University Welcome to UTM...., How was your MHS week? @_@

azarimy
post Jun 27 2008, 07:13 PM

mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ Jun 27 2008, 10:08 AM)
is it?? my year senior punish lol.. been scold like ****
bcoz juniors are stupid and they thought everything senior does is "correct". dont wait till u get surprise buttsecks bfore u realize they're wrong biggrin.gif!
azarimy
post Jun 28 2008, 12:39 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jun 27 2008, 04:24 PM)
1.Is any bus/transport or ways to go to town from UTM campus?which town/city usually ppl go for?

2.Is there any place to shopping(eg. Jaya jasco.....)near the campus?how can we go there?

3.If I take bus from other state to UTM,where normally/shld the bus stop at? JB?den from there how to go UTM??

4.the orientation until when?? Is weekend we free to do anything we want??

5.If there is anything we hav to solve in our home town,are we allow to go back when there is no class?Do we nid fill in any form/get any signature for dat??

Pls help me answer dis few @@
1. usually people go to JB bcoz it's just about 30min away. u might wanna go to singapore as well, coz the border is just 40min away tongue.gif. i'm not sure which bus u should take from UTM or where u can take it. i'm sure there's a bus stop near tasik UTM where buses to JB will pass through, but that was a few years ago.

2. there's a jusco complex in taman universiti, which is about 10min drive from UTM. u can go there by bus, taxi or even walk.

3. if u're a noob, u usually stop at larkin bus station in JB. then u either get a bus to UTM/taman universiti, or a taxi directly. if u're already familiar with skudai area, u can ask the bus driver to stop at sri skudai or sri putri, which is the main junction for UTM and the road to JB from the highway. from sri skudai, u could catch a bus or taxi. i used to arrive about 5am, so i just walk to UTM bcoz the taxi usually cekik darah at that time. it's about 45minute walk if u use the skudai gate (near kolej tuanku canselor).

5. after orientation/MHS, u're free to do whatever u want. this is a university. they're not incharge of ur life. if u dont wanna come to class, it's ur problem. biggrin.gif
azarimy
post Jun 28 2008, 01:52 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jun 27 2008, 05:13 PM)
really helpful,thx alot ya

really sc8 miss out sumthing important when i at there.

Btw,the hostel room n roommate we can't choose 1 rit? how abt toilet?how many room share 1 toilet?or each kolej only 1 toilet...lolx

How r we going to wash our cloth?in toilet?den room got place to hang??
how u guys iron ur shirt there?? can bring iron go??lolx

Will they check ur room??If not clean=kena fine? wad thing thing usually ppl bring (but actually kenot bring 1) and got confiscate?
there's a toilet/bathroom in each floor, which will be shared between 10-12 people. each bath has atleast 2 WC and 2 showers. since not everyone shares the same timetable, there's hardly a peak time. there's also a place for u to wash ur clothes (handwash). there's an area on each floor where u can hang ur clothes (a pantry), but it doesnt get much sunlight. there's a hanging area outside which is better, but slightly less secure.

there should be an ironing facility on each floor. u can bring ur own iron, but u'd have to declare it (as with other electrical equipments u bring).

they will hardly check ur room unless someone reports some illegal/indecent behaviours in ur room. no, u will not be fined if u're unclean. but ur roommate might complain biggrin.gif. things that are usually confiscated can range from cigarettes to porn magazines to pirated DVDs. there was one instance a student brought shisha (water pipe) and was confiscated as well. basically anything smoking are illegal.
azarimy
post Jun 28 2008, 03:37 AM

10,672 posts

there are lots of PCs for students to use. u can find them at each kolej's communal areas, the library, as well as in each faculty. yes, it's free.
azarimy
post Jun 28 2008, 04:11 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(duncan880409 @ Jun 27 2008, 07:44 PM)
wrong ! you WILL be fine for unclean, last time my room dirty, i kena saman RM25 you know, KRP room checking is very strict
and each bathroom share between 10-12 is KP, KRP.. K16 is 19room share 1 toilet lol

that sucks. i stayed in KRP in 2004-2005, no such thing for the entire year biggrin.gif. perhaps they made it stricter nowadays.
azarimy
post Jun 28 2008, 09:59 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jun 28 2008, 01:10 AM)
oh...so depends lor....

