124 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Bottom

Nokia Nokia E71, Messenger of Steel!

amp
post Nov 17 2008, 11:39 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(palinlucid @ Nov 17 2008, 11:24 PM)
hi csifoos'
i really need your opinion since im really confuse what to buy..at first e71 in my mind bcuz got GPS n corprate design ..but when i go to the shop,they said we need to pay to telco for the gps service,meaning for every turn we go they charge one..
then i go ask htc and other non symbian fon..they said htc tytn 2 very syokk..free gps...etc etc..
im doing business and i need a nice phone with keyboard preferably and and also a free gps .. so pls help me..can ah..i go blanja teh tarik one fine day..ahah
What a crap post for a so called businessman
Does all businessman really this clueless these days ?
mafeya
post Nov 17 2008, 11:40 PM

489 posts

The GPS connection to the satellite is free but the program that shows you the maps, directions, etc may not be free.
jameslee_84
post Nov 18 2008, 12:15 AM

297 posts

hi csifoos'
i really need your opinion since im really confuse what to buy..at first e71 in my mind bcuz got GPS n corprate design ..but when i go to the shop,they said we need to pay to telco for the gps service,meaning for every turn we go they charge one..
then i go ask htc and other non symbian fon..they said htc tytn 2 very syokk..free gps...etc etc..
im doing business and i need a nice phone with keyboard preferably and and also a free gps .. so pls help me..can ah..i go blanja teh tarik one fine day..ahah
ahem ahem version of garmin mobile xt is your answer bro.
Superman7
post Nov 18 2008, 12:50 AM

11,086 posts

hi csifoos'
GPS is always free no matter where in the world you are at..
The only thing which is not free are the maps. With a GPS enabled cellphone, without a map will be useless. The only thing you will know without a map is your current location (in terms of standard world coordinates) and probably the altitude.
Telco will not charge you for the gps service. They will charge you if you are using the A-GPS as the "A" stands for assisted which uses the EDGE or 3G network to obtain the GPS lock signal much faster (this is a very layman explanation).
In E71, you can disable the A-GPS connection and therefore not having to worried that you will be charged for data downloading.
As for the telco saying that they will charge, they are probably referring to the Nokia Maps which comes free for 90days when you 1st bought your E71 from the authorized dealer (in AP case, I'm not sure if you have this free trial).

As what most of the sifus here would say, you can find the *ahem* version of the Garmin Mobile XT software. The maps you can easily obtain from malfreemaps.com. This is the hassle free version of the maps from Malsingmaps.com.

But of cos you are not suppose to discuss about the *ahem* stuff over here!

This post has been edited by Superman7: Nov 18 2008, 12:55 AM
scofield
post Nov 18 2008, 02:42 AM

1,252 posts

QUOTE(Elvinyew @ Nov 17 2008, 05:37 PM)
i hv never tried using the gps, let alone on handphone.  blush.gif  blush.gif

can i ask how much u spent on the garmin? or does it come with the phone?

when using gps, is there any transmission charge?

thanks dude!! tongue.gif
when i bought this phone at low yat, it comes with a 4gb memory card and garmin for RM1700 zitron set..basically, they will install the garmin for you F.O.C..it use satellite not gps..so no need to worry bout any charges..
intune
post Nov 18 2008, 02:51 AM

LOWYAT 1ST MALAYSIA 2nD
879 posts

QUOTE(mafeya @ Nov 17 2008, 11:40 PM)
The GPS connection to the satellite is free but the program that shows you the maps, directions, etc may not be free.
mine is free.. n78 with A-GPS using Nokia Maps 2.0 but i use Nokia Map Loader to load offline maps to the phone e.g malaysia maps + voice so i can use the maps offline without internet access..

prince_william
post Nov 18 2008, 09:50 AM

107 posts

just bought E71 yesterday.It looks great and the features are good as well.just downloaded and installed garmin,the GPS is functioning well and the signal is good
ayvin
post Nov 18 2008, 11:50 AM

26 posts

Just bought the E71, can any sifu here pm me the way to ahem the garmin xt program for the gps?
Thanks in advance notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
devil&angel
post Nov 18 2008, 12:13 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(ayvin @ Nov 18 2008, 11:50 AM)
Just bought the E71, can any sifu here pm me the way to ahem the garmin xt program for the gps?
Thanks in advance notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
i got mine via lelong.com u might want to try it, just search under E71, load of ppl selling them "ahem ahem" version

need some help though, how long does the battery last, SIFUz here can help? Mine averages about 2 days tops...
i do use the Garmin & Voice as well as calls & sms, but I dont listen to songs or watch videos..... tongue.gif
jameslee_84
post Nov 18 2008, 02:41 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(devil&angel @ Nov 18 2008, 12:13 PM)
i got mine via lelong.com u might want to try it, just search under E71, load of ppl selling them "ahem ahem" version

need some help though, how long does the battery last, SIFUz here can help? Mine averages about 2 days tops...
i do use the Garmin & Voice as well as calls & sms, but I dont listen to songs or watch videos..... tongue.gif
GPS will consume your battery faster. if normal usage of just calls and sms, mine can last me up to 5 days. even wifi-ing, listening to music and videos in between, it would still be able to last me about 3 days. But if gps is activated, max i'm guessing is maybe few hours only. people who have reviewed it states that it will be about 14hrs GPS with E71 before u run out of batt. Its still the record time for GPS usage as none other phone can use longer than that. thumbup.gif Thumbs up for E71 battery life......

As an advise, i have been using it for like nearing 2 months but I have charged my phones 9 times only. How i do it, don leave your charger switch on when charging is completed and never charge your phone overnight. The latter rule is essential if u want to prolong your phones battery life.

