mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
10,672 posts

QUOTE(kbyao @ Jun 22 2008, 11:50 AM)
So fast shocking.gif  shocking.gif
I drive to kl from muar about 2 and a half hour.. rolleyes.gif
u shah alam to skudai 3hours.. shocking.gif
skudai - shah alam is about 350km. so if u drive within the speed limit of 110km, it should take a little over 3 hours. if u go beyond that, u can cover the distance less than 3 hours wink.gif. and yes, i drove back and forth almost every week bcoz my parents' house is in shah alam, and i often teach part time programme (SPACE) in KL or being invited as an external examiner at limkokwing (cyberjaya) or taylor's (PJ). so i get to know where all the speed traps are hehehe...

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 22 2008, 07:54 PM
azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 08:14 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Jun 22 2008, 11:58 AM)
I do not know for ur this time. This kind of regulation is a kind of recist since u have ur legal ic n u r a malaysian.
it's a regulation to check if we are indeed a malaysian. also, having an IC doesnt indicate whether u are bumiputera or not. for example, a malaysian citizen of indonesian parentage (he is the 1st generation born here) doesnt make him a bumiputera despite being a malay and muslim. also, there are also non-malay/muslim bumiputera from east malaysia. these are not indicated in the IC, especially if ur father is chinese and mother is kadazan, u will carry a chinese name (and possibly looks very chinese as well), but u are infact a bumiputera.

azarimy
post Jun 22 2008, 09:15 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(SlayerXT @ Jun 22 2008, 01:05 PM)
If his parents have malaysian IC is that means the student is 1st generation? doh.gif  If his parents is not bumiputra(which government consider malay/sabah n sarawak origin) then can certified he is not bumiputra. One more thing, if he already a Chinese or Indian that indicate they are already not bumiputra. Furthermore as new MyKad implementation the JPN should have already make this more easy.  shakehead.gif
seems u're not very well versed in the system in malaysia wink.gif.

if parents have malaysian IC, it doesnt mean they're born in malaysia or were born as malaysian citizen. example: both parents are originally indonesian citizens, malay and muslim. they moved to malaysia when they were young, and gained malaysian citizenship. then they have children. their children are not bumiputera, despite being malay and muslim.

a chinese or indian CAN be bumiputera, if one of the parent is a bumiputera (from east malaysia or orang asli). i have friends who're chinese bumiputera. dont be surprised.
azarimy
post Jun 23 2008, 02:20 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(ryukario @ Jun 22 2008, 06:01 PM)
hello,

in the "surat tawaran" they said that we have to daftar at 28jun 2008.
from 8.30-11.30am. but i'm from perak. how can arrived at there on time?? i go there alone. (by bus)
can we arrive there 1 day before the date??

must we wearing tie on the first day??

in my experience, most bus services have midnight trips. if u leave from ipoh (assuming), u'll get to larkin bus station by 7am. then either take a taxi or a bus to UTM. i suggest a taxi bcoz u'd probably have lots of bags. even better if u can find someone to share the taxi with. from larkin to UTM should take about 30min.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 23 2008, 02:21 AM
azarimy
post Jun 23 2008, 03:01 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(tboonc @ Jun 22 2008, 06:54 PM)
can someone tell me what is no matrik?

is it same as no pendaftaran? is it the one written at surat tawaran?  sad.gif
nombor matrik is basically a designated number given to a student like an IC number which contains information about which year u joined utm, course and faculty code, and eventually ur unique number based on a name list sorted using alphabetical order. i'm not sure if it's the same as no. pendaftaran. what does ur nombor pendaftaran look like?
azarimy
post Jun 23 2008, 03:28 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(tboonc @ Jun 22 2008, 07:10 PM)
icic.. my no pendaftaran AA08****  ( * r numbers)
yup, that's definitely ur matric number.

the first 2 letters are faculty and course, 08 is the year of intake, and the rest are ur position in ur batch in alphabetical order.
azarimy
post Jun 23 2008, 10:44 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(TzeHu| @ Jun 23 2008, 02:35 PM)
thanx for the advise..
stil feeling sad for not getting architecture, though  sad.gif
btw, whr can i get the instrument, materials etc. for this landscape course?
buy 2nd hand from seniors?
u could get them from the seniors, but most of the stuff are being used again and again, so seniors would probably be holding onto theirs until they graduate.

during the first week, u can find 2-3 stalls in the faculty selling art stationaries for a very cheap price. these are shops from taman universiti area whom specializes on art stationaries, so u can most of ur stuff there for a bargain price. dont worry, the prices are monitored by the faculty, so what u get there will always be cheaper than outside.
azarimy
post Jun 24 2008, 12:21 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(TzeHu| @ Jun 23 2008, 03:09 PM)
mr. azarimy, since u're here now..
can i ask watz the difference between landscape n architect?
seniors told me landscape still design buildings, but not skyscrapers
but some say we r gardeners..  blink.gif
who u'd believe?
we have a thread specially to discuss about this. ask again there (it's pinned on top in the education essentials).

