as decided to keep my budget ard the price of a Predator or Pico.
But from what was told by my portable kakis who have heard of LISA, all of them gives  thumbup.gif
My head is fairly big, so HD650 is not for me as it'll give me headache after prolong listening, so ended up can only choose from AT, Grado or Beyer stables. Tried AKG701 before and maybe will go for this early nt year.

As this is a subwoofer thread, I'm still contemplating whether I should get another SVS SB-12plus to run the subwoofer in stereo configuration hmm.gif
I know the low frequency from the sealed box cannot compare against the bigger SVS, but whether running in pair will give me the desired effect without having to place a big black "tong sampah" in the room tongue.gif
ill take screenshots when its all here lol

ill be adding a 2nd SVS next year i thinkkk then arrange it on each opposite corners of the room.. Top Left n bottom right.. lol dunno yet.. cuz im still talking with Mike on shipping cost to get their speakrs here.. did u see the speakers?? top of the line tweeters.... aaah~~
mys_terious
post Dec 3 2008, 10:20 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Dec 3 2008, 07:16 AM)

ill be adding a 2nd SVS next year i thinkkk then arrange it on each opposite corners of the room.. Top Left n bottom right.. lol dunno yet.. cuz im still talking with Mike on shipping cost to get their speakrs here.. did u see the speakers?? top of the line tweeters.... aaah~~
bro r u sure u wanna spend so much on something u havent heard b4.. subwoofer is 1 thing, speakers r totally diff.. what if the speaker r not your taste? sell cheap cheap to us?smile.gif
callmevil
post Dec 3 2008, 02:25 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(mys_terious @ Dec 3 2008, 10:20 AM)
bro r u sure u wanna spend so much on something u havent heard b4.. subwoofer is  1 thing, speakers r totally diff.. what if the speaker r not your taste?  sell cheap cheap to us?smile.gif
lol am i sure.. not really biggrin.gif

but what the heck right? hahah almost all of my equipment i never heard before.. i just read online reviews and buy. my svs was cuz dirtrun just entered my thread and said give up on velo/rel/hsu and just go straight for svs.. i took my chances and rclxms.gif hahaha.

if it does not suit my liking then i just blame cuz im not an expert and i just need to get use to it.. and after awhile.. i will eventually like it.. haha there was this saying that still sticks to me about the svs speakers.. "at first it sounds like something's missing.. then i found out.. its Noise' haha such a powerful statement..

i got this 1 virus called "the what-if" virus.. haha
widget
post Dec 3 2008, 07:49 PM

1,156 posts

QUOTE(callmevil @ Dec 3 2008, 07:16 AM)

Bro,
SVS are famous for their subs, so I stick with their subs only.
Furthermore, never heard how's their speakers sound like, so not willing to take a gamble.

For speakers, I'm a firm believer in Focal Beryllium tweeter, as I auditioned the B&W Diamond's tweeter and Monitor Audio's ribbon tweeter before decided with Focal 1027Be for my front speakers.

Actually, no money to get Marten's speakers or Focal Utopia's line, so stick with the cheaper Electra's line as long as they using Be tweeter. laugh.gif

callmevil
post Dec 3 2008, 08:51 PM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(widget @ Dec 3 2008, 07:49 PM)
Bro,
SVS are famous for their subs, so I stick with their subs only.
Furthermore, never heard how's their speakers sound like, so not willing to take a gamble.

For speakers, I'm a firm believer in Focal Beryllium tweeter, as I auditioned the B&W Diamond's tweeter and Monitor Audio's ribbon tweeter before decided with Focal 1027Be for my front speakers.

Actually, no money to get Marten's speakers or Focal Utopia's line, so stick with the cheaper Electra's line as long as they using Be tweeter. laugh.gif
haha i know i know.. was just too happy with the sub that im just gonna trust everything they sell.. hahaha

hmm ive now been channeled towards a different focus though.. Ascend Sierra1... will pay close attention to this babies.. haha
psp _BOY
post Dec 3 2008, 09:10 PM

I've been lying wide awake paralyzed
1,978 posts

I'm about to watch Iron Man blu-ray tomorrow. Heard there is some serious bass. True?
htkaki
post Dec 3 2008, 10:39 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 3 2008, 09:10 PM)
I'm about to watch Iron Man blu-ray tomorrow. Heard there is some serious bass. True?