This post has been edited by jameslee_84: Nov 18 2008, 03:10 PM
pxd
post Nov 18 2008, 06:52 PM

141 posts

Hey to all SIFUs, if I were to charge with lower ma output (eg. 350ma) charger (which comes with smaller capacity Nokia phone, and yet having the same connector) what will happen to the battery life?

My APset is coming with a weird adapter that looks like \ / shape and I am currently charging with 350ma and not the 800ma charger. Thank you.
camel90
post Nov 18 2008, 07:11 PM

Go-Kart racer, Amature Race Driver
1,314 posts

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Nov 18 2008, 02:41 PM)
GPS will consume your battery faster. if normal usage of just calls and sms, mine can last me up to 5 days. even wifi-ing, listening to music and videos in between, it would still be able to last me about 3 days. But if gps is activated, max i'm guessing is maybe few hours only. people who have reviewed it states that it will be about 14hrs GPS with E71 before u run out of batt. Its still the record time for GPS usage as none other phone can use longer than that.  thumbup.gif Thumbs up for E71 battery life......

As an advise, i have been using it for like nearing 2 months but I have charged my phones 9 times only. How i do it, don leave your charger switch on when charging is completed and never charge your phone overnight. The latter rule is essential if u want to prolong your phones battery life.
OMG, ive done it for 5 to 7 times already coz when i saw my battery was about 4 or 3 bars left i charged it and took it out on the next morning before going to class. i always scare not to charge even the battery is still 3 bars left coz i thought it cant survive from 8am to 4pm during my class hour coz i might use it to check mail, listen to music via bluetooth etc2, no?
davidmak
post Nov 18 2008, 09:28 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(pxd @ Nov 18 2008, 06:52 PM)
Hey to all SIFUs, if I were to charge with lower ma output (eg. 350ma) charger (which comes with smaller capacity Nokia phone, and yet having the same connector) what will happen to the battery life?

My APset is coming with a weird adapter that looks like \ / shape and I am currently charging with 350ma and not the 800ma charger. Thank you.
If you charge with a lower mA output current, it'll only result to a longer time required to recharge the battery. You should exchange the charger with a local charger meant for the E71 or at least use an international adapter. The original 800mA charger will charge faster, around 1.5 hours. The 350mA took more than 2.5 hours to complete charge which is too long.
jameslee_84
post Nov 18 2008, 09:37 PM

297 posts

QUOTE(camel90 @ Nov 18 2008, 07:11 PM)
OMG, ive done it for 5 to 7 times already coz when i saw my battery was about 4 or 3 bars left i charged it and took it out on the next morning before going to class. i always scare not to charge even the battery is still 3 bars left coz i thought it cant survive from 8am to 4pm during my class hour coz i might use it to check mail, listen to music via bluetooth etc2, no?
actually 3 bars is still quite a lot. for me 3 bars can still last me about 1.2 days. if you're running music and web connection, probably can last u 14-18 hours still. don compare the battery with other phones man. u will be surprised with the battery power of the E71. And also, remember, only charge when it reaches the last bar, and never charge overnight. thats wat i do all the time to prolong my battery life cos its not cheap to get a replacement.
pxd
post Nov 18 2008, 09:40 PM

141 posts

Ahh ... so that won't affect the quality of the battery in anyway ... well ... getting a universal adapter for it then. Thanks a lot!!!!!

QUOTE(davidmak @ Nov 18 2008, 09:28 PM)
If you charge with a lower mA output current, it'll only result to a longer time required to recharge the battery. You should exchange the charger with a local charger meant for the E71 or at least use an international adapter. The original 800mA charger will charge faster, around 1.5 hours. The 350mA took more than 2.5 hours to complete charge which is too long.
This post has been edited by pxd: Nov 18 2008, 09:41 PM
certified
post Nov 19 2008, 12:23 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(jameslee_84 @ Nov 18 2008, 09:37 PM)
actually 3 bars is still quite a lot. for me 3 bars can still last me about 1.2 days. if you're running music and web connection, probably can last u 14-18 hours still. don compare the battery with other phones man. u will be surprised with the battery power of the E71. And also, remember, only charge when it reaches the last bar, and never charge overnight. thats wat i do all the time to prolong my battery life cos its not cheap to get a replacement.
my 3 bars wouldn't last me >3 hours, probably i handle a lot of calls during that duration.
pxd
post Nov 19 2008, 12:40 AM

141 posts

Just charged with 2.5 hours with the original charger. Was hoping to get a 1.5 hours result?! but failed (Drained it till the last bar before charge.)

Seems like I need to charge each and everyday. I think when I woke up tomorrow, it'll lose 1 bar already.

Hmm ... is our network so bad that it consumes more battery power to talk on the phone? Sigh ...

Still, this is one hella impressive phone, the display, the conveniences, the never ending goodness. Woo hoo ...
scofield
post Nov 19 2008, 12:55 AM

1,252 posts

QUOTE(certified @ Nov 19 2008, 12:23 AM)
my 3 bars wouldn't last me >3 hours, probably i handle a lot of calls during that duration.
my hp left another 3 bars and its entering its 3rd day..
certified
post Nov 19 2008, 01:00 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(scofield @ Nov 19 2008, 12:55 AM)
my hp left another 3 bars and its entering its 3rd day..
that's cool! icon_rolleyes.gif

maybe i should try it when i am on leave, which is soon. smile.gif then, calls would not be as heavy as during working days.
pxd
post Nov 19 2008, 01:00 AM

141 posts

Whao ... ... that is ... ... unbelievable. Cool!

124 Pages « < 70 71 72 73 74 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:45 AM