QUOTE(TzeHu| @ Jun 23 2008, 03:30 PM)
pants are allowed for girls kah?
i thought the buku panduan says k not wear...
pants can... panties cannot tongue.gif
azarimy
post Jun 24 2008, 04:56 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 24 2008, 01:46 AM)
In other news, the UTM KL students are b****ing about not many being offered places at Skudai even tho they have above decent results.
err... UTM KL is for diploma only, and UTM skudai is for degree only. they can b**** all they want, bcoz if u're a diploma, there's no way u get to study in skudai LOL.
azarimy
post Jun 24 2008, 08:54 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 24 2008, 12:16 PM)
No, I mean the ones that have graduated from diploma and got 3.5 pointers above. Seems that this year UTM Skudai prefer to take matric students than the diploma ones.
well if that's the case, then again, NO.

diploma from UTM KL will join 2nd year in skudai. matrics or STPM joins 1st year. diploma holders DO NOT COMPETE with matrics/STPM for a place, bcoz they're in a very, very different intake.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 24 2008, 08:54 PM
azarimy
post Jun 24 2008, 10:22 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Jun 24 2008, 02:08 PM)
Different intake yes, but still many feel they are being put aside. Even lecturers at KL was not impressed with the lack of UTM KL intake this year
on other note, if you're coming down to KL, gimme a PM lol
i've discussed this with my superiors before. the issue is simple: not enough places. UTM diploma are competing with other diploma holders as well for a very limited number of places. usually the diploma intake is about 15-20% of the 1st year degree intake from the year before. if a course takes 100 1st year students per year, then diploma intake is usually about 10-15 students only. the diploma students are not competing with anyone but themselves (other diploma holders included).

UTM KL now is managed differently from skudai. it's not a feeder school anymore as before. unlike UiTM diploma schools, which are feeder courses into their degree programmes. feeder means students will be able to continue to degree if they fulfill the requirements, and places are guaranteed, just like international twinning programmes. UTM KL is not wink.gif.
azarimy
post Jun 25 2008, 05:10 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(vixxiee @ Jun 25 2008, 08:58 AM)
different college got different price ka?? i think utm have control the price inside the campus...
UTM do control the prices. the ceiling price is usually set at a certain price. so it depends on each vendor to put up lowest price in order to compete with each other. people will try to avoid those that are expensive. why is each college have different prices? some far away college are only reachable by vehicles, so not many will travel there for lunch in between classes. so they have to bring down their prices to attract more people. my colleagues and i used to travel from college to college trying to find the best price for the best dish. we avoid places with too many people around, so we dont frequent CP (centerpoint), SUB (student union building) and arked meranti. waaay too many people there at lunch time biggrin.gif.
azarimy
post Jun 25 2008, 07:07 PM

10,672 posts

PUTRAJAYA 25 Jun – Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi hari ini memberi kebenaran kepada syarikat francais seperti Starbucks, Kopitiam dan Dunkin Donuts membuka premis mereka di pusat pelajar di institusi pengajian tinggi awam (IPTA).

Timbalan Menteri Pengajian Tinggi, Datuk Idris Haron berkata, selain perlu mendapatkan kebenaran daripada naib-naib canselor universiti berkenaan, kafe-kafe francais tersebut juga perlu menyediakan perkhidmatan jalur lebar Wi-Fi untuk kemudahan pelajar.

Katanya, walaupun terdapat IPTA yang sudah menyediakan perkhidmatan Wi-Fi, namun ia masih belum dilakukan secara menyeluruh.

Menurut beliau lagi, ramai penuntut universiti yang sanggup keluar kampus untuk mengunjungi kafe Starbucks di bandar sambil melakukan tugasan mereka.

``Saya terfikir kenapa tidak kita bawa Starbucks ke universiti, usaha ini boleh menggalakkan mereka melakukan perbincangan di kafe yang menyediakan perkhidmatan Wi-Fi.

``Saya tidak nampak ada halangan atau masalah yang akan timbul tetapi ia mesti dibuat di pusat pelajar, tambahan pula, banyak syarikat yang bersedia menawarkan perkhidmatan itu di universiti,'' katanya.

Beliau berkata demikian kepada pemberita selepas menutup Konvensyen Pengetua, Kolej Kediaman IPT di bawah Kementerian Pengajian Tinggi dan Kementerian Pelajaran Peringkat Kebangsaan di sini hari ini.