how long the orientation held?Not yet answer ><

Bus is free issn't it?? ^^
cuz kenot bring car/bike=wan walk all over the UTM meh??lolx
orientation is one week. isnt it obvious already? biggrin.gif

no, bus is not free. but the fares are already included in the fees. so whether u use it or not, everybody paid for it.
azarimy
post Jul 11 2008, 05:58 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jul 11 2008, 09:27 AM)
arh.....very dissapointing wit my PA...

find her everyday....room r like lock 24/7
got 1 day found her,she say very bz hor...she still on leave...ask me tml morning come bk..
2nd day morning go find him...a sticky note on door say dat "I'm not free for the whole day,anything find me on 3pm",okay...well...i wait until 3pm and go agn...the sticky note is removed...and the door is lock agn...
alrdy finding her for days....kek sim to hav a PA like dis...

P/S :: The say she said she is bz...1 hours ltr...i saw her wit sum malay student chatting n walking ard the campus....lolx...i was like....HAR!?!?!
They dun pay attention on Chinese izzit?? TT
they are probably postgrad students or research student assistants. it's quite normal that lecturers from time to time involve in research and withdraws into seclusion. lecturers dont just stay in their rooms waiting for students, u know. me myself always in the environmental lab, the studio or the main office. my students almost never could find me in my room.

so my suggestion is to find out how ur PA's schedule is like. most lecturers have labs that they attach to. if u cant find them in their room, find the lab.

my other suggestion is, if u plan to stay long in UTM, dont make assumptions.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jul 11 2008, 05:59 PM
azarimy
post Jul 11 2008, 06:29 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jul 11 2008, 10:19 AM)
i alrdy look at her timetable...it suppose to be free on dat time..and yet..i can't find her....

dun u think they shld leave HP number there for us to contact in case gt anything urgent rit??

Sori if i offense anyone here ><
official timetable means she has to be somewhere for that period of time. research does not have a timetable. literally any free time can be attributed to doing research. it's like u (a student) going to class vs private studying. u go to class based on the official timetable, right? but u can study privately whenever ur timetable is free, wherever u feel like it.

finding a lecturer shouldnt be this hard, but there are times that a lecturer can be one of the most elusive creature on the planet. it doesnt mean they're always hard to find. this might just be the period of time that she is.

and also, if a lecturer goes out of the country for an extended period of time (studying, sabbatical leave etc), u will be assigned with a new/temporary PA. check with ur department head or dean.
azarimy
post Jul 11 2008, 07:18 PM

10,672 posts

u should leave a note and ur contact number on her door instead of u looking for her phone number. u could also go from top down - by meeting with the department head and explain ur problem of not being able to get hold of her.

and the whole overseas thing is a reply to deltapanthera. biggrin.gif
azarimy
post Jul 11 2008, 09:48 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jul 11 2008, 12:09 PM)
hmm...okay..i try do dat ltr...thx 4 advise ^^

Did they in campus on weekend?? XD
no. a university is still run like a government office. everybody goes home after work, and stays home during the weekends biggrin.gif.
azarimy
post Jul 12 2008, 11:00 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jul 12 2008, 02:28 PM)
Hmm, I got a question about Short Sem..For mechanical Engineering, is the short sem for every undergrad or just for those who fail?
short sem (between april-june) is available to every undergrad as an optional semester where they could take extra subjects or repeat failed ones. in UTM, the policy is u can only use the short sem if the subject is not commonly offered during normal semesters, or if u're in the final semester and need to repeat a subject.
azarimy
post Jul 12 2008, 11:56 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(hokuan @ Jul 12 2008, 03:04 PM)
But I'm in mechanical engineering, and I've counted the credit hours, which include the 2 credit hours for my first short sem..So I guess it's compulsory for mechanical students..I hope I'm wrong ><
like i said, it's for classes that is not commonly offered during normal semesters. ur 2 credit hours would fall into that category. back in the 90s, all UTM's courses are offered to SPM leavers. yes, u dont need to sit for STPM or matrics. straight to degree. the only difference is, the degree takes 1 to 1.5 extra years. then in the late 90s, the government standardized all degree courses to only take STPM leavers. so UTM has to compensate by shortening its courses by 1 to 1.5 years.