Yup, very nice AQ thumbup.gif My peasant grade CHT-12R work extremely hard

aiman04
post Dec 4 2008, 08:13 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

For deep LFE that give you the "feel", try also Transformers (especially when Ironhide flips while firing his cannon to the ground, not only very deep but for the first time I sense the bass ripples towards me), Cloverfield and yes, Kung Fu Panda on BD. thumbup.gif

Surprisingly all the titles I mentioned are using Dolby TrueHD. biggrin.gif
mpyw
post Dec 4 2008, 08:21 AM

3,603 posts

Just re-watched Iron-man last night tongue.gif
the LFE "mou tak teng"....

FEEL IT when the prototype Iron Man walks out the cave.....my whole house rumbling thumbup.gif tongue.gif and the volume is only -22.5db tongue.gif brows.gif
pierreye
post Dec 4 2008, 08:31 AM

1,308 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 3 2008, 09:10 PM)
Wait until you watch Dark Knight. The bass is crazy. I think I developed permanent ear damage after watching 2 1/2 hours of batman drool.gif .
callmevil
post Dec 4 2008, 08:57 AM

80 Druid
798 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 4 2008, 08:21 AM)

FEEL IT when the prototype Iron Man walks out the cave.....my whole house rumbling thumbup.gif tongue.gif and the volume is only -22.5db tongue.gif brows.gif
Hah my fav seen audibly! haha when he just went 'Boom' in the air it brought my whole room a sunder~ hahaha
htkaki
post Dec 4 2008, 09:41 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Dec 4 2008, 08:21 AM)

-22.5dB? Fuyoo.... quite loud.
mys_terious
post Dec 4 2008, 09:42 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Dec 4 2008, 08:31 AM)
Wait until you watch Dark Knight. The bass is crazy. I think I developed permanent ear damage after watching 2 1/2 hours of batman  drool.gif .
with the monster subs like u n callmevil own, i think its more likely u two will get brain damage if u watch batman 3 times in a row:)
viruz
post Dec 4 2008, 10:14 AM

820 posts

How to justify a subwoofer is good from by reading the spec?

For eg the subwoofer comes with pioneer todoroki RS-7, rated at 200W RMS, 8 ohm, 27~1000Hz, is it good?
mpyw
post Dec 4 2008, 10:55 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(viruz @ Dec 4 2008, 10:14 AM)
How to justify a subwoofer is good from by reading the spec?

For eg the subwoofer comes with pioneer todoroki RS-7, rated at 200W RMS, 8 ohm, 27~1000Hz, is it good?
spec mean nothing...u need to hear it, feel it and be satisfied with it....

they can put 27Hz....but can it really o to 27Hz ???

psp _BOY
post Dec 4 2008, 11:55 AM

1,978 posts

Alright, this is it, Iron Mn time tongue.gif. Volume at -6.0. Bass at +5.0

Let's see how crazy I'am.

Transformers on Saturday. Dark Knight when it arrives rclxm9.gif
aiman04
post Dec 4 2008, 12:13 PM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 4 2008, 11:55 AM)
Alright, this is it, Iron Mn time tongue.gif. Volume at -6.0. Bass at +5.0

Let's see how crazy I'am.

Transformers on Saturday. Dark Knight when it arrives rclxm9.gif
Wow, that's very loud! My normal listening volume already increased to -27dB (previously lower). The highest I can go is -21dB only. notworthy.gif
psp _BOY
post Dec 4 2008, 12:27 PM

1,978 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Dec 4 2008, 12:13 PM)
Wow, that's very loud! My normal listening volume already increased to -27dB (previously lower). The highest I can go is -21dB only. notworthy.gif
Yea, I figured, But my normal watching vol is -10.0.
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Dec 4 2008, 01:32 PM

801 posts

QUOTE(psp _BOY @ Dec 4 2008, 12:27 PM)
Yea, I figured, But my normal watching vol is -10.0.
Max vol is at??? 0.00db?? blink.gif
sagern
post Dec 4 2008, 05:00 PM

19 posts

Hi All,

Between Velodyne Impact 10 and Whaffy SW150, which would be a better buy?

Thanks,

125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:57 AM