Hadir sama ialah Naib Canselor Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM), Tan Sri Prof. Dr. Mohd. Zulkifli Mohd. Ghazali.- Utusan.

source

since UTM's NC himself was there, should we expect starbucks and dunkin donuts in UTM campus soon? awesome. lets make it 24 hours biggrin.gif.
azarimy
post Jun 25 2008, 10:06 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(kanabalize @ Jun 25 2008, 11:33 AM)
nah... we got all that in taman u why need that... furhter look at marrybrown....sunyi....plus no money
marrybrown tak sedap, tu pasal orang tak pegi. dah la tak sedap, ayam goreng kecik nak mampus. baik suruh McD deliver, senang hidup!

QUOTE(TzeHu| @ Jun 25 2008, 12:15 PM)
so far dint hear anybody staying at kolej rahman putra..
how's tat place?good?
KRP is basically the most convenient kolej in UTM main campus. its location is pretty near to everything:

- mosque, library, admin and most of the faculties
- main gate and the desa bakti gate
- ring road
- taxi stop
- tasik UTM
etc
azarimy
post Jun 26 2008, 04:11 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Jun 25 2008, 07:52 PM)
unfortuantely  , i dont think so .
well  , one thing i would like to comment on the hostel stuff ,perhaps it is not the real thing to talk in this topic . but there is a need to discuss and make it clear .

malaysian are getting somewhere off in their mind when they are setting standards for something . well i have been to several library , and what i realized is they don't allow short pants with slippers . well , i do understand short pants is not recommended for non-muslims , but i do take the slippers are not allowed as stupid .

the real meaning behind library is studying , and if u are having such strict conditon , can this be called as an 'invitation' with open arm to urge the public to come in . sometimes we need to think different , library is for ppl to study and read books , if we encourage people to go , loosen the rules , because the objective is to study only .
and this type of mentality happened in utm and unfortunately in KRP . the place i am staying . it is stupid enough  to limit the quota to sportsman , the pengetua of the college is sort of looking into the name of the college rather then looking into the quality of a college . To be honest,  a hostel is something for studenst to live , the objective is to stay during the studies . becasue of the pengetua mentality , we as architecture student who doesnt have fixed studio period will need to travel by shuttle bus to go to our studio becasue we only can get K17 which take 15 minutes to reach the studio or our place by bus .
during my time, all architecture students duduk luar.

consider urself lucky tongue.gif
azarimy
post Jun 26 2008, 09:42 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jun 26 2008, 12:44 PM)
Help answer dis pls,

1. kod program=the code we use to apply in mohe?? eg TSXX or the code from http://intake.utm.my/semakan/docs/pdf/Panduan%20UTMP5-1.pdf eg SBS for Sarjana Muda Senibina??
2. Semester=01?
3. No Matrik=code on the top left of the offer letter?? eg AS08XXXX ??
4. No pendaftaran is it the same wit No Matrik??
5. Do I nid to post anything to UTM be4 the orientation?If yes,which one?
6. Is it a must to open an account in CIMB even I'm not applying for PTPTN or other loan?

Hope all my question is answer ASAP..Thx alot guys ^^
1. yes, SBS stands for:

S - code for sarjana muda
B - code for faculty (B for alam bina, E for electrical, M for mechanical etc)
S - code for the course (S for senibina, L for landscape, Q for quantity surveying etc)

2. i dont understand the question.

3. and 4. yes, no pendaftaran is ur matric number.

6. no, u dont need to open CIMB account, but it's easier for future dealings with UTM. not having an account in CIMB just makes the process a little longer (due to transfers between banks).
azarimy
post Jun 26 2008, 11:40 PM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(tboonc @ Jun 26 2008, 03:29 PM)
need some seniors advice here..

doing body checkup at my area here or doing it at utm better??  rolleyes.gif
u mean health checkup? anywhere also can. if u have the money, do it at a private clinic. will cost u about RM70++ including x-ray. should take no more than an hour, including waiting for ur turn. but if u include blood works it'll take a week. u can do it at public clinic (which is cheaper) or UTM health centre, but u gotta wait for a queue.

This post has been edited by azarimy: Jun 26 2008, 11:41 PM
azarimy
post Jun 27 2008, 12:30 AM

10,672 posts

about the batik issue: just get a cheap one and bring it. if UTM gives u one, then u'll have 2. there are lots of batik shirts out there, the hand painted are the expensive ones. go and find the printed/mass produced batik. that's cheaper.
azarimy
post Jun 27 2008, 12:49 AM

10,672 posts

QUOTE(litaco @ Jun 26 2008, 04:37 PM)
for 1st answer,so u mean Kod Program is SBS for dat example??but the slot given is 4 slot,doesn't like TSXX sound more correct??

not that i know of. kod program has always been 3 letters to my knowledge.

2ns answer,i asking wad to fill in in semester,2 slot given so is 01 lor,rit?
yup.
azarimy
post Jun 27 2008, 06:01 PM

10,672 posts

seniors dont punish juniors. u can report them to UTM admins. heck, u can even sue them.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0462sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:39 AM