bear in mind that UTM have already fixed their syllabus for atleast 15 years at that time, and suddenly had to change. so they start cutting down subjects to fit into a shorter duration. but as academicians, we always believe that the more u teach, the better. so after streamlining all the subjects down, there will courses that couldnt fit everything into the required years. which is why ur course has some credits in the short sem. they could add extra normal semester, but who would wanna study an extra 6 months just for 2 credits, right?
azarimy
post Aug 26 2008, 05:22 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(heuristic @ Aug 26 2008, 07:17 AM)
of coz.. my batch was the last batch to have spm intake.. so most of them are chinese..
FKE chicks ar? haha.. can hardly see one.. if wanna se chicks, normally the are from FKA or Seni bina there.. lots of lenglui.. and they dress up too..
u have no idea how true this is.

azarimy
post Aug 28 2008, 04:17 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(heuristic @ Aug 28 2008, 06:34 AM)
haha at least during my batch.. there are lots from there.. they always have functions, prom nite.. lot of rich fella there.. pretty chick everywhere..
not sure about the rich people there.

but PSUTM (persatuan senibina UTM) is has been credited as the most active student body in UTM for i dunno how many times already. so it's only natural they have lotsa events and functions. last i checked they have RM45k in their bank for student events. event management is also part of an architecture students' training.

actually, most people are welcome to join. the events hardly exclusive. FAB just dont have enough space and resources to cater for more students biggrin.gif. i remember my cousin used to hang out FAB for the events to mengorat awek. desperately. biggrin.gif

notable events (if u wanna join):

malam silaturrahim (just happy-happy event to celebrate the new students), malam akustika (soft acoustic live musics), malam puisi, malam ekspresi digital (animation, flash stuffs - all student made), malam pra-graduan (prom night - invitations only, so get to know one or two to get invited wink.gif ), pesta layang2, larian cerapan, archileague (major sports event), domestic exhibitions (once per semester), open exhibitions (atleast once per year, usually at off-campus sites) and lots more.

these are all student events, lecturers and staffs are not involved, although they usually get invited as guests. so if u wanna join, jangan malu2, just join and have fun. they're all very friendly wink.gif.
azarimy
post Aug 28 2008, 07:14 PM

10,672 posts

u know, during my time, most of the non-FAB who loves to hang out around FAB are FKE students.

no internet, limited transportations and even more rigorous moral enforcers around as compared to today. it never stopped them biggrin.gif.
azarimy
post Aug 29 2008, 12:48 AM

10,672 posts

i'm a studying lecturer that's an alumnus of FAB UTM.
azarimy
post Aug 29 2008, 01:37 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(MyKy44 @ Aug 28 2008, 05:13 PM)
U're lecturing in er, UTHM now is it? Or was it UTEM now ar sweat.gif
UTM laa. why the heck would i still linger in this thread if i'm not in it? LOL
azarimy
post Aug 31 2008, 02:01 AM

10,672 posts

the param (pasar ramadhan) in UTM is both a blessing and a curse.

my office is in B11, the building nearest to the parking lot for the param. it means everyday i could just look out the window to see if it's too crowded to buy stuffs. but it also means i wont be able to drive out of the parking lot bcoz all of the morons blocking the path to the rear parking area for B11.
azarimy
post Sep 5 2008, 08:24 AM

10,672 posts

aku pun nak share jugaklah. gambar lama, same site with faris:

me and ruby (another lecturer) with our 1st year students back in 2003. this was just before a painting exhibition held at the gallery. those students are holding paintings that they've done a week earlier, and this event marked the end of the project.

now all graduate already. oh wait, xtracooljustin (another member in LYN) is in the picture also heheh.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Sep 5 2008, 08:25 AM
azarimy
post Oct 8 2008, 08:21 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(Elezend @ Oct 7 2008, 02:22 PM)
extra holiday as in self-declare holiday? O.o or the uni allows use to have extra holiday

self declared laaa.

this is a university, not secondary school. u can cuti all u want. but remember, u can only skip classes 3 times max per semester. so if u wanna go holiday, make sure u dont exceed those.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0259sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:56 AM